Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
D'anna, Klingon Starfleet's Counselor
Fri, Nov 23, 2018, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Lt. Comdr. D'anna, daughter of L-Waqxan'ha, Klingon Starfleet's Counselor...
Personal diary, note:

RAAAAAWR!!! You Chris Hobson dishonored mak'dar will drown in your blood!!! I'll drink bloodwine from your emptied skull and throw your corpse to the targs you filthy petaQ!!! And... Comdr. Hobson, do not forget your appointment on Tuesday, at 11:30 am, thaaaaaanks xxxxxs :-)
Set Bookmark
SELA YAR IS A DOUCHEBAG
Fri, Nov 23, 2018, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

SELA YAR EATS DA POOP. SELA KILLED TASHA (AGAIN), SELA KILLED HER MOTHER, SELA IS A LIAR... SELA IS ARMUS' DAUGHTER.

SELA... PLOS, I POOPED IN THE LOO. HAVE A CUP OF POOP.

HUE HUE HUE HUE HUE :-DDD
Set Bookmark
Paul Moseley
Sun, Jul 29, 2018, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

Presumably, this episode couldn't happen even now.

After the odd Riker - O'Brien encounter, the Chief goes home and WhatsApp's to Will Riker...

Chief: Wtf dude. What did I do do?

Will Riker: hey chief. No idea what your talking bout man. im on rysa! baybee! partay!

Chief: Oh. Must be your duplicate. I'll call Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Paul Moseley
Tue, Jul 24, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Beautiful episode. Literally reduced me to tears thinking about paths not taken.
Set Bookmark
Ansel
Thu, Jun 23, 2016, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Third time I go over the whole series of the "newer" ST. Let me add a bit of info about this episode. Forgive me if I have missed a similar comment on this string of comments, but I think not. I believe the basis of this episode is "The Tibetan Book of the Dead", originally intitled " The Great Liberation from the Bardo through Hearing". If you have not read it, or heard about it, it may change your life, but that is a different issue ... Anyway: At the moment of death, the progressive dissolution of the "physical" components of the human body end up releasing consciousness, and at that moment the basic luminosity of the essential nature of everything becomes overwhelming. If one's mind rejects, fears, tries to avoid the unavoidable, the "individual" mind of the deceased will go over a process of dramatic adjustment to its own creations in the form of imagery and situations which may end up in its reincarnation into another form of life in one of the (6) different levels of form existence (samsara). If at the moment of the great flash (the light tunnel in Near Death Experiences one's mind recognises the unity of it all, and lets go, there happens the liberation from reincarnation (nirvana).
Of course, the process is a lot more detailed, and fascinating, but this is a quick summary.
How does that show in the episode? It is an allegory, a sequence of parallels:
1- The bubble in engineering is death
2-The loss of reality and progressive detachment from reality at death time is the Doctor's process of inability to stay connected to the reality of the crew members that she perceives as disappearing.
3- The alien comes up and mentions that: "the quality and substance of her thoughts at the moment of absorption into the reality of the bubble determines the reality of her experience in her new dimension". This is equivalent to the statement in the Bardo Thodol about determining your reality as it is a projection of one's own mind ... and here it all connects with the beautiful theories and experiences as explained mainly in Tibetan Buddhism, but also appearing in many other traditions.
Thank you.
For the true happiness of all beings.
Ansel
Set Bookmark
Dunsel
Thu, Aug 27, 2015, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Hello,

My name is Captain Dunsel.

I'm sorry my command of the Enterprise did not go well.

I've been demoted to ship's junior cook, under some dude named Neelix.
Set Bookmark
Walter Dunsel
Tue, May 26, 2015, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

Couple of points from a long time listener

- we do not know if Klingon ships are bought or stolen by the Romulans. Kirk's statement that the ships were "of identical design" could mean they were stolen designs

- It is perhaps less important if long time viewers had their credulity strained; it would be less likely the Commander would be aware of the unique relationship between K&S

- They want to keep Kirk alive to test their truth beams on; this they have time for

- Why would the Commander wish to go back ? I suspect her fate was known to her and would find a "scandal " to be a difficult time (although of Romulans had Americans' taste for celebrity rehabilitation, she may have indeed preserved)

-
Set Bookmark
SeizedMyVesselSeizedMyVessel
Thu, Jan 15, 2015, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Orci's "script" for Trek XIII has been scrapped. I believe that production has stopped on the movie (maybe it has now resumed now that there is a director?). Two first-time screenwriters are writing the new screenplay........ Something tells me we are not going to be seeing Star Trek XIII for some time - not until a number of changes in "creative" personnel are again made. Maybe Abrams can only direct mindless action (not necessarily a bad thing; Pauline Kael once said that a director need not be able to direct everything but should at least have a sense of what he cannot direct), but he is at least pretty good at doing so. Justin Lin? The man who "revived" TFATF? From what - post-rigor-Morris to slightly-earlier-in-time post-rigor-Morris? Nicholas Meyer did a TWOK commentary with Manny Coto. Coto asked him if he would ever have any interest in directing another Trek movie. "Yes," Meyer wryly replied. "But only if it's a good one." I think I now know why he won't be having anything to do with Trek XIII. If Trek XIII fails at the box office (clearly, that is the only kind of failure that matters to Paramount now; it will not fail for being either too good or too lame), the movie franchise will be left where it was after movies one, five and ten. Twitching.
Set Bookmark
Kurt Fng Russel
Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

I suspected the dog was going to be a shapeshifting alien within 10 seconds of it arriving. Why? Because of the 1984 movie 'The Thing'. As I turned out I was more right than I could ever have imagined. The episode is a complete rip off!
Set Bookmark
Sel
Wed, Apr 11, 2012, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Look, I don't mind technobabble if the babble is at least somewhat intelligible. Virus + Human Growth Hormone =/= Giant flying tentacle monsters. That's asinine. If this show had a science adviser, they should be ashamed of themselves.
Set Bookmark
BennyRussel
Sun, Feb 26, 2012, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

To add to JD's last comment.

When humanoid, Odo also seems to "see" with his "eyes" and "hear" with his "ears". This would suggest he was able to shape those organs and make them function as designed.

I think it's safe to say that the technobabble behind how changelings really work is a bit underdeveloped. At some point, I just accepted it.

One thing I could not accept is how Odo's Bajoran communicator magically appears and disappears when he changes shape. Are we to believe that he has the ability to shape part of his body into a complex piece of equipment like a communicator?
Set Bookmark
Sel
Thu, Aug 18, 2011, 1:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

Just finished watching the third season and I have to say it's not as bad as I previously imagined. The thing with Trek, at least TOS, is that it can be very very good, or very very bad. Both are entertaining. However, what it can't be, and what most of the third season was is boring. For me, the Mark of Gideon has to be the worst episode because it is incredibly boring. If I was flipping the channels and that came on, I would perhaps watch a little bit and then change the channel, and probably not give Star Trek a second chance.
Set Bookmark
Kip Russell
Thu, Mar 4, 2010, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

The scene in "Blood Oath" between Jadzia Dax and Kang where she 'plays the same trick on him' is one of the best in Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Russell
Sat, Nov 21, 2009, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

This episode was OK, but far from a four star rating. It's one of Brannon Braga's weaker efforts.
Set Bookmark
Russell
Fri, Nov 20, 2009, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

I thought this episode was OK. I enjoyed the paranoia between the crew, and the twist that it was Chakotay taking over their bodies and not the alien, which was in Tuvok all along.
Set Bookmark
Russell
Wed, Apr 1, 2009, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Lol, Jammer, you had me fooled all the way through your mock review. I had actually accepted what you said about choosing not to properly review the episode. I guess I'm a bigger fool than I realise.

Look forward to your actual review. For the record, I was satisified with the finale, and I'd give it 4 stars easily. It actually felt like an ending that requires no kind of continuation, though I realise there is 'The Plan' coming up, but that's a prequel.

I'm less enthusiastic about the 'Caprica' series now that I know where these Humans are in the context of history, but I guess it could be interesting to learn a little bit more about the 12 colonies before they were destroyed.
Set Bookmark
Russell
Fri, Aug 1, 2008, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

It was a bit stupid of them to shoot at and destroy one of the ships beaming away their technology. What if it was the ship with the computer core on board?
Set Bookmark
Russell
Tue, Jul 29, 2008, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Every time I rewatch "Caretaker", it gets a little worse. I don't like the Kazon and it's a little silly that they have interstellar ships, but can't find any water. I also don't like Janeway's decision for stranding the crew. I don't have a problem with that as the outcome, but it could've been played out better.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.