Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 331 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
SeanyD
Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Although the review is from 2011, I have to agree on a point Stallion made regarding Uhura.

There were a whole slew of guest starring minor roles and red shirts (that ultimately didn't perish) lines of dialogue that could have been given to Uhura. She's such an iconic character that never really did get her just due.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

We could be stuck inva million year time loop and not even know it.😂.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Re watching this snd I'm surprised nobody brings the prime directive in this one. Sidenote they seem to be using Troi alot this season..,
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sat, May 25, 2019, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

When Jammer writes a line must be drawn who else thought in their head: "This far and no further!" Just me?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

I'm surprised Troi wasn't able to sense Beverly at all at the end, I nean.,.. That just really annoyed me that coupled with the fact that everyone seems out of character makes for a bad rpisode.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

At the risk of sounding like an ignorant fool, isn't saving them from an asteroid a violation of the prime directive? I watch this show way too much...
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

I might be the only one upset about this but I never understood why Wesley thought Kirk was responsible for attacking and not M5.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

That communications officer never shuts up.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

McCoy was especially annoying this episode. I cringe at the line "shes an exciting creature."
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

@DLPB-it is that kind of reasoning that perpetuates violence.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

@DLPB

Name-calling is not going to help
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

A Springy and William B:

I do agree that Pabst was not a racist. He had no problem with SIsko being a writer in the office. He just saw it as unrealistic for the captain to be black. And as a businessman, he is right-in that it would be unrealistic to the readers and even determinantal to the sales of his sci-fi magazine. Most people are not out to "make a statement" or shake up norms, they just want to have a job. And Pabst realised that his approving the story may very well end up with him no longer having a job.

Even when it comes down to the racist, violent police, I don't see them as monsters, rather as misinformed. If you genuinely believe that blacks are violent, lazy, shifty (add your own adjective), then you are misinformed. Those who see that these things are not true, and are so angry to have their illusions shattered that they resort to violence, these are worse
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

@Ebert:

Is that a good or bad thing?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

So am I the only who hated the line: "Best to kerp your expectations low."?

As far as setup goes in Canada I can watch it on Space and on crave tv on my apple tv and so far no issues. Not the greatest sound but picture looks awesome.

Also not the biggest fan of Alex Kurtzman, hated The Mummy. But I loved Fringe. So I guess this is a love/hate thing.
Set Bookmark
SeanyD
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

This was one of my favorites of the first season. By virtue alone of showing the awe, curiosity, and respect upon discovering a threatening new life form.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Mon, Jan 7, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Actually, I have a question maybe someone here can answer: you know how the actors who play alien characters like Worf or Garek are interviewed and say that it takes hours to get the makeup on? How does that work with children? I mean, I know that later the makeup is far less once the kids join Voyager and are de-Borged, but here it would take I would think at least 2 hours to put the makeup on, and say 1 hour to take off. That would leave only one or two hours for filming (as kids can only work short days) It must make it REALLY hard for the producers to make an episode like this! **That's why kid actors on the show who play aliens either have only a few minutes of airtime, or like Naomi Wildman, only have a couple easily to apply and remove bumps on their forehead**

I mean I think Ichib and the other big boy are really over 18 (the actors I mean), but the girl and the twins have to be minors. The twins had no speaking parts in this, but the girl had a fairly big role. I guess they filmed it over the course of a few days and just had to spend most of the day on other things to film?
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

David, I am actually wondering if you are joking/trolling
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@Chrome

I recommend checking youtube or some other video site. I saw it before, but can't say where. The writers may still have had that in mind once they included Lore. But I do not know when they would finalise their arrangements
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@ Saul and Springy

The closed captioned must have been made by someone that doesn't know the Biblical account and thus interpreted it as best he could. Brent Spiner even mentioned the reference in an interview once I believe
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@ Saul

Yes he does! When Riker, Geordi and Data revive him, the first thing he says is, "You're so alike! Esau! I couldn't tell you apart!"
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@Chris

It was actually the first thing I thought of! Thanks for mentioning it!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I don't know if anyone else said this (I haven't read the comments yet), and I know it is petty, but he is supposed to be a Vulcan and thus will age a lot less than humans, but he seems MUCH older than he did earlier in the series. The only other actor who I think aged a lot was Paris.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Well, I didn't finish reading the reviews because they almost universally were exactly the opposite of my opinion. I really liked this episode! I understand Simon's comment: "how many of us would like to try surviving a stone age lifestyle, and would escape it if we could?", but as Picard said in Insurrection, every time a superior technological race moves a more primitive one, they suffer. Maybe not right away, but just like with the First Nations of North America, the aliens with tech (I forget their name) wanted the land, and would eventually get to "relocating" the Vintu. Maybe they wouldn't actually exterminate them, but it would be to their determent. Something that shows this to me is that even though they bemoaned being more aggressive centuries ago when the barrier was put up, right away they attacked Voyager when they thought they could keep them from transporting their beacon (or whatever it was that kept the barrier down)

They said they only attacked the transporter to prevent loss of life, but what about that cute transporter chief who was in the episode earlier and had one line. She's probably dead by now! (And, I would say the same thing if she wasn't pretty). I'm sure that the alien's gov't would persuade the people that it was "in the national interest" or whatever to take further action, and before you know it, poof! No Vintu-or at least a severely diminished race.

I think this was a very good parallel. Yes, it was hundreds of years ago that the First Nations people were herded into reservations (the 19th century), but let us pretend a barrier was over North America all these years, and it came down now. I can assure you, greedy people (and nations) would still invade to "help these poor primitives" and "reluctantly" have to take their land "for their own good"

And a lighter moment was Paris' driving test! HA! I don't know why so many hated it, it was FUNNY! The sarcastic instructor reminds me of a history teacher I had in grade 10! Yes, he was biting, but he made his point without disciplining more than the pride. It was also fun to see Kim get a few digs in (as it usually is Paris teasing him)
Set Bookmark
Sean Lamkin
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Space sickness. Lol. Love it.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

In my opinion, the opener is the most poignant part. I know some may disagree with this, but the doctor's novel speaking of how random photons came out of the void and they coalesced to form a thinking hologram is as silly as those who believe life and the universe spontaneously evolved. That may not have been the idea behind that statement, but to me it is a whimsical farce on how people believe things came into existence without a Creator
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.