Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 108 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 8:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Well, this is where the series ends for me. I can't believe that they have Archer pirate and steal material from another species! It wasn't under mind control, or something-they actually have him do that and make it sympathetic! This shows the morals and values of the world today
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 8:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

This was a great climax to the Xindi arc! Unlike many of you, I like Daniels, and I like the temporal cold war-there's just enough given to fire the imagination (so we can fill the blanks ourselves) I like that

Now I can not speak for what any television station or program does, and I also want it to be known that I am Black myself. I personally never felt that Travis is marginalised, or that anyone was racist. Like I've said previously, with the exception of Next Generation, all 5 Star Trek series have a core cast and a "backup cast" (TOS obviously has "The Big Three", DS9 has Sisko, Kira, Odo, and Dax, Voyager has Janeway, the Doctor, Tuvok and Neelix) I just think Travis isn't one of the main core. I don't know how people think it is racism.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 12:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

A very good episode. Since you asked, Jammer, I was totally fooled about T'Pol. Although looking back on it, I did wonder why T'Pol popped out when Phlox was in engineering without any other indication that she was awake before. I didn't take it as her not being there though, I thought it was done just to give the audience a "jump scare"

And speaking of which, I think the only reason the Doctor's subconscious choose T'Pol is that again, it was the only way to fool the audience. If it was, say the Captain, I think I would have been instantly suspicious that he wasn't real.

Another reason why I was fooled is that all the other hallucinations lasted a very brief time, and then disappeared. T'Pol stayed the entire journey. Even the fact that T'Pol could not help him with the warp drive I thought was plot contrivance more than a calculated thing.

Oh, I have a question, so did the anomaly really expand, or was that a hallucination too? I mean even the Warp Drive WAS engaged, but was Phlox dreaming that it was needed, or was it really?

You know, another thing, I actually wondered about Porthos. I guess I could see aliens being unaffected, but I was surprised that a dog would be fine.

Oh, and it was neat that they showed The Court Jester-one of my favourite comedies!

There is just one more thing-I do remember thinking that if T'Pol was awake, why was Travis showing Phlox how to pilot, and Trip showing him engineering stuff. But still, I didn't make the leap of logic (that T'Pol wasn't there)
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 11:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

@Tom

You have to choose what you will do, and who you will serve. If you are going to go directly opposite of what the bible commands and say that God is weak because He wants us to not watch bad programs, and have immoral sex, you should examine your true motives.

Is it that you just don't want to be told what to do?
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 3:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

I was thinking that it was clever of Archer to do the whole charade to get information. I am reminded of how in an earlier episode, Archer was infected with something that made him forget everything for 12 years. I thought he used that as inspiration for the worms in Degra's arms. Then I realised that he would have no memory of the experience!

Still, it was a fun, entertaining episode
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 2:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

@Gail,

I am pretty sure it was Shran.

I liked this episode, and I like the Andorians. I just wish they WERE being more forthright, and not have a layer of intrigue behind Enterprise's back.

I will say this-I was concerned about continuity wondering how the timeline could possibly be fixed as there is so much that has been skewed with the Xindi affair. Well, I think I know how things are fixed by the time of Kirk: has anyone read Isaac Asimov's Foundation books? Well, after the Mule changed the way events were supposed to unfold (via the Seldon Plan), the Second Foundation was secretly and surreptitiously guiding things back on track. I want to think Daniels and his "time squad" did something similar
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 12:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

This was one of my favourite episodes! Time travel and the return of Daniels!

A question though-if the Xindi "never happened" as Daniels said, than the timeline HAS to be messed up. I mean not just the 7million people who died, but this entire situation so early in human space travel would more than likely skew the Federation's ideas on encounters with other species
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 8:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I like this one. It is entertaining and makes you think.

People are again picking apart things as unlikely. Of course they are-it's just a TV show!

The memory thing would have to be there, or Sim would be an adult with the brain of a 10 day old baby. I don't want to see Trip drooling around the bridge and fouling his clothes!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 6:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: North Star

I REALLY loved this episode! I don't know why people don't like it. It is classic Trek-a not-too-subtle analogy on real life problems. And it had humour and a fairly decent message unlike some Enterprise episodes.

I don't think it is a stretch that an isolated group never advanced beyond the technology they had before. If a couple towns were taken from the wild west, it would be harder for them to invent things like the combustion engine, computers, or mass communication than it would be for the whole planet to.

The girl who played Bethany is pretty. I just saw that she is British and born the same time as I was! That's neat!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 5:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

I forgot that there was something I wanted to add-as sci-fi as that scenario of living each day and forgetting is, that REALLY happened! There is a young teenager that happened to-and she was cured awhile later. Let me see if I can find something on that...

Her name is Riley Horner. Look it up-that's not a joke! Sad that something like this happened. She was healed, but again, the bible talks of a time when ALL illness and suffering will be healed.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 5:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Depressing. This one reminds me of Battlestar Galactica (the 70s show-I didn't watch the new one)

I must say that watching Earth destroyed, and then hearing the "It's Been a Long Road" happy jingle is a bit jarring!

Overall though, it is a good episode, and I like the irony of the humans landing on Ceti Alpha V. (THIS IS CETI ALPHA V!!!!)
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 5:02am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

A really good episode. I like that we are getting a little backstory on Xindi culture, and that they aren't all mustache twirling villains.

I know CGI was probably very expensive, but I would really like to see more of the Xindi-Insectiods.

I also agree about the upbeat music. With a lot of the suspenseful, cliffhanger teasers at the beginning, it is an odd segway to the cha-cha music!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 3:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Exile

I read the comments, and I think rather than going over things piecemeal, I'll just give my overall impressions:

--I don't think Tarquin lusted after Hoshi. It was more of a mind thing

--I totally agree about Hoshi's inappropriate attire. But sadly, in the world we live in, it is seen as normal to dress immodestly (look at 7 of 9, and T'Pol-or honestly, look at the way people dress and carry themselves in real life), so it isn't surprising. I will be glad when this changes, but until then, I limit my tv viewing, and just have to endure it

--I agree about Tarquin still being kind of a sympathetic character. I still think that the whole possessive issue could have been left out. And especially the Enterprise in danger threat. That didn't even seem to make sense. Actually, if he was lonely, a much better way of handling it would be to ask the Enterprise crew to take him with them.

--I don't think Hoshi looks 12. Actually, besides Crewman Cutler, I think Hoshi is the prettiest girl on the show (and probably of all 5 shows that I can think of at the moment)

--Someone mentioned Tucker's swearing. I have a program that eliminates bad words. If you want it, let me know!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 2:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Exile

One more thing: I don't understand how Tarquin can immobilise Enterprise. I mean, he can only contact very few people, Hoshi being one. And there was never mention of other powers, or of vast technology. So, how did he kill their systems? That is a big flaw for me.

I also don't understand why people feel uncomfortable if their minds are read. I feel that if someone is doing nothing wrong, it doesn't matter. Actually, that might help some to curb bad thoughts!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 2:50am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Exile

Just once, I would like to see an actual helpful alien on this show that isn't a bit twisted. I vaguely remembered the alien in a castle by himself, but I forgot almost the entire plot of the episode, and his backstory. It would have been nice if he wasn't so manipulative to Hoshi.

But then again, Hoshi's attitude toward him was standoffish even before he showed this. Odd behaviour on both of them

I think the expanse's perilous conditions are the one thing that to me save continuity. I mean, like the "Briar Patch" of Insurrection, I can see this sector of space not being mentioned before in the sense that why would someone go to it if it is so inhospitable. I like to tell people that I've been all over Canada in my travels. Now obviously, not every time, just like Starfleet would never travel every square meter of even Federation space-there's just to much of it (I mean empty space, not star systems). But still, when I say I've traveled all (most) of Canada, I don't mean Nunavut! Especially the northern islands! So, it is possible Starfleet has never been back here again (or has had a very limited travel thru it)

**Note-like I said, it's been awhile since I've seen this. If the Expanse is cleared or destroyed or something before series finale, disregard all of that**
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 7:50am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

A really poorly executed episode. Zombie Vulcans!?!? What next?

Besides which, it isn't even consistent. If the Vulcans were mad, they would have been throwing Archer and company around with ease. Remember, Vulcans are so much stronger than humans. But in this, someone is attacked, and then the Vulcans are beaten off. Highly unlikely!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 5:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

@Jamie,

I totally agree. I watch Star Trek for entertainment. So many people are on here saying, "that's impossible" "that's far-fetched", etc

Well it's ALL impossible! None of this is real! As long as the plot doesn't contradict itself or established "rules" of the show, I can definitely suspend my belief
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 5:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Well, what can I say about this one? The actors must have gotten a quick out of jumping around like wild animals (or they were bemoaning their career choices)

I was trying to think of what this season so far reminds me of, and it is an old show called Quest for Iscandar. It was a cartoon from the late 70s I think about a spaceship crew from Earth that has adventures whilst trying to get to an alien planet of people who want to destroy earth.

This particular adventure actually reminds me very much of a Star Trek novel called "Windows on a Lost World". I don't have a lot of time to read secularly, so I list to audiobooks. This one takes place in TOS timeline (and is narrated by Walter Koenig (Checkov)). Rather than a virus, these doorways on an alien planet turn Checkov, and a few others into a crab-like species that lived there long ago (and actually had a great empire)

At first I thought Archer, Reed, and Hoshi just became animals, but they had a language and had some intelligence (but still were savage). This reminds me of that-I wonder if they took inspiration from it?

Still, it is an odd, but interesting episode
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

You know, I am not politically minded at all as I am neutral with politics, but you guys mentioned something that now makes sense to me. This idea of the protagonist using torture is a direct result of 9/11 makes a lot of sense. Archer used it here (which I agree is distasteful, shocking, and totally anti-Trek), but also around this time, the Star Wars novels (pre-Disney, the novels told the story of what happened after Return of the Jedi for a period of 45 years in the Star Wars timeline) were in the midst of the New Jedi Order series with the Yuuzhan Vong. This took place about 25-30 years after Episode IV-A New Hope. Anyway, about this time, Han and Leia tortured Nom Anor (a Yuuzhan Vong and a baddie) in exactly the same way (slowly depressurising an air lock). I didn't make the connection, but when everyone here mentioned 9/11, I realised that that book also was written at that time. I wonder if both the author of that book, and the writer here were thinking of this

Yea, this really wasn't an episode I liked
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 9:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

Ah, a spritely tune is added to the opening music! This is more about my love of insects than anything else, but I still think the Xindi-Insectiods are cool looking! A shame they weren't used more often. One thing though is that I would like to see them exhibit superhuman strength. If a mantid species somehow really was man size, it could leap a multi-storied building, and lift an 18-wheeler!
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 9:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

This is not meant to bust on Americans, but some of you have asked why North America is always shown, and why America was attacked. I watched a documentary where random Americans were questioned, and most could not point to the US on a world map! Let alone another country! People are so separated into a nationalistic view that any kind of disaster only impacts them when their own land is referenced. I think that is why America is shown in an American show. Does anyone remember Robotech? When that was aired in Canada in the '80s, they cut out all of the references to Japanese culture because they thought kids would be "confused"

But. again, this is not just a bust on Americans. I still remember a friend visiting from England for a week. (This was before internet, so things couldn't be looked up as easily) He thought he could rent a car in New York City, and visit Chicago, Los Angeles, and Toronto during the time he was staying! Europeans (especially pre-internet) for the most part don't realise that the entire UK fits into Ontario quite easily! It's all what you are familiar with
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 8:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

A super episode! I'll say this though, Enterprise's enemies REALLY came out of the woodwork for this one! If they added Tholians, then the rogues gallery would be complete! (I'm kidding, the Tholians didn't really have a "beef" with Enterprise the way the Suliban and Klingons did)

The only thing about this episode is that it would seem that if the Klingons had this much hate for Enterprise, they would have destroyed it by now. I mean, Starfleet is really in its infancy, and it seems the Klingon empire already has a fleet. All of that time, Enterprise was exploring, they could have hunted it down easily. I would think that maybe the Vulcans would respond, but considering how the Klingons dogged Archer from Earth to the expanse this episode, I guess they had a free hand.

I know that the Xindi arc was used to try to boost ratings, and I actually do remember warming to it later, but it is kind of a shame to see the show going from the exploration theme of the first 2 seasons to more of a serialised shoot-em-up now

The photonic torpedo seem a bit premature in the timeline. I mean I thought the Earth-Romulan war wasn't fought with this weapon yet (from Spock's dialogue in a TOS episode), but whatever.
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 2:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I'm a bit confused here. So, in an earlier episode, Travis goes back home to his cargo ship that has 50 year old engines that hit warp 2. In this episode, it's a flashback of Archer and his friend/sparring partner trying to breach warp 2! It would have made a lot more sense if they were trying to hit warp 4, as 2 should already have been achieved!

Another thing-I don't know much about ranking structure, but with Archer's background, it would seem that he would be an EXCELLENT chief engineer. How did he go from helping with his dad's engine to captain? I mean I guess I understand it, but it seems odd to me
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 2:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

The episode had a lot going for it, and a lot I didn't like.

At first, I groaned at a Borg episode, but it was handled well. What if a portion of the sphere from Star Trek First Contact crash landed in the arctic? Ok, I can go with that. What if it took 100 years for humans to have the tech to unbury it? Ok, I can see that. And what if a couple drones managed to still be alive (but "hibernating") and were awakened by the survey team? Hmmm--I dunno. I mean it has been established that the cybernetic part of the Borg need the organic part to function, and I think that part would be long dead. But, whatever

I think that the Enterprise crew then was far too equipped to fight them. For one thing, when Archer and Reed boarded the Borg craft, they shot A LOT more drones successfully than I would have thought possible (I thought maybe 2 hits would be the limit especially since they don't know how to randomise the positrons (or whatever Picard's crew do to get more shots)

I also think that infecting the doctor was dumb. I mean, not that the Borg did it, but that he was able to cure himself. I know he's an alien we haven't heard of before, but until species 8472, it seemed that there was no species that the Borg even had trouble assimilating.

And what about the 200 year warning? I mean if Archer knew that a signal was sent and it would take 200 years, it would be prudent for Starfleet to have started preparing for invasion. From what we see in Next Generation, no one had any idea what was coming!

Yea, I understand why the creators of the show did this (the ratings are floundering, and they wanted to have some of the "greatest hits" back for Enterprise), but I think it was a mistake to try to shoehorn the Borg into a 22nd century story.

If they REALLY wanted a Borg episode, I think it would have been better to have Daniels and the temporal cold war involved somehow. And then basically have a reset button at the end of the episode. Nothing else to me would make sense
Set Bookmark
Sean J Hagins
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 8:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

@Tom,

Jesus did teach us to forgive those who are repentant. Like 1 Corinthians 6: 9-11 says, "Or do you not know that unrighteous people will not inherit God’s Kingdom? Do not be misled. Those who are sexually immoral, idolaters, adulterers, men who submit to homosexual acts, men who practice homosexuality, 10 thieves, greedy people, drunkards, revilers, and extortioners will not inherit God’s Kingdom. And yet that is what some of you were. But you have been washed clean" The people in many of those episodes you mention are not repenting as they are doing their bad deeds over and over again!

Tom, I would NEVER declare myself "good"-that is for Jesus as Jehovah's appointed King to judge. To judge me, and you, and everyone else. But yes, God does take sides, or rather, those who side with Him are approved by Him. That is what I try to do
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.