Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 168 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 7:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

@DLPB-it is that kind of reasoning that perpetuates violence.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

@DLPB

Name-calling is not going to help
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

A Springy and William B:

I do agree that Pabst was not a racist. He had no problem with SIsko being a writer in the office. He just saw it as unrealistic for the captain to be black. And as a businessman, he is right-in that it would be unrealistic to the readers and even determinantal to the sales of his sci-fi magazine. Most people are not out to "make a statement" or shake up norms, they just want to have a job. And Pabst realised that his approving the story may very well end up with him no longer having a job.

Even when it comes down to the racist, violent police, I don't see them as monsters, rather as misinformed. If you genuinely believe that blacks are violent, lazy, shifty (add your own adjective), then you are misinformed. Those who see that these things are not true, and are so angry to have their illusions shattered that they resort to violence, these are worse
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

@Ebert:

Is that a good or bad thing?
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Mon, Jan 7, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Actually, I have a question maybe someone here can answer: you know how the actors who play alien characters like Worf or Garek are interviewed and say that it takes hours to get the makeup on? How does that work with children? I mean, I know that later the makeup is far less once the kids join Voyager and are de-Borged, but here it would take I would think at least 2 hours to put the makeup on, and say 1 hour to take off. That would leave only one or two hours for filming (as kids can only work short days) It must make it REALLY hard for the producers to make an episode like this! **That's why kid actors on the show who play aliens either have only a few minutes of airtime, or like Naomi Wildman, only have a couple easily to apply and remove bumps on their forehead**

I mean I think Ichib and the other big boy are really over 18 (the actors I mean), but the girl and the twins have to be minors. The twins had no speaking parts in this, but the girl had a fairly big role. I guess they filmed it over the course of a few days and just had to spend most of the day on other things to film?
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

David, I am actually wondering if you are joking/trolling
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@Chrome

I recommend checking youtube or some other video site. I saw it before, but can't say where. The writers may still have had that in mind once they included Lore. But I do not know when they would finalise their arrangements
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 8:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@ Saul and Springy

The closed captioned must have been made by someone that doesn't know the Biblical account and thus interpreted it as best he could. Brent Spiner even mentioned the reference in an interview once I believe
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@ Saul

Yes he does! When Riker, Geordi and Data revive him, the first thing he says is, "You're so alike! Esau! I couldn't tell you apart!"
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

@Chris

It was actually the first thing I thought of! Thanks for mentioning it!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I don't know if anyone else said this (I haven't read the comments yet), and I know it is petty, but he is supposed to be a Vulcan and thus will age a lot less than humans, but he seems MUCH older than he did earlier in the series. The only other actor who I think aged a lot was Paris.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Well, I didn't finish reading the reviews because they almost universally were exactly the opposite of my opinion. I really liked this episode! I understand Simon's comment: "how many of us would like to try surviving a stone age lifestyle, and would escape it if we could?", but as Picard said in Insurrection, every time a superior technological race moves a more primitive one, they suffer. Maybe not right away, but just like with the First Nations of North America, the aliens with tech (I forget their name) wanted the land, and would eventually get to "relocating" the Vintu. Maybe they wouldn't actually exterminate them, but it would be to their determent. Something that shows this to me is that even though they bemoaned being more aggressive centuries ago when the barrier was put up, right away they attacked Voyager when they thought they could keep them from transporting their beacon (or whatever it was that kept the barrier down)

They said they only attacked the transporter to prevent loss of life, but what about that cute transporter chief who was in the episode earlier and had one line. She's probably dead by now! (And, I would say the same thing if she wasn't pretty). I'm sure that the alien's gov't would persuade the people that it was "in the national interest" or whatever to take further action, and before you know it, poof! No Vintu-or at least a severely diminished race.

I think this was a very good parallel. Yes, it was hundreds of years ago that the First Nations people were herded into reservations (the 19th century), but let us pretend a barrier was over North America all these years, and it came down now. I can assure you, greedy people (and nations) would still invade to "help these poor primitives" and "reluctantly" have to take their land "for their own good"

And a lighter moment was Paris' driving test! HA! I don't know why so many hated it, it was FUNNY! The sarcastic instructor reminds me of a history teacher I had in grade 10! Yes, he was biting, but he made his point without disciplining more than the pride. It was also fun to see Kim get a few digs in (as it usually is Paris teasing him)
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 6:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

In my opinion, the opener is the most poignant part. I know some may disagree with this, but the doctor's novel speaking of how random photons came out of the void and they coalesced to form a thinking hologram is as silly as those who believe life and the universe spontaneously evolved. That may not have been the idea behind that statement, but to me it is a whimsical farce on how people believe things came into existence without a Creator
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

@Pluto-Nash

Yes! I thought so too! I was really surprised he wasn't
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 2:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

@Apsara81Cloud

That's a good question! I forgot about her! They should have at least mentioned it
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 1:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I can't stand the immorality they show on television! This is actually one main reason why I stopped watching new tv. Having the captain sleep with that man was really unnecessary.

That said, this episode reminds me of all things of an old Gobots episode. Cy-Kill used a device to brainwash all humans and turn them against the Guardians. I kept thinking about this while watching this episode (that's not a bad thing-I have always liked the Gobots)
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Dec 29, 2018, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

***Just a disclaimer (because this came up before): the Sean who made the earlier comment is NOT me! Thank you ***
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Dec 29, 2018, 3:15am (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I actually liked this movie, and Rogue One a lot better than Episodes 7 & 8 *(But I hated them, so that's not saying much)

Actually, I think nothing has topped the storyline presented in the books. In my opinion, the continuing story in the books was more interesting, and even the trilogy of Han Solo's adventures and growing up before meeting our heroes in A New Hope was better. I like how he met Lando, and also, it better fits the storyline of why Lando said, "You've got a lot of guts coming here, after what you pulled". In the Solo movie, the last thing Han did to him was basically expose his cheating. Yea, I guess that would make Lando mad, but he just laughed it off. In the book Rebel Dawn (the last of the trilogy), Han got all his smuggler buddies to help Bria Theran and the Rebel Alliance (a long story) to invade a planet run by the Hutts and promised to share the valuables there. Han didn't know it, but Bria betrayed them all and took all the treasure for the alliance. Lando and the other smugglers assumed Han was in on it the whole time! You can really understand their anger. (*Which is why no one would help Han pay off Jabba when he had to dump the spice shipment when he got boarded)

Ok, I guess I spent more time explaining something else rather than a review of the movie, but basically, the Disneyverse is a pale imitation of the REAL canon of the Expanded Universe (the books) in my opinion.

However, that said, I think Solo got a bum deal in the box office. I believe everyone was so mad at the Last Jedi that they didn't give Solo a chance. As a movie in and of itself, it was entertaining, and I would have liked to see it do well and the Last Jedi to bomb
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Dec 29, 2018, 3:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

This is DEFINITELY among my favourite episodes! I like how it shows the peoples in various ships helping each other and all gaining. That is actually a very elevated and Godly way of doing things, and I am glad it was shown to be better in the long run than everyone preying and stealing from each other.

I do agree with the first commentor that even a mention of a warning buoy would have been nice. I didn't see much of season 7 on its first run (I haven't seen most of these since I used to watch them on their original showing, but by the latter seasons I was too busy to watch, and missed some episodes), but I would like to have seen the two main alien allies stay with Voyager at least for a few episodes, but I guess that's how it goes.

I didn't realise the 1st alien in the mute race was the same actor who played Hugh on TNG's "I Borg"! Cool!

Oh, there is one misstep (at least in my opinion). While it was neat that the doctor developed the music language for him (and his race), when he said that there was no way to communicate with them, I was thinking, what about a mind meld?
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Dec 27, 2018, 2:18am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I for one liked this movie! The only issue I had with it at the time and still kind of do is the actress who plays Anij. I know this is a matter of personal preference, but to me she was far too old and unattractive. Ok, those are two separate things-first her age:

If the planet was supposed to de-age people, I would have chosen an actress close to her early 20s (although the real world reason is that it would make Patrick Stewart seem more a pervert than anything else. The episode with the flashback with him in the academy had a young actress (she was 17 I think), but he was supposed to be young as well.

The attractiveness angle is again my own opinion, and I know that my view on female attractiveness is vastly different than most guys (I found NONE of the regulars on Star Trek attractive except Ezri Dax and Kes), but again, there you have it.

But the movie itself to me was FUNNY! The line where Worf thought Gilbert and Sullivan were new crew members was Hilarious! (But I will grant that 375 years from now, they would have been more obscure-honestly, sad to say a lot of people even now might not know them!) And other lines and situations were downright funny/entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Dec 27, 2018, 2:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

First let me say that in a way, B'lanna Torres has always been my least favourite member of Voyager. I actually don't mind Harry Kim, and while Neelix can be a bit annoying at times, he does not come close to Torres for me. She is volatile, abrasive, and gets away with it!

I am also not really a fan of the more emotional, touchy/feely episodes. I do understand that Michael is a bit...extreme, and I do not want to see nothing but flashy space stuff, but I also do not want a soap opera

But with that said, Star Trek has also shown allegories on real life issues, and this one is no different. To me, it was telling that when B'lanna did her first genetic alteration, the first thing that happened was the holographic girl got blond hair. To me, this episode is about minorities who no longer want to be part of their race. It is a flawed viewpoint, but the way some races are sterotyped an understandable one that really can only be addressed by viewing people as God does-as human, not one category or another based on race-it is based on the actions of each individual, not the colour of their skin, or some other superficial external feature.

I also agree that B'lanna should have been punished for what she did to the doctor. Yes, he forgave her, but as Chief Engineer, she probably has more knowledge and access to the doctor's program than anyone else, and she needs to learn that this is a responsibility that can not be abused. Just like the genetic alterations she wanted to make could (and no doubt would) cause unforseen issues with the child, changes to the doctor's programming (especially ones that involved his reasoning and diagnosis) could easily turn catastrophic if he from then on misdiagnoses patients throughout the ship.

Paris may be seen as a happy-go-lucky kid/adult who likes to play with fast cars, fast ships and pretend to be a superhero from old serials, but he must have a LOT of patience and maturity to marry and deal with B'lanna! I frankly couldn't see someone like that ever marrying! (And not because of her race)

Look, this may also seem insensitive, but even in the flashbacks, a lot of what she took offense at really seemed blown out of proportion. She told her dad her cousins hated her. I was expecting them to all gang up on her when out of sight of the adults (not physically, but mockingly), and that didn't happen. The oldest girl seemed to genuinely like her, the one boy barely had a speaking role, and the other boy was mischievous. *(I am not excusing what he did, and perhaps a spanking would have been in order, but I don't think he was anti-Klingon. Yes, he made a reference to Klingons liking live food, but I think it was just a prank he would have done to anyone not meant with malice)

I don't want to have my comments seen thru the glasses of what race I am, but I will say, as a Black person, I have seen some instances of racism, but much more have I seen instances where other Black people automatically assumed an event transpired a certain way because others were racists when it simply wasn't true! I think Torres has that problem too. (But that's not my main issue with her-she is just far too quick tempered, and abrasive and that has nothing to do with her race. Even in the fictional Star Trek universe, Worf has certain traits, and yet is a very likeable person. Torres is just...ugh!)

Well, that's my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Dec 27, 2018, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

A really enjoyable episode! Of course, the probability of all the timelines being points of traumatic moments instead of routine ones is a bit low, but the story would be boring otherwise
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Dec 25, 2018, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I haven't read any of the comments yet before I give my opinion-if Iden didn't become a mustache twirling villain at the end, this story would have a lot more depth. That really killed the momentum for me.

Also, why would cultures create basically sentient servants? If the robots or holograms in this case were just tools like a computer, it would make more sense. It is completely stupid for these devices to be made like this.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Dec 18, 2018, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

An enjoyable episode.

I have to say, I agree with the people who say they don't understand what Tom sees in B'lanna. She has an abrasive personality, she doesn't really share Tom's interests, and she's not very attractive at all (in my opinion) Still, it was good they got married.

I do feel bad for Harry. He always seems to get the short end of the stick

I don't get either why people dislike Neelix, Harry, and to a lesser extent, Chakotay. In my opinion, the person who was most annoying in this episode of Tuvok! Trying to do a weekly report when it was obvious everyone in the room was into the race-an unemotional Vulcan doesn't mean purposely being a killjoy!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

I'll say this again, this would have made a lot more sense if at least 1 in 10 drones were affected by Unimatrix Zero. One in a million is ridiculous-barely worth the Queen's time
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.