Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 77 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Scott Gordon
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 6:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I was worried about young Kelly's rejection at first, but then I remembered that we were told only that he called her at 9:00 AM the next day. It was also implied that this was not an appropriate time to call and was probably a little off putting to most people. So, since Kelly's memory was wiped (Dr. Finn usually knows what she is doing), I convinced my self that in the original timeline, young Kelly probably react by saying that she didn't see it working out, Ed Mercer is very strong willed and probably got her to come around after the initial reaction. Oh well, at least I was able to satisfy myself with this, but I am not very hard to convince.
Set Bookmark
Scott B
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Admiral Cornwell’s background as a counselor was a major plot point last season in one or two episodes as she was analyzing Lorca’s fitness to command and then herself becoming a POW
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

God damn! I was already loving this episode because of all of the emotional contentit. I was genuinely moved by all of Isaac's goodbyes. But then, the pivet! What was already a fantastic character episode transformed into downright terror. I was hoping this would become a two-parter. I just can't wait for the conclusion next week. Four stars, by far.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I haven't been able to catch the last few episodes of the Orville but I did manage to watch tonight's episode. I really miss this show. After watching this episode, I kind of have to sit back and calm myself. I found the ending so profoundly emotional. All I can say is, wow. Star Trek was actually never this good.
Set Bookmark
Scot Myers
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

After a long hiatus, the return of the Orville was a welcome sight. I was not disappointed in any way. I genuinely enjoyed reconnecting with all of the characters in this way. This was much more of a day in the life episode aboard the ship. It was a fantastic way to reintroduce us to all of the characters and get us back on common footing for the show. I can appreciate that every episode doesn't need to be an adventure. In fact, spending time with this crew is entertainment enough on its own.
Set Bookmark
Scot Myers
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

I am simply Blown Away by the visual effects of tonight's episode. Every single shot was simply beautiful. And I don't just mean the space shots. The sets this season, the production design, all of it is simply a Wonder to behold. As for the episode, I found it shockingly moving. Bortus really is the standout character of this show. At first, I thought this was a variation of the holodiction concept from TNG. I actually found it far more relevant than that, however. Internet porn obsession is far more prevalent in modern culture than simple escapism. I found their handling of the subject to be both tasteful and relevant. And, of course, the show's signature humor was still present. I genuinely consider this show to be must see TV. I can't wait until next week!
Set Bookmark
Scot
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I don't seem to hate this episode as much as the general consensus here. True, it's certainly not my favorite. But, there are affecting moments in it for me. Especially when the children finally get their breakdown. Yes, I wish the story was better. I wish the alien was better. I wish the pacing was better. But, I can say that about a variety of episodes throughout the franchise. For me, the Alternative Factor will always be my least favorite original Trek. This one, for me, is a 2-star episode. Certainly nothing great, but nothing as atrocious as some others I can think of. I'm not arguing the point. I certainly can understand and see why people feel the way they do about this episode. I'm just saying that, for me, it's just one to get through. But not one to banish.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 7:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

This has always been one of my favorite episodes. And, for me, the ending never unraveled even a little bit. Thalassa explained to McCoy quite clearly that they had powers Sargon wished them to never use. That would include the powers of life and death. When their consciousness inhabited the Enterprise, that would have been no different than their android bodies. I never had any trouble with it at all. This was a wonderful morality tale steeped in genuine science fiction. And the "risk is our business" speech will forever be the most inspiring words Trek has ever produced for me.
Set Bookmark
scott
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 4:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Social evolution, as referenced in many comments above, MAY reduce underlying primal survival and aggressive traits. Primarily due to preferential breeding choices, but only to a very limited extent. The prevalance and intensity MAY be reduced. However to act as though those underlying traits wont exist in the future is ludicrous. Quarks speech though perhaps not fully realized, from the 20th/21st century perspective, is certainly realized within the 24th century federation ideal.

as to the "robot/drone army" arguments, such would violate the 24th century ideal far more than ground troops. Not to mention any such soldiers/weapons would almost certainly violate any number of internal/external federation treaties.

No SOCIALLY advanced civilization would use such weapons/soldiers. Because weaponry of such a type diminishes the cost of war. The less war costs the more viable a solution it is.

That likely seems insane to most readers, however consider this, the defiant is the FIRST federation WARSHIP. Though most federation starships are really just mobile military (civil defense if you prefer) research bases (they have less defenses and weapons, but are more powerful). This is in keeping with the defensive militarism of a socially evolved culture. The federation clearly has weapons of mass destruction or technologies easily adapted as such (genesis device) and STANDARD (okay relatively standard) torpedos that can be made into planet killers (Omega-VOY). Not to mention they can replicate bioweapons, if they choose, pretty much on demand. Notably, with the exception of the section 31 virus, those tactics are never used even when losing.

Federation questionable tactics/technologies are used by individuals and organizations as the war progresses, but not adopted to any further extent (shipyards and ketracel white facility come to mind). those actions should be judged keeping in mind that the founders/dominion attempted to supernova bajor's sun, using a federation proto matter technology before the war actually began.

Yes of course the technologically advanced federation COULD deploy a drone and robot army, much like the dominion deploys the biological equivalent Jem'Hadar. But they wouldnt. at least not until their bellies were empty ... really empty .. and a least a fortnight sans sonic showering.. minimum.

its intimated that the federation could (but never would) wipe out the klingons and romulans and definitely the cardassians, but as an enlightened civilization they prefer peace treaties allowing for the eventual and inevitable root beer infiltration. The federation is like the vulcans of ST: first contact, but with hugs though still kinda condescending.
Set Bookmark
scott
Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

While the technology of the TR-116 rifle and targeting system may or may not be sound , the discontinuation and non use of such a weapon is sound. Its a weapon of assassination and murder, its only purpose is to kill, in complete violation of the tenets of the federation. One would also assume it violates one of the many treaties of the federation, both internal and external treaties.

Beaming and replicator technology could be used to decimate almost any enemy, since a biogenic weapon beamed onto ds9 could have wiped out everyone, as could beaming a bomb onboard. instead soldiers are beamed in. even klingons, cardacians and romulans (the less enlightened, so to speak, confederations never use such methods). notably this is overlooked when a bomb is beamed onto the ketracel white facility (as gamma quadrant invaders seem to be unprotected by Alpha quadrant treaties..)the destabilization of a suns core to destroy the jem h'dar ship yards. The same goes for the section 31 changeling virus, though predicated on threat of dominion and considerably further away from federation tenets.

Even starfleet controlled replicators seem to have extreme restrictions, and require clearance and command approval for even replicating substrates for biogenic weapons (bashir- bio mimetic gel). The TR 116 seemed to have similar but less stringent restrictions on replication.

of course, lesser civilizations seem to use such methods and weaponry with frequency against their enemies and their own people. (quark as arms dealer).

Clearly very effective and highly destructive weapons are available, "genesis device" but they are not used, partly because of enlightenment but also probably because of treaty bans. This applies more for the Federation, take for instance the Defiant (even sans cloak) which is viewed pretty unfavorably within starfleet as a "ship of war", created in response to the "borg threat". That even at the height of the war with the dominion its the only one of its kind, discounting the "valiant". War takes its toll on enlightenment though and perceptions of the defiant shift quite dramatically though not enough to commission more of them.

basically, its very reasonable that the TR 116 was not used, regardless of situation.

as far as the vulcan issue there is a strong argument to be made that this is realism, not revisionism. Vulcans are physically and mentally superior to humans. arrogance is not an emotion it is a conclusion of logic. Logic as stated frequently in the commentary can be used to justify almost anything, including superiority of logical beings. They use logic to restrain an underlying violent and highly emotional psyche , to deny who they are at the core. All of the series depict them as a superior race that has reached THEIR peak, in part because of this compromise. They are a stagnant civilization , they are not particularly adaptive. Reliance on logic alone has to some extent assured this. the flaws of the vulcans, like all god like figures, become more apparent as their "children" surpass or outgrow them. This is perhaps most strongly portrayed in ENT as the children seek to step out from the "benevolent" shadow of the "parents". While this is a simplification, it is also reasonable justification for a greater depiction of limitations and even flaws of the "highly evolved" vulcans. Tempering emotion with logic is a great concept, one that should be striven for in our own development, however logic not tempered by emotion is not an evolutionary path to aspire to. one of the themes that runs through ENT, DS9 and VOY is that moderation/acceptance of emotion rather than near complete suppression of emotions is path out of stagnation for vulcans.

of course thats just my meandering thoughts on the topic
Set Bookmark
Scotch Eltringham
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Reading all these very knowledgeable Star Trek fans comments,I think this series should be renewed now! No two year wait. I agree that this story is amazing. The federation are not acting like our federation we have known and loved for 40 years. The Klingons are not the Klingons we hate/love/respect. (no way would they have walked away from destroying the federation if they were that close to achieving that at time of war) The liberties these writers have made are a refreshing shakeup over star trek history. It's reminding me how I felt after the last episode of DS9....engaged. Time well invested. Don't keep us waiting any more. Go!
Set Bookmark
Scott Eltringham
Sun, Jun 10, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Reading all these very knowledgeable Star Trek fans comments,I think this series should be stopped now! No second series. I agree that this story is a mess. The federation are not acting like our federation we have known and loved for 40 years. The Klingons are not the Klingons we hate/love/respect. (no way would they have walked away from destroying the federation if they were that close to achieving that at time of war) The liberties these writers have made running rough shod over star trek history is un-forgivable. It's reminding me how I felt after the last episode of Lost....betrayed. Time wasted. Dont mess with the star trek universe any more. Stop!
Set Bookmark
Scot
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I found the Odo / Keira story line boring and repetitive. No great revelations at all and, ultimately, irrelevant. It was actually the Nog storyline that I found the most compelling in this episode. I found his desire to be genuine and his explanation quite moving. It changed the entire character for me for the rest of the show's run.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Was anyone else really bothered that when Data and Geordi were testing the phaser rifle that they took it to main engineering just mere feet from the warp core? If I needed a shooting range on the Enterprise I would NOT make one right in front of the thing that can blow the whole ship up.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

I forgot to mention how much I especially liked the resourcefulness of the doctor and her genuinely cutthroat attitude when it came to getting back to her children. That is a mother on a mission! Very impressive and violent. Lastly, I loved the endnote commentary about providing a cure for the people of the planet. That was a detail that could have easily been omitted but I think genuinely sealed the episode with some Star Trek type closure.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

Jammer is usually my go-to opinion for all things Trek. However, in this case, I have to respectfully disagree. I really enjoyed this episode. I thought it was some great character work and gave me a lot of insight into people that, up until now, I hadn't really cared for very much. By the end of the episode, not only did I like the doctor much more but I liked Isaac for the first time ever. I found this to be a very affecting story. I would have given it a solid 3 stars myself.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 9:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I loved it. Today, it was the most socially relevant. I also enjoyed the fact that it is finally evened out in tone. The human did not seem out of place or jarring. And the commentary was, while not subtle, extremely topical. A very solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 11:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Jammer, THANK YOU for rocking out both Discovery and The Orville. I really enjoy reading your reviews.

I'm writing this after watching the first four episodes, and so far "Context is King" is my favorite. A new Star Trek TV series is exciting, and there's a lot to adjust to. I don't get why they didn't just put the series 20 years after TNG, it would have explained a lot of the new look and feel, but I'm willing to give them a lot of leeway. I don't expect a TOS prequel to look like TOS. Klingons don't have to look like TOS or TNG Klingons and I'll give them some space there for having Star Trek be "fresh" and modern.

I don't like that I have to buy a streaming service. As of right now I plan to keep up-to-date with Season 1, but if there is a Season 2 I will consider just getting the streaming service when ALL the episodes are out and binge it.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I thought this episode was great. I've probably seen it a few times, but watching it in 2017 was the first time that I picked up that the alien Riker nailed was Lilith from Fraser. I really liked that they didn't end it all clean. Basically, they failed their mission by f-ing up first contact, but came to an understanding and planted the seeds for a better future, but an imperfect now.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I enjoyed the episode but I have one burning, glaring issue with the plot...

So they manipulated the computer's time by 24 hours to cover for the "missing day" - but what the hell happens when they pull up to the next Starbase and start arguing over whether it's Tuesday or Wednesday?
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Holy crap! Liam Neeson!
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 8:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

At first I thought this was just a rehash of "For the World is Hollow and I have Touched the Sky." However, that's like saying that any plot with a generational ship that's devolved into ignorance would have to be a rehash. I found the take on this very fresh. And there was so much more character stuff going on. I think that's why I'm enjoying the Orville so much. A good portion of the show is spent on character interaction and growth. The plot, while familiar, is merely the means to an end. It's really about watching the people interact. And I have yet to be disappointed. If anything, this episode really ups the ante in terms of the drama. I like the direction the show is going.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

I have to say that this was a profound episode. I think it demonstrates an inexorable move from the silliness of this show to genuine science fiction. Honestly, this is the best Star Trek episode I've seen in years.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Seth MacFarlane's love of Star Trek is well-known. I, for one, was counting on that reverence to show itself in this show. I was in no way disappointed. I really did feel like I was watching Star Trek. While the casual dialogue was a little bit off-putting, I still found it to be very human. I enjoyed the acting, the characters, and the visuals. The sets were a little too clean for me, but that's trivial. All in all, I found it very enjoyable and I'm looking forward to future episodes.
Set Bookmark
Scotty from Detroit
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I thought Worf should have proclaimed that he took over the Enterprise through battle and forced the crew to submit to him and was now using it for the glory of the empire.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.