Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Saru's ganglia
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 3:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick

"I get what your saying but I think the difference here is this is a Star Trek show, which comes with an enormous amount of baggage, myself included. If you're going to use the "Star Trek" name, you're going to bring in people from a different era of Trek who may watch out of nostalgia or some other reason."

This is even more strange to read. If I disliked a show that much, it would be even further reason for me not to watch it (a Trek show crashing "my view" of Star Trek). Me watching it and getting mad about it would be absurd because it sounds like contributing to the very thing that I am wishing did not exist.
Set Bookmark
Saru's ganglia
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 12:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick
"One thing I want to point out is that Star Trek shows have a tradition of improving in later seasons. DS9, VOY, and ENT all vastly improved in the fourth season. I’m not saying that it’s going to happen here but it’s worth considering."

I think that improvement has been there all through the three season for Discovery. But if I thought every week that the show sucked throughout the three seasons (not that I would have watched the show for three seasons in that case, one season at best and I'm done with it) and I keep watching it, then all I'm doing after is wasting time to confirm my dislike of the show on a weekly basis. I'd argue that there is nothing productive about that behavior.

As for your earlier post, I don't disagree, but that was not what I was referring to. I watch silly or low-quality shows occasionally too, if nothing but for commenting on it and laughing with my husband or our friends. Only for that purpose. But a show that I hate or that I conclusively decided it sucked really bad (which is what I referred to) after a bunch of episodes over a season, or two, or three? No way. I'd never make it to more than one season, or the end of a season, period. There are plenty of other choices for my entertainment instead of using that time to get disappointed and confirm my dislike of a show at regular intervals.
Set Bookmark
Saru's ganglia
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 10:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Chris Lopes
It's one thing to hope that a show will get better because you keep noticing a good episode or two here and there and see some chunks of good writing and therefore keep watching, it's another to have already formed an opinion and passed conclusive judgment repetitively on how badly a show sucks over a long period of time. It's silly to expect to suddenly begin liking it in the case of the latter. The writers helming the show and the actors they learned to hate will still be there, good luck with that.
Set Bookmark
Saru's ganglia
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 9:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"this travesty can continue is that it so "correct" in its inclusivity and it pleases all the blue check marks. People that criticize the storytelling can just be called racists, misogynist, or bigots just because the show has protected itself from any attacks."

You continue to watch a show that you call a travesty?
My husband (white, male) quit watching after the first few episodes, he doesn't like it. He even criticized it in a facebook group back then, but he's never been accused of any of the above. But he does this weird activity which involves not wasting time hate-watching it since season 1 and incessantly talking about how much he hates it. Funny minor distinction.
Set Bookmark
Saru's ganglia
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 9:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

An enjoyable hour of Star Trek. Mission to a ship on an unknown planet, unexpected circumstances involving some high-concept sci-fi elements allowing the show to take advantage of its visual dexterity, with surprises such as three crew members in changed appearances. Doug Jones was a notable highlight even in his natural self. I also liked seeing the crew working together, using kooky technotalk and collaboration to solve problems, including a holodeck that is deteriorating and malfunctioning (who knew that would occur in Trek, LOL). Some interesting scenes with Saru talking to the elder, Michael attempting to connect with Su’Kal, and Michael and Saru’s talk about him staying which made sense. Nice reference to the Short Treks episodes on Kaminar. The actor playing Su’Kal was good and the interactions with glitchy holodeck characters were amusing. I can understand why the cause of the Burn may seem underwhelming, but I am not sure if we heard the end of that. Plus, from my point of view, the Burn has not been the center piece of the season, episodes have in general had other bottle storylines. I am glad not every episode was focused on the Burn. The balance between serialized arc and individual stories has been more balanced this year. As for the last two episodes of the season still to come, I am more intrigued by the storylines centering on Saru, Vance, Adira, and Book and Discovery's adaptation period to the new time period than the Burn or anything else.

My one complaint is the cloying banter between Tilly and Osyraa while Stamets and the engineering section were getting compromised. That could have been handled in a more engaging way, with more organic intensity.

Looking forward to the continuation next week. Solid outing overall, 3,5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Saru's ganglia
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 6:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I am not sure what Trek fans are expecting but this episode ticked every box for me. The first 30 minutes are some of the best Trek I've ever seen. The location and visuals are dazzling, DISCO's usual strengths as Jammer and some have already said in the past. The cold opening ranks up there with the best I've seen in sy-fy TV, the tumbling and falling looks so real. Did Emily Coutts flip herself over the console or was that a stunt?

Seeing the crew work together was amazing and the actors do an outstanding job, especially Doug Jones, Tig Notaro, Mary Wiseman, and Emily Coutts. I can watch Saru all week. I want Jett Reno's dry medley of honesty and sense of humor in every episode and I really want Detmer to be ok. Minus points for Pollard for letting Detmer go when it was obvious that she was suffering from PTSD but I put myself in Pollard's position and I can also understand why she's overlook that during the messy aftermath of the crash landing. I am also not a fan of Pollard as a character so I am likely to interpret the scene with bias.

The second half is not as great as the first. I have never been fond of Trek when it does western style 'crash-an-establishment' scene but it's still watchable because if there is a scene like that with the inevitable conflict or fight, the villain must make it worthwhile and the actor who played the bad guy makes it work. Georgiou shows up to take care of him, I am always in awe of Yeoh's skills in these scenes and I read that she coaches other stunts on stage on top of doing her own stunts in Georgiou's scenes.

This is my first personal four star episode of Discovery on Jammer's scale.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 3:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@ Ben

"This is a nitpick, but that SMG error embodies the "end of history""

Yeesh, she misspoke dude.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 11:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@MadManMUC

due to the endless amount of episodes where something always prevents an easy transporter solution, I just kind of assumed it got taken out during the mine sequence.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Given that Airiam downloaded her memories into the Discovery computer, I suspect they'll be able to recreate her in a new body.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 9:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I think my issue with this episode is that having Orrin blow himself up feels like too much of an easy out. They raise this question about whether the Union and even further, the crew is willing to turn over one of their own to a foreign nation that will most certainly execute him.

Well conveniently Orrin keeps anyone from having to actually make that decision and just offs himself, which to me sidesteps the interesting moral conflicts the episode DOES raise.

This was an issue that lesser Trek episodes also had, where the writing would conveniently allow characters to avoid some very difficult consequences. I can recall many a Jammer review discussing it actually.

It doesn't make the episode outright bad or anything, it just leaves me with a feeling that's unsatisfying. Compare to say the episode "Krill", where Mercer did have to make a tough decision and face the consequences of that decision.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 12:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

you know it's funny how Into Darkness sort of legitimizes this misconception in popular culture that the KHANNNN scream was an unironically serious moment in Star Trek, when in fact it was Kirk hamming it up to trick Khan.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Also even if Discovery is canceled after 3 seasons I dont see how the would prove any of these conspiracy theories correct unless theres any actual info included that its canceled for anything beyond the reasons any other show gets canceled - ie underperforming.

I realize that's less interesting than an elaborate conspiracy of super duper secret contracts and corporate intrigue but if you predict a show is going to end after every season - inevitably it will come true.

Hail Zorp.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Dave

"Anyways, you can mock all you want"

I mean, if you insist.

What's next - Discovery turns frogs gay? CBS kidnapper the Lindbergh baby? Alex Kurtzman is an actual demon?

The cynicism toward real news organizations is starkly hilarious when you're putting trust in some guy on YouTube. We might as well look to astrology or the Long Island Medium next.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 6:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I find the nativity in believing random people on YouTube have serious behind the scenes insight into corporate politics an extremely bizarre phenomenon.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Trent

take a breath man
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 1:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Cody B

Saru's done that walk since season 1 actually, it's one of those things you see in every scene once you notice that's how he walks.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I think they should go with Orion Clint Howard personally
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Just for the love of Q don't make it Burnham
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 10:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I actually thought the doomsday ships looked like Ba'ul ships
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 9:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Mac

If they really want to do a doomsday plot they'd probably be better off as just saying it'll wipe out the Federation or the Alpha Quadrant, which is still a monumental task but at least still feels "local". Wiping out a whole galaxy with just ships would take such a ridiculous amount of time.
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Mertov

Lol can you imagine a guy dedicating a large amount of time to a show he doesn't watch?
Set Bookmark
Saru's Ganglia
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@ticonstar94

"I'm a big star trek fan, but some people on here and youtube comments are really really nitpicky"

dude they said "degrees kelvin", LITERALLY UNWATCHABLE /s
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.