Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

I'm sorry Garth killed Batgirl.

She was fun crazy.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Lord have mercy, that's a long title for an episode.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 31, 2019, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

A for effort. Appreciate the equality message more than ever in 2019 having watched our overlords obscenely grow in wealth and power in the past few decades.

C for execution. That still leaves us with a B-episode. Good enough for me.

Observation on Stratos transporter: It's the prettiest one in any Trek, and also the most dangerously placed with only a small railing between you and the planet.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Aug 28, 2019, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Adam = Matthew McConaughey

Yeah, brother!

This could never legitimately top a "best of" list, but worst of all 72? Nah, it ain't that bad.

And I thought some of the music was pretty cool.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

A planet so overcrowded that they must press up against the duplicate Enterprise? How did they ever make room to construct it?

Give them the name of a good 21st century skyscraper architect.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

The girl.

The girl.

The girl.

The girl.

The girl.

The girl.

The girl.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 3:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Lt. Raddah: "What a bunch of *itches on this ship. If we survive, I'm getting a transfer."
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Aug 10, 2019, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

Noble intent (and I'm FINE with "heavy-handed" preaching with the right message).

But absolutely ruined by a long list of bad moves in writing, direction, etc.

Terrible episode, and I WANTED to like it.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

The show was really going all over the place by this stage.

It's almost as is each episode was put together by an entirely different team of producers, writers and directors who had never seen a previous episode. Mood, tone and everything gyrate wildly. (Although the obsession with historical Earth cultures sadly remained intact).

In hindsight, definitely the sickest episode of the 72 with the whip and hot poker, but not the worst episode of the series.

Micheal Dunn was really good as Alexander.

I think "The Tholian Web" is the next to last good episode, with "All Our Yesterdays" being the only good one remaining.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 11:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

A Tale of Two Cities meets Lost in Space in a 52 minute show that felt like 100 minutes.

I can see why some like/love it and others dislike/hate. You're all right and you're all wrong.

Such as the mysterious ways of "The Empath."

QUERY: Why does an empath need to be taught empathy? Isn't that like teaching a fish how to swim or a heart how to beat?
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

The crew was practically motionless in scenes with Accelerated Kirk and the Scalosians, yet the crew was able to get from bridge to lower decks and back during the course of the show.

The producers didn't think that out at all.

And someone should have told the Next Gen and DS9 folks about this acceleration liquid -- they could have wiped out the Borg and the Dominion and be back in time for supper.

The Federation really dropped the ball on incorporating opportunities like this. Other beings are intrepid crew encountered who ended up leaving things on a somewhat friendly note and could have helped them out:

Talosians
The Corbomite Kid
The Organians (they must have gotten bored with peace brokering)
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

I think this episode helped cement forever the legacy of the Klingons just as "The Enterprise Incident" cemented the legacy Romulans. So just on that alone, "Day of the Dove" is an important episode, even if it isn't Top 10 material on its own.

"Enterprise Incident" is the stronger of the two, but both really give us our best looks at these two races to date.

I'm not sure how much a new Trek would have picked up on these two races without these third season episodes that really gave the Klingons and Romulans the feel of ongoing threats to the Federation.

I have often wondered why "Next Gen" went with the Klingons as the new allies. In TOS, it's clearly the Romulans who have the mantle of noble, worthy adversaries with some admirable traits.

At least they kept the Romulans as the more intellectual of the two empires.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I didn't like this one as a kid, but it's gone way, way up my list upon a fresh viewing decades later.

I'm with Rahul and some of the others for the same reason. 3 stars for me. 3 1/2 if they hadn't missed a few things such as Kirk watching the transport at the end. Sloppy things like that detract.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

M5 computer from "Ultimate Computer" is put back into use for Gary Seven.

OK episode.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I just can't get past Kirk's STUPID decision to walk around observing when Spock clearly explains they only have 30 minutes.

Why on Earth would Kirk cut it so close to begin with? Very, very set-up that makes Kirk look like an idiot.

Otherwise, it could have been a good mid-range episode.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

An excellent episode. Even better than I remembered.

Given the show's financial limitations in the third season, I wonder whether anyone said or even thought:

"Hey, let's take our limited budget and do four or five Romulan episodes so we can recycle sets and parts. Plus, these Romulan episodes are good!"

Vs. reinventing the wheel every single week.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 11:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I would actually love the challenge of rewriting and redoing this episode and making it good. I think the premise is too flawed to make it great, but I think hidden with this sheetstorm is an actual good episode.

Turn this thing into a detective story about why the adults committed suicide and the children didn't seem to care.

And instead of a vague "evil" alien, it's a medical mystery.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I've always had a fantasy of taking bad "Trek" episodes and turning them into good ones while sticking to the original premise.

And I don't think the premise is all that bad. In fact, it has something of a Borg quality to it -- the forced melding of the organic and the mechanical.

The main fixes:

-- Spock is kidnapped and his brain is still in his body. His body is attached to a device that immobilizes him and keeps him alive. He's forced against his will to function as an organic computer.

-- Keep the men on the surface, women below. Add more action on the surface. Make the women less hot, more menacing.

This could actually make a very good, dark episode in the right hands.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Only the wildly inappropriate ending keeps this from being a four-star episode.

Definitely the best of the Original Series' many "computer takes over" episodes.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 8:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

Only episode I'm skipping in my 2019 run-through. That cube crushing scene has haunted me for decades.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This was one hot mess of an episode. Worse than I remembered.

I haven't seen "Spock's Brain" since the 1970s -- and I have a feeling I'm going to like it better than "Omega Glory."
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

It's rather premature of Spock to be contemplating Federation membership for the two planets -- especially Ekos.

And I'm not sure why either would have any interest in joining the Federation after what happened.

I see this as a Romulan opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 5:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

If "City on the Edge of Forever" is the best TOS drama, then "The Trouble With Tribbles" is the best dramedy. (I say dramedy because there were dramatic stakes to the episode, which made the comedy all the better).

I think one reason the episode is so good is the characters stay true to character. They didn't have them behaving out of character just to achieve some laughs.

I think this episode is the one that cemented "Star Trek's" place as an enduring franchise. It's also the peak of the TOS to me. I don't see another episode coming up that matches it.

It's also one of the few Trek episodes or movies that puts every single minute to extraordinary use. The others:

City on the Edge of Forever
Mirror, Mirror
Doomsday Machine
The Wrath of Khan
The Undiscovered Country

+++

The Measure of a Man
Yesterday's Enterprise
Best of Both Worlds
Inner Light

+++

Duet
The Die is Cast
The Visitor
In the Pale Moonlight
The Siege of AR-558
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Wow -- much better than I had remembered. One of the few of TOS that I had not seen since the 1970s.

The Big Three really standout in this episode, but the supporting players and guest stars turn in strong performances as well.

The episode has a quality to it you don't see again until DS9. It's pretty dark -- in a good way.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I must have a must higher tolerance for rapid-aging stories than the average "Trek" fan. I really liked the Next Gen rapid-aging story in season 2, and it's mostly panned.

I enjoyed this one as well, and it sure resonates with the almost 57-year-old me a lot more than the 12-year-old me.

Poor Lt. Galway. She's was treated like an afterthought. I don't know why, but her death always stuck with me as a particular sad one, and last night's viewing didn't change that.

That line about what a stupid place to put a mirror -- that's a great moment.

I had forgotten about the entire Romulan angle. Glad they had it in there.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.