Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 283 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
SammyD
Mon, Jul 12, 2021, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

I got the impression that the reason they were able to escape the amoeba was that the negative energy field was outside the amoeba and that once they were inside they weren't affected by it
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

This episode just ended and I was reminded why I do not like Picard as a captain. He is the arrogant one. The thing about Q that irked me (but necessary for storylines) was how Q with all his powers, did more harm than good for the universe. His son would later be even worse. Riker wanted to do good for his ship mates but they all said thanks but no thanks. Seriously? Especially Geordie. He would later get his eyesight repaired, but wouldn't let Riker do so now? The entire Worf bit was cringe-worthy. Not saving the little girl just because Picard said not to use the newly gifted powers? Yuck, the whole episode was terrible, not only in execution, but the storyline itself.

Give me Q powers, and I will use it wisely.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

@Dela,

I just rewatched this episode after listening to the Delta Flyers podcast rewatch, and they also mentioned the relevance to our times of the line about avoiding public gatherings due to it being a threat to public health.

But rewatching the episode, the exchange between Denara and the Doctor continued. The Doctor acknowledges that this is a reasonable policy (nevermind that this disease has continued for hundreds of years; imagine if we were still isolating large amounts of the population due to a disease around since the 1600s), but Denara seems to disagree! That in the Vidiians' laser-like focus on remaining alive, perhaps they have forgotten how to live.

I believe this line is also relevant, as if she can wonder that, even when dealing with a disease that causes horrible disfiguration and requires constant skin grafts and organ transplants, shouldn't we also wonder that in our day, dealing with diseases far less virulent and deadly? (Cough, cough, COVID.)
Set Bookmark
Sam Mickle
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I just got to this episode during my annual watch through of all pre JJ trek Tos-Ent. I have to say i feel judging from the episode where she lost her powers and then got a rude attitude about it. I feel this Troi is actually the real one(before the stabby bit and the ultra old bit) and the one we normally see is the façade. That has always been my head canon.
Set Bookmark
FLOTSAM!
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Hi Jammer! Just a quick note, THANK YOU so much for your reviews. I love reading them and as a huge trekkie (as of just the past few years, when I started going through DS9) they've been a dear companion to me. I read each review immediately after every episode I watch, and always have your site open in my tabs for quick reference. Seriously, it's been a pleasure.

My only regret is what you haven't reviewed (Lower Decks, Farscape, SG1, etc)! Although I understand your reasonings for not doing so. You do you!

Anyway, that's it, just a quick bit of fan mail for you. Thanks for everything.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@Jason R.
"FWIW I have never been bothered by shows like Discovery upping the representation of previously underrepresented or unrepresented groups. Star Trek has always done this. "

True. The question is, for what reason has it done this?

In TOS the purpose of having Uhura on the bridge along with Chekhov, Sulu, Kirk wasn't to exhibit diversity but to show that, in defiance of 1960s social norms, appearances shouldn't be an obstacle to what we can do. That they don't matter, they are not who we are. We are not diverse because we are all the same.

When someone views TOS and sees that there isn't a person of Arab descent, there are no gay people, no trans people, and sees that as a problem, you can't help but think they didn't get that message. If we feel the need to include every shade of skin color, we are saying appearances do matter. Instead of identifying with the shared aspects of humanity, we're reverting to identifying with what separates us. If so, then there will always be somebody feeling excluded, since no matter how large the cast and crew, we cannot include every permutation and combination of appearances.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Oct 28, 2020, 1:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

So the Enterprise crash lands in pretty much exactly the same way in Generations and is unsalvageable, but Discovery — a ship 100 years older — crash lands and is ready to take off again a few hours later?
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: LD S1: Veritas

If you watched Disco or Picard and liked them, then this series is 100% your fault. Do you feel ashamed yet?
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

It’s 2020 and I’m just now getting around to watching DS9 all the way through. I grew up in the 80’s but as a kid mostly grew up on OS movies and episodes my Dad had on tape, and of course TNG on tv. I’ve since watched Voyager, Enterprise and Discovery all the way through as well as Picard. So I thought why not watch DS9 since it’s on Amazon and Star Trek the OS animates series. Anyway, I co sides myself a Trekkie and I think this episode “Duet” is one of the best Star Trek episodes I’ve ever seen. The literal acting duet between Harris Yulin and Nana Visitor was riveting and beautiful to watch. I think Nana Visitor is one of my favorite ST actors to begin with, her passion and emotion just pulls me in every time. I had no idea that was Harris Yulin until I googled the episode. I of course recognize him from many films but honestly this might be his best performance. I’ll have to go see if I can find other work of his because he was amazing in this!
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Just saw this episode last night. I agree with many posts written here. But I enjoy the episode every time I watch it. I did feel bad for Hogan, and yes, it only brought the point up that when they need to kill a "major" character, they pick my favourites: Hogan, and then later, just before getting back to the Alpha Quadrant, Carey.

On first viewings, I missed the grieving moan given by Culluh on seeing Seska dead. Kazon for the most part were not interesting to me. Exceptions were the young Kazon Kar played by Aron Eisenberg, and Anthony De Longis' Culluh. He always amused when he acted chauvinistically, even slapping Janeway for daring to ask a question. Yet we know he cared about Seska. And once on Voyager, he stomped around some more, complaining about Federation females, making his mourning her death all the more touching. Great job by DeLongis.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Jul 11, 2020, 1:34am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Horrible series, Picard and Disco. Better shows in past series. Babylon 5 much better.

Hope modern Trek is long forgotten, and that soon. #CancelTrek #CancelStarTrek

With love.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Just watched this this evening. I admit I do like the episode. Worf sometimes bored me with all his Klingon honour blah blah. But seeing him with his human "brother", I enjoyed the sparring dynamic between the two.

This episode also gives me yet another reason to not like Picard. He rails at Nikolai throughout the episode, yet at the end says "Our plan worked". Oh right, take credit once its been shown to work. Shut up, Picard!
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

As Spock might say (Tuvok never struck me as a particularly wise Vulcan, and besides, he's a security officer):

"What humans refer to as a soul has never been observed, therefore it would be logical to assume it does not exist"
Set Bookmark
Sam Dracula
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

I found this episode having a lot of potential but instead of focusing more on the antagonist, we have the Montgomery Scott turns into an obnoxious pussy. I’d still give 2 stars but after watching it tonight, I’m hoping Mr Scott gets stuck in a Jeffries tube.
Sometimes, I think the writers were high and decided to cut corners out of laziness
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Funny how we never heard about this "quantum stasis field generator" again...it would have come in handy at many points during the Dominion War.

or in The Way Of The Warrior.

or in Homefornt/Paradise Lost.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, May 8, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Did anybody else think it was funny when Data pushed Dr Crusher into the water or is it just me?
Set Bookmark
Sam
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

What the hell ?
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

@nolan. I meant he was dismissed as far as the story goes...and they did it as a gag that he was really Jack London...similar time gags in other time travel shows where some character of low station reveals his name in “and now you know the rest of the story...” way. After building up the relationship, I can’t recall that Data and the bell-hop had any interaction at all in part II.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

I agree with @Zazen. One of the things positive aspects of TOS was meeting strange new life forms. These subspace aliens were a cool concept. Part of me thought ther was a decent chance that Geordi might be vindicated, so the suspense factor was there as well. I also enjoyed the Data and Geordi bromance this episode. Overall this was an enjoyable and very worthy episode.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

This one is a classic IMHO. Four stars all the way.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Riker takes over command of the enterprise and within five minutes they are taken over by a handful of Ferengis. In the later seasons he really is kind of a screw-up.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I both love and hate the Twain character. He is annoying, but there is something I like about him. He provides a foil and comic relief.

The bell hop was built up in part 1 as potentially significant, only to be summarily dismissed in part . I thought this was a failing as I thought his relationship with Data was interesting.

In many ways this had the feel of a Doctor Who episode...Doctor goes into the past to stop sone evil aliens from killing people, while dealing with a populace that does not understand aliens and time travel...throw in a few timey wimey things and there you go.

Overall this is a strong and enjoyable effort. I would say that it is more than merely competent, it is really solid and entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

The Unification two parter, on the whole, was very disappointing. For all of the alleged intrigue, the plot just boiled down to Pardek cat fishing Spock for 80 years for some comic book level planetary invasion plot. It was really quite a simple story dragged out over two episodes to capitalize on the appearance of Nimoy. There were some decent scenes, but, as a whole, it just drags for me. One change that might have helped a little would be if they had brought back the Romulan commander from “The Enterprise Incident” in place of Pardek. After a fantastic season four, I feel like season five was really scuffling at this point with some really mediocre material.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I dont know why so many people seem to like this episode. Boggles my mind. There was so much hype. I was so excited to see Troi and Riker. I feel so let down. This show really is terrible and has no rewatch value. It's depressing and miserable. Why do we need the dead son story? Ugh. And Hugh dying for no reason was ridiculous. So much senseless violence. None of the characters have any likeability. Too many mindless action scenes and not enough heard. There is nothing to be learned and no real substance here.The writers of this show are awful. This is just terrible TV and comes nothing close the amazing Star trek we know. For shame
Set Bookmark
sam
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I just had to comment and say that your review is so accurate Jammer. I agree so much with what you said. I really respect your perspective because I have been reading your reviews for years and know how much you love Star Trek. I felt such a gut punch from the opening scene and still haven't recovered. This isn't Star Trek.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.