Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 44 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 11:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Blech. You know what would be a good pallet cleanser after this, Jammer? Reviewing Lower Decks! 😉
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Sat, Nov 14, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I meant to add, that I loved how the C&C's mistrust was based in the Temporal Cold War. Nice use of continuity.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Sat, Nov 14, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Liked the caution of the Starfleet C&C. Trust, but verify. LOVED

This idea that a Federation seed ship is maintained? Cool. That production design? Incredible.

The SAME seed ship, though? Centuries later? Just holding station in the exact same spot so that our crew can still feel like they know anything about this time period? It completely broke my suspension of disbelief. It's nonsensical.

I think I need to turn on captioning because the dialogue goes by so fast, because I went back to the scene where the idea is proposed, thinking I missed a crucial bit of a dialogue where we're told why we should even believe that the ship is still there.

This show has good ideas. The execution.. no, just no.

It's not unreasonable to be like, 'okay, we believe your story. welcome to starfleet. massive debriefs for all of you. you're going to take time to get adjusted to living in this time period. we're assigning a historian and cultural attache to your vessel. we're going to go over this ship with a fine tooth comb. we're going to upgrade it. you're all getting new uniforms.'

I'd be cool with half a season of just that.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 2:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

Enjoy! The show gets stronger and stronger in the second half of the season.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Oct 9, 2020, 2:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

Such an incredible season finale. One of the best in ages.

Best first season of Trek after TOS S1. Please give it a try.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 2:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Veritas

The season is nearly finished and it’s been an incredibly strong first season to a Trek series.

The level of detail and care put into the background for a Trek sitcom is incredible. I really can’t believe how much they pack in. The humor continues to work. Would love to see Badgey, The Dog and D14 all return some day.

It’s easily the best and most involving of the streaming era Trek shows.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 3:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Second Contact

I thoroughly enjoyed “Second Contact,” more than the pilots of the last two series. Most of the humor landed for me. “Banana, hot” was wonderfully absurd and got the biggest laugh.

I already find myself caring about most of the characters. Mariner was kind of annoying, but there is also clearly the most developed back story of the show with this character that we’ll get to eventually.

The pacing was indeed an issue. So rapid fire. Not necessary. I don’t know why this has been a hallmark of CBS All Access Trek. However, it was also the pilot. Lots more info the convey. I hope that calms down.

I adore the ship. The attention to detail is fantastic.
Set Bookmark
SX
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 3:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

It's okay. Visually it's incredible and you can see where all that money went, on your TV, in the comfort of your home. But the story is slow and just not that interesting. The creature / spore transport is really silly.

Positives: Isaacs is good as the captain and could be great. The Klingons are finally standing apart from each other, with individuality and character development.
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S1: Bastille Day

Janeway would have just beamed the ice in Voyager's tank, job's done, lol. :P

I dont get it, there are thousands of people onboard the ships, why only the prisoners should risk their lives to extract the water? And what if a prisoner is old or unable to labour, won't he get "freedom points"?

The elections idea was neat on the other hand, so we can have a political drama aswell!
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 9:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I can explain. It sucks because... well, it DOES and I am sure it will be cancelled next year while DIS will get a second season!
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 6:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Please allow me a lame question. At some point Adama says "Jesus"... was there a Jesus in Caprica world aswell?
Set Bookmark
chrisx
Sat, Sep 27, 2014, 2:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

"The solution was to just beam Lore off the Enterprise and leave him floating in space?"

Maybe the Entity grabbed him right after he was beamed off and went away.

Did anyone notice Lore in the final bridge scene saying "Riker" instead of "Commander Riker" or "sir"? Shouldn't this raise any suspicions for him not being the real Data?
Set Bookmark
lvsxy808
Fri, Dec 7, 2012, 2:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I don't agree that Ben was supposed to be or should have been Guinan, because he clearly follows the pattern of the other junior officers. Each of them is a junior version of one of the senior officers. Lavelle = Riker. Sito = Worf. Ogawa = Crusher. Taurik = LaForge. and Ben = Guinan.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 3:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Good episode. The twist elevated it.

Good points made about the lack of background on the TNG characters. Then again, we don't have a lot of background on the TOS characters either imho. It doesn't seem like background details weren't really worked on until DS9.

The book "The Buried Age" does a good job of exploring the post-Stargazer era. Picard does some teaching and commands a Miranda-class vessel on an archeological mission. He meets Data, who still has under-developed social skills because Starfleet has basically kept him out of the way and everyone avoids him.

They had a whole Stargazer book series going for awhile. Unfortunately, the first several installments were pretty bad and the series was discontinued just as it was starting to get better. I do wish more thought had gone into developing Picard's back story. The idea that he commanded one starship for two decades like Kirk did makes me feel like we're missing a lot.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 3:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Loved this episode! Great work by Stewart, Frakes and of course Terry O'Quinn.

Perhaps it was the darker story popping up in TNG, but I found the story refreshing. And hey, you can just retcon the Pegasus mission as a Section 31 operation. ;) Loved the misdirecting and lighthearted opening scene. Genuinely hilarious and then meant to contrast Riker and Picard's friendship against the later scenes.

The visuals were great. Loved the Enterprise going into the asteroid. The mystery was well played and kept me riveted. The Enterprise engaging a cloaking device is a rare "cool" moment on TNG. In the books, the Romulans have perfected the phase cloak, which is kind of terrifying.

The only thing that felt a little hollow was how Riker was going to face some "hard questions" and of course he never does and it never comes up again. Not even in the books.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 2:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Great premise. Great episode. I especially liked how it put Worf in the center of a very un-Worf-like episode (nothing much on combat and honor etc.).

I have never thought of the episode as cheap looking. I would say TNG was not going for spectacle in its final season. It seemed they were going for quieter character episodes. It must have worked because it netted them a Best Drama Emmy nod (I wonder what episodes were submitted to the academy?). They had started to work CGI into the show in its final season, but it seems they never felt the need to really go nuts. Yet the Maquis attack on the Cardassian ship in the penultimate episode was well done and of course AGT looked fantastic.
Set Bookmark
lvsxy808
Sun, Oct 28, 2012, 5:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Dull dull dull dull dull. The most pointless, white-noise waste of an hour ever. I'd rather watch "Manhunt" or "Shades of Grey" than this.

The Spot business was indeed filler, written to replace what would have been a much more interesting sub-plot in which Geordi's sister comes aboard to try to help him through the loss of their mother. The story would have revealed Geordi as a bit of a control freak, refusing to accept that his precious technology could ever be the cause of environmental damage and concentrating on that issue precisely to avoid dealing with the lack of control implied by his mother's unexplained disappearance, and his sister would have helped him to face his issues. That story was dropped because it was yet another never-seen-before family member coming aboard in a season full of such stories, which is an understandable concern. But what they replaced it with was so much crap that I'd much rather have had another family story than How to Train a Cat Using Tuna in Your Bra.

And after all that, the warp speed limit was Never Heard From Again except for one off-hand reference in which it was specifically suspended for political reasons.
Set Bookmark
lvsxy808
Sun, Oct 28, 2012, 5:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Attached

This to me in the very opposite of "Dark Page." I found it horrendously contrived, with the mind-linkers having absolutely no purpose in the story whatsoever other than to force the Picard-Crusher relationship forward. When a technobabble gadget actually has a purpose in the story, I can suspend disbelief and go with it. This has no such quality.
Set Bookmark
lvsxy808
Sun, Oct 28, 2012, 5:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Gotta say, I'm surprised at this. This was always one of my favourite TNG eps, giving Lwaxana some believable motivation for the way she's behaved over the years, and a good solid story for a character who is still one of the show's most neglected. And I thought Majel's performance was just fine.

And that you gave "Force of Nature" more points than this? I'm mind-boggled.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 2:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

TNG doing DS9. That has always been my take on this two-parter. You have the usually prim and proper TNG crew getting down and dirty (Riker punches Picard right in the face!). Everyone is dabbling in deception.

The shoot-out in the forest was cool (actual location shooting!) and I liked the guest characters and actors. Richard Lynch! I wanted Picard to tell him, "Time to die." Love the moment when the one mercenary refers to Galen as "captain" and Picard has to reign in his reaction.

I loved the Vulcan weapon revealed at the end.

I also loved the ending scene. I always imagined Riker screaming Data's name in that final shot as the ship flies away and Data hauls Riker to the brig.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 2:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

@ Nick P.: I'm pretty sure this was the only Trek episode ever to do the episode credits before the regular opening credits.

As I always assumed, I think they moved the onscreen credits because they didn't want them playing over the big shoot-out. If they had waited until after the shoot-out, the credits would have run pretty late in the episode.

Then again, they could have held the arrival at the starbase until after the opening credits sequence.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Thu, Sep 13, 2012, 1:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

I was always disappointed that we never saw more of the interior of the runabouts.

Clearing away the transporter from the cockpit was a good idea to give it more space, but then we never saw where the transporters went. Just somewhere in the back.

Supposedly the middle and aft were modular. Once years ago I found a website where someone designed all these different modules for the runabouts. There was one that functioned as a medical rescue ship, another was a transport and another had a balanced suite of quarters, medical bay, science lab and armory. Essentially since the runabouts were actual starships with a class and name designations, it only made sense.
Set Bookmark
lvsxy808
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 3:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

One little thing that I appreciated about this episode was that, for once, someone else got "possessed" and "impersonated" by non-corporeal aliens. It's always the Starfleet crew who get taken over every time this kind of thing happens (which is fairly often across the whole Trek 'verse). But this time we see that all the wacky high-concept stuff that goes on in the galaxy at large doesn't just affect Starfleet ships - it screws with other people too. And this time we're just there to help out.
Set Bookmark
lvsxy808
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 2:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: We'll Always Have Paris

Regarding Troi "confronting" Picard on the bridge - she did no such thing.

She very clearly indicated she wanted to speak to Picard in private so as not to drag his personal feelings out in front of the crew. He was the one who said it wasn't necessary. It was only once he told her to go ahead that she discussed the matter on the bridge, and then it was in the turbolift alcove out of earshot of anyone else.

And she also very clearly stated that she was bringing the matter up because unresolved emotional issues can affect a commander's decision-amking process, making this very much a matter that "affects the operation of the crew" and in fact the whole point of Troi's presence on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 3:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I always wanted to see Die Hard on Trek, so this was basically aimed straight at me.

However, at that point in my life I was frankly looking for a little more carnage and action. I could usually depend on DS9 for that (we never saw any kind of "automatic" weapon in Trek until we were introduced to the Jem'Hadar rifle). It was a big reason I loved it so much at the time. And this episode promised much, but did not deliver what I had hoped.

I mean, it WAS interesting to see Action Picard every now and then. As we saw, he was more prone to that when he was young. But his character always seemed better suited to brief bursts of violence. Perhaps like a samurai. His charging right at the terrorist in The High Ground is more of what I'm thinking.

What was always kind of hard to reconcile with this episode was the seriousness of what was happening on the ship with the almost sitcom-like set up on the planet (it was a similar problem with First Contact). Picard running from the reception is one of the funniest bits we've ever seen with the captain.

And his last line in the episode is worthy of any 80s action film one liner.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.