Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 814 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
mosley
Thu, Aug 5, 2021, 12:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

(edit: when I say "the show could have been saved", like many others in the commens I obviously meant "by firing Sorbo at the beginning of season 2", just to be clear)
Set Bookmark
mosley
Thu, Aug 5, 2021, 12:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Kevin Sorbo is a colossal idiot. If we had known all the details then that we know now, oh my, maybe the show could have been saved. The premise remains one of the better ones, and from time to time you can see how Wolfe manager to sneak something interesting and some not completely dumbed down plot breadcrumbs past Sorbo.

That is all.

Ok, almost. I need to marvel once more at the sheer quantity of dumbness. It's quite an archievement to single handedly take a whole TV series production, with complex premise, planned plot threads, ensemble cast and production values, and drag it down to your own sad level of idiocy, having it almost literally end in a western saloon with plots that feel like they were written by a 10 year old kid going "pew pew pew!".

It's almost tragic that hammer stopped reviewing this. Imagine, what a field day he would have had with that last season! I can picture the list of exclusively zero star episodes and Jammer in unlimited sarcasm mode :-D

Maybe I need to re-watch season 5 a bit . It may very well be the worst TV Series Season Of All Time. Likely not the intended type of entertainment value, but entertainment value nonetheless.

Ah well, the universe put Sorbo in Christian Apologetics Direct to DVD land afterwards. So there was some karma business happening eventually :)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Jul 15, 2021, 6:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

[I started this episode in January, then saved it to watch with my piano-playing daughter and only got back to it just now, which is why I have the short comment about the beginning just upthread and a much longer comment now.]

I absolutely loved this episode. I approached it with trepidation, because I had loved "Inner Light" so much and was worried this wouldn't be able to stand in its shadow--or worse, might even tarnish the earlier episode in retrospect. So I was actually shocked by how great this is. I don't know if I can say it's actually as good as "Inner Light", but it's one of the very few episodes of Trek that comes close.

4 stars.

@grumpy otter: "I really thought they were going to kill her off--so was on the edge of my seat during the action parts."

Me too! Incredibly tense. And a really nice way to put a scientist in believable peril that involved risking a smaller number of crewmembers to save a larger number of colonists, without there being any kind of evil alien monsters or anything like that.

@Joseph S.: I was shocked to hear that Wendy Hughes had died in 2014. Much too young!

@CPUFP: "What is up with Jonathan Frakes in this episode? His facial expression and posture is slightly off in all his scenes. Had me thinking he might have been drunk on set."

I obviously wondered about that too. It was strange for sure. But I didn't think it was in all of his scenes. In the ones where he kind of butted heads with Daren over ship's resources, and when he went to talk to the captain, he was fine. But he definitely had a few scenes where he had a really goofy look about him.

@Trent: "What I like best, though, is how the episode sketches the Enterprise as a mundane but bustling workplace; we see stellar cartography, finally get to see some blue shirts doing work, hang out at Ten Forward, watch Riker juggle department heads, watch different departments bureaucratically fight for ship's resources, and get to explore the ship's catacombs and Jefferies tubes."

Yes! This was a really cool aspect of the episode for sure. Good call.

@Maq: "It is a high quality non action episode. I like these."

There was no combat, and I like that as well, but I found the struggle to survive against the firestorm to qualify as action--and very tense action at that!

@Bobbington McBob: "I really wish people would put frickin spoiler warnings here if they are going to reference episodes after the one in question. I've had parts of the season finale ruined twice now. Just because its an old series, doesn't mean everyone has seen it."

Cosigned. Actually, the older a series is, the more likely people *haven't* seen it and maybe weren't even alive when it aired! If they are going through it now, they should be able to go along with comment sections without seeing un-warned spoilers for later episodes.

@Justin: "it seems a bit preposterous to crow about spoilers for an episode that is TWENTY-FIVE freaking years old, no?"

Again, not at all! I am showing my kids these series and none of them were alive when it aired. It's weird that people think the older a show or movie is, the less spoiler alerts are needed. I heard a podcast host mock the idea of giving a spoiler alert for "a 70-year-old movie". Like some 25 or 30 year old listening is automatically going to have seen it? Or even someone of any age? (It wasn't a famous movie--in fact I'd never heard of it.)

I would say that although you should always give spoiler warnings, the time when it is least needed is within a year or so after something that's really a huge, blockbuster-famous type movie or show has come out. Everyone has had a chance to see it, they should definitely know about it, and it hasn't been so long that they were too young to catch it when it came out.

You and I do agree on the rating for this wonderful episode though. :-)

@The_Man: "You're entitled to your opinion even when it is wrong. Dr. Crusher is definitely better looking."

To me, it's you who is wrong and Nella is clearly more attractive. De gustibus.

@MidshipmanNorris: "possibly the most heart-felt and believable romance story I have ever seen in a single episode of a television series"

In a single episode? You might be right!
Set Bookmark
Sloaches
Sun, Jul 11, 2021, 9:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

It's kind of dispiriting to know that the last appearance of Ray Walston as Boothby is in this steaming pile of an episode.
Set Bookmark
Sloaches
Sun, Jul 11, 2021, 9:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I haven't read all the comments here (my apologies if this has already been said), but on a different review of this episode, the question came up about why the away team wasn't wearing environmental suits when they beamed over to the Maalon ship. I mean, wouldn't it make sense, considering the toxic/radioactive levels they were heading into? I know the obvious answer is that it gave the producers a chance to show off Roxann Dawson's body, but aside from playing into some fanboy's fantasies, was it really necessary?
Set Bookmark
Sloaches
Sat, Jul 3, 2021, 5:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

I like this episode. Honestly, the idea Jammer had of Samantha Wildman not surviving the episode would have been a good move. Not that I don't like the character, but it would have taken Neelix in a more challenging direction.
Set Bookmark
mosley
Mon, Jun 28, 2021, 11:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Oh and while I am here, I recently found a good way to summarize my feelings about DSC as a series. It used to be somewhat complicated, but with some distance I can now boil it down to a single point :

I HATE Michael burnam.

I'd take Wesley crusher over her at this point.

And with me hating this character so much, I'm not sure the show can do anything for me, especially not when it's so much in love with its lead that it haves the lead single handedly save The Entire Universe every second episode.

I don't know whether the actress or the direction is to blame for the binary acting that oscillates between a mere two states, blank stares and cringe worthy maximum drama mode with tears.

I can't tell whether the actress or the writing is to blame for the character coming across as unbearable as it is.

But there it is. Many things could be improved about DSC, and some (if way too few) attempts were made. But after trying to NOT hate Michael burnam for 3 seasons, I give up. I hate Michael burnam.

I think my only possible mode to enjoy DSC for its next (and very likely last) season is probably to hate watch and cheer whenever something bad happens to this insult of a fictional character.

Hey, how about they let Berman and brags write the final episode and somebody reminds them that the best way to add some artificial importance and drama to an episode is to have a lead character die? Preferably a pointless death of the Tucker / Tasha type.

I think that's my official wish for the DSC finale. Have someone kill the lead. Even if it's Wesley Crusher, helped by Neelix and Dr. Pulaski.
Set Bookmark
mosley
Mon, Jun 28, 2021, 11:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

May I politely suggest to Jammer to flat out delete all these effing politics posts?

If I crave a dose of Facebook level politics, I go to Facebook. I certainly would like a jammers reviews comment section to not be about US politics but about *gasp* star trek?

(and delete this post right with the whole shebang if you ever do)
Set Bookmark
mosley
Tue, May 11, 2021, 2:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Making it a point to comment on this even if it's with a +20 year latency.

This is the worst voyager episode of them all. Easily surpasses threshold.

It makes me want to puke. The message seems to be a rant for blind faith. That goes pretty much against anything that star trek in general and Janeway in particular stand for. It's an effing religious indoctrination message of the very worst kind.

And the moment you take of the glasses of some special respectability for those figures involved in the ritual, it simply becomes unbearable. Here we have an empathic Janeway who just wants to save here friend. And there we have these morons who care little enough to play their little games with her. Throw their little smart asseries at her.

"oh, you chose all of these challenges yourself". Oh really, you totally enjoyed that gotcha eh? While the person Janeway is trying to save is about to die.

It's so despicable, especially on combination with that "oh ain't I so enlightened" attitude that pours through every line of unbearable dialogue. It makes me want to punch the screen.

And the episode has the audacity to present them as the wise ones. The good ones. The ones that taught Janeway a valuable lesson. Whole the doctors scientific explanation, surprise surprise, of course is completely irrelevant and worthless.

That's about as bad as the message can get. Jammer was way too soft on this episode back in the day. The writer is obviously a religious nut that shouldn't have gotten her dirty indoctrination fingers onto a franchise that always managed to stay away from this religious BS. Not disrespecting it the way I personally am at this moment, but keeping a respectful distance and be satisfied with leaving it as open question and a matter of cultural respect.

How telling that the relious nut writer doesn't manage to answer in kind. No, of course science is bad. And just another belief. And the solution is to let rationality go and just engage in blind faith. Because the wise people in robes and that enlightened smug tone in their voice told you so.

Blech.

Worst voyager episode ever. Maybe worst trek episode ever. I'd rather watch spocks brain than ever watching this again.

That it's also endlessly boring, meandering and way too self aware is only the icing in the cake I suppose. One could argue that that is at least very fitting.

Wrote on phone and sorry for all the typos, can't spell check on the tiny screen with my crappy eyes. Maybe I should pray for better glasses. Or just look at the screen and believe. Or something.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, May 3, 2021, 9:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Meh. Nothing here good or bad enough to inspire me to have much of anything to say. Two stars.
Set Bookmark
Jon from Rhode Island
Mon, Mar 15, 2021, 5:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S1: Litmus

On my first watch now (thanks Peacock) and the tribunal scene rubbed me the wrong way. Either the proceeding is legitimate or it’s not. If it is, Adama shutting the thing down is basically a coup d’etat against civilian rule. If it’s not, then as someone mentioned above, his junior officer can’t be guilty of perjury. Picard never would have made an MP choose between following his orders or that of a civilian tribunal. He would have gone to the brig on principle.
Set Bookmark
Slimslidey
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 6:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

"they made some mistakes in this century"

The lockdowns of 2020/2021
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 4:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Still looking forward to the general discussion thread...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 10:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Having heard about the negative reputation of this movie, I admittedly was hesitant to even give it a go. Even though I loved the first one and didn't really care much for the second, the fans opinions of The Final Frontier somehow got to me. Boy was that a mistake.

Storywise, the film falls short. It doesn't really have a villain and the plot kind of gets lost mid way. The evil entity at the end was just as much a dissapointment to me as it was for anybody else. But be that as it may, this movie has a helluva lot going for it.

Because it isn't about the story. It's about the characters we have all come to know and love for so long now. They have aged, they have become dependent of each other, not as mere working colleagues, but as family.

So when the big Three sits down at a camp fire on a purely recreational weekend in the wilderness it feels not only legit but even most appropriate that they sing a song or two. Preferably an easy one, so that Spock can adapt. Yes, it feels a bit cheap when Scotty walks into a beam and passes out, but why focus on that particular moment when the rest is at least satisfactory?

The relationship between him and Uhura might not be the most believable, but it isn't out of the question, and besides it serves as the perfect excuse to show the viewers that they too, have a human side. It was a bit of shock to see Uhura's seductive dance, but it was just as much fun as Nichols probably had doing it.

I have three more points which I can't tie up in an eloquent way, so let me just list them:

The scene where McCoy and Spock encounters their most traumatic moments is nothing but Trek gold.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this the first time we saw Klingos speaking only klingon in their own company?

And honestly, who didn't enjoy Chekov in the captain seat?

3 Solid Stars.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@The Chronek: I don't think you have to worry about spoilers for this episode--as you say, what would one expect? What other commenters are talking about is spoiling different shows (THE EXPANSE, BUFFY, etc.). Jammer said he's going to put up a general discussion thread of some kind (I don't see it yet, unless I'm missing something), which should alleviate that issue to a fair degree except when people are directly comparing something to the episode being reviewed.

(Although it doesn't apply in this case, spoiling a later episode in a season should also involve warnings, since people are working their way through series at their own pace.)
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 11:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

"First Contact", really? That was the TNG outing I liked.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 10:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

I just finally saw this, and I agree with many of the criticisms: the dune buggy sequence was risible, the film overall is slow moving and often boring, the fight between Riker and the Viceroy was dumb.

But I also agree with Jammer that there were good elements here. Is it enough to rise to 2.5 stars? It's between that and 2.0 stars for me: say 2.25 stars. Definitely not the 0 or 1 stars some are saying.

One thing I strongly disagree with that, skimming the comments, at least two people said: that Hardy did not look enough like a young Picard. WHAT?!? I thought that was one of the film's strongest points! Frankly, I didn't recognize Hardy and didn't know it was him until the closing credits. I thought "who is this guy they found who not only is a dead ringer for how I'd picture a young Jean-Luc, but also has such good acting chops?"

One thing I wondered: how did Janeway get to be admiral before Picard? Isn't he older and more experienced than she is?

Also: the ramming scene was cool, but I call BS on the idea that when Shinzen throws it into reverse, his huge ship would rip itself violently free of the Enterprise. Why wouldn't he just pull the smaller ship along with him?

Kind of weird that Senator Tal'Aura is treated as a hero at the end, coming in to try to save the Enterprise, dispatching shuttles and medical supplies, etc. But she conspired in a military coup at the beginning of the movie, horrifically slaughtering the entire Romulan Senate! I get that she had a change of heart, but can we really so easily forget what an evil conspiracy she participated in?

Looking at the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes, I discover with some satisfaction that the Guardian's Peter Bradshaw is the only person I've ever seen specifically call out the character of Data in a way I agree with:

"The subplot concerns Lt Cmdr Data (Brent Spiner), one of the least funny or interesting characters in the history of screen entertainment"

Yes! The way he is so widely beloved has always been puzzling and frustrating to me. I've always thought he sucked nearly as badly as Troi.

@Mark B: "BTW and FWIW,

The 2nd & 3rd Matrix movies were seriously awful."

Yeah, that was a weird little element of Jammer's review. In fairness, I walked out of the second film about 20-30 minutes in, and never went back to it--nor did I watch the third film. But I had seen enough to know they had gone seriously off target. Of course, the original Matrix film had a perfectly good closed ending, and those later entries were only made because of the studio's imperative to get a cash grab on a hot property.

P.S. I just "bought Jammer a coffee" and I encourage everyone else to do so!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 9:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A general chat thread? Cool!
Set Bookmark
Colin Lindsly
Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 10:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The video from Major Grin focused on Berman-era Trek for showing how Discovery has deviated from the core values of Trek. It is an incomplete picture, as from the beginning the franchise has shown Starfleet officers believing that it was their duty and obligation to find peaceful solutions and using violence as a last resort.

In "Where No Man Has Gone Before", Kirk attempted to help his former friend Gary Mitchell, who was being transformed, until he had to make the choice to kill him as there was no other choice.

And, in "A Taste of Armageddon", there is this piece of dialog:

ANAN: There can be no peace. Don't you see? We've admitted it to ourselves. We're a killer species. It's instinctive. It's the same with you. Your General Order Twenty Four.
KIRK: All right. It's instinctive. But the instinct can be fought. We're human beings with the blood of a million savage years on our hands, but we can stop it. We can admit that we're killers, but we're not going to kill today. That's all it takes. Knowing that we won't kill today. Contact Vendikar. I think you'll find that they're just as terrified, appalled, horrified as you are, that they'll do anything to avoid the alternative I've given you. Peace or utter destruction. It's up to you.
Set Bookmark
Colin Lindsly
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 11:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I read a synopsis of Alex Kurtzman's interview at TrekMovie. Two quotes caught my attention:

"We’re actually exploring – we’re diving deep into science – in the fourth season, in a kind of new and interesting way."

"There have been many kinds of villains over the course of Star Trek. What happens when the villain is not actually any kind of living, breathing entity, but something else? How do you solve that problem?"

My reaction upon reading this mirrors Data's from Generations:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vrm8TV7K4zo
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 1:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MidshipmanNorris: "I say, put the tip jar up in a prominent spot where no one's bound to miss it, make it unobtrusive"

Next, you'll be asking him to make water that isn't wet! LOL
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 10:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I agree, comment threads would be cool.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 12:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I can't afford to do a monthly thing, but I would definitely chip in a few bucks as a one-time token of appreciation (then maybe again in a couple years).
Set Bookmark
Colin Lindsly
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 10:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

How do people feel about Farscape? I have vague memories of watching this show and enjoying it.

I, too, am spending less time at TrekBBS. It feels that NuTrek has divided the fan base. I am sticking in with NuTrek for the ships, if I can see them that is. This is one thing going for Lower Decks. They don't hide their ships in darkness. I don't have an emotional attachment for or an investment in the characters.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

What’s with the weird expression on Riker’s face in his first scene, right after the credits? I thought that was going to pay off but it didn’t.
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.