Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 283 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Iain Scott
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This episosed must have been a lot of fun for the script writers, just as it is for the viewers. One tall tale after another, it seems like everyone has turned into either an Irishman or a Newfoundlander! This is GOOD entertainment.
Set Bookmark
pooper scooper
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

The overarching problem with voyager is that, even 70,000 light years away, the inhabitants of the delta quadrant know what the people of the alpha quadrant are talking about when they refer to centimeters, or marriage, yet somehow have no idea what vulcan mind melds are. It is simply inconsistent. Why would the delta quadrant use the same metric measurements, or have the same marriage customs as the alpha quadrant? It simply doesn't make sense. Yet the frusterating thing is that the writers on some level recognized this fact ( which is why they included the line from neelix about not knowing what mind melds are, which DOES make sense, since vulcans have not migrated to the delta quadrant) and they included this trash anyways. Not to mention the fact that english seems to be the lingua franca of the entire galaxy.
Set Bookmark
carlos pascual maria zum
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 8:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

I love Star Trek but this episode is a mess. All the principal holes in the plot:
1) The prosecutor was a lover of Kirk!!! Clear conflict of interests!
2) The daughter of Finney reaction at first changes because of letters she found??? What??
3) Finney could altered through the computer the record tape???
4) The attorney Cogley is the best? His performance really is very poor and at the end he vanished
5) The way of founding by the heartbets Finney is ridiculous
6) What advantage could have Finney to make all this mess?
Set Bookmark
Scienceandponies
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Just finally finished a belated watchthrough of Enterprise. This one was a painfully dumb experience. I get that it's something of a homage to Mudd's Women, but that was possibly the worst example of the rife sexism in TOS, and this didn't have the charm and charisma of Mudd to carry it through. At least it was actual pheremones at work instead of the girls just being hot like in the original, making Kirk's crew the most undisciplined and unproffessional crew in space (and no ending speech about the two types of women, supermodels and domestic types).

I expected Archer to show a bit more discomfort when the Orion guy explicitly mentions buying them. Also for a little more caution considering the last time he took in a sex slave in Season 3, they turned out to be a saboteur, but Enterprise continues to let anyone just wander into the engine room. I was ready to award some point when they stuffed them into decon1 when the truth came out, but rescinded rhem when the immediatlely left 2 men to guard them. I held out faint hope for a subversion of the obvious escape by one of the guards saying something like "I don't think my husband back home would approve". Was also expecting T'pol to just shoot the women when they entered the bridge instead of standing there frowning until Trip comes in to shoot everyone else. Finally, not buying the paper thin excuse they try to trot out about the women really being in charge. That bit of tell contradicts a lot of show.

Looking back at the time capsule of these comments, it's a surprising pit of not even trying to hide it blatant misogyny.
Set Bookmark
Wainscoting
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Although I don't really watch this show anymore I still religiously come to read Jammer's excellent reviews and to read the comments (which frequently compel me to at least skim through the relevant episode and gather context).

@Booming
The political lens is perfectly valid when thinking about Star Trek (to a point of course). I agree with what you're saying; the American empire as we know it continues its discomforting, gradual decline, as history seems to indicate all empires must. The main prerogative of the presidential office leading up to and it seems also in the wake of Trump is to serve as a gentle caretaker for this decline - to ensure that the military industrial complex keeps chugging along, that the people currently making bank continue to do so unfettered and that there's continuation of American triumphalism propagated through meaningless ideological conflicts in foreign lands. The reality is expressed, however, in the undisguised dismantling of the middle class, who either join the working class as industry darkens in once thriving towns or become members of the hideously overproduced elite, both of whom in a sense find just cause to be bitter about their station and yet unjustly direct their fury at the other. In his often repulsive, megalomaniacal way Trump claimed to offer an alternative to this peaceful decline and although obviously he failed to deliver, he did enough to see the the Bush-era Republican neocons abandon their protracted facade and scurry away to advance the Democrat agenda, which now better represented their true interests. With Trump arousing awareness of a zeitgeist believed suppressed, the more convincing sovereigns of America play their hand more than ever before. The most important thing is not to dispel people's anger, but rather to magnify, misdirect and thereby in a sense contain the fury. The grievance focused, dogmatic, almost theological notion of 'wokeness' is wonderful in this regard, rewarding narcissism and the colouring of every issue by issues of identity. Submerge people in endless diatribes about race, gender and sexual orientation, make it harder for ordinary people with so much in common to communicate meaningfully without a lengthy preamble and above all, keep people MAD.

This American modernity as I've come to see it is expressed in Discovery. The reluctance to grapple with any kind of real uncertainty, a propensity to deafeningly tick diversity boxes, the expectation that the creators can endlessly repeat a small array of tactics designed to emotionally manipulate their audience without laying any kind of groundwork. It's really a product of its time.
Set Bookmark
SC
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

It seems like Jammer is slowly becoming bored with Discovery and writing the weekly reviews is a chore. I can't say I blame him. I gave up a few weeks back and don't regret it. There is A LOT of TV and film choice these days, too much to watch mediocre sci-fi.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I take offense to the term MarySue since that is my wife's name LOL. Just kidding.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Nov 9, 2020, 7:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Strange New Worlds, typo.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Nov 9, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I think I'm finally done with it. I just don't care about the characters and although visually stunning, the bluish grey look of the show is unappealing. I'm watching the show for the sake of watching it, just to say I did, and time is short.

I don't wanna put words into Jammer's mouth but it seems like reviewing is a chore for him. He takes almost a full week to post the review. Maybe it isn't as enjoyable to write these things as it once was. With Picard and Discovery, go figure! Call me when Brave New Worlds arrives.
Set Bookmark
Scottathew
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Hello future readers. This episode came out just days before the 2020 election and after months of COVID restrictions. Please forgive us.

Gents and ladies, please, I beg thee, let's end the political conversation. This isn't the appropriate space for it.

Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Discovery Fan
Tue, Oct 27, 2020, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Why do so many people watch Discovery who clearly don't like it? It's just a TV show...it's not real life, it won't ever be real life. Characters and situations are contrived at the writer's will, they behave inconsistently on who writes dialog.

Do you miss TNG? Watch that instead.

Hate Star Trek? Watch NCIS...read a book...get a life. Stop commenting on actors' body shapes or whatever else makes you whiny.
Set Bookmark
Scanner
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Braxton: "Long time no see". Ugh, that rang of Ahnold as Mr. Freeze with his cold jokes.
Set Bookmark
Escechapp
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

An occasional reference is entertaining. Wall-to-wall references are annoying. And purely Star Trek-based humor really isn't a wide enough vein to sustain a whole series, a vein Farscape and Futurama largely mined out already. (I was waiting for Rutherford to blurt out "Nearly two million lines of BASIC!")

I tried watching Solar Opposites and have pretty much the same problems with its style of humor, logic and consistency get sacrificed in the pursuit of easy gags, which makes it hard to get particularly invested in the story or the setting.
Set Bookmark
Escechapp
Fri, Sep 11, 2020, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"What an angry and sad this part of the fandom is. Bitter enough so that they despise a cartoon series clearly not made for them."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SML6LXnAKo8&t=109
Set Bookmark
Escechapp
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Why did the weapons go offline at the end? Did I miss something?
Set Bookmark
Escechapp
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"(Braces for rage attacks)"

https://www.britannica.com/topic/self-fulfilling-prophecy
Set Bookmark
Scottathew
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I wrote lower decks off, but because CBS All Access was giving me a free trial for a month (which they subsequently charged me for anyway) I figured, what the heck.

I really enjoy Lower Decks. It take place in a near-TNG time, a time I've been arguing that new Trek show show pickup on. No more of the pre-pre-prequel-alternate-timeline BS.

Lower Decks takes full advantage that it's a cartoon and has a lot of fun while showing us new parts of the ship we've never seen. It's super-silly, we don't have to take it 100% serious or try to dove-tail it into being cannon. It's a cartoon. It's fun.

I respect that Jammer isn't writing review for it Lower Decks, but if he does, I'll read them!

I wish you all well!
Set Bookmark
Descent
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

The big problem with the episode isn't the dilemma itself ("shoot on sight" and "let's try to talk to it first, but with our weapons trained on it" are both justifiable given the threat the CE poses). The problem is the script is so firmly on Picard's side and doesn't really care about the alternate view - the scientist is written as a lunatic and the only other proponent of her view is Riker, who brings it up for five seconds and immediately drops it.

Plus Picard just comes across as completely up his own ass. Especially when he deals with Riker. Riker's whole job as a First Officer is to raise alternative viewpoints to the Captain, and when he actually bothers to do that here (a rare occurrence since Riker is usually useless), Picard immediately shuts him down with "oh, well I think you're just mad that your girlfriend blew up". Pretty nasty when you think about it, but Riker just takes it.

The ending scene is farcical. Data, who has no emotions of his own, manages to be absolutely "certain" in his extrapolation of how a dead person he's read the writing of would react. Not only is the end scene dumb, it also makes it completely clear that the script has chosen a side and is going to talk down to the opposite side. I think Picard is right, but at the same time, the script seeming to invite the viewer to be more angry with Marr for taking one life* than the CE for taking millions if not billions.

*and potentially not even a sapient life. You'd assume a creature of any intelligence might notice that the things it's vaporising look suspiciously like settlements full of people, or complicated manmade starships.
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Yes, this was bland, most definitely ... but IMO the acting of the children was FAR better than the performance of the two adult guest actors in "Too short a season".
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I completeley agree with Jammer's Review.

Overall, this episode's story is very TNGish, combined with the simplicity and predictability of bad TOS episodes.

I'm still quite disappointed about the path The Orville/Seth McFarlane decided to follow. (I don't want to repeat my banter on "Home" - just a few words:)

Quite many people were complaining about the first season not finding its own rhythm or style. - After having watched five dull, not very funny, but very predictable episodes of season 2, I'm absolutely sure:

In season 1, they HAD found their style and their place in SciFi TV. Everything was possible, anything could happen, every show was a surprise, every show was funny (yes, sometimes goofy or gross) - but always kinda ... fresh.

Now they found their routine - and it bores me, because it's a mix of bad TOS combined with bad TNG. What a shame.
Set Bookmark
Hirsch
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 5:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I don‘t know. After having watched 3 episodes of season 2, I‘m quite disappointed about the result of the series' search for its own course.

In fact, I think the roller coaster-like season 1 showed already what this show is capable of: Anything.

You never knew what kind of style would be the next episode. Screwball comedy (Cupid‘s Dagger)? Adventure (Into the Fold)? Moral discussion (About a Girl)? And it was always enjoyable, often funny, sometimes hilarious and/or goofy, mostly interesting. When I was watching this season 1, I often asked myself: What do they really want to be? Amongst all these extremes, where will they settle?

And, well, now I‘m thinking they should have settled where they were in season 1 – anywhere. They were able to do anything – and it was entertaining. In retrospect, it was very cool to be surprised by every single episode. Everything felt fresh. The plots were often quite simple, but saved by fun and surprising elements.

Now, after having watched „Home“, I have to say that most things that once felt fresh are quite stale now, not to say dull.

First of all: Why did they decide to broadcast three crew-centered episodes in a row? Why did Seth McFarlane destroy half of Bortus‘ character in the two first episodes of season 2? His „Pee Pon Farr“ at the end of the episode was staged in a quite boring and disappointing way. The TOS allusion (lighting, landscape … and being ep 1 of season 2) was nothing more than an allusion that went nowhere but down the canyon together with Bortus‘ urine.

An then poor Bortus had to be turned into an insincere, treacherous cybersex addict. Sorry, Seth. Porn addiction being a serious issue for many people, granted, it‘s quite stupid to transform the most faithful, and thus unintentionally most hilarious character into a being rather not to be trusted or loved, despite all his good intentions and him apparently being as punctual as before ep 2 in ep 3.

But his „I will not fail you, captain“ will never make me laugh.

And the second (and last) character taking seriously her job on the bridge has left us now in episode 3. Great.

While I‘m writing this, I do not know yet Alara‘s successor, but the DVD cover is quite revealing, though.

So, well, there seems to be a little chance that the bridge and the audience are not completely left alone with „dude-bro“-type crew members. - Well, yeah, the dude-bro-talk IS quite hilarious from time to time – but it‘s no great fun to watch them act and talk without counterparts. Already now, LaMarr‘s ¼ liner „Boom“ ain‘t very funny any more. The appearance of new freaky minor characters saying and doing stupid things neither.

So, to resume my first thought: It seems that The Orville has found now its pace. A lot of comments here at Jammer‘s seem to have wished exactly this. And they seem to like the results.

I don't.
Unfortunately it‘s a quite TOS-like mood what they chose to be their credo, including lowered speed, quite predictable plots, gags and punch lines - and less fun. Not really my cup of tea anymore.
Set Bookmark
Scarmoc
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OTDP
Is it fair for someone to demand that other posters “talk about Star Trek” while that person has not actually watched it himself or herself? This is a attempt at thought suppression, a la “Random Thoughts.” “Sure, we can talk about Star Trek, but only if we do so on my arbitrary, goal-post changing terms.” That is what you want.

As someone once said, one person should not be allowed to fight freestyle while requiring his opponent to abide by Marquis of Queensberry Rules. (Boxing figured in VOY’s “The Fight,” so I am talking about Star Trek).

Whenever someone had a non-OTDP thought and expresses it, that person is “ attacking you.”

As Q said in Q-Who, “the arrogance.” Your need to belittle posters who neither mention you, nor what you are talking about, makes me uncomfortable posting here.

The last word is yours, as always.
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

In case I wasn't clear, my comment was about the lack of subtitles, which means the webpisodes are also not accessible to the deaf or hearing-impaired communities
Set Bookmark
William Nitschke
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

I'm sad to see they are not part of the Amazon Prime experience, and I had to youtube them. Since English is not my first language, and my hearing is not as it used to be, I lost a lot of dialogue. With that in mind, the webpisodes are not par to what I've come to expect of BSG. The are a bit bland, aren't they?
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.