Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 298 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 2:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

I don’t know why people are bothered by Ferrell’s acting. She plays the role they created for her, a “wise beyond her years” literally young woman who lived lifetimes before. She behaves as she should and has the right amount of feminine aspect for Jadzia being a new woman as a new person.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Watching this episode after the Coronavirus pandemic has made me see this episode in a new light. I laughed when Kira said to the scientist they were taking back that since she’s infected with the virus he is too. Lots of quarantine but no masks.
Set Bookmark
SCLee
Wed, Sep 15, 2021, 8:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

At the risk of sounding like a horny adolescent, Andrea, daammnn! Did Shatner have a hand in creating the costume? Or the script? "Kiss me," indeed.

Two Kirk's in as many episodes!
The Styrofoam penis shaped rock is hilarious!
Ruk was quite the Adams' Family monster.

An entertaining 50 minutes with some interesting ideas about what it means to be human / an android.
Set Bookmark
SCLee
Mon, Sep 13, 2021, 8:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Fairly entertaining hour in which Kirk's friend, Mitchell receives superpowers like telekinesis. Will Mitchell turn on them now he's a God like being? (or becoming one) Can we get along with an advanced human? Holds up well. As Jammer said, 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
SCLee
Mon, Sep 13, 2021, 6:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

@Trish Fair enough, that's a good explanation. I liked the episode but so far (only seen two) I prefer Charlie X.
Set Bookmark
SCLee
Sun, Sep 12, 2021, 7:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

I liked this a lot more than the aired Pilot, Charlie's character is intriguing, an alien teenager who doesn't fit in and doesn't understand social norms, sounds like many a teenager on Earth! It's relatable. You feel for Charlie despite the despicable things he's doing to stay in control. [The actor is excellent.] Unfortunately the ending lets it down, Kirk and crew's plan is to put some ship lights on and for Kirk to punch him. Ha ha! Really? Take him on Kirk! As Jammer said, the resolution is necessary but still disappointing. A good ep though.
Set Bookmark
SCLee
Sun, Sep 12, 2021, 7:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

I'm watching this for the first time. The opening episode was okay, but hardly great. The new CGI planet / ship is good and the HD makeover is fantastic.

I don't understand how Kirk and McCoy could see two versions of the same woman, when there's only one alien in the room! Surely they would both see the same thing? No?
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 9:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

RE: your review Jammer. This is supposed to be an animated sitcom version of Trek! I don't think you're gonna get more than that. This isn't the show to do complex plots with morality issues, big though-provoking stuff. We'll leave that to, ah I was gonna say Discovery but we all know that would be a lie!
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 1:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

“Seize the time... Live now! Make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again.”

I saw this ep for the first time when I was 10-12 or so and I'm now in my mid-30's and I never forgot this line. It's so true, and makes you sad about all the time in your youth you'll never have again
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 6:49am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

I love Mariner! She is the life of the show.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 11:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

This episode aired in 1990, and people are reviewing it with the lens of posts from 2013-2021 from the posts here. Back THEN Geordi's behavior wasn't viewed as creepy. Yes he was kind of impulsive, but he backed off when she told him he was married, and didn't progress any further besides friendship.

Guys it was 1990, the "Me too" movement didn't exist yet.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 8:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

O'Brien's starring role in TNG. This episode honestly felt like a pilot for Deep Space Nine, where O'Brien and the Cardassian's are main and center and a nice preview of what was to come.

The peaceful solution at the end of the episode was a nice resolve of conflict compared to what would have been a much worse ending. And the Cardassian's are not let off scott-free either, as we know something is up with them. Strong show.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Aug 14, 2021, 6:24pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

I'm not sure you get this Jammer. It's supposed to be madcap and zany! It's meant for a younger audience (and it's preciously the reason I love it as an adult.) It's different that regular Trek and refreshing as a result.
Set Bookmark
Selfescape
Tue, Jun 1, 2021, 12:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I don't understand the comments praising this episode. I'm a big boxing fan, but this is incredibly boring, obnoxious, and Beltran's acting is atrocious. The Fight is easily the worst episode of Voyager. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Iain Scott
Sun, May 16, 2021, 7:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

The only problem with this production is that it should have been movie length. This was the best Feel-Good presentation in the whole Star Trek genera.
Set Bookmark
Iain Scott
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This episosed must have been a lot of fun for the script writers, just as it is for the viewers. One tall tale after another, it seems like everyone has turned into either an Irishman or a Newfoundlander! This is GOOD entertainment.
Set Bookmark
pooper scooper
Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

The overarching problem with voyager is that, even 70,000 light years away, the inhabitants of the delta quadrant know what the people of the alpha quadrant are talking about when they refer to centimeters, or marriage, yet somehow have no idea what vulcan mind melds are. It is simply inconsistent. Why would the delta quadrant use the same metric measurements, or have the same marriage customs as the alpha quadrant? It simply doesn't make sense. Yet the frusterating thing is that the writers on some level recognized this fact ( which is why they included the line from neelix about not knowing what mind melds are, which DOES make sense, since vulcans have not migrated to the delta quadrant) and they included this trash anyways. Not to mention the fact that english seems to be the lingua franca of the entire galaxy.
Set Bookmark
carlos pascual maria zum
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 8:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

I love Star Trek but this episode is a mess. All the principal holes in the plot:
1) The prosecutor was a lover of Kirk!!! Clear conflict of interests!
2) The daughter of Finney reaction at first changes because of letters she found??? What??
3) Finney could altered through the computer the record tape???
4) The attorney Cogley is the best? His performance really is very poor and at the end he vanished
5) The way of founding by the heartbets Finney is ridiculous
6) What advantage could have Finney to make all this mess?
Set Bookmark
Scienceandponies
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 2:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Just finally finished a belated watchthrough of Enterprise. This one was a painfully dumb experience. I get that it's something of a homage to Mudd's Women, but that was possibly the worst example of the rife sexism in TOS, and this didn't have the charm and charisma of Mudd to carry it through. At least it was actual pheremones at work instead of the girls just being hot like in the original, making Kirk's crew the most undisciplined and unproffessional crew in space (and no ending speech about the two types of women, supermodels and domestic types).

I expected Archer to show a bit more discomfort when the Orion guy explicitly mentions buying them. Also for a little more caution considering the last time he took in a sex slave in Season 3, they turned out to be a saboteur, but Enterprise continues to let anyone just wander into the engine room. I was ready to award some point when they stuffed them into decon1 when the truth came out, but rescinded rhem when the immediatlely left 2 men to guard them. I held out faint hope for a subversion of the obvious escape by one of the guards saying something like "I don't think my husband back home would approve". Was also expecting T'pol to just shoot the women when they entered the bridge instead of standing there frowning until Trip comes in to shoot everyone else. Finally, not buying the paper thin excuse they try to trot out about the women really being in charge. That bit of tell contradicts a lot of show.

Looking back at the time capsule of these comments, it's a surprising pit of not even trying to hide it blatant misogyny.
Set Bookmark
Wainscoting
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 10:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Although I don't really watch this show anymore I still religiously come to read Jammer's excellent reviews and to read the comments (which frequently compel me to at least skim through the relevant episode and gather context).

@Booming
The political lens is perfectly valid when thinking about Star Trek (to a point of course). I agree with what you're saying; the American empire as we know it continues its discomforting, gradual decline, as history seems to indicate all empires must. The main prerogative of the presidential office leading up to and it seems also in the wake of Trump is to serve as a gentle caretaker for this decline - to ensure that the military industrial complex keeps chugging along, that the people currently making bank continue to do so unfettered and that there's continuation of American triumphalism propagated through meaningless ideological conflicts in foreign lands. The reality is expressed, however, in the undisguised dismantling of the middle class, who either join the working class as industry darkens in once thriving towns or become members of the hideously overproduced elite, both of whom in a sense find just cause to be bitter about their station and yet unjustly direct their fury at the other. In his often repulsive, megalomaniacal way Trump claimed to offer an alternative to this peaceful decline and although obviously he failed to deliver, he did enough to see the the Bush-era Republican neocons abandon their protracted facade and scurry away to advance the Democrat agenda, which now better represented their true interests. With Trump arousing awareness of a zeitgeist believed suppressed, the more convincing sovereigns of America play their hand more than ever before. The most important thing is not to dispel people's anger, but rather to magnify, misdirect and thereby in a sense contain the fury. The grievance focused, dogmatic, almost theological notion of 'wokeness' is wonderful in this regard, rewarding narcissism and the colouring of every issue by issues of identity. Submerge people in endless diatribes about race, gender and sexual orientation, make it harder for ordinary people with so much in common to communicate meaningfully without a lengthy preamble and above all, keep people MAD.

This American modernity as I've come to see it is expressed in Discovery. The reluctance to grapple with any kind of real uncertainty, a propensity to deafeningly tick diversity boxes, the expectation that the creators can endlessly repeat a small array of tactics designed to emotionally manipulate their audience without laying any kind of groundwork. It's really a product of its time.
Set Bookmark
SC
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 6:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

It seems like Jammer is slowly becoming bored with Discovery and writing the weekly reviews is a chore. I can't say I blame him. I gave up a few weeks back and don't regret it. There is A LOT of TV and film choice these days, too much to watch mediocre sci-fi.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 4:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I take offense to the term MarySue since that is my wife's name LOL. Just kidding.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Nov 9, 2020, 7:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Strange New Worlds, typo.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Nov 9, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I think I'm finally done with it. I just don't care about the characters and although visually stunning, the bluish grey look of the show is unappealing. I'm watching the show for the sake of watching it, just to say I did, and time is short.

I don't wanna put words into Jammer's mouth but it seems like reviewing is a chore for him. He takes almost a full week to post the review. Maybe it isn't as enjoyable to write these things as it once was. With Picard and Discovery, go figure! Call me when Brave New Worlds arrives.
Set Bookmark
Scottathew
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 7:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Hello future readers. This episode came out just days before the 2020 election and after months of COVID restrictions. Please forgive us.

Gents and ladies, please, I beg thee, let's end the political conversation. This isn't the appropriate space for it.

Thanks!
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.