Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
frisby
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Loved this one, reminded me a bit of The Prisoner, very much a throwback.
Set Bookmark
SB
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I am really disappointed to see so many spiteful comments about “malicious women” and “female scum” and “man haters” in this thread. Shame on me for expecting better coming in here.

I hated this episode. Seven was clearly displaying PTSD and was disturbed greatly, and it was explained away as just some Borg trauma arising for no reason. She’s never acted like that before, and I haven’t seen the whole series but not surprised if it never happens again. I felt for her. If this were real life she must have felt incredibly alone and I wouldn’t blame her if she was resentful toward Janeway and the Doctor.
Set Bookmark
msbooth
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Red Angel literally can't be Burnham. She was dead in the timeline before the Angel came back to save her life. Must be someone with intimate details of the situation, though.
Set Bookmark
msbooth
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Great episode for me, first 4/4 of the series in my opinion. Riveted through and through with tons of great character moments, actual revelations, and some good intrigue.

The whole cast acted their asses off here.
Set Bookmark
UnclesBabysNephew
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 6:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

I love this episode. The shot of Mika's husband going through the motions of realizing he's holding Dukat's baby made me laugh out loud

Why is everyone complaining about how gullible or stupid the super religious Bajorans are? They're supposed to be the true believers, if they weren't they wouldn't be on Empok Nor with Dukat worshipping the wraiths. It doesn't matter what year they're in or what technology exists or what is going on around them, if you lived your life on a planet(not gallivanting around the quadrant) that had aliens or "gods" literally watching over you there would be a subset of true believers who want nothing more than personal attention from their "gods" and will do anything to get it.

One has to wonder what good these prophets are outside of times of conflict involving Bajor. Would they just be giving out life or career advice?
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Tue, Mar 6, 2018, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

I don’t know if this has been previously mentioned in the comments, but a couple weeks before Maelstrom aired it was announced that Katie Sackhoff was leaving the show. Talk about a tremendous bit of misdirection. For me, that really made the appearance of Starbuck at the end of this episode so powerful. Not in a million years did I see it coming.
Set Bookmark
msb00th
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Wanna chime in that I have no idea what you people complaining about CGI are talking about, this episode in particular was absolutely gorgeous IMO.
Set Bookmark
msb00th
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

What if Georgiou is Hoshi's daughter, and the Empire became a dynasty? :o
Set Bookmark
msb00th
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@Rahul

Im actually not certain it's an artificially created situation in the way I think you're implying. Im still very suspicious of Lorca's override on the last jump. The mirror universe could be much more of a plot point than just a couple episodes spend messing around with alter egos depending on Lorca's involvement.
Set Bookmark
msb00th
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

God damn, rest in peace Culber. Liked him a lot.

Finally resolved Stamet's quote a bunch of episodes where he asked Tilly "What are you doing here, captain?"

Fun episode IMO, twist with Ash was super obvious though. Was hoping for some sort of red herring. Costume team gets extreme props for this episode.
Set Bookmark
Dbrandodd@sbcglobal.net
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

3 stars. Finally a decent involving episode

This episode really highlighted how pitiful and underwhelming most of season two was. This first episode in quite a while that I actually took notice of and actually enjoyed with no hesitation.

All those earlier episodes that frustrated me by toying with the Kazon capturing the ship in retrospect was seemingly done to build up to actually going through with it here thankfully

I enjoyed the hour with its action and tension and the cliffhangers
Set Bookmark
Sbestos
Sun, Feb 19, 2017, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

Wow what a crock! Beaming the sword into space is the equivalent of destroying it. Either is will float into a star and be annihilated or simply never be found again since no future sword-hunters will have a handy shroud to lead them to it or a treasure room to preserve it. For Worf and Kor to toss something they claim to be so precious seems just a way of exonerating themselves for their own terrible behavior - as if they were compelled to try and kill each other by an object. I was surprised that Dax let them go through with it. She should have zapped them again and left them unconscious til they were at home. If any Klingon were to hear of this wouldn't they consider this a horrible dishonor to Kehless? Basically they decided to cut the baby in half.
Set Bookmark
Nexusband
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

This is one brilliant episode. This is pretty much what defines Star Trek for me - yes, SI Viruses are bogus, and although i am one of those ST-Fans that love the Technobabble, this is one of the exceptions i really don't care.

And i agree with Wisq for most of his wonderful write up - with a slight exception. I don't think, Archer and Phlox are Hypocritical. There is a difference between changing two Species, and getting involved in their normal development in getting "one Species". That would be like - as it was an example in that episode - giving the Homo Sapiens an advantage or disadvantage.

But that's not what the Organians did and it's a very different situation. If Star Trek has taught me one thing it's that not one single situation is black an white and there is always more to what meets the eye. Giving the Homo Sapiens an advantage or an disadvantage is completely game changing.

Using Wisq's example about the Island, this would be like the Federation stepping in to relief the suffering - but not letting them know why. "Miraculous healing" would also spark that curiosity, the leap in finding a cure for something, that nobody ever has seen. It would take a bit longer, but it's no where near what happened in "Dear Doctor", because i am with Hoshi, regarding who the Valakians treated the Menk, and especially after the reaction from the Valakians, when they where told that the Menk are actually pretty intelligent and so on - bottom line is: Asking for the (metaphorical) Cure and the Warpdrive was not something Archer did in this Episode. Getting back to the Island, they would have been cured by the Federation - but they have no idea, why. Yes, it's an interference, but that's more like caring for the broken bone in the wing of a bird - the bird isn't going to depend on you. So is the interference from the organians. It's not something that will be changing the history of humanity (well, actually, if Archer would have died...well, it probably would have infuriated Daniels ;) ), or the course of humanity.

It also doesn't make a difference if Phlox would have found the cure to heal the captain - or if Starfleet Medical will find one in a few months from the Episode. But Hoshis, Archers and Trips deaths are not necessary for that cure.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Fri, Jun 24, 2016, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

I'm surprised no one has brought it up yet, but that zoom-out shot near the end from the Enterprise conference room to showing the assembled unified fleet was really something. You can just tell that this was the true birthplace of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
BeesBill
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 4:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

This was a great episode of Star Trek - I have just watched TNG, V, DS9 and Enterprise in that order and this is top 10 material across all ST versions. Taken in the timeframe it was made it ranks even higher, Kirks acting range and way his line 'There's no room for bigotry here' was delivered were compelling viewing. Sometimes less is indeed more - I suspect if that episode were made now we would have had endless drawn out special effects battle scenes - as the technology of the time forces the acting and script to the fore it forces them to be very good to carry an episode. And the final shot of Kirk walking haunt consoled the widow speaks volumes - I'm sure that Patrick Stewart took inspiration from it.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sun, Mar 15, 2015, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I didn't have any real problem with the "Defiant is invincible" concept. First off, Starfleet at this stage probably only had a few dozen ships at most, so we're not exactly talking about Armada-size fleets Defiant would have to face.

Second, a good analogy is if you pitted a single mid-1980s M1A1 Abrams battle tank against a battalion (25) of World War II tanks. There's only about 40 years difference in the technology, yet I'd bet the money in my pockets that a single Abrams (which has depleted uranium shells, chobham armor, and twice or more the speed) would make mincemeat of its World War II predecessors. So when I see the Defiant against ST:E era ships, I can see Defiant chewing them all of them up in short order
Set Bookmark
Pedro Risbergo
Sun, Oct 13, 2013, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

Unfinished business was a bad episode, but extented cut was one of the best Galactica episodes!
Set Bookmark
SpocksBrain
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

I have tried to see this movie on video so many times.. and I cant even force myself to see it... ITS HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLEEEEEE.... I could write a better script while drunk, blindfolded and arms tied behind my back! I am surprised that Brent Spinner was involved in the script... im sure he was capable of better than this pathetic movie.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Sep 22, 2010, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Loved the action in this episode, even though it was a little too quick to develop in terms of galactic events.

What remains to me the absolute stand-out scene is the interaction of Quark and Garak, the serving of the Root Beer. Great to see two non-Federation species and their thoughts. If you don't remember it, check it out here, it's a classic scene in my book:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=vz-MepaJCM4

Enjoy!

-Toph in Blacksburg
Set Bookmark
Joska van Waesberghe
Fri, Mar 19, 2010, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Dark City

I've seen it in a Parisian cinema in 1998 or 1999 for the first time and was deeply impressed. It kept my friend, Paul Walsh and I talking about existentialism half the night. X-elent film!
(Love the Crow too!)
Kind regards from the Netherlands
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Like Greg, I am late to the discussion of this episode. I agree that it was a 4-star episode, and must point out my favorite five seconds: When Caprica-six is asking about what happened to Baltar and we hear a "shh"-ing sound followed by the reveal of head-Baltar. I don't know about anyone else, but for about 4-5 seconds I really thought this was a reveal of Baltar being a Cylon. The writers smartly debunked that thought immediately, but wow, did it have my shocked attention for those few moments. :)
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, May 9, 2009, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Excellent and spot-on review as always Jammer. Thank you for all your efforts over the years!

One area I thought I'd posit on is the issue of Earth-1 vs Earth-2 from your review. The way I see it is this: Earth-1 was the one known via the constellations and of course by the Final Five, hence the bit about "Visible constellations are a match" at the end of Revelations. Earth-2 was a previously unknown world that Kara led them to in Daybreak and since it was unknown it was not the world referenced in the Zodiac map room. As a result I don't really see a conflict between the Zodiac map room in 'Home Pt. 2' and Gaeta's "constellations match" bit. Earth-1 is the Earth that is referred to in the Zodiac, IMO.

Just some food for thought!

-Toph in Blacksburg
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, Jul 26, 2008, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Real life intrudes. It's life. Like many I am looking forward to seeing the reviews, but there is way too much going on in life to sit and wait and gripe when it takes a while.

Jammer take what time you need, make it right. Peace!
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Jul 9, 2008, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Nailed it on the head, Jammer. I look forward to watching the season unfold through the eyes of your reviews. Peace!
Set Bookmark
Toph In Blacksburg
Wed, Mar 5, 2008, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Good to see the first batch of 4th season reviews!

Just a few personal thoughts. I agreed strongly with many of the reviews (I'll never forget reading BSG's Crossroads Part II review and saying repeatedly "That's what I was thinking!") though there were a couple I'd give differing ratings on:

Devil's Due: 2 1/2 stars. Not a classic by any stretch, slapstick in nature, but I actually enjoyed that episode and still do when I catch it on re-runs. It simply had a lighthearted feel that was almost refreshing. My feeling is that it's season placement had an effect: Had this episode been in season one or even season two I am betting your star rating would have been higher. It's a matter of the quality it is matched up against this season.

Clues: Though predictable after the first watching I always felt this was more of a 3 1/2 star entry. The idea of Data being caught in a catch-22 was fascinating. The final scene, where Data is at the controls, looking as if nothing had happened at all, knowing that the secret of the xenophobes would be kept with him forever, was great.

Legacy: Blah. 1 1/2 stars at best. Must agree on one point: Tasha Yar's sister was definitely the pride of the family (body-wise). Aside from that.....blah.

Just a few random thoughts. Keep on trucking! :)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.