Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 104 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 5:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

A tedious, irritating boring episode. Klingons bore. Day time soap opera writing bores. Unwatchable, like 11:59. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Picard is meant to be French. Instead Stewart makes zero effort to not portray himself as some pompous Brit git. You're French pal, French don't quote crapspeare, don't drink Earl Grey tea, and don't sound like inbred British "royalty". Irritating acting.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

The name Nagilum is Mulligan spelled backwards, according to Memory Alpha. Not entirely, it is short of one L. I have wondered why the writers dropped an L frequently.
Another thing is I don't think that the federation would name a starship after a ship that was on the evil side of man's history in the second world war.
Perhaps the federation knew that the american generals knew about the upcoming Pearl harbor attack, didn't act and let the harbor get attacked, in order to make their entrance into world war two more palatable to the US public. Therefore the federation figured that the japanese weren't so bad after all, and were deserving of a starship being named after their erstwhile flagship.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

The actor that plays Moriarty is an excellent actor. Well spoken, superb elocution, and delivery. No doubt had theatre training. Very good actor.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

No, Wes is not gay. Neither was harry kim. I'm assuming okona was outrageous due to him having had sex with two frigging crew women within a few days. I must assume they were reprimanded offscreen for that. Or perhaps they both fell pregnant, which is why those crew women don't appear on the ship again.
One can always assume that if they did indeed fall pregnant and wanted to kill the fetus by aborting it, a trip through the transporter to a version of their previous non pregnant state would be the least messy.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 12:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I think it would be a good idea to teach the country's sign language in primary or high school as a subject, if only to give the hearing person a basic vocab when encountering a deaf person. We must learn more languages in school. It brings us into other people's mindsets. The theme of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Sole S. Survivor
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 9:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

I recently watched the "Remember Me" episode again after having carried my DVD copies of TNG with me through the years. They have become like old videos or photos that help me to remember a favored period in my life, to recall beloved friendships. I watched Remember Me as someone would who had grieved the loss of all those special and sacred friends and loved ones; people,pets, plants, trees, my dearest memories of places and experiences all gone now and everything else that had once existed as part of my reality and that had comforted me. All of my personal world that had eventually been removed to exist elsewhere now came back into focus again as part of the Great Beyond (or next life maybe).

As I watched this amazing episode and the content sank into my pores and then as my skin began to crawl...but in new and better way. I had suddenly realized the allegory between this TNG episode and the progression life on Earth, in this galaxy and universe; ultimately what is contained within my personal and individual encounters while in this life. I was having an encounter with death and my own mortality. I sat realizing again that all things in their present form must eventually come to an end.

My family, many of whom are now on the other side, well perhaps it helps me to imagine them waiting there and hoping now and then that when the time is right, when the pathway is established again, that I'll find the strength to come willingly and join every other vanishing life form, every other facet of my past or present experience, all that it was my utmost joy to experience, to know of and to accompany while on this fantastic voyage.

By my finally letting go and mustering the good faith to eventually engage the vortex myself, as I willingly let go and surrender to that which eventually transports each of us forward to the Next Big Adventure (NBA), I will have finally found my way home again and hopefully to an everlasting end to all of this paiful loss.

This creative and complex episode of TNG seemed to work every bit of its magic on me in an ethereal and other worldly instance having opened my mind to another interpretation, a passage if you will, just as any really good science fiction should. An uplifting TNG wonderment had brought me into full view of these never fully understood possibilities, areas of our lives that our normal waking experience misses or those pieces of our experience that we would otherwise want to desperately avoid.

I had no idea that this epic series would deliver future gifts and wonders decades after I was a much younger person and first entertained by it. I tip my hat to Lee Sheldon (Writer of 'Remember Me') and the rest of the TNG cast and crew for having paved the way to an otherwise frightening transition, an encounter with my own mortality that once it eventually returns will be welcomed and appreciated for what it might actually be and not what I had feared. Maybe a part of the master plan, death, my own personal ending in this sense becomes nothing less than a loving transition and safe delivery to the NBA.

Hope this helps.
Set Bookmark
Daniel S.
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

This was an excellent episode, should be a 3.5 on the scale here. The only issue is it wasn't long enough and had to wrap up by hour's end. On this I agree--I wish this had been a longer episode. But what we got was beautiful. One of the more emotional episodes of Voyager, and entirely successful. It totally works, even the actual ending. The last scene in the cafeteria/mess hall seems to take place some time after the scene of Tuvok lying on the Doctor's table. At least 24hrs goes by before the Dr clears him for duty. I'd like to have gotten one more scene of Tuvok and Neelix, as Tuvok is transitioning back before that final scene of Neelix and totally-back-to-normal Tuvok. But otherwise this was still a great episode! Even the dumb joke about calendar dates that Tuvok offers the alternate punchline for at the end is legit kinda clever. This deserves a higher rating. It stands entirely on its own. Nice directing by B'lanna too!
Set Bookmark
Daniel S.
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

PM, are you sure you haven't seen this episode? Because I just finished watching it and it is indeed awful. Discovery is the first Star Trek show I have ever watched, so I actually only want it not to suck on it's own terms, not compared to previous Star Treks that have not sucked, but compared to all things that do not suck. Discovery, however does not belong in the category of things that do not suck.
(Actually the show looks beautiful and I guess it does action ok. But yeah, it still sucks. But I am not paying for it, and it led me to check out other Trek like TNG and VOY--which I love. So there's that I guess)
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 9:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

One actor in this episode will go on to have a prolific and successful Hollywood career. (Hint: It's not a regular cast member.)
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 6:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Fair enough, I liked Star Trek 2009 better than The Big Lebowski too.
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Kurtzman only has writing credit for one episode of Discovery, so this argument is pretttttty dumb. But okay, “Star Trek” (2009) was written by Kurtzman and was critically acclaimed with an aggregate 94% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Take a look at the critical ratings of other Trek movies:

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - 41% approval.
Star Trek: Generations - 50% approval.

Few Trek movies have aggregate approval close to Kurtzman’s - “The Wrath of Khan” with an 88% and “Star Trek: First Contact” with a 92%.

TLDR: Yeah, well, that’s just, like your opinion, man.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

In January 2019, commenter Ashley wrote:

++"I was enjoying the show, then I realised:

Where are the masks to prevent people breathing in the virus?

Do they know nothing about disease prevention ? They must be wanting to get Sick! Even in this “barbaric “ century we know that masks stop air- born viruses.

This blunder destroyed the whole episode for me. It is silly “, silly, silly!"++


I'm just going to be over here in this corner......drinking and sobbing, in no particular order.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

While whistling past a graveyard, Jammer to wrote:

++"The "race against the clock" is not a particularly effective part of this story, because we all know DS9 is not about to become a floating morgue." ++

Haha, yeah, I mean, the race to get a vaccine out before the virus becomes deadly is just......well, I mean, it's just--okay, sure, they had to convert additional quarters into an overflow hospital ward as the entire medical staff is overrun......but it's pretty obvious the station won't just become one giant morgue, to the point where they have to start digging mass graves just to keep up with the death and destruction, because, well......what kind of horrendously bleak future would look like that, huh?!

Additional negative stars to this episode for some of the other outlandish parts of the episode.....like the bar owner who pompously declares himself to be an "essential service" in the middle of a quarantine, how the one open business in the economy makes a huge profit while everything else is shut down by delivering goods to people that they cannot otherwise access while the station is shut down, the people who ignore the quarantine restrictions and go out to the bars and clubs anyway because they felt fine thereby inadvertently spreading the virus to everyone else far more rapidly and causing it to mutate, the small business owner so single-mindedly desperate to complete his shipment that he fights against the quarantine orders thereby things worse and ends up blowing up his own ship while taking nearly half the station with it.


DAMN, DS9! How is it a quarter-century later, and your episodes are somehow getting even MORE relevant than ever?!
Set Bookmark
Mike S.
Tue, May 26, 2020, 3:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Well, I thought the episode was quite good.

I should probably admit that I’m not a DS9 fan, but I just happened to catch it on Hero’s and Icons channel one night. In fact, I usually jokingly refer to the series as ‘Truck Stop 9’ or ‘Deep Drop 9’, as I generally find it rather boring. I’m more of a TNG and Voyager person, myself, for what it’s worth.

Anyway, I’m willing to bet the people who find this episode more disagreeable probably lean more to the liberal side of the spectrum in their mindset. If true, I’d like to point out that the story goes out of its way to condemn fascist style thinking, and all the worst about cult of personality and war. It’s also an exciting episode.

I liked the ‘red squad’ chanting. Like ‘USA, USA!’, it helps build comraderie and team spirit, especially in this case, when the crew realizes the odds against them. Or a bit like the very annoying, “we’re all in this together”, we keep hearing at the moment.

Good stuff, and not nearly as boring as this series usually is. Just my two cents...
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 8:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

@Iceman: "Contrary to what Sisko protests, he is shown to be a bit prejudiced against Ferengi."

To whatever extent Sisko may have (or had) some prejudices against Ferengi at large, I don't think that prejudice is at play in that specific scene.

Prejudicial treatment is where you treat an individual a certain way because of your opinions about their race at large.

Insofar as this scene goes, Sisko knows Nog. And Rom and Quark. He's known them for years. He has seen their behaviors, listened to their motivations, and is aware of the cultural influences that they espouse.

Sisko, in this cas, isn't suspicious of Nog being up to something because of something other members of his race did. Sisko is suspicious of Nog because of Nog's own personal individual history which includes several petty crimes, a rejection of many human/Starfleet egalitarian values, and numerous lies and dishonest schemes either for his own benefit or in service of his uncle.

The reveal of Nog's genuine interest in joining Starfleet is as much a confusion and surprise to us (the viewer) as it is to Sisko. Because it is a bit out of character, from what we know of Nog to this point in the series. Even within his episode, the viewer suspects there's something hidden behind Nog's efforts. It's not specifically about himself being a Ferengi….it's about Nog himself having a reputation for being not completely trustworthy and not showing much interest or value in anything Starfleet has to offer. A reputation he had more or less earned through the first 2+ seasons.

But when he lets Sisko and us in on the real reason, when the façade is dropped and Nog shows his sincerity and vulnerability, a new reputation is earned for the individual.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 3:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I have read a lot of the comments in this thread, on both sides of the Janeway/Seven moral divide

I liked how RenC pointed out that Picard faces a similar moral dilemma when he grants Q asylum and puts the entire ship and crew at risk to protect crew from aliens that want to kill him and who are threatening to destroy the Enterprise.

Yanks later brilliantly noted how Sisko once took Worf to task saying: "We don't put civilians at risk or even potentially at risk to save ourselves. Sometimes that means we lose the battle and sometimes our lives. But if you can't make that choice, then you can't wear that uniform."

Janeway's decision has plenty of precedent in Starfleet/Star Trek lore....that you don't just turn wounded aliens over to murderous thugs, just because they are threatening to kill you, too, if you don't comply.

And there are several other episodes, even in Voyager, where this moral dilemma plays out.....where an innocent being, or even a being who has attacked the ship, is afforded protection by Janeway and Voyager, even at great risk to the ship.

The entire reason Voyager is in the Delta Quadrant is because Janeway placed the protection of the Ocampa over the welfare of the crew.....even though it was not their responsibility to do so, and it was the Caretaker who violated their rights and dragged them to the DQ, killing dozens of Voyager's crew in the process. The Caretaker kidnapped Voyager, killed its crew, and Janeway still granted the Caretaker's requests to protect the array from the Kazon, even at mortal risk to Voyager. That was still the moral thing to do. It was the Starfleet thing to do.

Now while there are plenty of fine arguments to be made for either choice in "Prey," and whether one agrees with Janeway's moral choice or not.....on a Starfleet vessel, ultimately it is the Captain's choice to make. Whether the Captain decides to give in to a bully's demands and sacrifice an innocent being to save their own ship, or whether they should sacrifices themselves for the moral principle.....that is the sole decision of the Captain. You cannot have random officers and crew, much less non-Starfleet personnel, substituting their own personal judgments for that of the Captain's.

So I agree with Janeway here.....both in her decisions to protect the 8472, and her discipline of Seven for insubordination.

But I think Joey Lock also made a very interesting point with his comment....."Janeway's logic in this episode is the very reason the Federation almost lost the Dominion War back home, it's the Federations peace loving "Do not harm anyone" attitude that allows species like the Borg, Hirogen, Jem'Hadar, Species 8472 etc to walk all over them, because they portray weakness and a vunerability, their morality."

I don't personally agree with the sentiment behind that, but I understand it and I know a lot of people would feel that way. And I think that mindset is precisely what is at the heart of what Starfleet has become in the new Star Trek: Picard series......that kind of morality of openness and welcoming inclusiveness can leave you exposed to those who do not share your morals or value your inclusivity.

The understanding of Starfleet and the Federation through 50 years of Trek is that, yes, there may be short term or individual consequences, but long term we are better off opening our arms to other, welcoming the alien seeking refuge, and protecting them from harm. But after the Borg, the Dominion War, and a series of other attacks and calamities, it is understandable that frightened scarred people have become weary of Starfleet's open arms policy and no longer want to be the sort of people who welcome the injured 8472 at all costs. The people who would now rather turn an alien over to hunters rather than stick their neck out for someone who isn't exactly an ally. Seven's mindset in "Prey" is exactly at the heart of the Federation's behaviors in ST:Picard......though I say this having not watched any of the new episodes with Seven's character yet.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 11:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I enjoyed this episode but I’m a little worried they’re setting up a major retcon of the Romulans that won’t hold water.

We already have a ”Romulans hate androids” plot which seems to conflict with the line from “The Defector” about “Romulan cyberneticists” who would have like to study Data. I suppose it could be explained that those Romulans cyberneticists were people like Agnes from this show who want to study it even though it’s banned, but probably the writers just missed this inconsistency. Admittedly, I didn’t catch it until others brought it up.

But they seem to be hinting that Romulans have some fundamental problems with being assimilated which of course directly contradicts “Unity” from Voyager. Also, didn’t TNG’s “The Neutral Zone” and “Q Who” establish that there was some contact between Romulans and the Borg in the Romulan neutral zone? I really hope the writers wouldn’t be so sloppy as to mess that up. But I’m a little nervous because when Hugh says “these are the only Romulans assimilated as far as I know,” that’s clearly wrong because Hugh as a Borg presumably would have been aware of Orum from “Unity” and the attacks on the Romulan neutral zone in TNG season 1. Maybe for some reason it’s just that these particular Romulans, (who were the last ones assimilated) are the only ones with the “disorder” but it didn’t to be where things were going. We’ll see.

I really hope we don’t have a “we’re Cylons and we have been from the start” thing where all Romulans are actually robots. That seems to rewrite the trek canon a bit too much. The Phantastic Geek podcast also speculated that perhaps the Romulans of ancient times actually created the Borg, which strikes me as an intriguing theory, but unclear why that would translate to the need to destroy all androids. The Borg aren’t really androids, and didn’t Locutus basically say androids are obsolete? Maybe I’ve just revealed myself to be a nitpicky nerd and none of this is really as big a deal as I say it is.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Tue, Feb 4, 2020, 5:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

A few responses to Asher's comments:

1) "Religion in general and Christianity in particular has been a driving force for good in our society."

-This site isn't big enough to detail all the atrocities great and small perpetuted by religious zealots, or those done supposedly in service of a religious doctrine or in the name of some deity.

A lot of the historical people you cited for the positive reforms and scientific advancements they promoted became facmous because they themselves were suppressed, denigrated by, or driven to overcome the prevailing harsher/ignorant societal beliefs of the era which were often heavily rooted in religious dogma, and Christianity in particular.

Your inclusion of William Wilberforce in your list is an interesting double-edged sword for this discussion. A man whose Christian faith inspired his drive to abolish slavery (and also eliminate the printing of newspapers on Sundays), a peculiar institution for which its proponents cited the same scriptures to justify (often declaring the non-Christian indigenous peoples they encoutered to be heathens). Wilberforce himself supported Church missionary activities in foreign lands and specifically worked for the religious "improvement" of the barbaric Hindus in India, exhibiting the same evangelical religious motivations in support of colonialism that those before him used in support of slavery.


2) "I also note that while there have been plenty noble atheists, there also have been more than enough mass murdering atheistic despots around. Therefore, it would be a stretch to say that the world will be automatically better off when it is run by scientific atheists."

-If you're referring to the mass-murdering despots I think you are referring to, I would argue they were actually quite religious, they merely sought to replace the worship of some other deity and adherence to a text with worship of themselves and their own teachings. North Korea, for example, isn't an atheistic culture....they have worked very hard to turn the Kim family into divine Gods (and demanded that they and their teachings be followed, religiously) so that the people will accept whatever their leader tells them without challenge (aka "blasphemy").

Rather than go deeper into a "both sides" argument, or get into a pissing match over which one is worse, I will simply offer my agreement that the world will not just be automatically better off when it is run by scientific atheists. Humans are flawed beings with great potential for destruction and misery. We can certainly use religion and claims of God's support to further destructive ends; but greed, selfishness, and a desire to harm/conquer/control others are not the sole province of religion (nor does religious faith act as the sole barrier to such behaviors).


3) "So, how would an atheistic world improve itself if there are no religious influences to drive progress?"

-On a scientific level....either simple curiosity or necessity are fairly strong motivators to drive progress. Human scientific advancement predates any known organized religion, and there are plenty of discoveries or inventions where religion had little to no role.

"What is the air made of?" "How can I get harvest cotton more efficiently?" "Are there any Earth-like planets around other stars?" "I want to record sounds for future use, but how?" The people who tried to answer these questions and/or invent new tools may have held varying beliefs in a deity, but I see little evidence that faith in an unseeable unknowable deity is a necessary requirement for a person in a rainstorm to be motivated to invent a functional umbrella.

Every single one of my children noticed at an early age that objects fall to the floor when dropped. They all seemed extremely curious as to why that is, and on their own...no omnipotent deities need apply. If anything, belief in a god and/or adherence to a religious belief which claims to alreday have the answer ("God did it!") can stunt progress (and many times has).

As for societal progress.....the fact there are so many different societies with differing religious views should make it clear that faith in a god is not required.
How does a religious world influence progress? Obviously, through the stories it tells through its books, myths, legends...stories with a compelling series of fictional characters whose parables are retold in ways befitting our current lives. Given that peoples from ALL socities and religious bents have found their own paths forward, it is clear that there is no one specific set of stories or faith in specific mythological characters to which one must adhere for progress to be inspired.

Stories of spacemen traveling the stars and talking to aliens or jumping through time can be no less influential than stories of men defeating great giants or living in the belly of a whale or talking to a magical bush. Humans grow and build societies and personal values around the stories we hear as children and share and retell as adults. There are many great legends and works of literature that inspire progress, they there is no prescription for what those stories must be, nor a requirement that such inspirational stories MUST contain a deity that every reader puts blind trust in and must actively continue to worship after they close the book.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Tue, Feb 4, 2020, 2:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

@William B: "I agree with what everyone says about Leah Brahms. This should have been a sign to Picard that the future can't be the way things *actually* end up. "

+++++

PICARD: So, you've heard?
LAFORGE: Leah's got a few friends at Starfleet Medical. Word gets around.'
PICARD: (frowns).....Leah?
(pause)
PICARD: Computer, Halt Program! Computer, End Program!
LAFORGE: Captain, you remember Leah, my wife. She's just been made director of the Daystrom Institute.
PICARD: And people say I'M the one losing touch with reality.
LAFORGE: No, sir, it's not like that. We're really married, we have several children together.
PICARD: (considers Geordi's words carefully, then turns angry).....Q! This has gone on long enough! Dammit, Q, show yourself!
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 10:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed the first episode of Picard!
-It's great to finally have a sequel set in the main Star Trek universe. No more prequels or reboots or alternate timelines, which frankly, have often been kind of a let-down.
-The writers clearly know their Next Generation. Lots of callbacks to the series: the reference to Bruce Maddox (the guy who tried to have Data dismantled), the stuff in the storage locker like the Captain Picard Day banner, Data painting and having a daughter, poker, the French vineyard, etc.
-This may make people mad, but I'm kind of glad Data is actually dead. I didn't really like Nemesis (though admittedly I haven't seen it in a while), and I didn't agree with the decision to kill Data in the first place, but I'm glad they're not running from the decision. I remember someone had told me that various comic books had made B-4 just like Data reincarnated, which is definitely a stupid and way-too-easy way out. Though I would be ok if this show had a long drawn out "Search for Data" sort of thing going on where they try to bring back some aspect of him.
-In many ways, Data was kind of the heart of Next Generation, so I really like how even in death he's still a central figure in the story.
-I remember being annoyed with the decision made by the J.J. Abrams team to blow up Romulus in the prime timeline for no good reason. On a side note, I've noticed J.J. Abrams movies have a tendency to blow up planets out of nowhere as a cheap way to raise the stakes. (See e.g. the Star Wars sequel trilogy). But anyway, like Data's death, the writers did not run away from or ignore the decision, and the destruction of Romulus is a major plot point in the story. Even after just one episode has made for some really compelling ideas.
-Which brings me to the "interview scene." To me this might have been the most captivating scene in Star Trek since...well...maybe 1999? This is classic Picard, being the moral voice of Starfleet, and completely unwavering in his view that the Federation should have saved as many Romulans as possible even though Romulans are old enemies. One can't help but think of the parallels with the U.S. failure to take in Syrian refugees, and how the true test of a country is its generosity to others during times of a crisis. So when Picard says he left Starfleet "because it was no longer Starfleet," that really really hits home. The show seems to be off to the right foot because it realizes that the best scenes in Star Trek are not usually space battles but instead really compelling stories.
-I was intrigued by Picard's Romulan assistants And I think it was trying to show how people who used to be enemies from a different planet can get along and make wine together. It's sort of a callback to the original Star Trek "Balance of Terror" where the unnamed Romulan commander right before his death tells Kirk that under different circumstances they would have been friends. I thought it was interesting that Picard's Romulan's assistants appear very human in their clothes and hairstyle.
-I want to learn more about this rebellion of synthetic lifeforms, and how the interviewer seems to hold Picard somewhat responsible for what happened. Maybe it's just because people now hate artificial life forms and Picard has always been a champion of the rights of artificial life forms (see "Measure of Man"), or maybe there is something else going on.
-I really hope the show doesn't turn into shoot-em-up action next week, but if this episode is any indication, I think we're on the right track as far as good storytelling goes.
-This might actually be the best Star Trek pilot episode. DS9's "Emissary" is pretty poorly paced, but is way better when you have seen the end of the show because you see how much of the groundwork for the show was laid down right from the start. But as a standalone episode, I think Picard is hands down the best Star Trek pilot.
-My girlfriend and I watched Battlestar Galactica and Season 4 of The Expanse recently, so she made the joke that it's easy to get Picard confused with these other series since we have android sleeper agents and people living on Mars.
-So what's going on with the Borg, anyway? The trailers had totally given away the big reveal of the cube at the end. The finale of Voyager was such a mess I honestly don't remember to what extent the Borg collective is still around or if they were all wiped out by Janeway (or did they ever tell us?). But anyway, the cube no longer appears to have any Borg on it and it's just being used by Romulans as an outpost. I really hope this show doesn't overuse the Borg on this show like Voyager did.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 2:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

>"Unfortunately, the allegory is too preachy and pretentious and fails to say anything except in the very broadest of terms."<

Sometimes, messages need to be preached, and sometimes the broadest of terms are required for it to be heard.

++++

>"Prejudice has many troubling shades of grey that this story fails to acknowledge."<

True point. But this was broadcast in an era where MLK had recently been assassinated and where only six weeks earlier Star Trek had aired the first interracial kiss on US television, to the dismay of some regional censors.

This episode was written for an audience that was still struggling with (and often against) the concept that "Segregation = Bad"

There are absolutely shades of gray to be explored....1969 was not the time or place for those. Hard to dive too deeply into nuance with an audience that barely understands or accepts the basics.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

Watching these episodes through streaming services in rapid succession is jarring....

KIRK: "Hey Bones, this indigenous woman and I just had some stones thrown at us. I'm a little banged up, but apparently none too worse for the wear. Stay with her. Do what you can."

*McCoy scans Miramanee, discovers she's carrying Kirk's child*

(30 Minutes later)

MCCOY: "She had bad internal injuries, Jim. "
KIRK: "Will she live? "
MCCOY: "No."
KIRK: "No? No?!? Wasn't it just 2 episodes ago where you successfully surgically reattached Spock's brain after it had been stolen from his skull?! And now you're telling me you can't heal a woman with a few internal injuries sustained from some rocks."
MCCOY: "Do you want to explain to Starfleet Command how a woman on an alien pre-warp pre-industrial civilization ended up birthing your child?"
KIRK: "I'll love you, Miramanee. Always."










MCCOY: I swear that's honeysuckle I smell.
KIRK: I swear that's a little orange blossom thrown in. It's unbelievable. Growth exactly like that of Earth on a planet half a galaxy away. What are the odds on such duplication?
SPOCK: Astronomical, Captain.
Set Bookmark
Kevin S.
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 10:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Great Roddenberry's Ghost! Whyyyy does Janeway never delegate her responsibilities? The captain should NEVER go on every away mission with her head pilot and security officer (or, alternately, her chief engineer). Yes, I realize it's because it's only a TV show, but jeeeeez.
Set Bookmark
Kevin S.
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 5:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I grow weary of these tired Irish stereotypes, frankly. And the "holodeck malfunction" plot device has been waaaaaaaaaaaaaay overdone. Ugh. One star is right, even generous.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.