Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24,555 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 983
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sat, May 15, 2021, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

'That'll do Pigard. That'll do.'
Set Bookmark
stephanie
Sat, May 15, 2021, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I thought it was just me excreting tears during this ep because my only kid is graduating high school and will move out of state this summer...which is odd because I haven't been emotional about it (yet). But then I read the reviews and realized nope....it's just THAT great of an episode. Cirroc did great but Tony Todd's real tears during this ep pushed me over the edge.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 15, 2021, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Paul he only used the word three times in this review, which frankly, is showing some restraint on his part given the writing in this series.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, May 14, 2021, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

This is a great episode if a bit goofy and intellectually "chewing gum" ish. The ending always makes me roll my eyes.

Picard: (re: his saddle) "It actually came in handy. I only wish I had had the opportunity to use it on a horse."

Worf: "Of course."

AAAA HORSE IS A HORSE OF COURSE OF COURSE 🎶🐴
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Fri, May 14, 2021, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: To Loose the Fateful Lightning

I liked the chikd actors. The story was a good concept. But it was all over the place. 2 and a half stars for me
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 14, 2021, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"So starting maybe 30 years ago they relaxed their anti-capitalist laws, allowing for designated economic zones, in order to compete on the world market using various advantages they had at their disposal. Many people say that this was a gradual going under of them being communist, and maybe that's true in a limited way, but what I think they realized is that they could remain totalitarian in every *meaningful* way and not manacle themselves in the categories where they need to compete. Unlike the USSR, they needed to establish real parity in market strength and not pretend that being a shut-in can work (like NK does). And yet for all that it's not like they relinquished political power."

I'm sorry but this seems like you are suggesting that to save their totalitarian dreams they basically relaxed or abandoned totalitarianism. I thought the essence of totalitarianism was the state taking control of *all* aspects of society. But if your people have relative economic freedom and can even have private property, can travel as they please, can live relatively independently, how can that properly be totalitarian anymore?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 14, 2021, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"My scientific opinion is that there actually never was a totalitarian state."

This could be said about virtually anything. No human society can exemplify perfectly any one system. Even Oceania in 1984 wouldn't qualify under your definition as the majority of the populace was free more or less to do their own thing - only the party elite really lived in what could be described as totalitarian in a strict sense.

But of course when we say a government is "autocratic" or "totalitarian" we must be speaking in broad strokes and we are by necessity generalizing.

But getting back to China my sense is that if they are totalitarian it definitely Diet or Lite version.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 14, 2021, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Who would vote for a totalitarian regime if they had a choice?"

Haha is that supposed to be a rhetorical question? The only doubt is if it's a slim majority or a large one who would.
Set Bookmark
Sarah
Fri, May 14, 2021, 1:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Doing a rewatch of Voyager inspired by the pandemic just because it's the Star Trek show I've seen the least of (didn't have UPN until mid-way through). Tim Russ is so good whenever he gets anything to do. It's a shame it didn't happen more often and "Tuvok has emotions" isn't the kind of thing you can trot out all the time, but this was a fine showcase for him.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 14, 2021, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

"Sisko was wrong."

Was he though? He didn't accuse Picard of being a traitor or a murderer. He simply stated the fact that they had met in battle. Sisko's tone, to be sure, was accusatory, but that just makes Sisko human in sitting in the same room with the man who without question killed his wife. That Picard feels guilt for this also makes him human.

I am with you that this was one of the best scenes in the series and one of the most powerful in Trek. It's stuff like this that makes Emissary by far the best series premiere in any Trek series.
Set Bookmark
castlerook
Thu, May 13, 2021, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Seriously, this episode should get 4 stars solely on the basis of the two scenes with "holodeck Kira," in which we clearly see Nana Visitor channeling her aunt Cyd Charisse, and doing it very well.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, May 13, 2021, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I CANNOT BELIEVE this is rated so high. So so so wrong. This was absolutely terrible. So bad I was offended at the end that they would seem this showable.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, May 13, 2021, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Peter G. Just a question: how do you distinguish totalitarian societies from garden-variety autocracy?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, May 13, 2021, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Are you seriously claiming that present China is not totalitarian? Come on now..."

It does seem to have some totalitarian elements, especially with the social credit system. But it doesn't seem anything like a true totalitarian country a la North Korea.

As someone who was basically banished to the styx during Mao's purges I don't really get a totalitarian ideologue vibe from Xi Jinping. He seems to be more interested in restoring Chinese greatness and avenging past humiliations rather than creating a communist totalitarian utopia.

At least from the short time I spent in Beijing it seemed to me to be a pretty cosmopolitan society with people doing their own thing. But that's Beijing to be fair and I wasn't there long.
Set Bookmark
Sean Cooney
Thu, May 13, 2021, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

Rewatching Star Trek the next generation - again lol.

I don't understand why Counselor Troi is so hard to write for. Her telling the captain it would be prudent to withdraw seems like something maybe the first officer would say if it needed to be said...maybe I'm the only one bothered by that...
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Thu, May 13, 2021, 11:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Contrived annoyances make the 2/4 generous IMO but understandable for reasons given in Jammer's review. There were so many contrivances in this episode. More than usual for Voyager. I think there were like 4 I can remember off the top of my head that would've stopped the narrative from progressing at all.

When a story has 4 contrived scenes that would've collapsed the entire narrative without them, it's plumb BAD writing. But the episode is salvaged from being a completely annoying waste by some happy surprises that cut through the truly annoying contrivances.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, May 13, 2021, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

I wouldn't call the Dominion totalitarian. We see in various episodes that Dominion vassals like the Karima are more or less free to go about their business. That does not suggest a totalitarian structure.

Frankly, I am not sure they map well onto any particular regime in history but I confess I don't know much about the Ottoman Turks.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, May 13, 2021, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"So basically, the BLM/PC-culture thing is just a convenient excuse to further divide the population. "

I truly hope you are correct.

I personally don't fear robber barons the way I fear true believers. And the true believers who really are free of hypocrisy - they are the worst of all.
Set Bookmark
Polaris
Thu, May 13, 2021, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I’m sure when this episode was written it was intended as a commentary on gay rights and conversion therapy, but in 2021 it surely has parallels to non-binary and transgender people. I don’t quite buy that Riker falls in love with this person, but it’s a good episode in that it resonates with different gender/sexuality issues decades later.
Set Bookmark
Polaris
Thu, May 13, 2021, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I did not like this episode. Beverly presented a partial recovery treatment to Worf as the only option, despite knowing his cultural beliefs. A patient should know about ALL the options and their risks, and make an informed decision about their treatment based on that. Worf would have ended up killing himself if she had her way. And we’re supposed to root for her point of view I guess, since she shamed the experimental doctor before, during, and after the surgery. It was also stupid how the other doctor froze up while Worf was dying in surgery so Bevs could step in and take the lead.

On another note I’d like to think in the future we would respect the idea of self chosen euthanasia for terminal illness, at least. Worf’s condition wasn’t terminal though, and complicated because he had a young child.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I feel like an alien right now but for me every single Doctor's fantasy aside from one when Janeway sees his speech was cringe/second hand embarrassment inducing. Not funny at all. ** for scenes without fantasy.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

For once I completely agree with Jammer. While there are some logical flaws (why would Captain allowed it, also Chakotey suddenly not thinking that spiritual journeys are real etc), emotionally it was top notch for me. I even teared up at that desperate "What do you want?!" rant. I didn't mind religious/spiritual side of this at all. Considering that I absolutely hated religious plot of DS9 ( along with politics and war lol) that's saying a lot. I think that's because religion was presented here as merely an aid in personal spiritual/psychological journey, instead of restrictive, dogmatic authority that are institutionalised Earth religions, at least most popular ones. This was engaging and effective episode. ****
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, May 12, 2021, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Very stylish film. Superbly choreographed, dramatic action scenes. Very clever, very theatrical macabre touches. Powerful special effects. Genuinely superb acting, especially on Patrick Stewart's part. The Shinzon character is powerful and nicely sinister. There's some really clever dialogue, especially between Picard and Shinzon.

But this is a film that never amounts to the sum of its parts. I first watched it in the company of a bottle of Scotch about 17 years ago. I started to zone out, and I've always wondered if that was because of the alcohol or the film. I was entirely sober tonight, and it definitely the film. It really tested my attention span. The action scenes are over-long, over-indulgent and unnecessary and they robbed the film of some of its focus. i don't think the plot was that interesting or coherent.

I didn't like the scene with the buggy. Why everyone was so excited about it I have no idea, it looked much like a 20th century motor vehicle, which is of course exactly what it was. The dive off the cliff into the shuttlecraft really represents the whole film quite nicely - it's all spectacle and style and little substance.

I guess B4 was a nice idea. Great shame to kill off Data at the end, though. He made it through seven TV series and four films. Couldn't they have let him live another ten minutes?

Picard performs his own one man special forces mission again, he does this a few times in the TNG canon and it always comes across as dumb.

Well - finally that's the end of the TNG odyssey I started in 2018. Took me a long time to get round to the last film, but job done now. Bit of a shame that it bows out like that, really.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 12, 2021, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming trust me they are bitter drunks.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 12, 2021, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Oh well, still much better than ST Picard where all LGBT people are bitter drunks or psychos."

Now now let's be fair. Everyone in the new shows is a bitter drunk or psycho not just LGBT. Or a used up has-been - can't forget about those.
Next ►Page 1 of 983
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.