Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 81 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, May 29, 2020, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Jammer, this review is hilarious. And intentionally so, unlike the final scene of this episode. I thought the episode was more than a little silly, but exciting/entertaining and an okay conclusion to the Xindi arc. But then... alien nazis. I still can hardly believe I saw it. I read that they didn’t even have a plot idea when they filmed this - that it wasn’t even part of the script?!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sun, May 24, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

I’m really enjoying this storyline. I wish they knew how translators worked, though. And it’s so disappointing that they had a believable motivation for the reptilian leader - defend all Xindi, whatever the cost - which also stopped him firing on the initial convoy - but then changed it to make him just Evil. That’s so boring!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, May 20, 2020, 2:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Rattrap, I thought the same as you - T’Pol being less sociable made it more realistic. The scene where he’s asking her to go and watch the film with him but she wants to read and meditate in her quarters illustrates it. (Also further illustrates that she’s not real - why would she be reading when Phlox is maintaining the engines?)

It’s a rehash of One but I liked it. I do think the Xindi and zombie Hoshi weakened it, though. The noises and shapes were scarier. In Seven’s episode, we didn’t expect her to hallucinate, so the mysterious alien seemed more plausible. In this ep, we knew one Xindi wouldn’t be acting like that, and we also knew Hoshi wouldn’t have deteriorated that quickly if she had woken up. She certainly wouldn’t have gotten into the shower. So it was cheap.

I knew T’Pol wasn’t real from the start though my husband wasn’t sure. He couldn’t remember if they’d said more than “humans are affected, denobulans are immune”. I don’t think they had, so Vulcans could have been either, but Phlox wouldn’t have been walking around naked if T’Pol was about, and he wouldn’t have been the one maintaining the engines.

In this episode, was Phlox able to maintain the ship alone because they weren’t at warp? In One, I remember it being a real struggle for Seven. She’s a skilled engineer and the Doctor was minding the crew at first too, right? And that’s a more advanced and I assume more automated ship.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, May 15, 2020, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

This episode was marvellous. I haven’t really enjoyed any of the Xindi stuff really but this is an easy 4/4 from me. It’s fun. Everyone acts according to their natures - any stupidity is natural and not contrived. Everything’s nicely set up. I like how it shows how 3/4 of the Federation happened - and again how humans were necessary to get peace between the Andorians and the Vulcans (I guess this is the third episode about it? The monastery spying post, the ruins with blue K'Ehleyr?) I liked how Shran spoke against the fighting with the Vulcans twice, and Archer has again prevented them going to full on war.

Jeffery Combs is always a delight. I get similar vibes from Shran and Archer as Q and Picard. Maybe even the barest hints of Garak and Bashir, particularly when dining, but more one sided. It’s something about looking into someone’s eyes whilst you cork or uncork a bottle and say something suggestive. In any case, I love their chemistry. You can really see just how torn up Shran’s orders make him. Archer shouldn’t have hit him! He’s your friend, Archer! But it’s great. You can see why Archer hit him. It’s good writing! And it’s hilarious to watch Shran feel physical pain when he calls T’Pol competent, and the way he leaps to his feet when Archer mentions Vulcans.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I didn’t like a lot about this ep, but can we please stick to the facts?

This isn’t the planet with 8 suns, so no it won’t be bright and they won’t be squinting.

Seven’s connection to Picard has been well explained. She sees him as an example of Federation morality as an individual, and we’ve seen that all the former drones recognise him as Locutus. Unless one missed that Seven is a former drone I don’t see what’s hard to grasp here.

Narek’s wound being healed between scenes was spelled out in dialogue.

The corpses Seven kicked aside were clearly Romulans - to be specific, Romulan agents who were engaging in a mass murder of every drone aboard the cube at the time of their death. They have uniforms!

I have noticed nowadays people will talk about doing other things whilst they watch a show, which of course is your right and everything, but it doesn’t sound very enjoyable to me, and clearly you don’t get all the info you’re supposed to be getting.

Questioning why Elnor loves Picard and wants his fatherly approval *because* he abandoned him doesn’t necessarily reflect a lack of attention but maybe a lack of understanding of common childhood traumas. That’s how it goes a lot of the time!

This is my least favourite ep apart from the gorey one. The direction, the camerawork was a mess. I was questioning it out loud at some points. Really amateurish. What was that scene with their faces one after another?! Really really odd.

Seven of course along with Elnor and the cube as a whole are the Chekhov’s gun here and I look forwards to seeing them fired next week.

I’m hoping Agnes is double crossing the evil Soji. We know she lied and hid her lies to the EMH. (But I’m laughing at her full name. Jurati was already hilariously like jarate for any Team Fortress 2 fans here, and now she’s Agnes *P* Jurati? It’s too much!)

I like the explanation for why the warning sends organics off their rockers. It’s not for them - it’s made by people who seem to hate them. I thought that was the dumbest plot thread so far so I’m glad it’s actually a bit clever.

I do find it really boring though that Soji’s weird dream was about a real place. And that it seems like the intergalactic synthetic phone line is real. Just seems cheap somehow.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 4:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

My favourite part of this was Raffi knowing she shouldn't go and have a go at Rios and doing it anyway. I'm glad she stayed off the drink at least, but no-one's perfect, right? She's really grown on me. I like how she's a warm person and very skilled despite also being a complete and utter mess. She's a bit like B'Elanna Torres in that respect.

I think Soji and the rest forgave Jurati a bit quickly. I see now what they were going for with her being really fucked up by killing, but I think it would have worked better if we knew what was going on with her from the start. Wouldn't it have meant more when she unintentionally kills the Romulan agent chez Picard if we *knew* she'd been sent out to kill and was dreading it? And when she couldn't even hit a pop up ad? And when she killed Maddox, obviously? And then what they're doing here, that she never could have done it, not killing both, that would ring more true. (I wasn't the only one waiting for one or the other to lunge for the other in that scene, right? And it was unclear if they were alone or not too... really weird.)

They made Oh and Narissa much more sympathetic, but it's the same problem. I think I really needed to see at least half of this from when we were finding out about the Zhat Vash initially, or in some scene between Narissa and Narek. I mean, it all being women, would that not have been ideal, her telling him "you can't fall for that thing, you wouldn't if you'd seen what I'd seen!" "but I'm not allowed :(". It would also have enabled them to go slower with Jurati if they wanted, because the minute she said "what I've seen :(" we would have known what that was.

Also these Zhat Vash as well as the original aliens are really stupid? This is mind control. No info dump, no matter how tedious, drives people insane. Seven for example didn't get like this either when she downloaded Voyager's entire database into her brain (only minorly crazy... in a Raffi kind of way!) or when she was remembering being assimilated as dozens of drones (far worse than... looking at Data's face? ooh scary!!). That thing is messing them up, not synths! And they're too dumb to realise. Also, is it worse for Romulans (and Vulcans) or was Oh just taking a massive gamble with Jurati?

They're really upping the Seven-as-grieving-mother stakes aren't they. It was already a thing in Voyager, with One in Drone, and also to a lesser extent with Icheb volunteering his cortical node for her. Seven *outright* killing her half dead Borg son because they *already* took his Borg parts out ties those two together nicely (horribly.) But Troi's shrine to her dead son & naming her daughter after her dead sister that sent her mum a bit funny last episode is blown out of the water here. All of Seven's new children immediately dying and zooming off into the void (I guess they forgot that Borg cubes have transporters and incredibly good tractor beams and that Borg can survive in space for a little while normally? But whatever). Poor Seven :( I think her becoming a temporary Queen should have been a bit more exciting/dramatic than it was. Maybe it's just because, despite all the nasty things they're doing to characters on here, we knew she'd get back out? I feel like it should have been really awesome and terrifying, but it was just a bit meh. Jeri Ryan sold the horror of it for Seven really well, and I think the contrast with Elnor thinking it sounded like a great idea with no problems! worked too, but somehow the way it was laid out didn't resonate properly. Sometimes the jumping around they do works for me, I think here maybe we should have stayed with Seven the whole horrible time. It's a quiet horror, I guess, and needs to be able to slowly build.

It was nice to see Clancy again. I hope she's what she seems and not part of the conspiracy. Just an Admiral who really really hates Picard, but has to respect him despite that, and professional despite her love of swearing in private. Isn't that kind of realistic? Like Raffi said a few episodes ago, he's probably still the face on the Starfleet brochures - that kind of respect doesn't mean everyone will *like* him! Though, that does make it a bit strange that the young man at Starfleet HQ didn't recognise him - not least because he'd been all over the telly the other night. Maybe he was just a bit clueless, and it was only meant to be a little blow to Picard's pride, not actually saying no-one knows who he is any more.

I was worried at the end that Picard would be rebuffed by Rios. I'm glad he wasn't. And I'm glad Rios let Raffi in the second time. Like, I see what they've been doing, but they have to realise it's a bit offputting when our expectations are only nearly fully met very near the end. I think they needed to show more contrast with other people or even other better functioning societies to properly *show* that this was dysfunction (of course, the aliens-of-the-week stuff was great for that, for showing problems on one or ideally both sides!). It's the same problem I had with Discovery S1 - if we'd seen the real Captain whatshisface, or any other ship during the war, we wouldn't have been wondering if this was simply how they were reimagining Starfleet/the Federation.

This doesn't feel worth making a whole separate comment on the other thread, but I really liked your review of the previous episode, Jammer!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Mar 11, 2020, 4:18am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I think we’ve already looked at good but arrogant characters and this is more in that vein, but a different take because this is about a very established, respected person.

In DS9 it was Bashir, whose arrogance was fairly typical of both surgeons and the young. There are two episodes that come to mind where he is criticised for arrogance by other characters. One is quite early, where he tries to cure a Dominion-engineered plague on a planet that they and aliens have been trying to cure for centuries, and he can’t do it after a whole week, so he has a bit of a pity party about it, and Dax gives him a talking to. He then pushes on - with her help - and manages to create a vaccine that will spare all future generations. Then he’s very down about not being able to cure the already infected, and someone has to put that into perspective for him, too.

The second is quite late and it’s where he goes a bit nuts with statistics and thinks the Federation’s only hope is in surrender to the Dominion. Sisko’s appalled and manages to talk him around eventually, but Bashir is absolutely convinced that he’s right and everyone else is just too stupid to get it. But, it remains clear throughout that he is driven by fear, specifically the fear of people suffering and dying when he - and Starfleet and the Federation more widely - could have prevented it.

He’s a perfectionist and so’s Picard. When he couldn’t save everyone, he saw that as saving no one at all. Most of the good characters have criticised Picard for giving up more than anything else. And it’s what Picard seems to want to change about himself, too.

Seven makes this quite explicit when she talks about her work with the Fenris Rangers: “It's not saving the galaxy. It's helping people who have no one else to help them. It's hopeless and pointless and exhausting and the only thing worse would be giving up.”

She puts a very negative spin on it but she’s quite a negative person. And she’s come a long way from the Seven who believed in “survival of the fittest” kind of cruelty, who thought risking yourself to save others was illogical. She was already getting there at the end of Voyager, but it’s nice to see the continuation here too.

Elnor is the perfect example. Picard couldn’t save and relocate every Romulan, but he absolutely could have taken Elnor in. But nooo, Picard couldn’t personally entirely mitigate the effects of a supernova destroying a large civilisation’s main system, so all he could do was go home.

Riker says it would be fine for Picard to want to retire, like it seems he and Troi have. But deciding you’ve done enough is different to giving up in despair because you can’t do it all. That’s what Bashir learnt in the plague episode, eventually, and it’s what Picard has been realising. I hope at the end he takes on a manageable if never ending task like Seven has. Probably something that doesn’t involve sprinting up stairs though!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I don’t get people saying Seven’s actions are somehow out of character or even new for Trek. First of all, she literally mentioned her desire to impose order on chaos twice in this episode - the great Borg calling. She’s always been like that. And she’s doing it for nice and caring reasons which is the kind of person we watched her learn to become. And she’s doing it in a small outnumbered group just like how Voyager operated in the delta quadrant. And she goes nuts to protect her own - just like Janeway. So this is all fine isn’t it?

And killing that woman? First of all, it absolutely wasn’t cold blood as at least one person here asserted! Quite the opposite. And to say this hasn’t happened in Trek before? It did! And thematically appropriately I guess, it was Data! He was going to kill that evil collector man because he cruelly killed that woman and he wasn’t going to stop - and also a bit as revenge for his cruelty. I don’t think it’s coincidence either that Seven repeatedly said she’d escaped from that woman. But whereas Data fired, was beamed out, and told Riker (it was him right?) that “ooh I don’t know, ghosts in the transporter set off the disruptor, murder is wrong”, Seven told Picard “yes okay murder is wrong”, beamed back down charging her phasers, and actually killed her. But this person striving to be human and killing an evil person isn’t new to Trek so I don’t see how it can be against it.

The opening scene though - ugh. Just unnecessary to have that kind of gore (and I don’t think either the exploding head proto-Borg in TNG nor the Klingon-Human surgery in DIS were as bad). It’s sad to see Icheb killed, especially in such an awful way (he had no cortical node because he gave it to his mommy ☹️) but he’s too relevant to ignore, too young and distinctive looking to recast for anything but a death scene, but the actor has been too spiteful to another Trek actor for them to have him back.

The end scene is stupid too. Oh I’m so tired of this kind of character. It’s a shame because I find the actress quite charming (as I did the Ash Tyler actor) but this whole plot is dumb. And frankly I don’t care when it’s a new character! I don’t feel the tension like when it’s an established character being compromised, they’re just a baddy and that’s all. And the whole thing with the EMH not doing anything... she should have deactivated it entirely. It’s one thing when the plot decrees transporters won’t work (like in this ep!) but we know how EMHs work. It’s like saying for plot reasons the human doctor suddenly couldn’t work the comms system or something. It’s making them stupid, not a real obstacle (not that transporters or sentient holograms are real, but you know what I mean!) If she gets away with this, it’s stupid. If she doesn’t, it makes no sense that she wouldn’t kill him more kindly at least. I was glad we avoided the incest spies this week but if we have this instead it’s no better.

The evil woman looked so much like Troi! I thought she was a Betazoid and that alien was a related species (beta something, psychic powers). Kind of like humans and the Voth or maybe even the Bajorans and the Cardassians. But no
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I really enjoyed this. I didn’t see Seven’s entrance coming at all. I was delighted to see Ryan’s name in the credits, finally - and Frakes directing - but I was enjoying the episode so much I had no idea we were near the end and that if Seven was going to appear, it was going to be then. Acting like it’s a man is a cheap trick - perhaps she has a male hologram co pilot like our man on this ship that led to their assumption? - but yeah, I fell for it. Being extremely cool, making a smart comment and refusing to pass out/die/generally admit to human frailty is classic Seven, however she’s changed.

The Romulan incest sister is so creepy and I don’t get the point of having this exact same scene every episode, but with her being more sexual and more violent each time. I dread to think how he’ll wake up to find her next week, I don’t know what the US watershed standards we’re dealing with are. Ugh! We get the picture for crying out loud!

I was a bit worried about Romulan ninja Legolas from all the promo but I can buy his character, and the child actor was very cute. I’m hoping no one else has this same “OMG Picard you abandoned us” backstory though, this is enough of them isn’t it? Yes we all feel the same, but still :)
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I also really like that we weren’t “wondering” if she was Data’s daughter for the whole bloody series. I was worried about that. I think not telling us about her, about Data, about Romulus, about why Picard quit, that’s still a bit manipulative, but I guess it would be a heavy infodump otherwise so I forgive it.

I’m also sad that the Romulans who live with Picard are only “guest stars”, I really like them!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

That was amazing! I was so worried about what it would be like. Though, I liked the pilot of Discovery too and it all went downhill from there... I hope that doesn’t happen here

What separates this from Discovery is that it’s *about* something, and that was the crucial thing we all liked about older Trek (then, episodes that aren’t and are just comedy or just entertainment stand in contrast). Some people, I assume Americans, are seeing this as a Trump allegory of some kind (whether they approve or not) but for me as a British woman it appears to largely be about the Syrian refugees. I think Patrick Stewart spoke about both the refugee crisis and Brexit as issues of our time he thought this show would address, didn’t he?

I like that this episode makes the French language canon again! I hated that they wrote out a whole language/culture like that previously. In light of the above, I can’t help but see it as a pro EU statement, too.

I wonder who is behind all this plotting. I can pick out like a dozen angles. It seems too sophisticated for anyone we know but the Romulans or the Cardassians. The Romulans would be pretty thick to doom themselves like this for the sake of striking a blow on the Federation, but maybe it makes sense to some of them? The Cardassians are surely not in any shape to do this, though they certainly hate the Romulans enough, and you’d think they’d be too dependent on Federation aid to attack them. Though, that in itself could motivate some...

There’s obvious Borg involvement, but it just doesn’t seem like their style to me.

My other guess is the Vulcans. Who else would be so alarmed at the prospect of a huge influx of Romulans into the Federation? Scary thought though for it to come from within like that.

I hope you get a chance to watch it soon, Jammer! I think you’ll like it. Thanks for putting up this comment page for us in the meantime, too.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

We already had “everyone here is a pirate and you can’t get out” in Voyager’s The Void as mentioned (and the only things we’ve been told about the expanse are that you CAN get out!), we already had “the captain tortures someone” in Voyager’s Equinox, we already had “I can live with it” in DS9’s In The Pale Moonlight. And I don’t care about that. I like this stuff! What matters to me is that this is all those but a thousand times worse. Not more of the same, not an improvement - worse!

This episode was frankly boring! The one we recently had where Trip commits the sin of teaching a slave to read and making her womb wander was equally if not more offensive, but at least it was engaging.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

It wasn’t explicit but I felt that Phlox had a cure for borg nanoprobes in denobulans, not an actual anti assimilation technique like is used on Picard and Seven and others later or a general anti nanoprobe technique that would work on other species. We know in Voyager (and maybe elsewhere?) that some species cannot be assimilated at all - perhaps Denobulans are hard to assimilate.

I was hoping at first that the researchers would be cautious and destroy everything they’ve found (which would also explain why no one had heard of it later), and it would be tormenting us as viewers “when will they wake up?” but with the characters remaining fairly oblivious. That tension was the best bit of the episode for me. The action sequences we got were fine, there’s something about that green borg lighting! But the way they didn’t say “we are the Borg” to Archer was stupid. I accepted it in the Ferengi episode, because the Ferengi don’t go around with their catchphrase “we are the Ferengi”, but not here.

I don’t see a problem with the timeline at all, as long as we can accept that the fact that this was never filed under “Borg” so no one noticed. Perhaps this strange account was one of the bits of evidence the Hansens were going on later, and they like Cochrane were held to be a bit mad after all.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Brian, they're only saying whilst they were waiting. Beam down some ice and frozen whatever the alien drank and they can drink that. It was like half an hour or an hour they were waiting for the shuttle. If the water was going to boil in that time that would have been the least of their problems! They definitely could have had some kind of shade too.

I didn't think of that whilst I was watching but I did think they could have tried to find some shade. The peak they were on didn't look very big and they only had to get behind it. Maybe it was meant to be bigger than it looked.

This episode is maybe a bit stupid but I liked it anyway. I like Trip a lot. He's probably the nicest of the Enterprise crew (Travis and Hoshi are equally pleasant but not so thoughtful or patient - T'Pol is thoughtful and patient but not at all warm, and so on), and there are times like in this episode that you see it's a real conscious effort he's making. I don't know how much this is explored later in Enterprise, but he seems to me to be a really sarcastic and perhaps even bitter person who is trying and generally succeeding to be pleasant and friendly. Characters are often either rude/cold/whatever but loveable or some kind of saint who never gets annoyed at anything or anyone, so it's interesting to see something a little more nuanced.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

It's funny that they wanted to get more use out of the catwalk set. It's like Archer told Mayweather "Travis, can you look through our old sets and see if any can be reused against this week's aliens?". It's a nice set though so I can't blame them.

It was like several stories mashed together and much worse than its parts. Evil aliens taking over Enterprise is one story. Starfleet meeting non-corporeal aliens for the first time (it's not clear if T'Pol merely couldn't scan these lot or if the Vulcans had also not met any) is one story too. The possession aspect is like another story which could have gone fine with one or the other but the whole thing is muddy and weird. I noticed it had a lot of writers names at the start. Too many cooks?

There's no moment where Archer thinks he was wrong to be so suspicious and hostile. I think it would have been a lot better for that. The way it was filmed, it's like he knew the ending, and that just isn't believable (not least because he only knew it like I now know the ending, he didn't change his actions, just his attitude!)

It's not like every Enterprise episode is like this. Just in the last episode, he's risking his life and Trip's to save a ship of what may well be the worst kind of murderers - and risking his life several more times to try to rescue the one trying to kill them all, and him. Previously, we've seen it can be hard for him to adapt to weird and/or rude aliens, but he does, even if it takes some prodding from T'Pol. But there was none of that here. It's so odd. It would have been a great episode if they had been able to help them fix their ship (which it's implied was running on no maintenance for maybe thousands of years if not longer). But Archer didn't offer, when he offers to help every other alien with their ships, and they didn't ask, even though they got the ability to speak to the Enterprise crew. That's just one option - another is to find them a planet or even for some of them to stay on board permanently! But no, just "they're evil, kill them". Really boring.

I thought they all put in good performances though. Reed's alien was ridiculous, but I liked amazed Trip and evil Hoshi. T'Pol was a bit weak talking to Archer, but great in the possession scene. I liked Phlox too, he was asking all those questions to show he's a doctor and this is not really in his job description - what the rest of the crew does is difficult and requires training and I think the actor conveyed that well as did the script.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Sep 28, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Wow, I can’t believe most people dislike this! It’s fun. Like a TOS episode but without the weird 60s attitudes that throw you off.

Lakshmi’s acting wasn’t great but she’s meant to be an alien princess who doesn’t talk to people as equals. It’s fine. I thought they had great chemistry together too. Trek romances are normally awful and I thought this one actually worked. I think I’ve liked all of Trip’s romances so far actually, they’re pleasantly low key and sweet.

The bad aliens are pretty 2D but I appreciate that they didn’t make them more than they were. They weren’t the worst evil ever known or whatever. We don’t even know if they’re typical for their species, so we can probably assume they’re not. I get so sick of the unnecessarily high stakes they often use, it’s my biggest problem with Discovery.

How could anyone not enjoy T’Pol in this? I like how she didn’t really say anything false, just implied it, and let Archer do the real lying for her. And oh, I wish she wore clothes like that all the time! Or at least the outer robes on top of the catsuit.

I thought the visuals of the crash landing were pretty good too.

There have been much worse episodes of Enterprise so far. I guess it comes down to your opinion of the prime directive (I’m always against it!) and how different kinds of humour work for you.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I thought this one was fun. I liked how they kept making it more realistic and then less realistic again. As Lt Yarko said, the fears are quite specific to Hoshi and also we’ve seen the opposite being really true, Archer and T’Pol have been very supportive of her before. This also brings Archer’s dreadful attempt at informing Mr Sato of Hoshi’s death into context - he’s hopeless at communicating without his communications officer, at least in her mind!

I guess I like this episode theme anyway - the Crusher one is the best, the Seven one is pretty good too. One woman vs her imagination on a weird and lonely ship.

The aliens were Trip and Reed right? I thought I could see/hear them, and they clearly represented the two men messing with the transporter controls.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Cory, I thought that too, not exactly but it’s like what other Vulcans must have been telling T’Pol about being so foolish as to serve on a mainly human ship. They’re all like this to them. And it’s actually her familiarity with humans that helps them all out - she knows they’re nothing like this.

This episode has already been done both in Enterprise with T’Pol in the cave and with Seven manning Voyager alone because the rest of the crew are laid low by radiation. But it’s pretty funny, whereas those episodes were quite serious. My favourite parts are Trip’s eye roll things he keeps doing, Sato shouting “carrots!” and Reed growling “water polo”. I think this is better than the last few episodes. It’s lightweight, but entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Sep 25, 2019, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

None of the plot holes really bother me because this episode has a much worse problem - it’s deeply, aggressively boring.

We know that Archer and Reed are in no danger. Not even a token third person to be glad makes it out or sad they die. No sympathetic aliens, literally all one note bad guys, so you don’t care about them either.

At the beginning they’re talking about all kinds of interesting stuff they don’t show us. There was so little plot, they could have actually put all that stuff on screen.

At least A Night in Sickbay was trying to be interesting even if it was stupid.

Trip’s hand thing might have been interesting if it had made sense. Why was he acting like he couldn’t feel it when he obviously could? And the alien culture, was it medieval or 20th century? They couldn’t make up their minds.

The only part that interested me was two subtle character moments towards the end before the escape, both Reed’s complaining and optimism really winding Archer up, and Archer seeming to only truly care if Reed is killed and not for himself in light of the contamination risk. But my god, that was like a minute of footage altogether. Really pathetic.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

It’s not the dog stuff that’s the problem surely? Porthos is cute and we’ve been going into Archer having Janeway’s problem, that it’s hard and often taken as inappropriate for him to be friends with the crew, but that leaves him friendless a long way from home. So Porthos despite also being as Phlox put it “subservient” is closer to an equal he can be friends with, just because that doesn’t bother dogs and make them act weird - or no weirder than we expect dogs too. His relationship with Trip is pretty much the same, genuine real affection, but also Trip is his subordinate in a way that matters unlike with Porthos.

And being in a bad mood after spending a week doing what feels like grovelling and being turned away for what feels like no reason, and then your dog is dying, is fine. And he did apologise to everyone at the end and not get openly frustrated at the aliens so it’s not really a character assassination, just an example of a really really bad day. (He’s probably still shook up from thinking they’d had their first fatality last week, too.)

The problems are the invented sexual tension with T’Pol (the episode also implies through the focus on the decontamination scene that T’Pol has sexual tension with Hoshi, which she actually does to a limited degree, and Archer with Porthos which is... ugh!!) and Archer not even hesitating to kill one animal to save another apart from wondering if it will harm Porthos.

It’s so insulting to Jolene Blalock that they did this to T’Pol. They weren’t quite so bad to Jeri Ryan as Seven, and they still could have treated her a lot better. The stuff with Trip is fine and feels natural (and part of that comes from how they are both together with Archer a lot and neither is into him!), Malcolm fancying her is okay because he’s kind of the horny one of Enterprise (apart from maybe Phlox!) and they didn’t imply that he was very into her or that it was at all requited, but this is awful and spits on every episode so far. She feels the same? This woman went to sickbay because she had a tame sex dream about a jazz club, come on!

And though I’m not sure if it’s ever spelt out, I think the crew at this point believe she’s only up for it once every 7 years - so if that’s meant to be why they apparently all fixate on her, as a safe option in terms of effecting your relationships with your coworkers on a 5 year mission, they should go into that. (Also, this makes the line they put in about the crew being only nearly a third female even more stupid as well as offensive. You’d think it would then be a third gay men right? If they’re out there for 5 years and they recognise they’ll want to have sex with each other? But there’s no gay people and a shortage of women in the future, obviously! They briefly touch on the superiority of female astronauts in a scene that’s all leading up to topless Hoshi, but Starfleet are apparently too stupid to even hedge their bets and make the crew 50:50.) But no, it’s because the real actress has to wear a stupid costume because the show writers think it’s sexy, and they’re constantly thinking about having sex with her so obviously all the characters are.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

The twist is too obvious to us who know about holograms. It’s weird that they largely copied a DS9 story with a DS9 actor, and then made Kes II his daughter. But this is one of the better one off guest star romances I’ve seen on all of Star Trek. I thought she and Trip had great chemistry, it was very believable, and there’s a believable happy ending too.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Aug 29, 2019, 4:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Cold Front

My favourite part was how the dog was suspicious enough of the intruder to not eat, but as soon as they were talking he did eat up - because we see the empty bowl next to him and the unconscious Archer. Like “oh okay you’re talking so he must be a friend of ours :)”, even with Archer being held at phaser point! Well, he’s not there as a guard dog!

I’m on my first watch and I’m sad to read that the temporal Cold War plot is a bit of a let down. It seems pretty intriguing at this point, with the way Silik is apparently helping them or at least not out to get them (saving the ship, not attacking T’Pol and Trip as well as Daniels in engineering, stunning Archer not killing him) though it’s almost certainly not out of the kindness of his heart.

And the stuff with the aliens and Phlox was great. I really liked the rude captain - I’m glad he wasn’t a baddie, just rude!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Nopoet, as far as I can tell it’s all men not taking this seriously, from the writers to the commenters here. And your example is a bit extreme compared to what Trip experienced in the episode. He wasn’t raped just because he got pregnant and human women can only get pregnant through sex. As he was quite keen to point out, he didn’t have any sexual contact with anyone.

I found it quite appalling though. Why wasn’t abortion even mentioned? They did in that Troi episode and it was simply that she didn’t want to, so there’s no excuse here. He clearly doesn’t want to be pregnant and Archer acts like he’s being childish instead of a victim of a violation with a potentially serious condition.

I hadn’t clocked the water under the boat thing. That’s pretty silly.

I really liked the alien ship and Trip adjusting to it. Organic ships and partially organic ships are very cool. And their holodeck is beautiful. Shame the story is so stupid and offensive.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 3:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

I’ve never watched Enterprise before. I thought people were joking about the decontamination scenes. I have never seen anything so ridiculous. First of all, it’s not a sexy premise, they’ve got some kind of space fungal infection. Second, why can’t they do their own ears? I don’t really buy that these people aren’t fit enough to do their own backs, but they can certainly do their own ears. Thirdly, it’s just not sexy. The tension isn’t sexual tension, their dislike for each other has no chance of being transmuted into passion. It’s just two people who don’t like each other talking in a room, but half naked. You’re not wondering “ooh are they going to say sod professionalism?”. So the idea that it was okay to include such a stupid scene because it’s titillating is even more insulting, because it’s not titillating at all.

Combined with the space strippers (again weirdly and aggressively not sexy despite clearly being there to be sexy, eating bugs is the opposite of sexy!) and as pointed out the two female characters being a competent cold woman no one wants around and a sad scared teacher, it’s such a step backwards after Voyager.

I had real difficulty telling Trip and Reed apart in this episode, at least until they spoke. They have the same face! And they both seemed to be engineers. In the next episode Reed is a bit more firmly established as the weapons guy but it was very confusing here. All of the other characters have very different appearances to each other and also better differentiated characters.

Apart from these issues I enjoyed it. I think they could have portrayed the Vulcans a bit better, but I like the idea also explored in the next episode that they don’t really explore like we do, for its own sake - or at least they don’t before getting the idea off us.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Mon, Jul 8, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@ Peter G - it’s not about liking the bajoran family more (I’m not sure I did) but only that a child is a person not a possession. His father was deeply wronged (as was he) but he’s not an object to be returned to its owner. Ripping a child from its family is nearly always wrong and the bajoran family was his family at that point. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

It might have been different if the bajoran couple had stolen him, not adopted him as an abandoned orphan. That would be a form of abuse towards him that could justify removing him. But what we were shown wasn’t like that.

If it wasn’t an emotional decision on Sisko’s part I think it’s worse! He’s playing god and not taking the child’s wishes seriously enough. A child of that age is normally allowed to choose if they want to visit their non resident parent in the case of divorce for example, but Sisko wasn’t merely ordering visits with his cardassian father but moving the boy to another planet. I also don’t recall him insisting that he still sees his bajoran family regularly either.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.