Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 70 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 5:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

We already had “everyone here is a pirate and you can’t get out” in Voyager’s The Void as mentioned (and the only things we’ve been told about the expanse are that you CAN get out!), we already had “the captain tortures someone” in Voyager’s Equinox, we already had “I can live with it” in DS9’s In The Pale Moonlight. And I don’t care about that. I like this stuff! What matters to me is that this is all those but a thousand times worse. Not more of the same, not an improvement - worse!

This episode was frankly boring! The one we recently had where Trip commits the sin of teaching a slave to read and making her womb wander was equally if not more offensive, but at least it was engaging.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 5:41am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

It wasn’t explicit but I felt that Phlox had a cure for borg nanoprobes in denobulans, not an actual anti assimilation technique like is used on Picard and Seven and others later or a general anti nanoprobe technique that would work on other species. We know in Voyager (and maybe elsewhere?) that some species cannot be assimilated at all - perhaps Denobulans are hard to assimilate.

I was hoping at first that the researchers would be cautious and destroy everything they’ve found (which would also explain why no one had heard of it later), and it would be tormenting us as viewers “when will they wake up?” but with the characters remaining fairly oblivious. That tension was the best bit of the episode for me. The action sequences we got were fine, there’s something about that green borg lighting! But the way they didn’t say “we are the Borg” to Archer was stupid. I accepted it in the Ferengi episode, because the Ferengi don’t go around with their catchphrase “we are the Ferengi”, but not here.

I don’t see a problem with the timeline at all, as long as we can accept that the fact that this was never filed under “Borg” so no one noticed. Perhaps this strange account was one of the bits of evidence the Hansens were going on later, and they like Cochrane were held to be a bit mad after all.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Brian, they're only saying whilst they were waiting. Beam down some ice and frozen whatever the alien drank and they can drink that. It was like half an hour or an hour they were waiting for the shuttle. If the water was going to boil in that time that would have been the least of their problems! They definitely could have had some kind of shade too.

I didn't think of that whilst I was watching but I did think they could have tried to find some shade. The peak they were on didn't look very big and they only had to get behind it. Maybe it was meant to be bigger than it looked.

This episode is maybe a bit stupid but I liked it anyway. I like Trip a lot. He's probably the nicest of the Enterprise crew (Travis and Hoshi are equally pleasant but not so thoughtful or patient - T'Pol is thoughtful and patient but not at all warm, and so on), and there are times like in this episode that you see it's a real conscious effort he's making. I don't know how much this is explored later in Enterprise, but he seems to me to be a really sarcastic and perhaps even bitter person who is trying and generally succeeding to be pleasant and friendly. Characters are often either rude/cold/whatever but loveable or some kind of saint who never gets annoyed at anything or anyone, so it's interesting to see something a little more nuanced.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

It's funny that they wanted to get more use out of the catwalk set. It's like Archer told Mayweather "Travis, can you look through our old sets and see if any can be reused against this week's aliens?". It's a nice set though so I can't blame them.

It was like several stories mashed together and much worse than its parts. Evil aliens taking over Enterprise is one story. Starfleet meeting non-corporeal aliens for the first time (it's not clear if T'Pol merely couldn't scan these lot or if the Vulcans had also not met any) is one story too. The possession aspect is like another story which could have gone fine with one or the other but the whole thing is muddy and weird. I noticed it had a lot of writers names at the start. Too many cooks?

There's no moment where Archer thinks he was wrong to be so suspicious and hostile. I think it would have been a lot better for that. The way it was filmed, it's like he knew the ending, and that just isn't believable (not least because he only knew it like I now know the ending, he didn't change his actions, just his attitude!)

It's not like every Enterprise episode is like this. Just in the last episode, he's risking his life and Trip's to save a ship of what may well be the worst kind of murderers - and risking his life several more times to try to rescue the one trying to kill them all, and him. Previously, we've seen it can be hard for him to adapt to weird and/or rude aliens, but he does, even if it takes some prodding from T'Pol. But there was none of that here. It's so odd. It would have been a great episode if they had been able to help them fix their ship (which it's implied was running on no maintenance for maybe thousands of years if not longer). But Archer didn't offer, when he offers to help every other alien with their ships, and they didn't ask, even though they got the ability to speak to the Enterprise crew. That's just one option - another is to find them a planet or even for some of them to stay on board permanently! But no, just "they're evil, kill them". Really boring.

I thought they all put in good performances though. Reed's alien was ridiculous, but I liked amazed Trip and evil Hoshi. T'Pol was a bit weak talking to Archer, but great in the possession scene. I liked Phlox too, he was asking all those questions to show he's a doctor and this is not really in his job description - what the rest of the crew does is difficult and requires training and I think the actor conveyed that well as did the script.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Sep 28, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Wow, I can’t believe most people dislike this! It’s fun. Like a TOS episode but without the weird 60s attitudes that throw you off.

Lakshmi’s acting wasn’t great but she’s meant to be an alien princess who doesn’t talk to people as equals. It’s fine. I thought they had great chemistry together too. Trek romances are normally awful and I thought this one actually worked. I think I’ve liked all of Trip’s romances so far actually, they’re pleasantly low key and sweet.

The bad aliens are pretty 2D but I appreciate that they didn’t make them more than they were. They weren’t the worst evil ever known or whatever. We don’t even know if they’re typical for their species, so we can probably assume they’re not. I get so sick of the unnecessarily high stakes they often use, it’s my biggest problem with Discovery.

How could anyone not enjoy T’Pol in this? I like how she didn’t really say anything false, just implied it, and let Archer do the real lying for her. And oh, I wish she wore clothes like that all the time! Or at least the outer robes on top of the catsuit.

I thought the visuals of the crash landing were pretty good too.

There have been much worse episodes of Enterprise so far. I guess it comes down to your opinion of the prime directive (I’m always against it!) and how different kinds of humour work for you.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I thought this one was fun. I liked how they kept making it more realistic and then less realistic again. As Lt Yarko said, the fears are quite specific to Hoshi and also we’ve seen the opposite being really true, Archer and T’Pol have been very supportive of her before. This also brings Archer’s dreadful attempt at informing Mr Sato of Hoshi’s death into context - he’s hopeless at communicating without his communications officer, at least in her mind!

I guess I like this episode theme anyway - the Crusher one is the best, the Seven one is pretty good too. One woman vs her imagination on a weird and lonely ship.

The aliens were Trip and Reed right? I thought I could see/hear them, and they clearly represented the two men messing with the transporter controls.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 5:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Cory, I thought that too, not exactly but it’s like what other Vulcans must have been telling T’Pol about being so foolish as to serve on a mainly human ship. They’re all like this to them. And it’s actually her familiarity with humans that helps them all out - she knows they’re nothing like this.

This episode has already been done both in Enterprise with T’Pol in the cave and with Seven manning Voyager alone because the rest of the crew are laid low by radiation. But it’s pretty funny, whereas those episodes were quite serious. My favourite parts are Trip’s eye roll things he keeps doing, Sato shouting “carrots!” and Reed growling “water polo”. I think this is better than the last few episodes. It’s lightweight, but entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Wed, Sep 25, 2019, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

None of the plot holes really bother me because this episode has a much worse problem - it’s deeply, aggressively boring.

We know that Archer and Reed are in no danger. Not even a token third person to be glad makes it out or sad they die. No sympathetic aliens, literally all one note bad guys, so you don’t care about them either.

At the beginning they’re talking about all kinds of interesting stuff they don’t show us. There was so little plot, they could have actually put all that stuff on screen.

At least A Night in Sickbay was trying to be interesting even if it was stupid.

Trip’s hand thing might have been interesting if it had made sense. Why was he acting like he couldn’t feel it when he obviously could? And the alien culture, was it medieval or 20th century? They couldn’t make up their minds.

The only part that interested me was two subtle character moments towards the end before the escape, both Reed’s complaining and optimism really winding Archer up, and Archer seeming to only truly care if Reed is killed and not for himself in light of the contamination risk. But my god, that was like a minute of footage altogether. Really pathetic.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 1:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

It’s not the dog stuff that’s the problem surely? Porthos is cute and we’ve been going into Archer having Janeway’s problem, that it’s hard and often taken as inappropriate for him to be friends with the crew, but that leaves him friendless a long way from home. So Porthos despite also being as Phlox put it “subservient” is closer to an equal he can be friends with, just because that doesn’t bother dogs and make them act weird - or no weirder than we expect dogs too. His relationship with Trip is pretty much the same, genuine real affection, but also Trip is his subordinate in a way that matters unlike with Porthos.

And being in a bad mood after spending a week doing what feels like grovelling and being turned away for what feels like no reason, and then your dog is dying, is fine. And he did apologise to everyone at the end and not get openly frustrated at the aliens so it’s not really a character assassination, just an example of a really really bad day. (He’s probably still shook up from thinking they’d had their first fatality last week, too.)

The problems are the invented sexual tension with T’Pol (the episode also implies through the focus on the decontamination scene that T’Pol has sexual tension with Hoshi, which she actually does to a limited degree, and Archer with Porthos which is... ugh!!) and Archer not even hesitating to kill one animal to save another apart from wondering if it will harm Porthos.

It’s so insulting to Jolene Blalock that they did this to T’Pol. They weren’t quite so bad to Jeri Ryan as Seven, and they still could have treated her a lot better. The stuff with Trip is fine and feels natural (and part of that comes from how they are both together with Archer a lot and neither is into him!), Malcolm fancying her is okay because he’s kind of the horny one of Enterprise (apart from maybe Phlox!) and they didn’t imply that he was very into her or that it was at all requited, but this is awful and spits on every episode so far. She feels the same? This woman went to sickbay because she had a tame sex dream about a jazz club, come on!

And though I’m not sure if it’s ever spelt out, I think the crew at this point believe she’s only up for it once every 7 years - so if that’s meant to be why they apparently all fixate on her, as a safe option in terms of effecting your relationships with your coworkers on a 5 year mission, they should go into that. (Also, this makes the line they put in about the crew being only nearly a third female even more stupid as well as offensive. You’d think it would then be a third gay men right? If they’re out there for 5 years and they recognise they’ll want to have sex with each other? But there’s no gay people and a shortage of women in the future, obviously! They briefly touch on the superiority of female astronauts in a scene that’s all leading up to topless Hoshi, but Starfleet are apparently too stupid to even hedge their bets and make the crew 50:50.) But no, it’s because the real actress has to wear a stupid costume because the show writers think it’s sexy, and they’re constantly thinking about having sex with her so obviously all the characters are.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

The twist is too obvious to us who know about holograms. It’s weird that they largely copied a DS9 story with a DS9 actor, and then made Kes II his daughter. But this is one of the better one off guest star romances I’ve seen on all of Star Trek. I thought she and Trip had great chemistry, it was very believable, and there’s a believable happy ending too.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Aug 29, 2019, 4:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Cold Front

My favourite part was how the dog was suspicious enough of the intruder to not eat, but as soon as they were talking he did eat up - because we see the empty bowl next to him and the unconscious Archer. Like “oh okay you’re talking so he must be a friend of ours :)”, even with Archer being held at phaser point! Well, he’s not there as a guard dog!

I’m on my first watch and I’m sad to read that the temporal Cold War plot is a bit of a let down. It seems pretty intriguing at this point, with the way Silik is apparently helping them or at least not out to get them (saving the ship, not attacking T’Pol and Trip as well as Daniels in engineering, stunning Archer not killing him) though it’s almost certainly not out of the kindness of his heart.

And the stuff with the aliens and Phlox was great. I really liked the rude captain - I’m glad he wasn’t a baddie, just rude!
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Nopoet, as far as I can tell it’s all men not taking this seriously, from the writers to the commenters here. And your example is a bit extreme compared to what Trip experienced in the episode. He wasn’t raped just because he got pregnant and human women can only get pregnant through sex. As he was quite keen to point out, he didn’t have any sexual contact with anyone.

I found it quite appalling though. Why wasn’t abortion even mentioned? They did in that Troi episode and it was simply that she didn’t want to, so there’s no excuse here. He clearly doesn’t want to be pregnant and Archer acts like he’s being childish instead of a victim of a violation with a potentially serious condition.

I hadn’t clocked the water under the boat thing. That’s pretty silly.

I really liked the alien ship and Trip adjusting to it. Organic ships and partially organic ships are very cool. And their holodeck is beautiful. Shame the story is so stupid and offensive.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 3:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

I’ve never watched Enterprise before. I thought people were joking about the decontamination scenes. I have never seen anything so ridiculous. First of all, it’s not a sexy premise, they’ve got some kind of space fungal infection. Second, why can’t they do their own ears? I don’t really buy that these people aren’t fit enough to do their own backs, but they can certainly do their own ears. Thirdly, it’s just not sexy. The tension isn’t sexual tension, their dislike for each other has no chance of being transmuted into passion. It’s just two people who don’t like each other talking in a room, but half naked. You’re not wondering “ooh are they going to say sod professionalism?”. So the idea that it was okay to include such a stupid scene because it’s titillating is even more insulting, because it’s not titillating at all.

Combined with the space strippers (again weirdly and aggressively not sexy despite clearly being there to be sexy, eating bugs is the opposite of sexy!) and as pointed out the two female characters being a competent cold woman no one wants around and a sad scared teacher, it’s such a step backwards after Voyager.

I had real difficulty telling Trip and Reed apart in this episode, at least until they spoke. They have the same face! And they both seemed to be engineers. In the next episode Reed is a bit more firmly established as the weapons guy but it was very confusing here. All of the other characters have very different appearances to each other and also better differentiated characters.

Apart from these issues I enjoyed it. I think they could have portrayed the Vulcans a bit better, but I like the idea also explored in the next episode that they don’t really explore like we do, for its own sake - or at least they don’t before getting the idea off us.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Mon, Jul 8, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@ Peter G - it’s not about liking the bajoran family more (I’m not sure I did) but only that a child is a person not a possession. His father was deeply wronged (as was he) but he’s not an object to be returned to its owner. Ripping a child from its family is nearly always wrong and the bajoran family was his family at that point. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

It might have been different if the bajoran couple had stolen him, not adopted him as an abandoned orphan. That would be a form of abuse towards him that could justify removing him. But what we were shown wasn’t like that.

If it wasn’t an emotional decision on Sisko’s part I think it’s worse! He’s playing god and not taking the child’s wishes seriously enough. A child of that age is normally allowed to choose if they want to visit their non resident parent in the case of divorce for example, but Sisko wasn’t merely ordering visits with his cardassian father but moving the boy to another planet. I also don’t recall him insisting that he still sees his bajoran family regularly either.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 7:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Jammer, I’d just like to say thanks for all your reviews and for allowing our comments and I do hope you continue, though I wouldn’t want to pressure you.

I agree totally with your review of this episode. And though I tend to disagree as much as or maybe more than I agree with your reviews, I always enjoy reading them.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 6:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

This film is nowhere near as bad as most people including Jammer are claiming!

I think it just didn’t need all the stuff on the desert planet. And I know that’s not really “just” anything when it’s a huge part of the plot but it’s not necessary and it’s where all the worst parts are.

I could easily watch a whole film of Kirk Spock and Bones camping or Uhura and Scotty having inexplicable sexual tension.

I thought Sybok and the “god” were fine, it’s just that they needed to make the diplomats and the desert planet more interesting or cut them entirely. The pink planet and the special effects were not as fascinating as we were clearly supposed to find them and most of that could have been removed. That’s the same problem the first film had.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This series was fine and definitely an improvement on the first but it was so meaningless and wasn’t internally coherent. Both within individual episodes (I like mosley’s summary of the scene where Georgiou defeats control, we see that really she has done it, all the ships are dead, they no longer need to go to the future and - no one cares) and within the broader series (first one that comes to mind, why is Tyler openly on L’rell’s ship in the same series that she’s brandished his cut off head in front of everyone? I don’t believe her standing is so improved that she can get away with that, especially when what she’s doing is easily slandered as helping her federation masters).

I honestly laughed at the first scene of this episode because the camera spinning was so utterly unnecessary. But you know, at the same time I really liked the bustling scene in engineering for example. Discovery seems to swing wildly between wonderful and comedically awful. “Yum yum” was terrible but Reno’s sweary outburst is the only one that has worked for me, I couldn’t feel the self consciousness of the writers through that one.

The end was stupid. Did they not learn from ENT that you finish with the right crew? They only had to swing back down from that starfield on to discovery’s hull in an undisclosed location if they didn’t want to decide on anything further, but you have to end with the right ship! And saying Spock never spoke about Burnham because he personally made it illegal(!) is insultingly stupid when he doesn’t talk about his family anyway. He in particular won’t mention her because it’s illogical because she’s in the future - tada! No conspiracy necessary.

Tyler’s promotion is also ridiculous as is Cornwell’s death. It’s too transparently for spinoff and casting purposes. You don’t need to kill off an admiral to either never show her again or only have her on as a guest star. I guess Cornwell didn’t do the stunt classes at the academy that most officers seem to. I’m sure I could have got my fat arse under that door before the torpedo blew! It’s just all a bit silly. (It’s nice that a torpedo proof door has a window for people to sadly look through as well. Great ship design, but maybe the Enterprise’s refit could include doors that can be closed from both sides? Or is that a 950 years in the future technology?)
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I loved the Enterprise’s interiors. I saw a mock-up of Discovery made to look similar - I’m glad this style might really be in the cards for the next season for one ship or another. Really nice mix of modern and retro future aesthetics.

Why hasn’t Burnham told anyone what she’s seen in the time crystal? And maybe I got the wrong impression but I think Culber was going to ask Stamets to try again, but Stamets thought he was going to ask to try to be just friends so he tried to head him off at the pass, and Culber didn’t want to try to convince him twice because it could be unfair. I think this kind of drama from people not saying something important is insulting, especially when it’s dragged out.

I guessed about the two red angels. It was either that or Culber being a full idiot. Though did Burnham say she had her mom’s MRNA? Surely she meant mtDNA or perhaps I misheard. It’s still pretty dumb that they never considered this before, especially after knowing they confused her and her mother.

The scene with Tilly, Stamets and Reno would have been great if not for the genuinely sickening camera movement. Why are they going to such trouble to do something so ugly?

I wasn’t touched by the goodbyes because this show is too manipulative both in terms of melodrama and plot twists. Amanda and Sarek was a decent scene that had at least something behind it if not as much as there could have been, but them being there was too contrived. All of the rest is nonsense. I know Detmer will have someone important in her life and it’s not unlikely that Stamets has a sibling but you can’t just spring that on me and expect me to care. Those scenes were so generic too. At least Tilly’s complicated relationship with her critical mum has some background, and with Owosekun I guess they were alluding to her one or maybe two lines about growing up in a Luddite community from the beginning of the series? It’s not really the best character work I’ve seen in my life though.

Pike’s praising the bridge crew didn’t work either. He only has a relationship with Burnham, Tyler and Tilly apart from Spock. Maybe Saru at a push. He doesn’t have anything to say to Bryce and Rhys - no one does! Who even are they?

A+ sliding corpse action from Owo’s actress though. And you have to appreciate Pike’s cheeky wink to Georgiou. She can’t have honestly thought he’d not cottoned on.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 5:45am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

This film is really beautiful though I have mixed feelings about the story. I don’t tend to really get anything out of the exterior shots of ships so many other ST fans seem to love but I was pretty much mesmerised by the sequence showing off the Enterprise. (Though it did make me laugh that they had a floating man in every other shot doing nothing much apart from showing the scale and that it’s in space, just because they could - which is fine! - but in one shot he’s apparently hurtling off into space to die. Bye!)

The bits where we swapped between V’ger getting even weirder and weirder the deeper they went and the crew’s :o faces got a bit tedious after a while. I wish there had been more discussion of what they were seeing and how it made them feel mixed in with the speechless awe.

I thought the actress playing Ilia was very good at bringing the life back into her face when they were getting through to her. I wasn’t impressed by Decker but they didn’t give him a lot to work with. As someone who grew up on TNG it was weird to see the TOS crew with what I consider to be TNG’s music, and it’s hard for me not to see Ilia and Decker as a cheap rip off of Troi and Riker even though it’s obviously the other way around. It’s interesting though.

I felt the plot was too obvious and it made Kirk and the rest look a bit thick that they couldn’t get what the Ilia probe was telling them about V’ger coming from Earth, and that Kirk apparently wouldn’t have realised it was a voyager probe if the letters had rubbed off instead of being covered up, but this film is 10 years older than me and I guess it could have been more of a shocking twist/concept at the time. I do appreciate what they were going for with a scientific, diplomatic first contact kind of approach paying off.

I don’t know when I’ll watch it again but I’m struggling to understand how anyone who likes Star Trek could actively dislike this film even if they want to fast forward through bits of it.

I can also see how Discovery’s writers took a lot of inspiration from this. Spock’s weird psychic connection to menacing space clouds because he is half human, unnecessary but cool zooming through space in a thruster suit, there were some other things that jumped out at me too but I’ve forgotten. Maybe just the update to the Klingon prosthetics and giving them/relying on their own language.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

This has been the first episode of Discovery that I’ve really genuinely enjoyed for its own sake and not just in comparison to the rest of DSC which hasn’t generally lived up to my expectations. Sometimes I’m surprised by what Jammer does and doesn’t consider a 4 star episode particularly in DS9 and VOY but I’m in total agreement this time, including with the problems this episode has and is thoroughly enjoyable in spite of.

I don’t like the mirror universe as a serious concept in general and I don’t like Section 31 but I loved Georgiou relishing the Talosian’s trick on Leland. That was hilarious. I want to know if Burnham telling Spock to say goodbye Spock came from them or the Talosians or what. Maybe I have low standards or a stupid sense of humour but the episode got serious points from me on that alone.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Sisko basically says the prophets abused his mother and by extension his father, but then he’s smiling happily after learning it. And he doesn’t think his dad’s up to refilling everyone’s wine and chatting in his restaurant but he’s definitely up to being physically dragged through the desert by Jake. (Why couldn’t Sisko find it on foot and the others beam down to his location, anyway?)

The prophets are clearly awful, worse than the Q, and even contaminate whoever they touch. I mean, at least our Q realises he has to have a human woman’s consent if he wants to impregnate her, even if we are lowly linear beings. At this point I’m rooting for the pagh wraiths. When they possessed a woman, which I’m not denying was creepy!, they didn’t make her have sex with someone she hadn’t chosen for years and have a baby with them. Ugh! (Also they have sick fire powers)

This episode also makes me wish Jake/Ezri was a thing, if they were determined to pair her off. They’re closer in age than her and Bashir for starters and I just liked their scenes somehow. The way they resurrected Bashir’s thing for Jadzia just for more drama killing her off has been embarrassing (and besides, we all know he only has eyes for Garak). A brief “oh now I guess we definitely never have a chance” scene with him and Quark mourning her would be fine but they made it as if they’re both so stupid and lovesick they really thought so and had been thinking so for years.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

Kira’s new outfit is awful - not enough for a Major to wear heels, stick all your Colonels in corsets! No wonder they couldn’t repel Cardassia - but her new hair is great in a 90s way.

I loved Jadzia so I’m not excited about mini Jadzia at all. I understand that she’s a counsellor not a science officer but could they not have had her in red or yellow, even for a stupid reason? It’s too much for her to be in blue like her predecessor. That’s aside from her appearing to be Jadzia’s little sister or daughter facially.

I really liked the dynamic between the Romulan woman and Kira. I hope she’s coming back and that they can fix their working relationship but I’m not holding my breath.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I don’t think anyone has mentioned the reference to The Ship that had all our brave strong battle hardened starfleet officers shitting themselves to the point of forgetting themselves and embarrassing themselves when shelled for a prolonged period of time. There’s a reason it used to be called shell shock. I don’t think that young untrained untested Jake succumbing to it is anything to be ashamed of or surprised about. I don’t see how anyone can’t understand that when both this episode and that recent one explain it to us.

I like Jons’ point that often Bashir is in Jake’s position as the young arrogant guy with no experience but that that’s only in comparison to experienced starfleet officers - but this episode shows that he is really one of them too. He can do things like retrieve the generator off screen and it makes sense to Jake who hasn’t seen him the way we have, but obviously it makes sense to us too really.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Mon, Jan 7, 2019, 5:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

I liked this episode. Dax and her ex wife had good chemistry - better than with that man she was going to live on the ghost planet with. Susanna Thompson is a good actress, I thought she was a good Borg queen too.

I don’t think anyone mentioned that the stuff about being exiled, the death of the symbiont, only makes partial sense because it’s supposed to be about gay couples not having children. That’s the immortality we non trills access and it’s been an argument against gay marriage and so on. But like in real life there are ways for gay couples to have children, and more for a lesbian couple like in the episode - there are more ways for the symbiont to be given to someone else than officially through the symbiosis commission and we’ve seen two of those ways already in Dax (the one who wasn’t suitable and the one who nicked it off Jadzia temporarily - both of which would be types of people who don’t care if the symbiont is naughty).

This is aside from the fact that some people don’t want children and some symbionts don’t seem into the thing where the host is meant to die for them and they mustn’t ever be allowed to die (for example, Jadzia turning herself into a ghost did not trigger the Dax symbiont to attempt to detach, neither did letting herself be abducted and executed far from her home world)

I agree that you can understand it also as a way for the symbiont to not dominate the host and for joined trills to meet new people and not just stay around other joined trills forever but I don’t think it was the true intention and that’s why it doesn’t seem quite right and you have to invent reasons for them that they never really showed.

But I find poor Dax’s heartbreak enough to outweigh that plot weakness.
Set Bookmark
Ruth
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

It seemed clear to me that Winn knows but can’t admit she’s a terrible leader. She can’t handle stuff like peace talks and land reclamation at all. Not like Kira, who’s growing out of her weaknesses and has just as much love for duty for Bajor as Winn. She’s a threat in that sense and it’s also no secret that she hates Winn. So this gets rid of her without provoking Sisko by actually killing her (which she doesn’t have moral problems with): either get rid of her support amongst the resistance and the people of her province or make her into a criminal who can’t put her terrorist past behind her. Then she can’t lead and possibly loses her position on DS9.

But they manoeuvred their way out of it. It reveals Kira as now not only a leader who could be first minister herself, like Shakaar, but as the ultimate kind of leader, one who inspires others to lead, like her idol Kai Opaka seemed to. The man she’s inspired to try to lead being her own former leader shows how much she’s growing in her position on DS9
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.