Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,366 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 55
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 2:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Most people have said it already. I just wanted to add that Tom Paris' character brought down the entire likeability and decorum of this series. He is so mundane, so boring, so staunchly 20th century (cars, grease monkey, television, black and white film non-sense), that he just brought the sophistication level way down. The actor is so white bread and annoyingly all-American that it's hard to take any of his plot involvements seriously. And this episode was no different.

Harry Kim is probably the only worse character, so the fact that he and Tom are close friends just makes it all the more mundane. There is absolutely nothing endearing about either of these characters and I couldn't really care less if they lived or died. Tom never really evolves or matures as a character. His romantic status changes and he has a kid, but he himself is pretty much the same from day one.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

My main problem with this episode, like most Voyager episodes that reference human history, is that they are very white-bread Eurocentric. It makes the senior staff seem utterly uncultured and mundane. United Earth means that humans can go anywhere on the planet they want, at all times. Presumably, any Star Fleet officer in that century has been all over Earth. Yet all we hear about is people reminiscing about "good old Indiana", or Paris, or Ireland. We never see any portrayals of interest in Asian, African, or South American culture for example. It's all white European, and it's all Hollywood's version of those European places.

So naturally, their 24/7 holodeck program that "everyone wants" is of a white, 19th century Irish village, complete with the crew dressing in period costumes like bar maids and priests. It can't get more white bread than that.

Star Trek: Enterprise continued this problem. Most of the senior staff are white, into meat and potatoes, water polo and other boring crap. Who knew that the future centuries would basically be 'Merica in space? There's no sense at all that Earth has united and that its cultures are widely distributed, known, and available to everybody. The only thing we get is a very serious Vulcan, and a native American character who is distinguished by having a facial tattoo. Wow, big whoop.

The problem goes on in other episodes. Tom Paris and his fascination with hot rod vehicles, juke boxes, and being a grease monkey. Harry Kim and playing the clarinet. Neelix making a holodeck version of Hawaii.

You can tell that this entire show is under a white male gaze and there is no attempt to even manifest one inkling of Roddenberry's dream of a highly diverse, accepting society that is deeply self-reflective. It basically just looks like Americans in space.

Look at how much effort Roddenberry put into casting TNG. It was painstaking. Picard is from Europe, Geordie from the Moon, Worf a Klingon, Troi a Betazoid, Riker from Alakaska, and later Ro Laren from Bajour. They made a real effort to make the ship cosmopolitan. Later Trek iterations were basically white 'Merica and it only got worse from Voyager onward.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 9:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Yes, it’s been around for awhile now and I had a good laugh at it with my mates. No where as good as the Star Wars reviews made in RLM’s heyday, though. I guess even video critics can jump the shark.
Set Bookmark
Robert Sliwinski
Tue, May 14, 2019, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Kahless’s forehead is more gnarly.
Set Bookmark
Robert Larson
Fri, May 10, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Zero stars. This gave us no new insight to the Q, and who cares if it did. This was poorly written and acted. Boring beyond description. One of the worst episodes ever. Deep conversations about nothing. Rascals is a much more entertaining episode than this snooze, and you gave it a lower rating.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, May 8, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Excellent post, Demosthenes. :-)
Set Bookmark
Robert H
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I found this a very entertaining episode (say what you will about silly plot points but The Orville show is always entertaining, especially the 2nd season), and the big plot point that Past Kelly's memory wipe from the previous episode failed, and had such big consequences for the present timeline, was great.

But some things happening in this episode are just plain silly, and I found myself screaming at the TV for this. Such as:

- The Kalon cannot shoot straight and take out Ed and Gordon when they flee to their shuttle. Then they can't take out the shuttle either. Then they can't take out Kelly's raider ship either. And they are supposed to be so powerful that they took out most/all of Union's fleet and half of the known galaxy? It would have worked out better if they somehow outsmarted the Kalon (or Alana's team did so while sacrificing themselves).
- The whole crew, including even Claire's sons, being on the shuttle that they know could be crushed by the water pressure before reaching the Orville in the Pacific Ocean. Could not just Malloy and Lamar go down, restart the Orville and bring it up, and the rest stay in relative safety on Kelly's raider ship?
- Not to mention that the Orville is conveniently still powered up so it's easy to board and empty the shuttle bay of water. Would this not have been noticed by the Kalon or remaining Union ships?
- The Orville's decks are trashed, but the bridge is spotless clean? Guess Bortus did a good job cleaning up the place while he was stuck there.

And the biggest caveat: in the previous episode (Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow), knowing that Past Kelly could contaminate the timeline with knowledge from the present, they should have locked her up in a room and not say anything, apart from explaining she came to the future. And don't let her interact with Ed and Present Kelly. That is just common sense, even if there is no prime time directive. (But then there would not have been this and the previous episodes I guess.)

At least Ed can be proud for making such a big impact on the known universe by defeating the Kalon in the Present timeline.

Still it was a very entertaining episode, where we saw an alternative version of Alana, flying Kalon heads (how cool is that!), the Orville under water, Bortus decking Ed and doing the honorable thing of staying on board, the Orville being trashed and blown up, and some great emotional moments between Ed and Kelly that did not actually put me off about Ed still pining for Kelly (enough with that already!!!!).

I hope The Orville gets renewed for a 3rd season.
Set Bookmark
Other Robert
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Did not purchase this season, feel like I got the same amount of entertainment just reading here and spent 14 less hours in the process, thanks everybody.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 12:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

If you like a show you’re obviously a company plant. 40% of all people know this.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

When Kubrick depicted a cowboy riding a bomb, it was right on point because the madness of that moment in Dr. Strangelove mirrors the madness of nuclear war itself.

Unless you’re saying The Orville’s goofiness is expressing a deeper symbolic meaning like that, your analogy is not particularly convincing. Now if you were comparing The Orville to Independence Day in its audacious comedy-meets-sci-fi, I’d be right along with you.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Booming

That was a brilliant rebuttal to @Trent's exaggerations. Nothing says sophomore writer like using a proverbial bulldozer to make a sand castle. When you want your criticism to reek of unearned authority, cite to philosophers and be sure to use their most obscures references for the most dramatic effect. By the way, such philosophers' observations could be used to indict a Kubrick or a Tarkovsky; the observations speak to nothing about Discovery in particular. They only satisfy a juvenile need to make one's criticism more "worldy" than yours or mine and therefore more self-indulgent.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@William B - I don't think everything outside the 6 in DS9 were perfect, just that those 6 are the only ones that, if they are my first introduction to the show put me off from coming back. I feel TNG S2 has note that I'm glad weren't my first exposure!

For TNG I'll add Emissary to my list though, I like that one and I thought it was S3. You are NOT trying to sell me on the Pakleds though, right? :P
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Yanks - Not going to get (much) into the "series closers" discussion but acting/plotting-wise DS9 S2 wrecks TNG S2 (Stewart/Spiner and their episodes as the exception). On the whole TNG S2 is very weak. DS9 found it's footing faster.

"Elementary, Dear Data", "A Matter of Honor", "The Measure of a Man", "Time Squared", "Pen Pals", "Q Who" and "Peak Performance" are the only 7 I think that make the season watchable. 7/22 is NOT a good thing. And they are ALL Picard, Data or Riker episodes. The rest of the cast is not well used at this point.

By comparison... I only thought 6 episodes of DS9 S2 were bad.

"Melora", "Rules of Acquisition", " Second Sight", "Sanctuary", "Rivals", "Profit and Loss" were the only ones I think could have been removed and made the overall season better. Sisko, Dax and Kira aren't as strong leads as Picard, Data and Riker at this point... but literally EVERYTHING else is going better.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I’ve politely asked several times to explain your point but you prefer to insult people and speak in French. I guess you’re right, there’s no point in responding.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Not really.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Frankly, I can't imagine Paul M. will be able to understand them either.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

So you're saying another iteration of Star Trek will be out in 20-25 years and people who like Discovery will have to defend Discovery against that new show? That's not exactly a shocking revelation. Where's the beef? What is your point? Maybe start with a simple thesis and work your way from there because your comments are difficult to parse.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

"Just hold onto your panties for another 20 or 25 years, at which time the TOS “old guard” will either be too busy looking for their keys to engage in trivial online squabbling, developed early-onset dementia, or simply kicked the bucket."

What are you even talking about? The original fans for Star Trek (TOS) are pushing their 80s now and probably don't use computers for anything other than e-mail.

The vast majority of online complaints I've seen for this show tend to come from none other than millennials who grew up with Voyager and Enterprise being de facto Star Trek. No surprise since social media is most popular among that group to begin with.

Set your phasers to reality check.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Well put, Quincy.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 12:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

They were never able to recreate “Tapestry” or “Elementary, my Dear Data” in DS9, VOY, or ENT, so it’s mad to expect that now. If you’re still watching this after a year expecting that specific type of show, that’s on you.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

@Elliott - Well, the ubiquity of Christmas stuff can be a bit much when you aren't Catholic I think. Can make everyone else feel "othered". Some people want to get rid of Christmas/Halloween/etc. in schools (to use an example) to remove this "othered" feeling. I personally would rather do the opposite and celebrate everything.

But ya.... everything does go out of it's way to make everyone heterosexual. I'll agree with you there. I mean, it took me a long time to notice because I'm straight, but I think I agree.

Garak was made straight even though his relationship with Ziyal was bizarrely unnecessary. Any time fans think a character might be gay they seem to hook up with a woman. Even thought the option to leave it ambiguous is fine.
Set Bookmark
Robert Faulkner
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

@Chrome

I don't know if the writers intended that, but I do like that reading of it. Truthfully I don't think the writers intended it to be icky at all, but the ages are problematic. It might have worked better if she was 18. Older, more mature from being on her own, but not so old that we worry about Jake's ability to consent. I really don't think it would have changed the story at all if she was a drop younger.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Sep 19, 2018, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I sided against you on the last one so I'll agree with you here. Anything that is gross when you gender flip is gross. And if my girls bring home a college senior when they are HS seniors I'm getting out my Bat'Leth.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, Sep 19, 2018, 8:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

I've been following along here and chugging on it. I think Eliott is reading the scene wrong (but the scene has problems). Keiko's first assumption is that Molly would stay with Miles and Miles had already assumed Keiko would want to take her. To me that, and this story, is the opposite of sexist. Especially for the 90s. So is it sexist that Keiko ends up taking her? No. And just the fact that it was a possibility that Miles would keep her is enough for me. Especially since this was a clunky "write them off" plot device.

To me it's way more problematic that there really isn't anything to do with her! I how she goes to school on Bajor because there sure as hell isn't one on the station.

And I say this as a really nurturing Dad who rolls his eyes hard when people say it's nice that I babysit. No, I parent thanks. I kiss booboos, give baths, change diapers and am currently reading this to stay awake next to my little one while I sing her to sleep.

Keiko thinks that Miles intends for her to go without Molly. That comment alone goes a long way for me.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Aug 30, 2018, 12:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

You ok over there dude?
Next ►Page 1 of 55
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.