Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 55 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

It's made even more ridiculous by the fact that Sisko isn't remotely bothered that the Vegas characters interact with frickin' BAJORANS and KLINGONS and FERENGI and SHAPESHIFTERS without batting an eye (which isn't historically accurate either), but he chooses to get his panties in a twist over the "nonaccuracy" of how HUMAN characters are treated. What incredible stupidity.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

The more I think about it, the more negative I feel about this episode. I got sick and tired of the whole “holosuite/deck malfunction” trope which was done to death in TNG, and I don’t like it any better here. The whole “Sisko (actually, Brooks) gets on his racial soapbox” thing REALLY pissed me off. Others have made very good comments on it. Once again, the show essentially said “fuck the whole Star Trek premise, fuck the illusion that this is a show about the 24th century when human racism is dead and buried, and has been for centuries, and it makes no sense for a man of the 24th century to talk about ‘our people ‘ in 20th century terms, because we want to earn 20th century merit points”. It’s utterly ridiculous that Kassidy has to give a speech to Sisko about ideals that have been held and practiced for HUNDREDS OF GODDAMN YEARS. Idiotic.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Beautiful, touching episode that has so much to say about what it means to love someone and the issue of prejudice against the "other". Far superior to the much ballyhooed Far Beyond the Stars, which did not grow organically out of the show's premises. The final scene was immensely moving. Four stars at least.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Godawful waste of time. This is the first season where I've been skipping episodes.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Bashir did cross an ethical line by getting romantically involved. His loneliness is no excuse. I noted a contradiction in Trek technobabble in this one. O'Brien says that precision at the synaptic level is impossible due to "quantum fluctuations", ie that he can't break the laws of physics, yet transporters are routinely capable of precision down to the atomic level (if not lower), and O'Brien himself said in TNG that transporters have "Heisenberg compensators", something he apparently forgot about.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Meh. The whole thing seemed like an excuse for the DS9 actors to pretend to play baseball. It wasn't funny, and it wasn't (if you'll pardon the expression) logical.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Ugghhh. For some time, I had been thinking that this was looking like the best Trek series. Some really good episodes, touching at times and hilarious at others. But I have a bad feeling about Season 7. I can't stand all the mystical mumbo jumbo, and what's up with implying that all these characters are a figment of someone's imagination INSIDE THE SHOW??? Ezri seems like a useless, immature juvenile. At this point, I barely even feel like I want to finish the series.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Just watched this episode. Not really liking Ezri. Adding her to the cast seemed pointless.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Ok, so the episode was preposterous, but it did make me laugh at the sheer silliness of it all.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Bleah. I don't like the Prophet-mystical-gobbledygook mumbo jumbo stuff at all. This is like something out of an old Hammer or Roger Corman movie. It has no place in an SF series. And the Winn character annoys the hell out of me. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I very much enjoyed the episode. Darren's singing was a little weak, but I thought he did a great job with the character. I'm a big softie for romance, and the banter leading up to The Big Kiss was superb! Very reminiscent of classic romantic comedies. I was laughing my head off! Best laugh I've had in a long time!
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Please excuse me if someone mentioned this, but I view Sisko’s actions as being Garak’s enabler. This is the kind of scheme that Garak has always demonstrated he’s capable of implementing, and I’m sure he was pleased when Sisko went along with it. I agree with those who are annoyed by Brooks’ overacting, and Sisko’s previous actions make his handwringing rather inconsistent.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Booming, millions of Bajorans died in slave labor camps under the Cardassians. Not so different from what happens to the Jews, except that there wasn't an all out campaign to eradicate them. But the point I was making is that Sisko is VERY familiar with what happened to the Bajorans. He does NOT need to be Benny to know that full well. And yes, racism is long gone in the Federation, which means that Sisko has no emotional connection to it at ALL, nor does any family member in his memory, his father's memory, or his father's father's father's memory. That's why Benny's breakdown makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Sorry, not buying it Jason. Sisko has PLENTY of knowledge about the horrors perpetrated on Bajor. He knows people PERSONALLY who have experienced it. Besides, if that REALLY was the purpose, a MUCH better situation to put Sisko in would have been as a Jew in WW II Europe, which is much closer to what the Bajorans suffered. This episode was purely an exercise in 20th century political commentary, nothing more.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

'm sure that many people like this as an exercise in social commentary, but it has essentially nothing to do with the fundamental premise of DS9 as a TV show. It essentially smashed the fourth wall and dropped any pretense that they were doing a show about the 24th century. It does not grow organically from any of the premises in the show. Benjamin Sisko has no emotional connection to racism at all. The very premise of Star Trek is that racism had long since ceased to exist. Neither he nor his grandfather nor his grandfather's grandfather would have experienced racism. It's a relic of history, so there would be no reason at all for him to dream about this kind of scenario (the episode doesn't even bother to explain why he experienced it). I also found Brooks' over the top scene chewing acting in the breakdown scene to be quite off-putting. I hated the character cliches, namely, depicting a left winger as the only white character strongly opposed to racism. Pabst gets no credit at all for hiring Benny in the first place, or agreeing to publish it as a dream story. He's just another example of the businessman that Hollywood loves to hate. Two stars for seeing the actors out of makeup.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I agree with some others here that this episode must have meant a lot when you *first* see it, and don't know the revelation or what to expect.

Because of this, I ended up not rewatching the episode nearly as often as other ones, maybe only 2-3 total viewings over the years. It turned out I really didn't remember much, so even on a rewatch a few days ago, it felt pretty fresh!

I'm in the minority, but I thought the ship combat scenes were quite good for the limitations. You can tell they save on cost when they only show isolated shots of each ship firing or getting hit, but the concussive sounds and punchy effects (and yes, the shaky camera) had some serious weight to it. I can remember a good amount of TNG battles with Birds of Preys and Warbirds where there was absolutely no punchiness.

And yes, Peter's gif is GREAT.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Am I the only one who saw a significant plot hole, namely, why the Defiant didn't bother to cloak on its way to Earth? The battle with the Lakota was dramatic and all, but still...
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Nitpicks aside, I found this hilarious. I LOL at the "moogie" scene. Nice homage to 50s SF movies!
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Just saw this episode for the first time. I found it quite moving and touching. So nice to see such love between father and son. What keeps it from being in the same league as City on the Edge of Forever and The Inner Light is the Reset Button. It all winds up never having happened.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

Ugh, these kind of time travel stories are so silly. So future O'Brien somehow survives his past self dying. And O'Brien sees a future that doesn't happen because seeing it prevented it. Oh brother.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

"Right, and when an attorney SERVES a subpoena on a publicly-traded multinational company she’s working in the service industry too."

Attorneys indeed work in the service sector. Glad you agree.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

"Uh...I think you are confusing the service sector with the armed services."

I think you're engaged in a semantic evasion. Clearly, people are SERVING in Starfleet. Quote from Memory Alpha: "Starfleet was the deep space exploratory and defense SERVICE maintained by the United Federation of Planets." (caps mine). So it clearly is in the service sector as opposed to manufacturing, which likely almost disappeared completely when horrible evil replicator technology destroyed untold numbers of jobs. As for belittling the service sector by pointing to jobs at Walmart or McDonald's which fulfill human wants and needs, I could just as well point out manufacturing or farm jobs which are hardly more exciting, and I could also point out service jobs such as gourmet chef or concert pianist which are very rewarding indeed.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

"much of the labor force is now working either in office settings or in the service sector"

The irony is that people in Star Fleet are in the service sector. I'm sure Kirk, Picard, Sisko, etc. would react well to being told that they have "annoying soulless jobs".
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

“Loss of farm jobs led to a flood of poor unskilled people into cities looking for factory work.”

Which they found, because you didn’t have politicians thinking they had to “solve the problem” by “protecting jobs” or inhibiting the rise of the factories. Sure, there was a transition period, but the fact remains that the country became immensely wealthier and better off. The picture of farm life as some kind of idyllic paradise is silly. Somehow, the idea of everyone, including children, working very long, hard hours just to feed little more than THEMSELVES because of the lack of the mechanization that “destroyed the jobs” doesn’t bother people. But a factory job is somehow horrible.

“growth doesn't last forever.”

Growth in a particular industry isn’t guaranteed to last forever, because a market economy is dynamic , ever changing, and people find new and better ways to do things. It’s that dynamism that helps the continued growth of wealth. We are materially FAR better of than we were a century ago or more by any rational measure, all due to CHANGES that resulted in IMPROVEMENT, improvement that didn’t come about because of a “Federal employment act”.

“Something that's often forgotten about the Luddites (19th century skilled English textile workers) is that they actually did lose their jobs and had trouble getting work in the factories that replaced them because not only were fewer workers needed, they also commanded lower wages due to less skill being necessary. They didn't protest and destroy the new factory machinery because they were simpletons afraid of new technology, they did it after they lost their livelihoods because of those machines. Skilled tradesmen replaced by unskilled workers.”

So find something ELSE to do. Like I said, a growing, dynamic economy means new ways of doing things that make us better off. The alternative would be to be in an eternally frozen, static state, where innovation isn’t allowed because it would “threaten jobs”, or more generally the status quo. When the movie Avatar came out, I read ridiculous comments from people saying they’d love to live like that. Of course they were saying that on their electronic devices, and of course none of them actually left for the jungle. So it is with everyone saying “let’s keep things the same way forever”, which would keep us perpetually POOR. I think it was great that the unskilled workers were able to get jobs and provide better, cheaper textiles to consumers, and the idea that the ONLY thing that should have mattered was maintaining the status quo of the Luddites is ridiculous.

“The important takeaway of all this is that so far we've been able to absorb or redistribute people displaced by automation to new jobs, but there's no guarantee that it will continue.”

But it is guaranteed that “protecting jobs” by stifling innovation would make us poorer. People who only think about “jobs” have a deeply flawed view of an economy. Any industry exists to satisfy human wants and needs, not to “provide jobs”. Feudal serfs had PLENTY of work. Jobs are the BYPRODUCT of the ability to serve those wants and needs, NOT the primary goal.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

"corporate socialism for the rich" is not capitalism. It was capitalism that created the wealth. Socialism results in enormous deprivation. This is historical fact.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.