Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,601 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 65
Set Bookmark
Rob
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 4:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

This episode gave me the creeps.

Imagine the roles were reversed:

Chakotay, wanting to know what it'd be like to have sex with a member of the crew, recreates Seven of Nine in the holodeck and goes on dates with and sleeps with her.

I'd certainly not want people using my holo-likeness for people to pretend-date me. Where does this cross into holo-rape? Non consentual sex with your perfect likeness. Spending a bit of time on that part of the story would have been really interesting (and challenging) but might have been more interesting that the ultimate conclusion that she chooses not to feel. meh.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Yes, it’s been around for awhile now and I had a good laugh at it with my mates. No where as good as the Star Wars reviews made in RLM’s heyday, though. I guess even video critics can jump the shark.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

It had been a while since I had seen this one. The “phaser overload” scene and the accompanying music is awesome.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

This episode had its strong points, but I agree with Lizzzi that it was paced slower than many of the other S1 episodes. It *should* have been more exciting than some other episodes, but most of the others in this season never seemed to drag.

- As said before, seeing the California filming locations was very nice.

- I’m surprised the inner eyelid and Spock’s blindness is not more criticized as a cheap way to add drama. I haven’t seen Amok Time in a while but remember that the big twist at the end was done better.
Set Bookmark
Dr. Robotnik
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

This episode could have been done much better without the rape analogy. I understand what they were trying to do, but as it stands, it raises some really unfortunate implications about victim blaming.
Set Bookmark
Dr. Robotnik
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I believe that this was one of Voyager's better planet of week stories. The aliens aren't boneheaded and stupid, their culture is relatively plausible, and the circumstances regarding the plot aren't arbitrary or dumb. However, the scene where 3 random dudes from planet hippy somehow easily overpower and beat the crap out of Tuvok is ridiculous and reeks of plot convenience.

As for the argument about continuity, I believe the big difference between Voyager and TOS is that you expect it from the former. I don't just mean from the context of the time it was produced, Voyager constantly teases continuity and serialization, through the plot of certain episodes, and even through it's very premise. On the other hand, on TOS there is no reset button, the show is just content to tell stories that are fully resolved within an hour. Another big factor is internal consistency. Although TNG for example is pretty light on serialization, whatever bits are sprinkled in, like the Worf/Klingon civil war plot, or Data's quest to become more human, or even the recurring Borg threat, are consistent, even if they are limited. Meanwhile, Voyager is happy to disregard or outright contradict previous episodes when it's convenient, sometimes blatantly so.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Brilliant. 5/5! The interactions between Janeway and Da Vinci are writing gold. A brilliant homage to pursuing your dreams, however impossible. One of voyagers best!
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Sat, May 25, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

After knowing this episode had bad reviews and reputation and I had generally skipped it for years, it was better than I expected. I somehow forgot about the whole planetary action and final scenes and thought it would all be a slow episode aboard the Enterprise, so at least that helped.

And man, are Karnas and his guys wearing acid wash camouflage? Too awesome.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, May 24, 2019, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

I can’t disagree about any of the criticisms here, but think Trent nailed it about viewing this through a S1 perspective.

The zoomed-in Daimon on the viewscreen with the white background actually had a pretty neat appearance, especially when they shot Picard standing in front of it. I liked that better than if the Ferengi was sitting in a standard bridge set.
Set Bookmark
Robert Sliwinski
Tue, May 14, 2019, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Kahless’s forehead is more gnarly.
Set Bookmark
Robert Larson
Fri, May 10, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Zero stars. This gave us no new insight to the Q, and who cares if it did. This was poorly written and acted. Boring beyond description. One of the worst episodes ever. Deep conversations about nothing. Rascals is a much more entertaining episode than this snooze, and you gave it a lower rating.
Set Bookmark
Rob
Thu, May 9, 2019, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

I thought the low mileage comment was about taking the virginity of a couple of country music groupies lol.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Wed, May 8, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Excellent post, Demosthenes. :-)
Set Bookmark
Robert H
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I found this a very entertaining episode (say what you will about silly plot points but The Orville show is always entertaining, especially the 2nd season), and the big plot point that Past Kelly's memory wipe from the previous episode failed, and had such big consequences for the present timeline, was great.

But some things happening in this episode are just plain silly, and I found myself screaming at the TV for this. Such as:

- The Kalon cannot shoot straight and take out Ed and Gordon when they flee to their shuttle. Then they can't take out the shuttle either. Then they can't take out Kelly's raider ship either. And they are supposed to be so powerful that they took out most/all of Union's fleet and half of the known galaxy? It would have worked out better if they somehow outsmarted the Kalon (or Alana's team did so while sacrificing themselves).
- The whole crew, including even Claire's sons, being on the shuttle that they know could be crushed by the water pressure before reaching the Orville in the Pacific Ocean. Could not just Malloy and Lamar go down, restart the Orville and bring it up, and the rest stay in relative safety on Kelly's raider ship?
- Not to mention that the Orville is conveniently still powered up so it's easy to board and empty the shuttle bay of water. Would this not have been noticed by the Kalon or remaining Union ships?
- The Orville's decks are trashed, but the bridge is spotless clean? Guess Bortus did a good job cleaning up the place while he was stuck there.

And the biggest caveat: in the previous episode (Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow), knowing that Past Kelly could contaminate the timeline with knowledge from the present, they should have locked her up in a room and not say anything, apart from explaining she came to the future. And don't let her interact with Ed and Present Kelly. That is just common sense, even if there is no prime time directive. (But then there would not have been this and the previous episodes I guess.)

At least Ed can be proud for making such a big impact on the known universe by defeating the Kalon in the Present timeline.

Still it was a very entertaining episode, where we saw an alternative version of Alana, flying Kalon heads (how cool is that!), the Orville under water, Bortus decking Ed and doing the honorable thing of staying on board, the Orville being trashed and blown up, and some great emotional moments between Ed and Kelly that did not actually put me off about Ed still pining for Kelly (enough with that already!!!!).

I hope The Orville gets renewed for a 3rd season.
Set Bookmark
Other Robert
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Did not purchase this season, feel like I got the same amount of entertainment just reading here and spent 14 less hours in the process, thanks everybody.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I thought it was a decent episode. Only lines I thought were really bad were Arissa’s “I’m dying. I can’t cry, the dead don’t cry” or something like that.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

It’s awful and judgmental, but I skipped this one on my watch-through of the series tonight.

Like $G said, there’s something dull about the episodes where 1-2 people are trapped or lost for 40 minutes of the episode, whether it’s TNG or DS9. Extra bonus points if they are stuck in the same cave set that they use for everything (“The Sword of Kahless”, “Nor the Battle to the Strong”).

I’ll get over my short-sightedness and watch this when the mood is right...
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I should’ve added that I hope for some recognition of the new Klink *D7* — at least some comment from the Discovery crew along the lines of “what is that?” Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

1. Random thought, along with the Trek movies since the 2009 one — why are hand phasers now burst weapons as opposed to beam? It was one nice way to differentiate them from Star Wars blasters. I only thought of it again with all the nanoprobes chasing Burnham. A beam weapon would’ve seemed a lot better there.

2. Pike is the man. Somehow the writers/Anson Mount have got that balance between a competent, serious captain and someone with empathy. Much as I like Picard or Kirk, I’m sure Disco Pike would be the best one to serve with.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

Like Petetong said, the multiple matte painting backgrounds and indoor / outdoor sets really add a lot to this episode. With the amount of rubble built up and cast of extras, I wonder how much the budget of this one compared to the average DS9 episode.

Much more compelling than some of the times they go to Cardassia/Bajor/Ferenginar and you only see one painting and a single indoor set the whole episode.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

I am with Elliot here - why the heck did a transport ship have a cloaking device, and why was it never questioned in the episode?

I would’ve also guessed that it would take the Defiant about 10 seconds to blow up a Bird of Prey — especially if they fire phasers and torpedoes simultaneously for once — but at least the ship isn’t shown to be ridiculously overpowered here.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

If you like a show you’re obviously a company plant. 40% of all people know this.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

When Kubrick depicted a cowboy riding a bomb, it was right on point because the madness of that moment in Dr. Strangelove mirrors the madness of nuclear war itself.

Unless you’re saying The Orville’s goofiness is expressing a deeper symbolic meaning like that, your analogy is not particularly convincing. Now if you were comparing The Orville to Independence Day in its audacious comedy-meets-sci-fi, I’d be right along with you.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Man, poor security chief Nhan in the last scenes here. She’s apparently suffocating on the floor and Burnham is calmly having an extended conversation with Airiam and the Discovery. Guess she’s OK though.
Set Bookmark
Rob S
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Rahul
Good review, however, gay people fall out of love and have physical fights just the same as anyone else. It doesn't mean they're turning straight when they do.
Next ►Page 1 of 65
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.