Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,719 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 69
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Mar 7, 2021, 5:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Picard taking his sweet time in responding to the Sheliak was some serious *Chef Kiss* stuff, genuinely enjoyed it.

At this point I think TNG is starting to beat me into submission. Humans going somewhere that is deadly and just sorta adapting to radiation? 15k people with like, no technology who have convinced themselves they can stand up to a race because they just sorta like their land?

It's a post-scarcity world for members of the Federation. Dying for 'your land' would invariably be such an anachronistic concept. "Hey instead of bleeding for that water again we can take you to this planet of Aryan sex nymphos as long as you don't fall on their plants."
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Mar 7, 2021, 4:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

So in TNG they made nanobots but didn't include any way to power them off? Such a silly idea but ok, let's just chalk that up to a bug in the 'evolved' code or something.

I can mostly forgive this stuff but what I can't really accept is that the nanobots would have evolved the capacity for complex communications and negotiation given that they're intended purpose was for medical use.

Also, at their rate of growth and evolution those nanobots should have quadrant of its resources and become the dominant form of 'life' in a ridiculously short period of time limited only by the speed of light. Exponential growth is crazy in that way.

Still, I didn't hate the episode but it's yet another example of Wesley (or any crewmember for that matter) doing something that almost kills everyone and facing no consequences. Not even a stern talking to. Frustrating because the moment he even was suspicious of this he should have reported it to Geordi or Data. The time he spent after he became suspicious talking to Guinan, the old Scrubs doctor, and his mommy should have earned him a court martial or at least some sort of formal discipline noted in his permanent record.

Making an honest mistake is fine, everything else notwithstanding, but failing to report it put everyone's lives at risk and showed a tremendous lack of character.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 4:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

Others have already mentioned the lunacy of disabling all your shit and having a War Game in the middle of nowhere. So I won't mention how much that drove me crazy because it would be repetitive to say "What the hell, TNG, writers?!" and I don't want to be repetitive.

Loved the character of Kolrami. A really enjoyable fat little twit of a douche.

My only other complaint about this episode is that I kept thinking about real life Pen Testing that we do at my job. What the Pen Testers don't do is ask the head of network security for the company they're testing to come over to their side and then use his credentials and knowledge of systems to attack. Because that would completely defeat the point of the test. Almost every network out there allows for remote connections and if you had access to admin credentials and their 2FA app guess what - you'll get in too.

So what, the hell, was the point of that War Game? Was it to simulate what would happen if the XO and Chief of Security and Chief Engineer all defected to the Romulans? Because, otherwise, the stuff that Worf and Riker and Wunderkind pulled completely undermined the entire point of what you'd expect a War Game to be. Logging into a system that you can access remotely and using your expertise and first hand knowledge of that system during a War Game makes no sense otherwise.

Everyone temporarily assigned to the Hathaway should have had their access temporarily disabled. Nobody should have been allowed to beam over.

Anyone can use inside info to cheat to win. That's not the point of the War Game as they presented it to us and I got so mad I smashed my Alf collectible drinking glasses in a rage.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 3:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

I get the clip show but why did they use some clips of that other Riker guy, the one who lacked the majestic beard and never lifted a leg to pointlessly set his foot on some object?!

I had work to do today that I put off so I did that while letting this episode play so I could say that I didn't skip it.

PS - I still skipped a lot of it.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

@David in MN

Thanks - that's good to know. It was weirding me out.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 12:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

@EventualZen

I had forgotten about that.

I got that idea because I have to drag my greasy thumb across a button that reads my finger print and then put in my password then open my 2FA app and input a code so I can see how much money I owe on my credit card from buying Warhammer figures and Onlyfans subscriptions.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I actually liked Worf's little gambit. It was, as far as TNG goes, a nice little twist to see the half-human wanting to blow them the hell up while the full klingon thinks of an elegant solution.

I remember consistently enjoying all the Klingon stuff until I really, really didn't.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 6:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I used to hate Horny Mom Troi. Now I'm older. I had a brief fling with a 60 some year old woman who was several decades my senior. There was something undeniably attractive about how she knew what she wanted and went after it. I'm not a particularly handsome man and I might have felt downright assaulted the first time we met in person after chatting. I'm not sure if she grabbed between my legs or said 'hello' first.

So, now I love Senior Cougar Troi episodes. She makes me want to cruise retirement communities.

That being said does anyone else find her eyes to be almost apallingly black?

The fish people stand out as my least favorite alien species. Their costumes are so awful it would have looked bad in TOS.

I genuinely hate Betazoids. They're walking Deus ex Machina characters and I despise how they are used in most episodes.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

On occasion TNG actually delivers humor that has stood the test of time. Other times it fails to be funny but the failed attempt at humor is delivered in a way that is at least somewhat endearing because it was representative of the late 80s/90s or is simply just a goofy little Data moment they put in at the end, etc.

This episode is neither of those things. The person who wrote the Klingon alcohol taste testing scene is guilty of crimes against humanity.

Also - man IDK - I'm pro choice but Riker just fucking lighting up the incubated clones without so much as a discussion around it was jarring.

In fact, that's the sad part about this episode, it could have had another one of those Bridge Crew Debates about what was happening and given us an interesting conversation about the concept of stolen DNA being used to give you life.

Lastly, this episode is guilty of one of TNG's worst and most-frequent crimes: Technology that is convenient to the plot which would have completely undermined plotlines from other episodes. Pulaski scans and notes 'missing' cells for her and Riker. Cells are created and destroyed CONSTANTLY in our body but ok let's go with it that they're able to somehow track your cell mitosis (or whatever it would be) to note disturbances in the chain of cell division.

How the heck did this not come up during Contagion? If they're tracking cells in your tummy how are they also not able to note DNA changes?!
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Oh - and did I miss it or was there never a mea culpa moment from Riker for disregarding Worf's concerns and not even really taking Troi's warnings seriously?

And how the hell does Starfleet have a procedure where they just transport a solo member of personnel over onto the ship of a newly encountered species? For that matter even if they had diplomatic relations?! Even in our time ambassadors in our country will have guards. LaForge should have had a cadre of Tactical officers with him but honestly someone much lower on the Engineering totem pole should have been the one to go over.

Another nit that needs picking - the idea that phasers can be grabbed by anyone and fired? Phasers should either be biometrically restricted to the person to whom they were issued or, at the very least, require that the person about to fire it has a Starfleet badge.

Good gravy. I'd rather spend a night getting pain sticked that watch this episode again.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 5:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Loved the idea of what they tried to do with Picard but not the execution. Showing Picard having flaws and insecurity is great but this came out of nowhere and, honestly, was pretty nonsensical given the times.

They've shown that most physical maladies are easily resolved by their advanced technology. The whole idea of being afraid to admit sickness is steeped in our own culture's past (and in some cases present) inability to cure a lot of problems. So you had things like male characters on the show Deadwood often taking great pains to hide just how bad things were both to prevent others from seeing their fears and perceiving them as weak.

When technological advancement solves these sorts of problems society tends to shift in terms of how these problems are viewed. Being able to hop in a car and drive 200 miles away in an afternoon means nobody really gives a crap if you could ride a horse the same distance or not.

The other issue with Picard's storyline is that it was an overly obvious way to introduce a time pressure with resolving Geordi being kidnapped.

As for the Geordi storyline the Pakleds are one of the worst bits of writing on this show and that's really saying something. I really wish I understood how anyone could think that we could believe in the idea of a species that stupid being out and about looking for salvage and kidnapping Starfleet officers.

I could believe it if the Pakleds were, say, a primitive species that had been kidnapped but then took over the ship from a more advanced species but were now essentially adrift as the ship took care of their basic survival needs but they had no understanding of anything other than how to ask the computer for meat and water.

Just an absolutely awful, abysmal antagonist species. I'd rather watch 10 hours of the horrendous drunk Irish people episode than endure one more insultingly stupid bit of 'We want things make us go.' dialogue.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I can't stand watching Great Gazoo episodes. Woops, sorry, wrong show. I can't stand watching Q episodes.

This one is as good as it gets because it introduces the Borg and it finally feels like we're starting to hit our stride. Soon we'll be in all the good episodes when Klingon episodes and time travel episodes were fun and interesting and not tedious.

Also, Ensign Gomez is a goddamn smokeshow. The little hint of rasp to her voice makes me want to have private holodeck time.

Too bad they made her a joke. I cannot stand how the writers of this show can't seem to give us a character who is nuanced. Instead we end up with Gomez babbling inanely and spilling coffee on her captain or Lt. Barclay who suffers from so much nervousness I'm pretty sure he has a routine built to transport the diarrhea out of his pants every time he makes eye contact with a superior officer.

Imagine giving this actress a character who is new on the Enterprise and who has flaws and strengths that aren't shown to us in such an over-the-top fashion. Show us that she's someone who deserves to be on the FLAGSHIP of Starfleet don't give us some terrible trope of the airheaded chick who won't shut up.

Yeah, I'm mad, I could listen to her talk all day and just wish the actress had been given this character. I can't remember her story maybe she's redeemed later.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Oh - meant to add - here we have *YET ANOTHER* example of a pretty straightforward answer to a problem that completely undermines huge points of emphasis in this universe.

I'm talking, specifically, about solving the breaking of the Prime Directive by obliterating memories.

My main issue with the Prime Directive is how it suggests that because some % of the current generation of a society might experience emotional stress or religious trauma that you're better off allowing generation after generation to endure plagues and genocides? It's either idiotic or wildly without compassion, take your pick.

So here we have a solution so easy that a doctor on an exploratory vessel can perform it quickly on a single person which suggests it would easily be within the Federation's ability to intervene on a small or even medium scale as necessary.

Someone's got the Space Bubonic plague? Beam them up and cure them then wipe their memory with a MIB stick.

If you can easily skirt the rules by just wiping people's minds how are you allowing people to continue to suffer?

But I guess it's better to just allow the Holocaust to happen rather than beam some tactical officers into Hitler's office with phasers set to 'pink mist'.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Best part of this episode, easily, was Riker and O'Brien's interactions. There was a casualness to O'Brien's "I'll just be over here, asleep at my station" that I really liked because it suggests that this sort of corner cutting his hardly a novel concept in Starfleet.

I didn't enjoy the debate as much as others did. I loved the idea of a philosophical debate but I felt that having Riker introduce the concept of 'Fate' as though it has any value or meaning undermined it. Intrinsic to the idea of 'Fate' is some idea of a universal destiny usually authored by a God or some similar force that is ordering the universe. The sort of stuff about which the atheists on Star Trek would have zero belief. Not that it matters, but I'm not an atheist. Still the idea felt very out of character for the godless utopian society we see on this show.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

It's made even more ridiculous by the fact that Sisko isn't remotely bothered that the Vegas characters interact with frickin' BAJORANS and KLINGONS and FERENGI and SHAPESHIFTERS without batting an eye (which isn't historically accurate either), but he chooses to get his panties in a twist over the "nonaccuracy" of how HUMAN characters are treated. What incredible stupidity.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

The more I think about it, the more negative I feel about this episode. I got sick and tired of the whole “holosuite/deck malfunction” trope which was done to death in TNG, and I don’t like it any better here. The whole “Sisko (actually, Brooks) gets on his racial soapbox” thing REALLY pissed me off. Others have made very good comments on it. Once again, the show essentially said “fuck the whole Star Trek premise, fuck the illusion that this is a show about the 24th century when human racism is dead and buried, and has been for centuries, and it makes no sense for a man of the 24th century to talk about ‘our people ‘ in 20th century terms, because we want to earn 20th century merit points”. It’s utterly ridiculous that Kassidy has to give a speech to Sisko about ideals that have been held and practiced for HUNDREDS OF GODDAMN YEARS. Idiotic.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 4:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

We open on the anbo-jitsu scene.

Daddy Riker says some stuff like "Anbo-jitsu the long revered martial arts method of blah blah blah"

Will must have been like "Who are you saying that for? We've had anbo-jitsu fights dozens of time."

Even for late 80s standards that was some goofy exposition.

Good to know that Daddy Riker really revved Pulaski's nacels.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I like Picard killing his future self but I just wish we had gotten more explanation as to why it might make sense.

At first I thought it was stupid and bizarrely heartless but the more I think about it I think I get it. If we imagine ourselves moving through time as some sort of "Droste Effect" - sort of similar to the multiple Datas in a previous episode - then in this instance a particular one of Picard's future iterations had become desynced with time and was either caught in or causing a loop.

Present Picard killing Shuttle Picard isn't a very clever solution but it removes this weird out of sync future Picard and restores the current linear path.

But why explain that when, instead, we can spend valuable time with Troi telling us how Picard feels despite the fact that Stewart had done a perfect job of already showing us via, you know, acting.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I never found a reason to care or be concerned. They're stuck in a simulation of some kind ok but there's no real urgency to get out.

Terrible trade in on an interesting opening of finding a piece of NASA salvage but I guess they wanted to avoid anything close to V-GER?

The best thing to come out of this episode is the gif of Riker fist pumping after Data throws a winner.

Considering how often I groan about stuff in TNG it was rich to see Picard struggling with the 'dark and stormy night' opener.

Feel my pain Jean Luc. Feel my goddamn pain.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 12:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Beautiful, touching episode that has so much to say about what it means to love someone and the issue of prejudice against the "other". Far superior to the much ballyhooed Far Beyond the Stars, which did not grow organically out of the show's premises. The final scene was immensely moving. Four stars at least.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Godawful waste of time. This is the first season where I've been skipping episodes.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 5:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

I simp for Pulaski.

She's got Galaxy-class sized balls and it's really great having a personality as strong as Picard's that is in a position to clash with him. Riker is probably the only other person on the ship with a personality as big as Picard's but he's ever the dutiful 2nd in command. No such issue with Pulask who will stand up Picard and even cut him off.

It's strange that I genuinely love Picard but I enjoy seeing him take an L in debates sometimes. The first episode of DS9 where we see Sisko giving it to Picard was like a Stone Cold's music just hit moment for me. I can't explain it, maybe it's just that as much as I love Picard it's good to see him take as good as he can get, I don't know.

The plot is mostly irrelevant to me it's all about Pulaski. As with almost any episode of Star Trek if you ponder it too long it falls apart. It's insane to imagine a society as advanced as we're shown with the ability to easily scan an identify so much but doesn't have something as easy to imagine as regular DNA scans against recorded DNA for each person onboard to make sure they aren't experiencing radiation which even a quick google tells me can introduce "DNA breaks".

So I just simply choose to try not to let stuff like that ruin my enjoyment of an episode. Sometimes it's inevitable but here the plot is merely a vehicle for character development and it's one of my favorite characters at the center.

Pulaski is just one of those characters I'd dislike in person but enjoy in a TV show because she's what we needed - some level of strife between the crew. I've read that Roddenberry didn't want there to be interpersonal static and it's just sort of bonkers to me and I'm glad his influence over TNG apparently waned. We should have had more obnoxious crewmembers.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

As far as Wesley stories go this was not enjoyable but at least somewhat tolerable.

It is, however, the sort of story that suffers heavily from the episodic formula.

If TNG was a serial with over-arching plotlines then we could better develop the relationship between Wesley and the chick without having to rush to them being overwhelmed with attraction for each other after a mere glance. After a few episodes of developing this sideplot it would make Wesley's distraction during the engineering testing less ridiculous. Them being in love despite having never held hands.

Also - did I miss it or did they never follow-up on Picard telling Wesley to stay away from her and then 15 minutes later getting chest touches in his quarters?
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 10:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

I too found this episode inconsequential, but I didn't find it horrible as a stand-alone. It makes no sense that the doctor would wreak this much havoc to an alien species but there were no consequences discussed. No one even raised the notion that he should be blocked from modifying his own program in the future, just that he "shouldn't do it". Torres warns him briskly in the beginning after he is violating her medical boundaries, but he doesn't heed the warning, and there's no further investigation. If a flesh and blood crew member did all that, there would be hell to pay.

Like all of VOY, the writers don't go deep enough into the realities they are creating. Actors are supposed to be embody character roles, which gives them an insider view of that character like a living, breathing being. The writers never seemed to do this. The characters were more about the selfish projections of the writers than any attempt to breathe deep life into them.

That said, this episode wasn't THAT bad. Picardo did a good job as the two-sided doctor. The alien species were interesting in concept. Too bad that, for such a far flung race, we'll never encounter them again in the series. We also never find out exactly just what information they give the Voyager crew. At least with 7of9 and astrometrics, we see illustrations of course plots.

This series had so much potential and episodes like this make me remember why I was ultimately disappointed by it all. They really should've made Ronald Moore the chief producer.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

They could have given a much darker reason for her Fury--like finding out that the Kazon wiped out everyone on her homeworld after she left.
Next ►Page 1 of 69
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.