Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Jul 11, 2010, 12:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

"... delivered to the audience thru dynamism, action, unexpected twists, intriguing plots, etc."


And your watching Voyager?!


(Okay, that was snarky - but the premise had such promise before the instantly replaceable shuttlecraft and the seeming ability to never run out of "critically low" supplies.... It was just such a disappointment overall.)

And I actually agree with you - I loved the action scenes as well - I just wish that everyone remembered things from one episode to the next so that things had a lasting impact, rather than being episode-specific. And, I LOVED Season One Doc - before they went and decided he just had to "grow". I guess I loved the emotional scenes in this episode because it really was rare (especially for Neelix) for anyone to evince some sort of psychological effect of what the crew was going through (which you'd think would be more of an ongoing undercurrent - considering that they're trapped 70,000 light years from home and don't have a Councilor on board).
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Fri, Jul 9, 2010, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Michael:

Um, isn't that what you WANT from a science fiction show?!

No. What I want is characters that are human, not props to the technobabble of the week. I happen to like the space battles and the Borg and all of that, but I also like it when things *impact* the characters.

As for the Gilmore Girls crack - I didn't say I wanted a soap opera, I just said I liked it when we got a break from the constant phaser fights and saw some emotional resonance.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Fri, Mar 5, 2010, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

I would absolutely agree with "but all in all I sincerely believe that Voyager had the best FIRST season of all the Trek series".
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Nov 16, 2008, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

I don't think you understood the Tuvok "activating" the Maquis scenes correctly. I thought that all of the Maquis had already fallen victim to Teero at some time in the past (like Tuvok had). Teero had reasons to be antagonistic toward Chakotay for "not going far enough for the cause". What better vengeance, than to co-opt his "commander" and the rest of his "cell" by subjecting them to control.

The rest of your analysis is right on though. What in the hell was he trying to accomplish by "activating" his drones (for want of a better word) now? Wouldn't this be something he'd do if/when Voyager returned to the Alpha-Quadrant, perhaps as a way to strike back at the Cardassians in some way? The timing for this story doesn't work.

And, of course, the resolution is so rushed that it's almost funny in how ridiculous it is.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Oct 26, 2008, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

ARRRGGGHHHH... the lost potential! How many characters have we seen get killed on this series? They couldn't just bring back one 'background' actor and describe the episode's scene where they'd been killed? LAZY, LAME, and INFURIATING.

How's about this... remember the 'original' Harry being lost in "Deadlock"? What if he'd come back to Voyager (since we're ignoring the spatial distances covered anyway)? Wouldn't that have been far more intriguing... to have Harry dealing with Harry's return?

But no. We get "You never saw me before and I'll never be mentioned again" Ballard instead.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Oct 26, 2008, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

You've described my exact feelings about the holodeck and the characters within exactly (in long winded detail -grin-). It is beyond the ridiculous to not simply shut down the program and then have Torres and Tom correct the issue. It's even stupider to not say "Computer, reset program to time stamp blah-blah-blah" before the holograms started acting outside of the parameters. THESE ARE NOT INDIVIDUAL PEOPLE!

I had the same problem with 'Doc' at the very beginning of Voyager and still do from an intellectual standpoint. Is it really possible to just leave a hologram on for a while and -poof- we get an independent lifeform?! Wouldn't Starfleet do something to insure that some random Joe or Jane couldn't begin 'creating life' at their whim?

The whole idea is just stupid and shows the utter short-sightedness of the entire production.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Oct 26, 2008, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I love this episode because there are so few of Voyager that really have an emotional core. So much of it is the action-oriented/technobabble FX show that when we have one where a character (or in this case, everyone) is shown to emotionally vulnerable, it's a treat as a viewer. In addition, I like what they did with Neelix on this one, reminding us that Ethan Phillips can, in fact, act in an emotionally affecting way (like when he described his family's death to Janeway way, way back and when he was brought back from the dead). I wish they'd done far less of the "feel-good clown" thing with him throughout the series.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 28, 2008, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

"Displaced," unfortunately, exemplifies the heart of what much of Voyager as a series has become: A plot-based show that tells nothing about the lone starship's true difficulties or identity, but rather a relatively brain-dead series of events that has no lasting effect or consequences.

Which is why, much as I like the characters and many of the episodes, in the end... it wasn't a well written show.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Thu, Sep 25, 2008, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

I just don't get too much out of this episode once things turn "more realistic" because it just seems like the family from Hell is too stacked against the doctor. It's no more realistic to me than it was during the 1950's perfect family were. And it suffers from the problem that all Holodeck 'tragedies' suffer... its not real. In the end, these characters aren't sentient, they don't "think for themselves", they're just a program (in the basic sense... not the Doctor-sense). I can see being wrapped up in the experience while in it, but once leaving the Holodeck, you'd think the Doc would shrug, tell B'lanna that her modifications make it impossible to enjoy and ask her to tone it down a bit and restart it.
I feel the same way (in the future!) re: the ridiculous "Fair Haven" program.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

I'm glad I'm not the only one who appreciates this episode. I thought it was very well done, turning the aliens' unconscious fears into a surreal manifestation used to keep them in fear. I also loved Janeway throughout as well as the Doctor/Clown interaction. Especially, I loved the denouement ... "It was very un-Starfleet of her!"
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 5:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

There are only two extremely short scenes that I found at all worth watching on this one: one was Tuvok ever so slightly moving his hand closer to Janeway's shoulder as they were facing their possible end and two: I liked Chakotay telling Torres that sometimes you have to just let go and let things happen... again as they were facing their possible deaths.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Alas, despite my liking of the series and its characters, it has some truly reprehensible flaws: no regularly recurring tertiary characters (despite the limited number of crewman on board), the destroyed shuttle count (frustrating and just plain lazily stupid) and the lack of real consequences of being short on supplies that cannot be replicated/replenished easily... especially as Voyager becomes more and more damaged... again, lazily stupid.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

One of the best moments in the episode, to me, is also its quietest. When Janeway asks after Neelix's family after he explains (a bit overacted IMO) about the Cascade, and he simply shakes his head while unable to hold back his tears.

This episode really 'humanized' the character and stopped him from being a complete cartoon.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

I feel like this episode misses the boat because it's focus was on the wrong thing. The alien/Chakotay mind jumping was incidental... the real plot should have been the crew's discipline breaking down as they begin to trust each other less and less, especially when you add in the Maquis factor - they've lost THEIR commanding officer and they're facing an unknown danger aboard ship. Where were the crewmembers threatening to steal a warp shuttle and abandoning ship?
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I completely agree with your review. This was a powerful episode as soon as we see Tuvok side with the conspirators; suddenly all bets were off. It's a tragedy that the creative staff wasn't very creative for the run of the show and that these sorts of risks weren't taken far, far more often.
And Janeway's dialog when the plot is revealed is devastating because of Kate's delivery. Not just the quote to Torres that you cite, but also her nearly plaintive, "I want you to tell me how you, of all people, could be involved in this?"
You can see she's been struck in a vulnerable place and at the same time is struggling to control her anger. Wonderful acting.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

Argh... I just thought of something else I've been wanting to bring up while reading your reviews: I was always just a bit disappointed that the rest of the various alien cultures in ST were ignored during the Dominion War. They could have had a "there's more going on than what we're seeing on screen" if there had just been throw away lines regarding the Tamarians, or something like "We've gotten unconfirmed reports that the Acamar system has been blockaded."
ST has a really bad habit of introducing alien characters for one episode and never mentioning them again. This was the perfect place to use a single line of dialog to acknowledge that the wider galactic community is being impacted by the war.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I'd be interested in folk's opinion on an idea that had been bouncing in my head all through S7... that the Ferengi could have really used a "serious" episode to show that they were more than (bad) comedy relief. And what better way to flesh out their entire 'arc' (especially as to the impact on Quark and Rom) then to have the Dominion attack Ferenginar (perhaps as punishment for their supplying weaponry to the Federation and its allies)?
What the Ferengi really needed desperately was some cultural depth, and having a true tragedy could have made up for a lot of the pain we viewers had to suffer previously. Ah, well... water under the bridge, now.
Set Bookmark
Rob in Michigan
Sun, Sep 21, 2008, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

Kai Winn has been an utterly fascinating character to watch throughout the entire series. I don't think there's another Star Trek character that I've spent more time hating, then sympathizing with, then being angry at, then hating again, then being sympathetic AGAIN....

She's led me on quite a roller coaster ride and the way she ended is so tragically sad. I also agree with Anthony's post... she turned to the Paghwraiths because at the end of the day her faith was far, far weaker than she let on. She needed her 'Gods' to acknowledge her, rather than simply doing their works for their own sake (a la Kai Opaka).
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.