Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Sarita
Sun, Aug 21, 2016, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Just some background: I recently finished watching DS9 on Netflix for the first time. It was my first Star Trek series and even though it started out rough, I ended up falling in love with it over the course of the show.

I've been watching Voyager (currently on season 2) but decided to give TNG a try as I was looking for something different.

I have to say: first off, TNG looks beautiful and not as dated as it should. I suppose Netflix is airing HD version of the show, whereas DS9 looked really dated. Why can't they air all of the series in the highest quality?

I didn't like Picard, Wesley, Troi (over-emotional, poor acting), or Q at all. I never liked Worf on DS9; so far, he's not as insufferable in this first episode. Data, Geordi, and Riker were ok. I was kind of excited about the Tasha Yar character - she seemed like a strong, tough Kira Nurees type, but then she started screaming in one of the scenes and it was embarrassing. Not much opinion on Dr. Crusher other than, hmm, she has some history with Picard. Hope it gets better.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Season 5 Episode 3 "Decay of the Angel"

2 out of 5 stars.

"Dylan, Dylan, Dylan. What is the point of this? Are we pretending we're a crew again?" ~ Beka
"Oh, believe me. I won't make that mistake five times." ~ Dylan


This episode appears to be a hidden continuation of "Waking the Tyrant's Device" from last season. At some point in the future, Kroton's android rebellion appears to be going on and for some reason, the androids want Andromeda. Its not make clear why. Fortunately, it appears that in the future, they don't make androids like they use too, as the present day models are far superior.

In this episode we learn, for the few who haven't guess it already, that Doyle is an android. But she's not just any android, she is in fact the Rommy avatar. Harper wasn't able to get her personality just right (she was apparently obsessed with "finding Dylan") and so created a new personality for her and programmed her to think of herself as human.

Its a nice continuity nod to find out that Rommy is obsessed with getting back to Dylan, in the 1st season Andromeda was in love with her captain, but this was forgotten in later seasons. Here we see that she still in love with him and being reunited with him is what she wants most.

Doyle saves a man named Argent who quickly finds out that Doyle is an android, even though Doyle herself is unaware of this. He quickly attaches himself to her, despite Harper's obvious dismay and eventually manipulates things to both reveal to her that she isn't human and to get her to an asteroid with a Tesseract Generator.

This same generator is responsible for teleporting the Andromeda, Dylan, Rhade and Beka to an empty area of space. Here they are attacked and captured by armed men. Argent reveals that he is working with these men and that they in fact are all androids from the future. They have some plan for the Andromeda, although it is not reveal what, only that the Andromeda will play an important roll in their android revolution.

Fortunately Harper hacks the generator and destroys are beam out into space all the androids. Doyle takes many of them down, but despite the fact that these androids are supposedly from the future, they easily go down with one hit while Doyle takes several with apparently ill effect.

This episode gets only 2 out of 5 stars as the story doesn't make much sense and does nothing to move the season arc along. Doyle is a breath of fresh air and its uncanny how Rommy-like the actress can be at times. Rhade is more like his original character in this one, but still angry. Beka is Beka and Dylan is about average. Harper and Argent have some pretty funny dialogue with each other and some amusing scenes.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Season 5 Episode 3 "Phear Phactor Phenom"

1/2 out of 5 stars.

"He didn't insult me, not once. That's not right." ~ Rhade


Unfortunately this episode isn't really better then the last. Here we learn that there is apparently a "ban" on technology over the whole system. Who exactly in forces this ban is unclear as if also exactly what level of technology is okay and what isn't and who makes that decision.

Harper is alive but has been in the Seefra System for 3 years. Apparently the parts from Rommy avatar came with him but he hasn't been able to repair her. This hasn't stopped him from building over androids however.

He has also teamed up with the resident mad scientist who is trying to recreate (and failing) the Vedrans. At least there is someone here who thinks the Vedrans should be in Tarn Vedran. Why is she doing this? Well because the new Vedran will naturally be able to save everyone . . . because, you know, Vedrans.

Dylan and crew aren't happy with him, but they don't make it clear exactly what they're aren't happy with. Harper has also been stealing, but its not clear what or why he is stealing. But it won't matter anymore, because they "neutralize" the mad scientist and Harper is now back with Dylan.

The episode suffers from too little Rhade and too much Beka. Dylan here is just classic Dylan, but it is nice to see Harper is still his usal entertaining hyperactive self. Doyle is a character with a lot of potential and its obvious to everyone but the main characters that she is another android built by Harper.

At this point, I'm getting a little tired of being shown how messed up the Seefra System is. Let's move on to the mystery of WHY is this way and WAY it should be fixed and HOW they are going to go about doing that. And where are the VENDRANS?
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Season 5 Episode 2 "The Weight" (part 2)

1 out of 5 stars.

"You know, this seems like a bad deal because, apparently, I die either way." ~ Dylan

Once again, this episode leaves more question then answers, not about the plot, but about the entire set up. We learn here that no one knowns about Slipstream in the Seefra System. In fact no has even heard the term "Slipstream" and faster-then-light travel is thought to be a myth. (This despite the fact that Seefra periodically get new arrivals and the that fact that if this really is Tarn Vedran - it would only be a mere 300 hundred years cut off from the rest of the galaxy, not nearly long enough to completely forget the existence of Slipstream on all nine planets.) We also learn that water is in short supply on all nine planets, not just Seefra-1.

Beka has been in the Seefra System for several months, aboard the Maru, she can't leave the system but keeps trying until she runs out of food, water and power. Why she doesn't land a planet before that point? She never bothers to explain. Just because, I guess.

She finds the Andromeda, intact (so much for the theory that Seefra-1 is the Andromeda), but without power and so sets of a distress signal. At some point she gets captured and tortured for about a month, including being threatened to be burned alive by a creature imaginatively called the "Core", a name which it sounds more like a machine then a creature. She then makes a deal with the leader of her captors, Jonah, and "fall in love" with him . . . apparently getting captured and tortured are the roads to a girl's heart.

At this point Dylan and Rhade show up to answer the distress call and we play the same old tired game, is Beka loyal to Dylan? Cause we haven't found out the answer that before, in like a dozen previous episodes. Jonah doesn't trust Beka not to be loyal to her old captain and devises perhaps the weirdest test in any science fiction episode. He presents Beka with two buttons. One unleashes the "Core" who will kill Dylan; the other fires a missile which will destroy the Andromeda.

The test doesn't work as Dylan as figured out, along with the audience, that the "Core" is actually Trance and that Jonah isn't really going to destroy the Andromeda - both buttons unleash the "Core". When the "Core" comes out, Dylan addresses her by name and Trance, naturally, doesn't hurt him, even though she looks like a miniature sun with little tentacles.

After Dylan reveals Jonah's trick to Beka, Jonah, apparently in a sudden fit of insanity, decides to shoot a missile at the Andromeda after all, purely out of spite with Dylan. This doesn't really sound like someone who managed to create the largest commercial cargo fleet in the system, but hey, who cares about consistent character representation? He and Beka split ways, with Beka telling him that she "really did love him" - because, you know, torture and stuff.

Beka frees Dylan and they are joined by Rhade, who has spent the entire time wandering the corridors. Yeah, former Admiral here people. They use Trance to power the ship and shoot down the missile, which also conveniently destroys Jonah's ship with splash damage from the warhead. The "Core" turns back into Trance's humanoid form, but she has no memories and only vaguely recognizes Dylan and none of the others. Rommy comes back online as well and informs everyone that it was Trance who saved them all by tesseract-ing them through the Route of Ages and into the Seefra System and that doing so cost her physical form and memories. Why and how Rommy knows all this is anybody's guess along with how she lost power.

The crew then mention that all they are missing is Harper and "Rommy" even though Rommy is right there because she is the slagging ship itself! But presumably they mean her Avatar (which as you recall was destroyed last season) and who the bad Andromeda writers keep acting like is a complete separate character from Rommy, even though we all know that the Ship and the Avatar are one and the same (that's the whole point of the Avatar in the first place).

This episode only rates 1 out of 5 (proper) stars. The new Rhade is still fun to watch and listen too and sounds less like Tyr this time around. Dylan anger at yet another person trying to claim his ship is well done, especially the scene where he see the company logo painted on the Andromeda's hull.

Unfortunately everything else is pretty lackluster. Beka has always been a rather boring character with really no function on the Andromeda, here she is running her "I'm a pointless character" in full tilt. While Dylan has is gathering the crew back together and getting his ship back and Rhade has connections, work, money and knowledge about the Seefra System; Beka on the other hand as been avoiding planets, getting captured, beat up, threatened and then "falling in love" with the man responsible for her troubles.

The whole plot is actually rather boing and doesn't really do anything to advance the story arc or make Beka interesting. The only good scenes are those with Dylan and Rhade together, as their dialogue is still pretty entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 1:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Season 5 Episode 1 "The Weight"

2 out of 5 stars.

"There are three types of people. Those who can count, and those who can't." ~ Flavin

"'You can't get there from here' should be this place's motto." ~ Dylan

In Season 5, Andromeda returns to its space opera roots, setting up a season long story arc. However this arc appears to have little to do with the original storyline.

After the rather anti-climatic showdown with the Magog "World" Ship (actually several worlds with an artificial sun) Captain Dylan Hunt flies through the Route of Ages and somehow looses his slipfighter without explanation, manifesting in a dark corridor where he comes face-to-face with himself. Baron Samedi, above, describes this second Dylan Hunt as "godlike", but in actually this Dylan is exactly identical to the first Dylan, except he is wearing a jacket. (Why Baron Samedi thinks this Dylan is godlike, I don't know, maybe he is a closest Sorbo fan?) The two Dylans smile as if to say "of course I'd run into myself here" and then turn away from each other.

This scene is never explained, or commented on, for the rest of the episode. What was it about? What did it mean? Why did it happen? Who the slag knows? Is this Dylan's "paradine" self? Is this Dylan from another time zone (such as when he existed the Route of Ages in a later episode)? This is Dylan from another universe? Is the scene a visual joke on the old saying "If you travel long and far enough you will eventually meet yourself."? This question, and more, will not be answered.

Dylan finally escapes the corridor/Route of Ages only to suddenly ended up wearing the jacket the other Dylan was wearing. Have the Dylans swapped places? Is this in fact the other Dylan we are now following? Or is this writers'/director's error? We may never know.

Dylan is now on a planet (still no slipfighter) and is found by the Trance stand-in for this episode. Flavin. Flavin in fact is about this episode's only redeeming quality as he actually makes for an interesting and fun (if predictable) character.

We are then introduced to this planet's/system's rather farfetched premise. Its 12 planets, all identical, all of which everyone finds familiar, which is suppose to be Tarn Vedran or the Andromeda. Why everyone find this familiar when only Dylan has been to Tarn Vedran and the denizens of the planet are not the Andromeda's crew is not explained, like pretty much everything else in this episode.

We also meet Schwarzenegger's little brother, who apparently runs this planet. Its unclear if the entire planet's population consists of this one little town or not. But its a population of idiots. Also working for the Arnold's little bro is Rhade.

Rhade's character has received a makeover. While the new Rhade is a lot more fun then the old, one can't help but feel that this part was originally written for Tyr and has been adapted for Rhade's character. He also comes off as slightly unhinged and angry at Dylan for . . . well no good reason really, just because mostly. Where would this episode been without some conflict between the main characters. It seems the writers have totally forgotten that Rhade use to an Admiral, as he in no way acts like one would expect a former Admiral to behave.

After what seems like several bar fights, Dylan and Rhade are finally reconciled, Flavin does his Obi-Won thing and dies and the bad guys are driven off. No question are answered, including the pink elephant in the room which none of the characters even address. If this is Tarn Vedran, then where are the Vedrans?

This episode rates 2 stars mostly because of some fun characters. The new Rhade is a little weird, but its fun to see him less wooden and a little more Nietzschean. Flavin's character too is a lot of fun and Thomas' impersonation of a priest-like Schwarzenegger is fun to make fun of. A lot of things aren't explained, but then again, it is the first episode of a season-long story arc and it does a fair just of setting up the premise, as awkward as that premise is.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Belly of the Beast

Why would the Cetus be sentient? What would it do, exactly? It can't create art, can't compose music, can't build anything, can't write a story, can't grow food on a farm, can't talk to anyone because there is no one to talk too. It would just go insane being by itself for 6,000 plus years.

Which, by the way, what DOES the Cetus do for those 6,000 plus years? Are there other planets its eating? Is it having little baby Cetuses? Is it traveling here from another galaxy/dimension? Is it even the same Cetus every 6,000 plus years or is it a new one every time?
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: The Fair Unknown

Considering the various things actually wrong with this episode, you actually took time to complain that the Vedrans are "excessively blue"? Why? Do you think Trance use to be excessively purple? Or that the human character are excessively pink? With the actually stuff to complain about, commenting on this just seem excessively petty.

Like the writers often do, you too seem to forget that Rommie is a COMPUTER. So of course she is in favor of blindly following the admiral's orders, she's PROGRAMMED to do that and it was nice to the writers remember that for a change. Sadly, you didn't.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Thu, Nov 19, 2015, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: The Things We Cannot Change

Interesting how everyone keeps blame Sorbo, when it was Trubune that actually turned Andromeda this way. Way to publicly wallow in ignorance people. All this bring to mind that ancient saying: "Better to be silent and thought the Fool, then open your mouth and remove all doubt."
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Dance of the Mayflies

"The ungrateful dead."

That actually was hilarious!
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Be All My Sins Remembered

@ Baron Samedi

You're reaction to post-Wolfe-Andromeda is spot on.

However your comments about Kevin Sorbo are not only way off the mark, but who a huge lack of grasp on reality. Sorbo was dead right about what he said about Ferguson. Here is an excerpt:

"Ferguson riots have very little to do with the shooting of the young man," Sorbo wrote. "It is an excuse to be the losers these animals truly are. It is a tipping point to frustration built up over years of not trying, but blaming everyone else, The Man, for their failures. It's always someone else's fault when you give up. Hopefully this is a reminder to the African Americans ( I always thought we just Americans. Oh, well.) that their President the voted in has only made things worse for them, not better."

Here is what he said about atheists:

“I know these guys must believe in something, otherwise they wouldn’t get so angry about it, and they don’t like the fact that there’s a higher power out there that’s judging how they live their life.”

All of that is spot on, and Sorbo deserves props for standing up for morals and against hypocrisy, something we see all too few of from actors today.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Ouroboros

Its too bad that Brent Stait could not continue on as Rev, but one wonders why they didn't simply cast a new actor to play him? Surely they could have either gotten someone who sounded pretty close to him (its not like you could easily tell it was someone else under all that makeup) or simply explained it away as a Magog metamorphous that happens later in their life cycle.

Rommie's new hair style is indeed somewhat odd looking, but I think it was meant to make her look more robotic - she a synthetic human after all.

I'm surprised you didn't give props to this story idea though, most TV would have them building the time devise 1st and THEN had the temporal effects. Having the effects 1st and then having the devise built was actually really cleaver.

Speaking of makeup, Trance's new look actually came about because the actress didn't like her purple look and got them to change it. Hence why the ending doesn't focus on her "future knowledge" being the reason she need to stay, switching Trances was written in last minute.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Wed, Nov 18, 2015, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Into the Labyrinth

Actually the only annoying about the violence in the show is the way you keep complaining about it. We get your opinion already, geeze.

On another note, one has to wonder what was going through Tribune's collective mind. The continuity elements are what made Andromeda a success, so Tribune wanted to get rid of them?
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Mon, Nov 16, 2015, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Last Call at the Broken Hammer

Tyr went to take out the alien's artillery weapon. Then they brought another one and he had to go out to take it out too. All off screen of course.

Did you mean the mousers from TMNT? The alien's didn't look like the turtles, but they did kind of resemble the mousers from that series.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Mon, Nov 16, 2015, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: Star-Crossed

I dislike how must science-fiction writers can't seem to get a handle on AI characters. Having the Andromeda conduct a three way conversation with herself is a cool idea, but its ruined by the writers insisting on treating them as three separate characters that look alike, rather then three different voices of the same character.

Why would the hologram even have a separate personality? Its just alternative to using a view screen. The robot is the ship's "avatar" not a separate entity that happens to look like her. What should have been an internal debate amongst herself instead because each version complaining about what annoyed her about the other version. When they are all suppose to be the same.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Mon, Nov 16, 2015, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: Its Hour Come 'Round At Last

I agree, the Magog didn't come off as particularly threatening. Basically they are "space zombies". Mindless creatures that want to eat you and create more of their own kind through your body. Their numbers are the only thing they've got going for them. But like you said, if they aren't smart enough to wear armor are carry guns, how can they pilot starships?

And although their leader claims that he is from a higher breed, almost none of the other Magog on the "World Ship" (actually a "System Ship") seem to be particularly intelligent either. There are a few with armor and weapons, but most seem to be mindless as well.

And what was their leader's interest in Rev anyway? They show him using other fellow Magog as cannon fodder and that Magog even eat their own kind. Why would he care about Rev?

But I also had the impression that they were basically just the foot soldiers. They aren't the real threat, the Spirit of the Abyss is and who knows what else it has up its sleeve?

It did destroy an entire galaxy after all, maybe even more then one.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Mon, Nov 16, 2015, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Exit Strategies

"I think I do believe Rev when he says he was created by the Spirit of the Abyss; could a species so awful evolve that way by Darwinism?"

Since the religion that is Darwinism is based on the belief that living things mutate, its not hard to conceive that something awful like the Magog would come to exist.

Whereas if something benevolent, like the Devine, was creating life, it makes sense that it wouldn't be awful.

But since Darwinism is a religion loosely disguised as pseudo-science, I agree that it makes sense the Magog were created (or altered) by the Spirit of the Abyss.
Set Bookmark
Samaritan
Mon, Nov 16, 2015, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Pitiless as the Sun

I'd have to disagree with this. Most everything you said was spot on, but, like you said, nothing was really learned in the Trance scenes, other then her people are "cosmic" and not necessarily very nice. But since nothing was really learned, it made those scenes rather boring.

So in truth, its the Pyrians scenes that are the interesting scenes in this episode. Meeting a race so different (if a trifle cliché in the voice department) was interesting. Also the fact the Pyrians reverse-terraform planets is concept you don't much of. Dylan forging Nova-Bomb without his crew's knowledge was an important tidbit of info, much more important then anything we learn from Trance.

Dylan's new focus on recruiting powerful members for his Commonwealth is also an important bit of info we learn as well.

The Pyrians' Torch Ship actually was not unique, it was the Balance of Judgement, with the front torn off and replaced with a glowing orb. A neat design, but one can't look at without seeing the much more fearsome starship-killer.
Set Bookmark
Rita
Sat, Sep 20, 2008, 6:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

My biggest complaint is that Dukat deserved so much better. I don't mean that in terms of his fate, but in terms of his characterization. Is it not a shame that this finale reduced one of Trek's best and most psychologically complex villains into a silly raving demon? Rather than digging deep into the final deterioration of this complicated egomaniac, the writers chickened out. They turned Dukat into the Final Boss from a cheap video game. I never wanted a cardboard bad guy. Instead, I wanted DS9 to do justice to this man, to show him as a real person who tragically succumbed to his own obsessions, delusions, and hubris.

Alas, it was not to be.
Set Bookmark
Rita
Mon, Sep 1, 2008, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Nuh-uh! As a woman, let me assure you that even us girls can recognize a damn good episode when we see one. :)

Let me be honest: I've been in the middle of a DVD marathon recently and everything was smooth sailing until I hit this episode. What an hour of television! It left me emotionally drained; instead of forging ahead on the DVD that day, I had to take time off. I don't know about you guys, but I was left pensive and melancholy long after the credits rolled.

"The Visitor" is probably up there with "The Inner Light" in my books--both pack an emotional wallop and feature wonderful, intimate performances. Like that TNG episode, the human story here just rings so true. This is the kind of Trek episode that can prompt people to step back and take stock of their own lives.

I can't think of a greater compliment that that.
Set Bookmark
Rita
Sun, Aug 31, 2008, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

Lost in the shuffle of the Dax-host vignettes is a nice scene where Rom finally stands up to Quark over the issue of Nog joining Starfleet ("My son's happiness is more important to me than anything, even latinum!").

Rom hasn't been a particularly sympathetic or memorable character up to this point in the series, so seeing him show a little backbone here was a pleasant surprise.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.