Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Brian
"Just remember, at this point in TNG we were getting masterpieces like "Elementary, Dear Data", and "A Matter of Honor".

Guest stars like Daniel Davis' Professor Moriarty.
Air-tight scripts like "A Matter of Honor" with stunning performances by Jon Frakes and the Klingon co-stars."

Hmm. I really love TNG, but I don't think I would ever call Elementary and Matter of Honor "airtight masterpieces".

Matter of Honor in particular had an unbelievably stupid Klingon captain who blamed the Enterprise for putting "space bacteria" on his ship. Sure, yeah, must've been the Enterprise. I guess he'll try to destroy the Enterprise with his one Bird of Prey, which isn't enough to take on a galaxy class. It doesn't make any sense and it is solely there to create conflict for the end. So it's not exactly "airtight". That said, I really enjoy that episode, despite it's issues.

Fans sometimes tend to put older Trek shows on a ridiculously high pedestal in order to undercut Disco. At this point, DS9 was still very much finding it's legs and Voyager felt extremely underwhelming with it's plots and character development.

Give DSC some credit where credit is due, it actually does have some reasonable arcs for it's characters. We were not getting much of that from other Trek shows in their early seasons... but then again if you don't actually like any of the Disco characters, then I guess this observation doesn't stand for much. Oh well. :P
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Yes, that is a good point, wolfstar. Dredging up the "continuing Klingon storyline" (which was the worst part of S1 for me) is not doing this show any favors...

When "Threshold" ended, it luckily was never mentioned ever again. There are no scenes where Paris has a nightmare about breaking the "warp barrier" and mating with the amphibian version of his captain... God, what a trainwreck. Where's an overly convenient Voyager reset button when we need one?

Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Mac King - "I just wish this show would be consistently good. I'm tired of going back and forth."

I definitely see what you mean in regards to Discovery's up's and down's, but no TV show (Trek shows included) is ever consistently good.

For example, I love Game of Thrones, but Season 7 was very disappointing in terms of storytelling and character development. (That said, I'm still looking forward to Season 8.)

The great DS9 churned out what I would call garbage in some of it's best seasons - "Profit and Lace", "Let He Who Is Without Sin", etc.

Not saying we shouldn't complain or point out when a show stumbles, but the wish for a TV show to be "always good" is a bit, well, impossible.

Just interesting to see that some people seem to have less tolerance for bad/mediocre Discovery episodes. I kept watching TNG, DS9, Voyager, etc. even after seeing trash eps like "Code of Honor" and "Threshold" and, to me, Discovery still hasn't hit anything near those kinds of lows.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN
"If it was a success, they wouldn't be giving it away for free."

Yes Dave, you figured it out, that must be why they're greenlighting all of these other Trek shows. You're only seeing what you want to see and ignoring much of the warm reception for this season in these comments.

Not sure why you insist on being overly negative here when you don't tolerate that kind of belly aching over on the Orville threads... the "STD is not Trek and must die" mentality is just as tiresome as the "Orville is a lame Star Trek ripoff" mindset. These things go both ways.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN
"Honestly, how can they spend this much an episode and still have actors/ characters who make Harry Kim and Travis Mayweather look like Shakespeare?"

Wow... seriously? I'm not big on Discovery, but none of the characters on this show are even close to the level of Travis "barely a character" Mayweather.

Also, admitting that people are enjoying the show but then selfishly wishing that it'll be cancelled soon is a bad look. It wouldn't be cool to be like that on the Orville threads and it's not cool here.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

"If Alara has left, that's sad, as she was one of the best characters. Rumour has it Halston was dating Seth and they broke up. I hope this wasn't the reason she left the show. I'm not sure it will be the same without her."

Odd rumor considering their age gap, but whatever. I read that she had to leave because she took on a Netflix film gig. I guess it's up in the air on whether or not she'll be back.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 10:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

"As for the rest of your post: It is irelevant to me. I've already stated that I'm not interested in continuing this "debate" which is currently just ruining the discussion for everyone."

So, your fellow poster's (including Jammer's) thoughts and opinions are irrelevant to you? Well, good to know.

It's not much of a debate. I would take issue with anybody who continually hate-posts on a discussion board for a show that they're not actually watching. Not that you care.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
"BTW Jammer, allow me to quote something you've said in one of the Orville threads:

"So let's make it about the shows, and not each other."

I agree completely with this sentiment. Let's do that, shall we?"

Yet you literally just wrote a post where you condemned all of the people who rightly took issue with what you were basing your opinion on....

"It is these people who are being hurtful. It is these people who are being confrontational."

But who is saying things like this: "Oh, and I also ended my post with the a prediction that people will completely miss my point. Guess I was right about that, heh?" What is with this antagonistic arrogance? Is it really necessary? You seem to be missing/ignoring what we were trying to say to you and you're not being very self-aware with your own actions on this website.

"As long as a person can intelligently discuss the topics at hand and is raising good points, how the heck is this line of attack relevant?"

When a person's behavior ultimately detracts and distracts from the conversation at hand, then yes, it is relevant. You're regurgitating what *another person* is saying about the show. You haven't seen the episode. I think we are all far more interested in hearing what you actually have to say about this episode/the show, but you're refusing to do the actual legwork.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

"I find it funny B5 would even pop up in a discussion here. You can't even compare it to DS9, it's totally different. Not better, not worse. Just fundamentally different and special. So any argument founded on a comparison of the two is automatically suspect."

Sigh. Brian, did you actually read the whole discussion going on here or did you just skim it? His argument wasn't founded on that comparison, he was talking in general terms about multiple different TV shows. Unfortunately, B5 fanboys decided to make a mountain out of a molehill.

I guess Jammer should put up a disclaimer: "Don't talk mess about the great Babylon 5 or your original point will be automatically discarded and ignored." Shame on Ubik for even daring to briefly say that he prefers DS9 over B5 on a Star Trek-focused website.... just ridiculous.

And this is coming from someone who really likes B5. Even though it had cringe-worthy elements to it, the show was suitably epic and worthwhile - mainly during the third and fourth seasons. That said, your love for a freakin' Sci-Fi show doesn't override being a reasonable person when having open conversations with others. Seriously.

Now that this DS9 vs B5 rabble is hopefully out of people's systems, maybe the conversation can civilly return to this episode and Discovery in general.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 7:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Geekgarious
"It has nothing to do with analyzing the “climate” of the time of broadcast, which seemed to be the intent of his post. It would be like writing an analytical piece about the history of rock and roll, then claiming that one band was objectively superior to another. I can understand why Evan took offense to it."

He's not writing a paper, he's sharing his opinion. And yes, it did fit in with what he was saying! He was comparing DS9 to the other shows that were on at that time - which was Babylon 5! Weird! Besides, if he had said something like "DS9 was also more different than its contemporary television shows (with the exception of Babylon 5, its *superior* competitor)", this wouldn't even be a discussion.

I take offense at you two wanting to *outright dismiss* his entire post and castrate him over an off-hand remark about B5. It reeks of a very "Well, my opinion is better than your opinion, so your argument is invalid" attitude that Ubik is not expressing at all in his original post. It's a shame I have to defend him at all, but you guys can't seem to take off your fan hats and act like reasonable human beings towards a person who disagrees with you.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Geekgarious

"Shoehorning the statement that B5 was the inferior competitor into an analysis of time and broadcast as though it were fact comes off as petty and thus weakens the entire argument."

"As though it were fact" - maybe in your mind, but that really doesn't appear to be Ubik's intent. How does it weaken his entire argument when it was just a simple aside that *you* can't seem to move past? How is it petty to mention his opinion that B5 was similar and ultimately inferior to DS9?
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Geekgarious

"Stating that B5 was an inferior competitor to DS9 as support for an argument is pretty damn dubious. It would be like writing a thesis and then stating that ENT and Nemesis were groundbreaking as a supporting statement."

So because *you* don't agree with his statement, that then makes his whole argument invalid? Sorry, but this kind of behavior comes off as petty and childish. Disagree with his point, but don't use that disagreement as a reason to ignore what he is trying to say in the first place.

And yes, you could totally state that Nemesis and Enterprise were groundbreaking in their own ways and find examples to support that statement. There's no reason to be so close-minded when it comes to people's viewpoints.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

"I'm sorry, but anyone who calls Babylon 5 an "inferior competitor" to DS9 has just discredited their entire argument."

I'm sorry Evan, but Ubik's *opinion* about B5 doesn't instantly discredit what he is trying to say about Discovery. Are you that insecure with your opinion? Lots of people prefer DS9 over B5 and also vice versa.

Imagine if you wrote a long, thoughtful post and somebody quickly discounted it based on a simple opinion that you shared? Yeah, it would be kind of immature of them.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 4:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"This "you gotta see the show in order to have an informed opinion" thing is getting old really fast."

You say that, but going off of what I've seen from your Orville comments, I think you'd be saying the same thing to someone who is doing what you're doing on all the Orville threads - forming an opinion solely through other people's posts regarding that show.

"It's a blatant Star Trek rip-off filled with crass Seth MacFarlane humor and subpar writing? What madness is this?! Gene is rolling in his grave!" I would see this person on all of the Orville threads, as they piggyback and cherry pick, and think to myself "Wow, maybe this person should watch it and see for themselves and form their own opinion, because I think the Orville is better than that."

That is what some people are saying to you here, but you are replying with things like this - "(yes, I find the discussions here to be much more interesting than the series itself, besides... it's free)." But, you can get All Access for free for a month. I did, it's not hard. Sign up for a 7 day trial, then try to cancel it and they instantly give you a month for free.

It's not a "thing that's getting old", it's a standard expectation that is there when constructively discussing a television show that is actively airing. It's much more interesting to read and reply to comments from people who have seen the episodes and dislike them based on their actual thoughts/feelings regarding it.

So far you're offering pieced together criticisms that are mainly taken from other people's opinions. It's just not that conducive to an actual conversation about the pro's/con's of a television show and it's episodes. You're asking others to "show (you) the error of your ways" and "tell you the facts"... that's not really their responsibility. How about doing some legwork yourself and actually watch the episode that people are here to discuss? Do something constructive.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Thu, Jul 30, 2015, 2:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

This was a pretty lame episode. I did however appreciate the exchange at the very beginning between Riker and Data when Riker notices that Data didn't relay the time in milliseconds. This is great continuity from two episodes ago when Riker was questioning his reality by challenging Data's processing speed. Riker questioning Data in this episode shows how deeply Riker was effected by his experience and perhaps now he will always be looking out for indications that he is not part of normal reality. Also Data's reason for not supplying the information showed good character development. Thank you Michael Piller!
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Fri, Jul 24, 2015, 3:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

This is a great episode - 4/4 for me!

Just a couple of observations. I think it is logical for Data to kill Fajo because he is programmed to protect innocent life. At the time it was still a possibilty that he was 'pressumed dead' so this was his best possible opportunity to take action against the direct threat that Fajo had made regarding his willingness to kill his crew members at any point in the future. Data must know that this would probably have happened in the past and would happen in the future if he is not rescued by The Enterprise. Killing Fajo was the only other logical action to take to protect Fajo's crew. He had witnessed him murder someone that supposedly 'meant' something to him, he was bound to kill others.

Another thing - where was Troi at the beginning?! She wasn't even there until well after the crew had started to come to terms with Datas destruction. If she was on the bridge at the start (as Data actually says she usually is in this very episode!) then she would have sensed the deception in Fago immediately. She's not around even when the other crew members are clearly emotional about losing Data and only appears later to talk to Worf's about his promotion. Was her absence explained at some point and I missed it? If not then just what the hell is the point in her character? I guess the only explaination is the plot only works if she's not there at first but why not throw a line in there somewhere to excuse her absence?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.