Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 41 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Im gonna wade back in to this hellhole to mention I wish Jammer would just post separate episode threads. No need to review or anything but it would be nice to have a place to discuss the new episodes individually.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"I liked the second episode a lot more than the first, which seemed a little mean-spi­rit­ed to me. But in “Envoys”, the cha­rac­ters are much more like­able; but in the sec­ond, really no one be­haved dickish (except Boimler at the end, which was probably Mariners plan all along). I saw the twist com­ing and really liked it — in this single scene, Mariner has shown more lo­yal­ty and com­pas­sion (at the cost of look­ing not cool) than an­other lead of 3ʳᵈ ge­ne­ra­tion Trek in two seasons. She grows on me."

Mariner swallowing her pride to help Boimler grow his confidence a bit is probably the most adult thing she's done so far. I don't mean that negatively, more in that she's tries to come off as such a badass that her actually trying to help out and mentor a colleague instead of blast him when it could serve her really speaks numbers.

Good episode, enjoyed it a lot.

Also, I wonder if Jammer would ever be so inclined to post episode threads, just for discussion's sake. He doesn't need to review it but it does get kind of annoying to scroll down the the bottom of an extremely long page to see what people thought of the new episode.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@The Chronek

I was seeing a lot of accusations of that upthread thrown at people, that accounts they didnt recognize liked the episode were possibly/probably outside actors

I think people need to realize this is a, uh, fairly niche corner of the internet and odds of a CO-ORDINATED MARKETING ATTACK (tm) seem kinda low.

The real reason for the new faces might be, i dunno, a new Star Trek series and people looking for a place to discuss it.

CBS spending money trying to co-opt this board would be a waste of time anyways. They should know better than to think they can sway any of you curmudgeons ;p
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Frankly as far as ST pilots go its probably top 30% imo

Under "The Emissary" and "Where No Man..."

I'd put it over Caretaker, Farpoint, The Cage, and probably Broken Bow

And if nothing else it was easily the most endearing of the bunch. I think I'm sold on modern cartoon ST, even if I'm in the minority. Very excited and I wish I could just binge the series now.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I think some of you guys will have to come to terms that not everything is made for you. Judging this show by TNG standards doesn't make sense for a animated comedy spin-off targeted at teens and twenty-somethings.

The actual anger in here at a literal cartoon is just staggering to me. A lot of you really need to take a walk and decompress. If you don't like it, just accept it and move on as Jammer has done preemptively. The people that hate-watch these shows just to spew vitriol are letting the writers live in their heads rent-free.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I think some people here are a little too invested in the "sanctity" of Star Trek. I think that's a fine standard to hold for the mainline series and there is definitely a standard of storytelling and ambition that needs to be maintain... But this is a cartoon comedy spinoff!

It may not be for you, hell it might not even be very good, but the people in here saying the producers have "crossed the line" like they've literally spat in their faces... might just have to get over themselves a bit.
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Oh man, Jammers gonna get lapped by the new episode huh. Very rare occurrence, it's like an eclipse!
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Sid

...thats a rough take there pal
Set Bookmark
Riker
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Plus most of the women I know are far more energetic and active in the world. The lack of freedom and oppression over centuries is now coming out as a huge burst of energy and creativity across public life.
Set Bookmark
Riker
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

"Why is almost every officer female (in fact even the medical staff and the other engineer is) on DIS? "

Simple - the future is female. Men have tasted power for too long and reflecting on how it served their ancestors their ambition for it is already declining and won't last much longer. Hopefully both sexes will eventually see it doesn't have much to offer, and it won't take until the 23rd century, but entertainment media is a reflection of the times and Discovery is no exception when it comes to depicting power structures.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Hmm, yeah. I'm just gonna leave this here for the overly negative people who kept predicting that Discovery wouldn't make it to Season 3:

https://deadline.com/2019/02/star-trek-discovery-renewed-season-3-cbs-all-access-michelle-paradise-alex-kurtzman-co-showrunner-1202565915/
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Brian
"Just remember, at this point in TNG we were getting masterpieces like "Elementary, Dear Data", and "A Matter of Honor".

Guest stars like Daniel Davis' Professor Moriarty.
Air-tight scripts like "A Matter of Honor" with stunning performances by Jon Frakes and the Klingon co-stars."

Hmm. I really love TNG, but I don't think I would ever call Elementary and Matter of Honor "airtight masterpieces".

Matter of Honor in particular had an unbelievably stupid Klingon captain who blamed the Enterprise for putting "space bacteria" on his ship. Sure, yeah, must've been the Enterprise. I guess he'll try to destroy the Enterprise with his one Bird of Prey, which isn't enough to take on a galaxy class. It doesn't make any sense and it is solely there to create conflict for the end. So it's not exactly "airtight". That said, I really enjoy that episode, despite it's issues.

Fans sometimes tend to put older Trek shows on a ridiculously high pedestal in order to undercut Disco. At this point, DS9 was still very much finding it's legs and Voyager felt extremely underwhelming with it's plots and character development.

Give DSC some credit where credit is due, it actually does have some reasonable arcs for it's characters. We were not getting much of that from other Trek shows in their early seasons... but then again if you don't actually like any of the Disco characters, then I guess this observation doesn't stand for much. Oh well. :P
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Yes, that is a good point, wolfstar. Dredging up the "continuing Klingon storyline" (which was the worst part of S1 for me) is not doing this show any favors...

When "Threshold" ended, it luckily was never mentioned ever again. There are no scenes where Paris has a nightmare about breaking the "warp barrier" and mating with the amphibian version of his captain... God, what a trainwreck. Where's an overly convenient Voyager reset button when we need one?
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Mac King - "I just wish this show would be consistently good. I'm tired of going back and forth."

I definitely see what you mean in regards to Discovery's up's and down's, but no TV show (Trek shows included) is ever consistently good.

For example, I love Game of Thrones, but Season 7 was very disappointing in terms of storytelling and character development. (That said, I'm still looking forward to Season 8.)

The great DS9 churned out what I would call garbage in some of it's best seasons - "Profit and Lace", "Let He Who Is Without Sin", etc.

Not saying we shouldn't complain or point out when a show stumbles, but the wish for a TV show to be "always good" is a bit, well, impossible.

Just interesting to see that some people seem to have less tolerance for bad/mediocre Discovery episodes. I kept watching TNG, DS9, Voyager, etc. even after seeing trash eps like "Code of Honor" and "Threshold" and, to me, Discovery still hasn't hit anything near those kinds of lows.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN
"If it was a success, they wouldn't be giving it away for free."

Yes Dave, you figured it out, that must be why they're greenlighting all of these other Trek shows. You're only seeing what you want to see and ignoring much of the warm reception for this season in these comments.

Not sure why you insist on being overly negative here when you don't tolerate that kind of belly aching over on the Orville threads... the "STD is not Trek and must die" mentality is just as tiresome as the "Orville is a lame Star Trek ripoff" mindset. These things go both ways.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN
"Honestly, how can they spend this much an episode and still have actors/ characters who make Harry Kim and Travis Mayweather look like Shakespeare?"

Wow... seriously? I'm not big on Discovery, but none of the characters on this show are even close to the level of Travis "barely a character" Mayweather.

Also, admitting that people are enjoying the show but then selfishly wishing that it'll be cancelled soon is a bad look. It wouldn't be cool to be like that on the Orville threads and it's not cool here.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

"If Alara has left, that's sad, as she was one of the best characters. Rumour has it Halston was dating Seth and they broke up. I hope this wasn't the reason she left the show. I'm not sure it will be the same without her."

Odd rumor considering their age gap, but whatever. I read that she had to leave because she took on a Netflix film gig. I guess it's up in the air on whether or not she'll be back.
Set Bookmark
Riker
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

"As someone said upthread, the problem here is that Seth isn't satirizing anything that feels real, because he's not tackling any actual Christian/Catholic beliefs so much as painting religious people as "stupid heads." "

Is he really though? The "pope" in this episode was quite intelligent when Kelly came back, and was willing to believe the evidence before his eyes to learn the truth about his religion. Would members of the Catholic clergy by so open minded if Jesus were to appear before them in similar circumstances? Highly doubtful.

At the end, it's clear that the writers portray Kelly's views that she has tainted the world with religion as flawed. The representatives from the advanced world tell her this themselves. If anything, the episode is no more an attack on religion than the idea of "cultural contamination". In this sense, it is "anti-Trek".
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

"As for the rest of your post: It is irelevant to me. I've already stated that I'm not interested in continuing this "debate" which is currently just ruining the discussion for everyone."

So, your fellow poster's (including Jammer's) thoughts and opinions are irrelevant to you? Well, good to know.

It's not much of a debate. I would take issue with anybody who continually hate-posts on a discussion board for a show that they're not actually watching. Not that you care.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
"BTW Jammer, allow me to quote something you've said in one of the Orville threads:

"So let's make it about the shows, and not each other."

I agree completely with this sentiment. Let's do that, shall we?"

Yet you literally just wrote a post where you condemned all of the people who rightly took issue with what you were basing your opinion on....

"It is these people who are being hurtful. It is these people who are being confrontational."

But who is saying things like this: "Oh, and I also ended my post with the a prediction that people will completely miss my point. Guess I was right about that, heh?" What is with this antagonistic arrogance? Is it really necessary? You seem to be missing/ignoring what we were trying to say to you and you're not being very self-aware with your own actions on this website.

"As long as a person can intelligently discuss the topics at hand and is raising good points, how the heck is this line of attack relevant?"

When a person's behavior ultimately detracts and distracts from the conversation at hand, then yes, it is relevant. You're regurgitating what *another person* is saying about the show. You haven't seen the episode. I think we are all far more interested in hearing what you actually have to say about this episode/the show, but you're refusing to do the actual legwork.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

"I find it funny B5 would even pop up in a discussion here. You can't even compare it to DS9, it's totally different. Not better, not worse. Just fundamentally different and special. So any argument founded on a comparison of the two is automatically suspect."

Sigh. Brian, did you actually read the whole discussion going on here or did you just skim it? His argument wasn't founded on that comparison, he was talking in general terms about multiple different TV shows. Unfortunately, B5 fanboys decided to make a mountain out of a molehill.

I guess Jammer should put up a disclaimer: "Don't talk mess about the great Babylon 5 or your original point will be automatically discarded and ignored." Shame on Ubik for even daring to briefly say that he prefers DS9 over B5 on a Star Trek-focused website.... just ridiculous.

And this is coming from someone who really likes B5. Even though it had cringe-worthy elements to it, the show was suitably epic and worthwhile - mainly during the third and fourth seasons. That said, your love for a freakin' Sci-Fi show doesn't override being a reasonable person when having open conversations with others. Seriously.

Now that this DS9 vs B5 rabble is hopefully out of people's systems, maybe the conversation can civilly return to this episode and Discovery in general.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Geekgarious
"It has nothing to do with analyzing the “climate” of the time of broadcast, which seemed to be the intent of his post. It would be like writing an analytical piece about the history of rock and roll, then claiming that one band was objectively superior to another. I can understand why Evan took offense to it."

He's not writing a paper, he's sharing his opinion. And yes, it did fit in with what he was saying! He was comparing DS9 to the other shows that were on at that time - which was Babylon 5! Weird! Besides, if he had said something like "DS9 was also more different than its contemporary television shows (with the exception of Babylon 5, its *superior* competitor)", this wouldn't even be a discussion.

I take offense at you two wanting to *outright dismiss* his entire post and castrate him over an off-hand remark about B5. It reeks of a very "Well, my opinion is better than your opinion, so your argument is invalid" attitude that Ubik is not expressing at all in his original post. It's a shame I have to defend him at all, but you guys can't seem to take off your fan hats and act like reasonable human beings towards a person who disagrees with you.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Geekgarious

"Shoehorning the statement that B5 was the inferior competitor into an analysis of time and broadcast as though it were fact comes off as petty and thus weakens the entire argument."

"As though it were fact" - maybe in your mind, but that really doesn't appear to be Ubik's intent. How does it weaken his entire argument when it was just a simple aside that *you* can't seem to move past? How is it petty to mention his opinion that B5 was similar and ultimately inferior to DS9?
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Geekgarious

"Stating that B5 was an inferior competitor to DS9 as support for an argument is pretty damn dubious. It would be like writing a thesis and then stating that ENT and Nemesis were groundbreaking as a supporting statement."

So because *you* don't agree with his statement, that then makes his whole argument invalid? Sorry, but this kind of behavior comes off as petty and childish. Disagree with his point, but don't use that disagreement as a reason to ignore what he is trying to say in the first place.

And yes, you could totally state that Nemesis and Enterprise were groundbreaking in their own ways and find examples to support that statement. There's no reason to be so close-minded when it comes to people's viewpoints.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

"I'm sorry, but anyone who calls Babylon 5 an "inferior competitor" to DS9 has just discredited their entire argument."

I'm sorry Evan, but Ubik's *opinion* about B5 doesn't instantly discredit what he is trying to say about Discovery. Are you that insecure with your opinion? Lots of people prefer DS9 over B5 and also vice versa.

Imagine if you wrote a long, thoughtful post and somebody quickly discounted it based on a simple opinion that you shared? Yeah, it would be kind of immature of them.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.