Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 48 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Tue, Jul 6, 2021, 11:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

I have to say, reading through these reviews it was kinda fun to see Jammer seem to warm up to the show over time. That first episode review read as like "yeah yeah I really don't want to be here but fuck it, here I am and this was pretty garbo" to the middle being like "hey ya know they really laid it way too thick with the references but it really was ok" to E9 being "you know that was actually pretty good."

I really enjoyed that ride, haha. LD's endearing side got a hold of me too :)
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Hot Take - Jammer's time would've been better spent watching Lower Decks than S3 of Discovery. At least LD has heart :/
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Yanks

"Well, she IS the show's protagonist so it's not a surprise really."

Yeah I always find these comments grating. It's like saying "God why do they keep focusing on Picard?" I can understand not liking her but she's the protagonist, thats the way its gonna be.

@SlackerInc


"So Vulcans have now abandoned utilitarianism??"

Frankly I've always found Vulcan talk about logic as much of a farce as Klingons talking about honor. They're both used as talking points and yet seem suspiciously lacking, constantly. Vulcan logic so much of the time is just a smug feeling of racial superiority and extreme pride disguised as facts. "The Vulcan Science Directorate has determined that time travel is impossible," no, you chucklefucks just didn't figure it out and are embarrassed someone else got to it first. Just like Klingons are full of treachery over honor, Vulcans have always held pride over logic. They just both are careful to drive any action through those lenses.
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 3:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Holy hell what did I stumble into. Yikes.

I know Jammer has a hands off moderation approach but no one's even commented on the episode in like 50 comments, god damn...
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Fri, Nov 6, 2020, 1:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Great episode, but I have got to say I really don't think Buster Keaton would be that much of a barn burner in the third millennium haha
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 10:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Crisis Point

"No, it is not. The very scene that is discussed is a perfect example, which is not homophobic by the way, the guy who makes the show posted an unbleeped version and it is not fags. It is silly to even point this out but STARFLEET OFFICERS don't talk like that. "

You understand that scene was a simulation, right? No one actually said that. Did you watch the episode?
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 3:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Crisis Point

The glamour shot going on like 40 seconds too long had me absolutely dying. Easily the best of the series so far IMO.

Also @Cody, pretty sure she says "Fucks," If you listen close you can here the "-cks" pretty distinctly.

Anyways, great emotional beats in this one. Great to see Mariner work through her shit.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Cupid's Errant Arrow

Im gonna wade back in to this hellhole to mention I wish Jammer would just post separate episode threads. No need to review or anything but it would be nice to have a place to discuss the new episodes individually.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Envoys

"I liked the second episode a lot more than the first, which seemed a little mean-spi­rit­ed to me. But in “Envoys”, the cha­rac­ters are much more like­able; but in the sec­ond, really no one be­haved dickish (except Boimler at the end, which was probably Mariners plan all along). I saw the twist com­ing and really liked it — in this single scene, Mariner has shown more lo­yal­ty and com­pas­sion (at the cost of look­ing not cool) than an­other lead of 3ʳᵈ ge­ne­ra­tion Trek in two seasons. She grows on me."

Mariner swallowing her pride to help Boimler grow his confidence a bit is probably the most adult thing she's done so far. I don't mean that negatively, more in that she's tries to come off as such a badass that her actually trying to help out and mentor a colleague instead of blast him when it could serve her really speaks numbers.

Good episode, enjoyed it a lot.

Also, I wonder if Jammer would ever be so inclined to post episode threads, just for discussion's sake. He doesn't need to review it but it does get kind of annoying to scroll down the the bottom of an extremely long page to see what people thought of the new episode.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Second Contact

@The Chronek

I was seeing a lot of accusations of that upthread thrown at people, that accounts they didnt recognize liked the episode were possibly/probably outside actors

I think people need to realize this is a, uh, fairly niche corner of the internet and odds of a CO-ORDINATED MARKETING ATTACK (tm) seem kinda low.

The real reason for the new faces might be, i dunno, a new Star Trek series and people looking for a place to discuss it.

CBS spending money trying to co-opt this board would be a waste of time anyways. They should know better than to think they can sway any of you curmudgeons ;p
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 11:24pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Second Contact

Frankly as far as ST pilots go its probably top 30% imo

Under "The Emissary" and "Where No Man..."

I'd put it over Caretaker, Farpoint, The Cage, and probably Broken Bow

And if nothing else it was easily the most endearing of the bunch. I think I'm sold on modern cartoon ST, even if I'm in the minority. Very excited and I wish I could just binge the series now.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 1:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Second Contact

I think some of you guys will have to come to terms that not everything is made for you. Judging this show by TNG standards doesn't make sense for a animated comedy spin-off targeted at teens and twenty-somethings.

The actual anger in here at a literal cartoon is just staggering to me. A lot of you really need to take a walk and decompress. If you don't like it, just accept it and move on as Jammer has done preemptively. The people that hate-watch these shows just to spew vitriol are letting the writers live in their heads rent-free.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 11:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: General Discussion

I think some people here are a little too invested in the "sanctity" of Star Trek. I think that's a fine standard to hold for the mainline series and there is definitely a standard of storytelling and ambition that needs to be maintain... But this is a cartoon comedy spinoff!

It may not be for you, hell it might not even be very good, but the people in here saying the producers have "crossed the line" like they've literally spat in their faces... might just have to get over themselves a bit.
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Oh man, Jammers gonna get lapped by the new episode huh. Very rare occurrence, it's like an eclipse!
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Sid

...thats a rough take there pal
Set Bookmark
Riker
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 7:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Plus most of the women I know are far more energetic and active in the world. The lack of freedom and oppression over centuries is now coming out as a huge burst of energy and creativity across public life.
Set Bookmark
Riker
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 7:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

"Why is almost every officer female (in fact even the medical staff and the other engineer is) on DIS? "

Simple - the future is female. Men have tasted power for too long and reflecting on how it served their ancestors their ambition for it is already declining and won't last much longer. Hopefully both sexes will eventually see it doesn't have much to offer, and it won't take until the 23rd century, but entertainment media is a reflection of the times and Discovery is no exception when it comes to depicting power structures.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Hmm, yeah. I'm just gonna leave this here for the overly negative people who kept predicting that Discovery wouldn't make it to Season 3:

https://deadline.com/2019/02/star-trek-discovery-renewed-season-3-cbs-all-access-michelle-paradise-alex-kurtzman-co-showrunner-1202565915/
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Brian
"Just remember, at this point in TNG we were getting masterpieces like "Elementary, Dear Data", and "A Matter of Honor".

Guest stars like Daniel Davis' Professor Moriarty.
Air-tight scripts like "A Matter of Honor" with stunning performances by Jon Frakes and the Klingon co-stars."

Hmm. I really love TNG, but I don't think I would ever call Elementary and Matter of Honor "airtight masterpieces".

Matter of Honor in particular had an unbelievably stupid Klingon captain who blamed the Enterprise for putting "space bacteria" on his ship. Sure, yeah, must've been the Enterprise. I guess he'll try to destroy the Enterprise with his one Bird of Prey, which isn't enough to take on a galaxy class. It doesn't make any sense and it is solely there to create conflict for the end. So it's not exactly "airtight". That said, I really enjoy that episode, despite it's issues.

Fans sometimes tend to put older Trek shows on a ridiculously high pedestal in order to undercut Disco. At this point, DS9 was still very much finding it's legs and Voyager felt extremely underwhelming with it's plots and character development.

Give DSC some credit where credit is due, it actually does have some reasonable arcs for it's characters. We were not getting much of that from other Trek shows in their early seasons... but then again if you don't actually like any of the Disco characters, then I guess this observation doesn't stand for much. Oh well. :P
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Yes, that is a good point, wolfstar. Dredging up the "continuing Klingon storyline" (which was the worst part of S1 for me) is not doing this show any favors...

When "Threshold" ended, it luckily was never mentioned ever again. There are no scenes where Paris has a nightmare about breaking the "warp barrier" and mating with the amphibian version of his captain... God, what a trainwreck. Where's an overly convenient Voyager reset button when we need one?
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

@Mac King - "I just wish this show would be consistently good. I'm tired of going back and forth."

I definitely see what you mean in regards to Discovery's up's and down's, but no TV show (Trek shows included) is ever consistently good.

For example, I love Game of Thrones, but Season 7 was very disappointing in terms of storytelling and character development. (That said, I'm still looking forward to Season 8.)

The great DS9 churned out what I would call garbage in some of it's best seasons - "Profit and Lace", "Let He Who Is Without Sin", etc.

Not saying we shouldn't complain or point out when a show stumbles, but the wish for a TV show to be "always good" is a bit, well, impossible.

Just interesting to see that some people seem to have less tolerance for bad/mediocre Discovery episodes. I kept watching TNG, DS9, Voyager, etc. even after seeing trash eps like "Code of Honor" and "Threshold" and, to me, Discovery still hasn't hit anything near those kinds of lows.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN
"If it was a success, they wouldn't be giving it away for free."

Yes Dave, you figured it out, that must be why they're greenlighting all of these other Trek shows. You're only seeing what you want to see and ignoring much of the warm reception for this season in these comments.

Not sure why you insist on being overly negative here when you don't tolerate that kind of belly aching over on the Orville threads... the "STD is not Trek and must die" mentality is just as tiresome as the "Orville is a lame Star Trek ripoff" mindset. These things go both ways.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Dave in MN
"Honestly, how can they spend this much an episode and still have actors/ characters who make Harry Kim and Travis Mayweather look like Shakespeare?"

Wow... seriously? I'm not big on Discovery, but none of the characters on this show are even close to the level of Travis "barely a character" Mayweather.

Also, admitting that people are enjoying the show but then selfishly wishing that it'll be cancelled soon is a bad look. It wouldn't be cool to be like that on the Orville threads and it's not cool here.
Set Bookmark
Riker's Beard
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 6:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Home

"If Alara has left, that's sad, as she was one of the best characters. Rumour has it Halston was dating Seth and they broke up. I hope this wasn't the reason she left the show. I'm not sure it will be the same without her."

Odd rumor considering their age gap, but whatever. I read that she had to leave because she took on a Netflix film gig. I guess it's up in the air on whether or not she'll be back.
Set Bookmark
Riker
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 6:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

"As someone said upthread, the problem here is that Seth isn't satirizing anything that feels real, because he's not tackling any actual Christian/Catholic beliefs so much as painting religious people as "stupid heads." "

Is he really though? The "pope" in this episode was quite intelligent when Kelly came back, and was willing to believe the evidence before his eyes to learn the truth about his religion. Would members of the Catholic clergy by so open minded if Jesus were to appear before them in similar circumstances? Highly doubtful.

At the end, it's clear that the writers portray Kelly's views that she has tainted the world with religion as flawed. The representatives from the advanced world tell her this themselves. If anything, the episode is no more an attack on religion than the idea of "cultural contamination". In this sense, it is "anti-Trek".
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.