Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 244 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 7:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

One thing stands out for me in this episode that solidify Riker as being the absolute worst Star Trek crew member *of all time*:

While testing the new proton torpedos at the start of the episode (prior to any outbreak), one veers of course. Riker orders Worf to destroy it with phasers, to which Worf replies he cannot as the torpedo is out of range. Riker, second in command to the Federation’s flagship vessel, responds with unwarranted sarcasm to Worf, “even for your ‘newly improved’ phasers?”

Now look here you little shit: Worf is not your enemy, nor did he design the prototype weapons the Federation sent to you to test. You are second in command - act like it you fucking ass.

Riker is the absolute worst.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Wed, Jul 28, 2021, 9:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Well this is a bit of an odd episode. Sure the story was interesting, but given how common it seems for Admirals to be corrupt, how can we really believe Starfleet would turn a blind eye to this technology? Sure they may lock Preston up, but make no mistake it would be a charade and the phased-cloaking device used for numerous top secret missions. If you are naive to believe in the purity of Starfleet (despite the unyielding evidence to the contrary) I’m sure there are countless humanitarian benefits to such technology as well.
Set Bookmark
O'Brien
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 9:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Easily one of my favorite episodes if only for the GIGANTIC slice of cake Gordi's chowing down on during Worf's surprise party. Seriously, dude's holding a quarter of the cake on his plate.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 8:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Did anyone catch how the kid actually died? She just ran away after the dog and then… just died? There were two parents there, how do neither of them notice both the dog and a child running away?

No wonder Luxwana repressed it - she was at fault. I hope there was a 24th century CPS around to help ensure Troi was raised safely when left with this loon all alone.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 8:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Another nonsense and insignificant Luxwana-Troi episode that does nothing to advance the series especially this late into the show.

This episode does inspire me to look at all episodes centred around a specific character and the respective IMDB scores. I would not be surprised if Troy’s episodes were averaged at the rock bottom of that list.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 9:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Data: “hey viewers, want to hear the most annoying sound in the world?”
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Thu, Jul 22, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Imagine giving Interface 3 stars, and Gambit 2.5 stars. Confounding.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Tue, Jul 20, 2021, 7:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Three stars. What a joke.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Tue, Jul 20, 2021, 7:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Interface

What a stupid fucking episode. Geordi suggests a warp drive accident could have warped the Harrah to the planet, and has to convince his crew of the possibility. Naturally his crew mates are unconvinced because warp drive shenanigans are impossible! EXCEPT THIS EXACT THING HAS HAPPENED TO THE ENTERPRISE NO LESS THAN THREE TIMES! Does everyone simply “forget” they’ve been shot through space untold distances because someone was fucking around with the warp core? Jesus Christ this one is painful to watch.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 2:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

And to answer the question above as to why Troi was absent: TROI IS ALWAYS MISSING when a plot could be easily resolved by her presence. She’s only around when she’s pointless.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 2:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

One and a half stars is mighty generous for this train wreck of an episode. McFadden is nowhere near capable enough to carry an episode, and her obvious reading off a script for the voice-over narration was abysmal. The flashback structure was cringeworthy at best as Crusher goes into pointlessly mundane background to answer Guinan’s innocent question of “tell me what happened”.

This is literally only the second episode I skipped forward through due to how awful it was - Shades of Gray being the other. That’s how bad this was. ZERO STARS.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Mon, Jul 12, 2021, 12:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Yawn. I expected better from a two-parter.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Thu, Jul 8, 2021, 11:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

P.S. it was OBVIOUSLY the dog. There is no reason for a fucking *dog* to be in a TNG episode, people.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Thu, Jul 8, 2021, 11:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

This episode is yet another example of TNG’s core failings: establishing a premise based on an advanced society exploring the unknown, yet having absolutely zero protocols for addressing the unknown.

Crew members are suspiciously becoming sick? Let’s muse on it for a few days. Crew all experiencing nightmares? Let’s double down on the counselling and not tell senior officers. A shape shifting entity is discovered on a space station? Let’s ignore a third of the life forms on that station.

It’s downright baffling how *stupid* this crew is when the unknown occurs when their sole mission is to discover that same unknown. SO MANY EPISODES could have ended far sooner with simple protocols to raise awareness to unexplained events happening on the ship.
Set Bookmark
Chief O’Brien
Fri, Jun 25, 2021, 4:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

Great episode. All that was missing was a post credit scene of Dr. Crusher sleeping soundly while the Borg carried on destroying countless civilizations.
Set Bookmark
Chief O’Brien
Thu, Jun 24, 2021, 7:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Why didn’t they just let her hang out with all the women on the ship? Why was an Android chaperone the solution? This is an exceptionally sexist episode not just because of the sex trafficking, but also because the episode quickly ignores the fact that there are 100s on women on the Enterprise, including trained security officers, who could have kept the metamorph company.
Set Bookmark
Chief O’Brien
Thu, Jun 24, 2021, 2:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

@Jay - because all he had was face make-up. Anything lower than the neck would have been too complicated for a 5-second shot so they had him show only his head.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Violations

As soon as I finished this train wreck of an episode I rushed to this site certain Jammer was going to be giving it something higher than the 1 star it deserves. Sure enough, 2.5/4. Garbage site.
Set Bookmark
Garak’s friend Elim
Tue, Jun 15, 2021, 8:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

This one just came up again in a rewatch. I’ve always liked it, but this time it feels especially poignant as I’m separated from my own father due to this accursed virus. I don’t know if I will get to see him again in his lifetime.

The dedication hits me like a punch to the gut every time. “For my father, who’s coming home”.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 6:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

3.5 at least. I wouldn’t argue with a 4. What’s wrong with the guy rating these episodes?

I will note this episode is a perfect example of why Riker is the worst character in all of TNG. Abrasive, unreasonable, obstructive. An all around ass. TNG would have been a much better series without him.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Trash episode only saved by its comedy.

Guinan saying to Data “don’t look at me!” when he was asking for advice about Android on Human relationships, and Data immediately adverting his gaze, has got to be the funniest thing I’ve seen in TNG (that and those hilariously awful shape shifting creature costumes from S1).

Data’s sick dis at the end was also epic. “Are we no longer a couple?” “Then I will delete your program.” LOL
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Sun, Jun 6, 2021, 8:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

@Peter G. - You just realized that all by yourself, did you? Came to you all of a sudden? Some sort of epiphany, was it? Not, say, from when Luxawana Troi MAKES THAT SAME GOD DAMN OBSERVATION IN THE SHOW?
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Sat, Jun 5, 2021, 11:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

What kind of cantankerous old coot do you need to be to rate this episode one star?
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 7:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

The highlight of the episode for me was when Riker and Picard are in the turbo lift, and Riker admits needing to hold back from snapping at people.

Does Riker not watch the fucking show? Every other line of dialogue is him unnecessarily yelling at someone. I can’t imagine what “holding back” looks like to that buffoon.
Set Bookmark
O’Brien
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

Did anybody else find it odd that when Riker and Warf went to the holodeck to find Geordi, they ran into the simulation to look around instead of simply stating “end program”?
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.