Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 332 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 6:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Mal

That's an interesting read. Before we're too harsh, we should consider that there's some sense to Paramount's decision. I've read up on TNG's history, as well. TNG too was created because Paramount didn't want to pay the TOS actors huge salaries (instead they promised them the movie franchise). Thanks to that similar studio decision, we got the TNG tv series we now all love.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Found at Quark reference at 15:54. I guess at least he’s thriving after the collapse of the neutral zone. :-)
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 1:38am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"The critiques here from folks who never learned anything from Trek and ought to be in line for their next Trump Nuremberg rally right now is bountiful. I seriously don’t know what series you wackos have followed for decades, but it sure as shit isn’t Star Trek."

Personal attacks. Nice.

If you like Kurtzman-Trek, enjoy. It's insipid, forgettable pablum, but enjoy.

For the firs 25-30 years of its existence, Trek had a guiding vision. Was it always a high quality product? No, but it was a unique intellectual property. Now, it's been turned into a generic action series with generic characters chasing a generic macguffin. Again: I'll pass.

Trek has been in the gutter since 2009.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"Finally, Roddenberry's dream of a drug-filled, vulgar, income inequality laden, xenophobic future has been realized! "

THANK YOU for saying this.

Star Trek did its version of Babylon 5 with Deep Space Nine;
Star Trek did its version of Lost in Space with Voyager; and now we get Star Trek doing its version of Firefly with Picard. I'll pass.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

"This is somewhat more difficult for me, because reviewing chapters of a book makes it hard to know if what I'm critiquing is adequately informed by what might be just around the corner."

Jammer, is your aversion to serialized storytelling the reason (or one of the reasons) why you don't want to review "Babylon 5"?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Though I get the swearing criticism because it's different, did you people above actually watch TOS/TNG when you were 10? Some of those episodes have some serious nightmare fuel for young kids. "Where Silence Has Lease" immediately comes to mind. Swearing isn't the only thing you shouldn't show children, you know?

I thought this episode was fine, though somewhat predictable. It had a good structure, like @Karl Zimmerman points out. Most of the conversations seemed more natural than previous episodes, so perhaps Frakes did change things up.

My favorite part was Picard knocking down the "Romulans Only" sign and sitting down asking for a menu. I don't think he really meant to start a fight, he just wanted to show by example that humans and Romulans can coexist without segregation. Obviously, the thugs at the restaurant didn't buy his sentiment, but the apology he gave to other Romulans felt real and is the meat of why Picard wanted to come to Vashti.

As a stand-alone story, the mechanics of the episode work very well, although I do share the sentiment that they need to get the real plot with Maddox going soon.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@Late to Party Girl/wintersun1927

“They have him "fighting" here and on the rooftop when Dahj was killed he just stood still. He's 80 FFS - let's be reasonable.”

In the 24th century, 80 is a little over middle-aged for a human. You may remember, Leonard McCoy lives to be 137 and see the Enterprise D’s maiden voyage. Thus, Picard should be more physically able than an 80-year-old of our time. I think the mental syndromes they give Picard is in part an attempt to explain why Picard is acting more out of it than a person of his relatively middle age should be.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

"Mccoy was a total racist!"

He did refer to Spock as a "green-blooded hobgoblin" and similar names at various times, showing prejudice towards Vulcans. It seems that Roddenberry didn't want to ignore racism and say it didn't exist anymore. Rather, he wanted it out there in front of us so we could see characters like Bones learn to deal with it.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Others have mentioned this, but the Starfleet HQ scene with Picard was actually the best part of the episode. You have to love how Stewart plays Picard as if he owns the joint, what with him getting irked when security doesn’t recognize him by face. Then when he asks for a starship but realizes that he’s such a big deal that demotion to merely captain would sweeten the deal.

Still, Picard really does deserve to be honored like Kirk was. I hope this season ends apologetically with these Starfleet officers kicking themselves for not listening to Picard while they could.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 10:07am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Trek reflects the times. You see a lot more Cold War stories in TOS/TNG than you ever see in Voyager. If the writers want to comment on terrorism and immigration in Trek, they need to set up some conflict in the Trekverse that’s similar. It’s not like Star Wars where it’s all fantasy - Trek by nature is interested in talking about current events through allegory.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Did anyone notice Seven was sleeping in a bed before Harry came in and woke her up? That was weird; it must have been one of those Borg regeneration mattresses.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 6:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

I love this episode because of Jeri Ryan’s portrayal of the Doctor. She was hilarious, enjoying those prison rations!
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

The discussion here about B’lanna being raped is interesting. There was an episode of Law and Order SVU where, basically, a bunch of rich moms were sleeping with some guy that misrepresented himself as some person of influence of a fancy pants school everyone wanted to get into, and they were deciding if that was rape, because the women didn’t say no. I forgot how they ended the episode (sorry). So if you lie about who you are and someone sleeps with you based on this identity, is that rape? People lie all the time. There was also an episode in DS9 where Sisko represented himself as Dark Universe Sisko, and was with Dark Universe Dax, which I also thought was messed up.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

From what I remember in college, I'm pretty sure Chrome is right on this but keep in mind this episode is dealing with an altered past. In this new past, the U.S. was not making efforts to take down the uranium-carrying submarines or getting the major brain drain of scientists. If you follow the events in the manner CotEoF details, a stronger Germany would indeed be in a much better situation to develop the atom bomb without American interference, regardless of what progress they made in the "correct" past.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Jan 2, 2020, 8:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Haneek: “Hi, we are the Skrreeans. We are refugees from the other side of the wormhole. Can you help us?”

Kira: “Of course! We found 3 million of your people in the Delta quadrant and they’re on their way. Please make yourself at home on the station while you wait. Here’s some food, and that dress you saw in the window that I thought you liked. And guess what? We found a whole planet in our galaxy that you can settle on. Our gift to you!”

(30 minutes later)

Haneek: “OK. Peace out assholes. We’re outta here. And fuck you very much losers. Don’t call. Don’t text. Don’t contact me in any way.”
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Dec 19, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Beltran’s acting is so bad in this episode, it’s distracting to the point where there is no possible way to enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Viacom's Web Assault

So what’s the deal with Control? April Fools in December?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 30, 2019, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

I’ve always felt that Sisko was projecting the anger and betrayal he felt about Kasidy Yates onto Eddington.

Remember, she was a horrible horrible person. First she was like “a big step? That’s all you have to say?” as she was planning to move her smuggling operation onto the station. She asked Sisko for special favors to avoid a “health inspection” to ensure a meeting time with the Maquis. And when she was caught, she says “I’m not going to stand here and apologize.” And then when she came back to the station after incarceration, she got all bitchy again right away. Meanwhile, Sisko keeps cooking and wasting his nonreplicated veggies on this ingrate.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

Late to the party, but would like to comment that "plexing" may be related to vagal maneuvers / carotid sinus massage, which does slow the heart rate.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

Good episode but...

...I couldn’t really get THAT into it because I just don’t buy that Ghemor and Kira are as close as father and daughter; it’s pretty ridiculous tbh.

The whole sharing of Cardassian secrets thing was a stretch too; apparently these secrets can only be shared verbally, face-to-face while experiencing severe mortal pain. Ghemor is such a drama queen.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

TNG - pregnant Ogawa is the cure

VOY- pregnant Torres is the cure

DS9 - pregnant Ekoria is the cure

Who was the pregnant elixir on Enterprise?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Worf: “I raised Alexander”

Really Worf?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I think the newer wiser Odo should have got in the Defiant with the original Odo and flown into the anomaly. They could keep doing this over and over again every 200 years, increasing the number of Odos exponentially until they have enough to create a Great Link that would rival the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 2:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Agree with Vladimir. Pah Wraith Keiko was hardly different than Fine I’ll Wear The Red Dress Keiko. You would think as a botanist, she would grow some choice plants that may put her in a better mood.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Jammer's aside that DS9 was deeper than TNG is an interesting point. I disagree. But, on that same track, I think TNG (and TOS) were a lot more fun and inspiring. I could practically anyone into TNG (and Firefly), but I've found DS9 one of the hardest sells ever. The show is DARK. One could tally how many titles of the episodes features the words, "Blood", "Death", or "Darkness" and other negative sounding titles. How many episodes are centered around war, death, cruelty, terrorism and things of that nature. How many episodes use the Ferengi as the only things to lighten the proceedings in a in a ham fisted way. DS9 is a mature television, but it's not escapist entertainment.
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.