Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,044 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 42
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Roga Danar? Get the f*** out of my face with that."--Ensign Mariner
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Sep 24, 2020, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I can't believe they've actually made a good Star Trek series in the 21st century! Lower Decks really surprised me. I was all set to hate it, but it's grown on me. The humor is cute and chuckle-worthy. Is it Rick and Morty-level good? By no means, but it's actually respectful of the Trek mythos which Star Trek: Discovery and Star Trek: Picard can't begin to claim. The newest episode, "Veritas" is delightful. (With an awesome special guest star)

Jammer, I hope you get a chance to watch this show. It's delightful.
Set Bookmark
Rick C.
Sun, Aug 16, 2020, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Strange New World

This is a fun episode to watch all these years later. I like these early episodes of Enterprise. It's fun to sort of get a look at what it would be like for our first Warp 5 ship out there exploring. What fun that would be, and what a big leap for humanity.

In the episode, presumably using the Vulcan star charts, they stumble onto this planet, no one knew it was there. But Earth is still pretty close, one of the crewmembers pointed out the sun in the night sky during the campout. A nice moment by the way!

What they didn't know then and we know now from Kepler and Tess is we're already mapping the sky. If, in real life, we did launch a warp 5 ship 130 years from now, by then we'll know where (mostly) everything is out there, at least in our stellar neighborhood. Archer and company would already have a big list of "habitable" planets to investigate before leaving on their mission. This planet would have more than likely been on the list.


As for the episode itself, I had no problem with Archer going down to the planet. I agree, if we just want probes to investigate why send starships at all? Yes, I'll concede he could have done more surveys before going down and letting crewmembers "pitch a tent". In reality he more than likely would have, but we have to remember this is only television and we only have an hour!

Also, on the topic of pointing out our Sun in the alien night sky on the campout, it was a nice touch to have Archer point out the alien star back on Earth in season 4.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Trek has been soulless and visionless since 2009.

It hasn't been a major cultural force since 1996.

I don't see a turnaround here, sadly.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

In our current age of political polarization, I am not surprised that some people love this episode and others hate it. I loved this episode. I thought it was hilarious and was laughing all the way through.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Great show but one of my complaints here is how much the changelings can take different forms. Seriously?? Fog and fire?? How can they give off heat and light as fire without losing mass? Also in the opening scene when Lass was bigger than the shuttle or when Odo becomes as small as a bird in other episodes. They should have limited the changelings to physical sizes comparable to their volume and not be able to become “energy forms” such as fire.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Worf really got on my nerves in this one, especially in the Dr Bashir scene. Seriously, why isn’t this guy ever charged with assault and removed from Starfleet. It’s not the first time he puts his hands on a fellow officer. Everyone always tries to appease Worf and and all the Klingons. In fact, I hate the Klingons. The only one I liked was Martok, and even he got my nerves occasionally.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Lol how many time must Quark be in financial trouble. I guess he isn’t a good businessman. He doesn’t even pay rent or maintenance.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Rewatching this now and Dr. Bashir really got on my nerves here. He was being extremely rude to his father.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

On rewatch, hard to stay too engaged while watching. Nothing really negative to say other than that it is basically scaffolding for some good though unnecessary bits. I'm watching the credits now, and I actually really like this reworked version of the theme song. This is oddly my favorite part of the Plan now.

2.5 seems right, though on the lower end.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Some comments on the series as a whole on rewatch:

-Tricia Helfer really is a good actress, and it only took the writers until seeing her work in Pegasus to open up the opportunities she got in seasons 3 and 4

-BSG has always been my favorite show, but it was even better than I remembered. Watching it as it aired I think let me develop a lot of expectations and fears around being let down and such. Issues like the reduction of cylon/hybrid babies, for example, were a bigger issue for me at the time. And really, those bumps really aren't big deals if you take the pressure I placed as a rabid viewer off

-I've regarded season 4 as the best, but in my mind it was like 4.0 was perfect and 4.5 had a lot of amazing but also issues and grinding gears. On rewatch, perhaps 4.0 is better simply because its floor episode-quality was higher, but 4.5 probably has even more high points, a lot of beauty and poignancy in its few episodes, and (as mentioned) issues like the children or not enough aftermath from the mutiny really didn't bother me the way I feared they might.

-I'd rank seasons: 4,1,2,3 I suppose. Season three is hard to rank because the opening and closing arcs are possibly the high points of the show, and new caprica reverberates throughout in ways that elevate lesser episodes. But the middle goes so long without a standout, has a few clunkers, and even the good episodes have some issue or other.

My thoughts on the best episodes:

1. Tie: Crossroads and Sometimes a Great Notion
3. Maelstrom
4. Occupation/Precipice
5. Kobol's Last Gleaming
6. Revelations
7. Pegasus
8. Exodus part 2
9. 33
10. The Oath? Downloaded? Daybreak? Coming to Dinner? Home?
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Nice to have a rewatch buddy!

Just finished Daybreak all in one go. It's really quite beautiful and I think its best moments are the ones it takes for characters and imagery over plot. Watched as a whole, part 1 is a seamlessly satisfying part of the whole.

I do have to admit racetrack's hand of god nuking was a bit much, and unnecessary. Similarly, Gaius sayinf at least twice that clearly there is a "god" whatever that is--- I believe that is true for this universe, and I believe Baltar has come to believe, yet somehow it came across a bit like Moore trying to speak to the audience. Not needed.

Finally, as much as I have tried to get on board with it in the past, I cannot buy the decision (especially so swift and easy) to settle earth in the way they do. It's to the episode's credit that this last issue doesn't actually hurt it as much as it could. The series as plot is over once they jump to earth, and for me the rest is just providing a setting for goodbyes and nice character moments. A setting where the images of hope and life matter more than the logic. And the quick decision is itself a thorn in my side watching, that speed lets us have 2 full acts to make various goodbyes with the time they deserve. By the end of the episode, I no longer care about that thorny issue, and I'm just really satisfied with the character endings it provided.

I also like the flashbacks more each time I watch.

And that flash forward to present and All Along the Watchtower robotics montage is the perfect way to end the show.

3.5 for the whole, but a rating for a single 3 hour episode that serves as the finale is hard to do. In a lot of ways this is 4 stars and among the very best of battlestar. It's just difficult to maintain that for 3 continuous hours, and when *everything* must be addressed and you can't funnel off the clunkier bits to lesser episodes (see Deadlock).

I love the way the finale leaves me feeling, and leaves me feeling about characters and the show in particular.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Like Matthew Martin, I've been rewatching during the pandemic (I've stretched it over 4 weeks though!) and I would echo his entire post

For me this is a really strong 3 star episode, and I'd give the other half star to the Oath.

Boomer is an endlessly fascinating character each time we catch up with her. She is torn apart by feelings of betrayal by the Cylons (for discovering she IS a cylon) and by the humans (for killing her etc). She copes by trying to cling being human (Downloaded) or by going hard on loyalty with the old
line Cavil group after none of that works (like with New Caprica). Here at the end, she's still convulsing across all these loyalties and betrayals outside and within herself. She's really quite broken, and I have appreciated the mess in contrast to Athena or the Final Five in reconcling (with effort and struggle) who they are. Not everyone in every situation can.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

On rewatch, I like this episode a lot more than I remembered. I had built it up in my head as the one (though huge) flaw in the fourth season. In retrospect, the biggest issue was my expectations.

I actually really like the characterization of Ellen in this episode now. I see more nuance as she struggles (failingly) to be the Revered Final Fiver of No Exit despite circumstances triggering all the Ellen defects of character. To me, it's a great expression of how human and fallible these revered ones are. And I like the circumstances of Ellen's life can produce versions of her from early on in the show as well as the new Ellen with all her experience and memories-- and yet all parts are in her, waiting to be triggered under the issues of love and Saul that really get her. She can handle all the loss and Cavil's actions in about the best way possible, but when it comes to this one ever-trouble area, it all flares up (even as she tries to maintain the exterior). I also like that when Ellen votes to go with the Cylons and that pure cylon is the way to go, she is doing it for the "petty and vile" "human" defects---Saul is right that human or cylon alone is no good, and together is better and they can temper each other.

I also liked Baltar's story and the rest of the episode fine.

I don't know that the loss of the baby now reads as an appropriate development, but I don't have any objections to it now. A little distance from my expectations at the time, and kind of 180 on my reaction to Ellen this episode... and I do like this episode lot more.

Not to say the episode is entirely successful or without issues. 2.5 I think. Definitely better than Black Market, Passage, Day in the Life, and Hero (setting aside Tigh's scenes there).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

3.5 from me. Yeah, it doesn't have the space to address all the fallout and remaining mess. Yes, that is a bit of a mark against the season. But the episode itself is really strong. I can buy that this all exploded suddenly and, to an extend, ends as quickly as it came (all in a matter of hours) and that a lot of traitors were swept up before realizing the real consequences and mess of it all (like Kelly).

I am behind Zarek shooting the Quorom. It's in him and he's been constantly frustrated with Gaeta not just killing Adama immediately (even in part 1) and the dangers in letting those of the former authority remain. Also, I think there is a distinction between the Quorom and the People-- I don't see an issue with Tom killing them and still fighting to persuade the people. Indeed, they are part of the old regime and seem to remain loyal there. Let the people have new representatives who stand for them rather than Roslin. Not a smart move, but one that I think makes sense for Zarek as he digs himself deeper to dig himself out.

And Roslin yelling. Amazing.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

On rewatch, I'd give this 4 stars. Watching seasons 3 and 4 knowing where Gaeta winds up here has made it seem
incredibly inevitable-- some serious steady character work and fulfillment here. I also loved the touch of Gaeta sitting down and frakkin with starbuck in the mess hall like she did in Collaborators. Both stained and untrusted outsiders at the time.

I always smile and chuckle when Roslin says "Frakking Zarek- he always had dangerous ideas!" I mean, yes...
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

I don't know if this is 2.5 or 3 stars for me, but I know I always like it and appreciate the breathing room to linger on some of the things Jammer notes as issues. In my mind it's a bit like Final Cut-- I always enjoy it, there are some really good moments, nothing really bad. But don't have to go to the mat for it either.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

On rewatch, the Romo confrontation still makes me groan but the rest is good. I really like that when Adama handed things over to Tigh, he told Tigh to let Athena have her daughter back. He's done with the bullshit separating people from their sine qua nons.
Set Bookmark
Richard Nollman
Mon, Jun 8, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

My main reaction is: Give me a break. Beverly is going to have sex with Riker.. What no one seems to mention is that Riker still seems to be Riker.

As a doctor, she would not allow herself to have sex with a patient under the circumstances presented in this episode. Picard certainly would not allow it if he found out and would severely reprimand the doctor and possible take away her license to practice medicine.

The fact that Beverly knows that having sex with Riker would be a HUGE issue between Riker and herself as they are very close friends. I cannot even begin to imagine that Riker himself would allow that to happen and if he had known that was a possibility would not have made sure that Beverly would not have any sexual contact with his body.

RIker , as I see the character, is a man of principle and would see Beverly's willingness to have sex with his body and not his mind as serious violation of his trust -- not to mention the problems that Troi would have with the encounter.

It is also ridiculous to assume that she could enjoy making love to the physical Riker. I mean what if it was her brother who was the temporary host or her father or Worf, for that matter, what is the likelihood that she would even be interested in having sex with him?

And it was never clear to me that the character of Odin was present in Riker's body. It was always Riker acting as Riker. Odin had, IMHO, already disappeared. It was a stretch for me to believe that Odin was really speaking through Riker.

And then the idea that the disgusting looking organism really was Odin before he died would have disgusted Beverly. That is what she was making love to or falling back in love with? Give me a break! I mean, she actually opened up Odin and took this thing out of him. And them she placed it inside Riker. How could she imagine that making love to IT. I mean, a real person would want to vomit. I just don't see her getting sexually aroused. Just imagine making love to a woman or man knowing that they are really this slimey alien thing.

I also did not buy the idea that her love for Odin was still percolating once she knew the facts. KIssing Riker and believing it was the idea of Odin, knowing that Odin was really this slimey alient thing.

I could live with the fact that Odin lied to Beverly and tried to pass it off with a stupid argument.

And then, Troi, as ship's counselor is telling Beverly that it is ok to fall back in love with the Riker/host new combo. That is ridiculous in itself. As a professional, her job would be warn Beverly to tread very carefully and make sure that she does not violate Riker by having any physical relationship with him. It all stinks to high heaven. Her advice to Beverly should have been, let it go. Beverly's first reaction was the most believable one, and the conflict seems very much contrived.

And the comments on the fact the SNG treats the host as just a shell is so inferior to the way it is handled in DS9.

I laughed when Beverly, expecting a male host, is treated, instead to a gorgeous female host. Beverly, you got what is coming to you! i liked that part of the episode the best.

If I were the writers, I would eliminate the scene where Beverly decides to have sex with Riker and change the dynamic. What would be a lot more interesting would be to expand on the new host role. Beverly, now confronts Odin as a beautiful female and has to deal with the possibility of falling in low with her.

Her struggles with her own sexuality would be refreshing. And if she chose to continue her relationship with the female, then the risk of the host dying would not be a problem. Another host could be an attractive male or female, a nice opportunity for a new exploration of her sexuality. Not possible at the time, but now, I think it would be well-received.

Imagine how interesting it would be have a new character join the crew. Just think about how much the addition of Terry Fallon to DS9 improved the show. I loved Fallon and the fact that of all the crew members, she chose Worf. Definitely better writers in DS9 (IMHO). Just imagine Picard's reaction if Beverly chose a female as a mate. Wow!
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

On rewatch, very enjoyable and solid. I didn't find the redundant nature to be a negative, because to me that was just scaffolding for seeing characters to make choices that are fleshed out here. I watched the extended version, which has longer segments flashing back to the first war-- this created some difficulty in keeping the emphasis on Cain and Pegasus (by the end, it felt like it wasn't really the main story at all-- which is ok, because all the other material
was good) and the time switching could be a little disruptive. Actually, taking the pressure off of this as The Pegasus/Cain Story and giving more material to the interesting present day (and first cylon war bit with Adama) was kind of a good thing-- I didn't feel like I needed more from Pegasus/Cain. Also, removing pressure of being the only content btwn seasons 3 and 4 and rewatching this as just a kind of Bonus... well, it helped too.

Strong 3.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Correction, the Bruce Coville novel is: "My Teacher Fried my brain"
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

One thing that I always wondered about this episode... if the aliens are able to turn members of species they've never met into temporary super-geniuses, does that mean they're all even more impressive super-geniuses themselves? Just how advanced are they? Charles Stross's "Singularity Sky" and "Accelerando" comes to mind. Also Bruce Coville's "Aliens fried my brain" to a lesser extent.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Lol evidently I made almost the exact same comment 12 years ago...
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

The whole episode is amazing, but the final act is start to finish the most exciting chunk of television I have ever seen.

Saul Tigh becomes my favorite character from now til the end of the show (and he was so good all season).
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Also, I saw the quick changes of mind by Roslin and Adama as essentially they agreed with Tyrol’s points, but they could not give credence to strike as legitimate. So once they got him to back down first, get that token win, they proceeded to address the issues like the rational people they are.
Next ►Page 1 of 42
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.