Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 915 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 37
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

From what I remember in college, I'm pretty sure Chrome is right on this but keep in mind this episode is dealing with an altered past. In this new past, the U.S. was not making efforts to take down the uranium-carrying submarines or getting the major brain drain of scientists. If you follow the events in the manner CotEoF details, a stronger Germany would indeed be in a much better situation to develop the atom bomb without American interference, regardless of what progress they made in the "correct" past.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Jan 2, 2020, 8:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Haneek: “Hi, we are the Skrreeans. We are refugees from the other side of the wormhole. Can you help us?”

Kira: “Of course! We found 3 million of your people in the Delta quadrant and they’re on their way. Please make yourself at home on the station while you wait. Here’s some food, and that dress you saw in the window that I thought you liked. And guess what? We found a whole planet in our galaxy that you can settle on. Our gift to you!”

(30 minutes later)

Haneek: “OK. Peace out assholes. We’re outta here. And fuck you very much losers. Don’t call. Don’t text. Don’t contact me in any way.”
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Dec 19, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Beltran’s acting is so bad in this episode, it’s distracting to the point where there is no possible way to enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Viacom's Web Assault

So what’s the deal with Control? April Fools in December?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 30, 2019, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

I’ve always felt that Sisko was projecting the anger and betrayal he felt about Kasidy Yates onto Eddington.

Remember, she was a horrible horrible person. First she was like “a big step? That’s all you have to say?” as she was planning to move her smuggling operation onto the station. She asked Sisko for special favors to avoid a “health inspection” to ensure a meeting time with the Maquis. And when she was caught, she says “I’m not going to stand here and apologize.” And then when she came back to the station after incarceration, she got all bitchy again right away. Meanwhile, Sisko keeps cooking and wasting his nonreplicated veggies on this ingrate.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

Late to the party, but would like to comment that "plexing" may be related to vagal maneuvers / carotid sinus massage, which does slow the heart rate.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Oct 4, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

So the time capsule was taken from Saratoga Springs, New York, and instead of opening it there, they launch it into space, then open it on the Orville? Why?
Set Bookmark
Ulrich P.
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I'm pretty shocked by the high rating.

I'm on a TNG rewatch right now and this has been the first episode I skipped after 5 = 10 minutes. There have been others I somewhat fast forwarded through but not outright skipped.

I have the feeling this episode gets more grating to me with every rewatch.

I'm at a point now where I actively loathe it. Compared to it I'm even watching forward to "Shades of Grey"...
Set Bookmark
Eric
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 2:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Seeing those other union ships get blown up, reminds me of why it's always bugged me that TNG had children on board, and that the Orville carried on that tradition.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I was getting a fashy vibe from those grey uniforms in the opening scene... I knew we were dealing with a society with messed up beliefs.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I don't think a planet with gravity that high would ever evolve advanced intelligent life, and that kind of takes me out of it.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, Aug 27, 2019, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Hi Peter,

Gosh I never expected such a rapid response!

Of course, you can see such a mission as the ultimate heroism- but not everybody feels the same way at all and they may have quite different career aspirations. The way this was gone about was not an upfront request for volunteers, giving the option to refuse. Her arm was twisted, quite literally.

She certainly wanted to serve Star Fleet, but she was given the impression this was the only way. That's not really fair play.

Similarly her family; if I were her family getting her full report the past week before she heads off, I'd quite possibly want an Industrial Tribunal to take a close look at the circumstances - assuming such institutions still exist and Nepotism hasn't just run amok!
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, Aug 27, 2019, 12:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I thought the manipulation of Sito by the Command on the Enterprise was appalling.

Having believed she's up for promotion, Picard suddenly calls her in and demolishes her for past misdemeanours one would presume overlooked or punishment inflicted.

Wesley was guilty of these same misdemeanours, but he's still the Captain's favourite ensign. He just got a private dressing down, because Nepotism is apparently alive and very much Kicking in the Twenty-Fourth Century. Rather disappointing. Sito of course, hasn't family in senior ranks.

Worf then goes on to fling the poor blindfolded girl, less than half his size, around an exercise room on the flimsiest of pretexts.

Apparently everyone wants her to speak up for herself, so they have selected this abusive procedure to do so. Yes it's a supposedly military vessel but she's well past basic training.

Having virtually broken her spirit, she is given a chance for redemption- a virtual suicide mission.

When she (not surprisingly) doesn't come back, she gets a Eulogy from Capt. Picard. Such a comfort for her, and presumably her family as they try to enlist lawyers to investigate the circumstances of her demise.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

Good episode but...

...I couldn’t really get THAT into it because I just don’t buy that Ghemor and Kira are as close as father and daughter; it’s pretty ridiculous tbh.

The whole sharing of Cardassian secrets thing was a stretch too; apparently these secrets can only be shared verbally, face-to-face while experiencing severe mortal pain. Ghemor is such a drama queen.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

TNG - pregnant Ogawa is the cure

VOY- pregnant Torres is the cure

DS9 - pregnant Ekoria is the cure

Who was the pregnant elixir on Enterprise?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Worf: “I raised Alexander”

Really Worf?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I think the newer wiser Odo should have got in the Defiant with the original Odo and flown into the anomaly. They could keep doing this over and over again every 200 years, increasing the number of Odos exponentially until they have enough to create a Great Link that would rival the Dominion.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 2:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Agree with Vladimir. Pah Wraith Keiko was hardly different than Fine I’ll Wear The Red Dress Keiko. You would think as a botanist, she would grow some choice plants that may put her in a better mood.
Set Bookmark
Jericho Drakane
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

No appreciation for Admiral Forrest in the comments? Seriously, I think that this guy gives Ross a run for his money for best Admiral in a Trek TV show.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Rom was more annoying than usual in this one. Seriously, can’t even throw a ball?? I just wish there was an episode where Rom would get shot by the Jem’hadar with anticoagulant rifle and die slowly like Quique Muñiz in episode “Starship Down”.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I seriously hate how everyone has to accommodate Worf’s or the Klingons’ feelings/culture/customs etc... Worf should’ve been charged with assault. Who cares what Worf wants, if Julian wants to tap that a**, then he can. Afterwards, O’Brian goes to see “what’s bothering Worf” to make him feel better. Chief!! Worf just assaulted your best mate.
Set Bookmark
Cetric
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 2:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Unnoticed yet:
This episode seems to be the first which introduced the closing pun among crew (Kirk and McCoy mostly) usually aiming at Spock, which became a feature in many episodes. So this is significant for the chemistry thing TOS is famous for, among other things.
Also enjoyable dry remarks of Spock to Kirk: the moment he tells Kirk he's supposed to go on shore leave, as has been honored already in comments here. And when he shows up after Kirk is done with beating up Finnegan, standing there at a distance and asking Kirk "Did you enjoy it?" Priceless.
--
Too bad they did not establish Yeoman Barrows as a new regular cast member. More sexy than Rand for sure.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Jammer's aside that DS9 was deeper than TNG is an interesting point. I disagree. But, on that same track, I think TNG (and TOS) were a lot more fun and inspiring. I could practically anyone into TNG (and Firefly), but I've found DS9 one of the hardest sells ever. The show is DARK. One could tally how many titles of the episodes features the words, "Blood", "Death", or "Darkness" and other negative sounding titles. How many episodes are centered around war, death, cruelty, terrorism and things of that nature. How many episodes use the Ferengi as the only things to lighten the proceedings in a in a ham fisted way. DS9 is a mature television, but it's not escapist entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Rick S
Tue, May 21, 2019, 9:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I just saw this episode and was blown away by how relevant it is to these modern times. Perhaps my favorite episode of Trek for me so far (TNG, now DS9). Wow.
Set Bookmark
Maverick
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wow... it's been a while since i don't post anything here.
Been watching Discovery and coming here (most times a little late) to see peoples reactions and points of view on the series.
I just realized watching the last 3 episodes whats Discovery seems to be for me: It's Enterprise on steroids.
I started getting interested in trek when a was about 10 to 12 yo, thanks to my father who loved the TOS movies. After wathing all, some years later a begin watching in that order: TNG, DS9, VOY, TOS e ENT. On every single incarnation of trek, I can point my favorite episode, i remember them in detail. Same happens with the worst of every series, except Enterprise. I enjoy the show, but i've never took a single outstanding moment from that. Never had a absolute favorite or absolute worst. Everything was kind of in between. A can't remember a single episode in detail. And mind that I've just finished watching ENT about 4 years ago. Now, Discovery gave me the exactly same feeling. I just finished watching the damn thing and i can't remember any relevant detail from 5 episodes ago (I can't even remember witch was that episode). I never rush to watch the just-released episodes (I live in Brazil, and we receive them via Netflix with 1 day delay). Theres no excitement or expectations. It was just mildly entertaining. I'll admit i just love this incarnation of capt. Pike. That was the outstanding moment of the series, and i wish they could keep with the enterprise instead of following Discovery in the future. I'll also bet that they'll problably won't last more than 4 seasons, as Enterprise, because there's little "real trek" content to keep fans interested.
All that said, i still pretend to watch it till it ends, and, just as Enterprise, with just enough curiosity and wonderment to keep me going.
Next ►Page 1 of 37
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.