Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 894 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 36
Set Bookmark
Cetric
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Unnoticed yet:
This episode seems to be the first which introduced the closing pun among crew (Kirk and McCoy mostly) usually aiming at Spock, which became a feature in many episodes. So this is significant for the chemistry thing TOS is famous for, among other things.
Also enjoyable dry remarks of Spock to Kirk: the moment he tells Kirk he's supposed to go on shore leave, as has been honored already in comments here. And when he shows up after Kirk is done with beating up Finnegan, standing there at a distance and asking Kirk "Did you enjoy it?" Priceless.
--
Too bad they did not establish Yeoman Barrows as a new regular cast member. More sexy than Rand for sure.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Jammer's aside that DS9 was deeper than TNG is an interesting point. I disagree. But, on that same track, I think TNG (and TOS) were a lot more fun and inspiring. I could practically anyone into TNG (and Firefly), but I've found DS9 one of the hardest sells ever. The show is DARK. One could tally how many titles of the episodes features the words, "Blood", "Death", or "Darkness" and other negative sounding titles. How many episodes are centered around war, death, cruelty, terrorism and things of that nature. How many episodes use the Ferengi as the only things to lighten the proceedings in a in a ham fisted way. DS9 is a mature television, but it's not escapist entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Rick S
Tue, May 21, 2019, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I just saw this episode and was blown away by how relevant it is to these modern times. Perhaps my favorite episode of Trek for me so far (TNG, now DS9). Wow.
Set Bookmark
Maverick
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wow... it's been a while since i don't post anything here.
Been watching Discovery and coming here (most times a little late) to see peoples reactions and points of view on the series.
I just realized watching the last 3 episodes whats Discovery seems to be for me: It's Enterprise on steroids.
I started getting interested in trek when a was about 10 to 12 yo, thanks to my father who loved the TOS movies. After wathing all, some years later a begin watching in that order: TNG, DS9, VOY, TOS e ENT. On every single incarnation of trek, I can point my favorite episode, i remember them in detail. Same happens with the worst of every series, except Enterprise. I enjoy the show, but i've never took a single outstanding moment from that. Never had a absolute favorite or absolute worst. Everything was kind of in between. A can't remember a single episode in detail. And mind that I've just finished watching ENT about 4 years ago. Now, Discovery gave me the exactly same feeling. I just finished watching the damn thing and i can't remember any relevant detail from 5 episodes ago (I can't even remember witch was that episode). I never rush to watch the just-released episodes (I live in Brazil, and we receive them via Netflix with 1 day delay). Theres no excitement or expectations. It was just mildly entertaining. I'll admit i just love this incarnation of capt. Pike. That was the outstanding moment of the series, and i wish they could keep with the enterprise instead of following Discovery in the future. I'll also bet that they'll problably won't last more than 4 seasons, as Enterprise, because there's little "real trek" content to keep fans interested.
All that said, i still pretend to watch it till it ends, and, just as Enterprise, with just enough curiosity and wonderment to keep me going.
Set Bookmark
Eric McDonald
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode was awful. That being said, Carey died in the friendship one episode.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I’m pretty sure we just saw the series finale of Star Trek: Discovery. Oh it’ll be back next year, but starring the USS Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Perico De Los Palotes
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 6:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

What strikes me is that the stubborn cargo captain said something like neither him or his crew were affected by the virus, but Odo just saves him, so his crew died in the explosion and no one batted an eye for that!!! Also, why didn't they transport the dudes off the ship?
Set Bookmark
Ric
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

The review's description of Tenavik being characterized as a The Lord of the Rings character is spot on. The review's lack of any criticism towards the absurdity and the ad hoc-ness of the "time crystals that magically settle down one's future for no reason" also tells a whole lot.

After all, this is the very can of worms that ST-DS9 opened up two decades ago - to Jammer's high praise: that of transforming Star Trek more and more into scientific fantasy instead of scientific fiction. After all, the very idea of a time crystal that magically settle down one's future is not only cringe-inducing, but a distinctive example of magic-technobabble that looses only to DS9's worst.

A terrible shame, amidst some good narrative and a nice play with Pike's known-to-be future.
Set Bookmark
Ricky
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Cause and Effect is a great episode and I love it.

BUT!! There's one huge problem I have with this episode. The problem is that this episode of TNG ends right at the most interesting part. All of the time loop shenanigans were great and the story they told with them landed pretty well; but this needed to be a two-part episode, the debrief between Picard and Dr. Crane would have been compelling and emotional.

You could have had a "fish out of water" type of episode as the second half, with the Enterprise crew helping the distraught crew of the Bozeman come to terms with the fact that everyone they know and love are dead, the world has changed dramatically, and Klingons are now accepted in polite society.

Great episode but a huge missed opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Time crystals DO exist.
https://news.berkeley.edu/2017/01/26/scientists-unveil-new-form-of-matter-time-crystals/
"In a paper published online last week in the journal Physical Review Letters, the UC Berkeley assistant professor of physics describes exactly how to make and measure the properties of such a crystal, and even predicts what the various phases surrounding the time crystal should be — akin to the liquid and gas phases of ice."
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

This show is about Burnham... so to say it does otherwise isn't really thoughtful... you knew what you were getting into
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Georgiou cares for Burnham - the hand, the fear of losing her.
I thought it was rude that Stamets brushed off Culber
Wow, Burnham's mum?
Tillys comedic moments... excellent
I liked the Spock and Burnham moment but Spock still seems snarky but a lot better this episode
That Leland and his eyes got punctured... wtf?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

4 stars
Saru seems more snarky, after his evolution.
That episode on Voyager, Kes returns and Tuvok could figure out why the time-line has changed, it just reminded me of that.
This episode told us that Burnham must be important somehow, or that Spock and Burnham are important to this series. Why save her then? Without the Red Angel she would have been dead...
I think the fight between Culber and Ash needed to happen.
And what is going to happen to Airium? The camera is pointing at her after all these unauthorised business so they want us to think about her... what is this three red dots? Does it mean anything?
Ok, so the crux of this episode is that Spock is now better after visiting the Talosians because they have mind powers? The change in the timeline made Spock trying to make sense of the change in the time line, then Spock was trying to make sense of it when more of the sightings were happening... Spock became affected and Talosians cured him?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

*laughed*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Already it seems very fast paced already, Burnham wanting to go to Vulcan, the temporal distortions on the bridge and sending a probe, Pike and Ash... The way Burnham pleaded with Amanda was not that tense, I thought it could have been more tense.
"Evasive manoeuvres" lol
When Saru took charge, it was awesome. Saru knew what to do straight away. When he mentioned Mudd, it is clear he could remember things.
When we see Spock in his condition, we could see the anguish from Michael Burnham. Did Amanda mention how she found him or how Spock came to Amanda? All Amanda said was that Spock came to her for help. How did Sarek know to follow Amanda?
I did not like how Ash and Pike were arguing though...
I am confused why Sarek would turn Spock in to section 31 (but as a human)... as a Vulcan, he would do so, because of the alleged crimes he commited... Section 31 is not as mysterious yet and not as nefarious...
(If Leland allegedly killed Burnham's parents, does that not mean Leland is the killer, and not Spock?)
During the scene with Leland, Burnham and Spock, I got the sense Leland wanted something nefarious.
When Burnham found the number was backwards, I thought, why couldn't Burnham have thought of that before?
The scene with Ash and Pike in the shuttle-craft as they were being attacked - I thought it looked like a giant virus... why would the probe be sent to the future 500yrs, back again to kill them
Saru's command of Discovery was amazing, how he praised the guy who figured out the 3 plasma bursts (Rhys)
I like how Stamets helped and gave Tilly a pep talk.
The future probe trying to determine about the shuttle craft and the Discovery...
The choreography with Georgiou and Burnham was AMAZING! I alughed out loud. They did their own stunts? I expect so.
Was Airium infected by something?
When Georgiou reacted as she shot Burnham...
It's good that Pike and Ash patched things up.
That camera shot "Fight for the future" and ended up on Airium...
What is at Talos 4? *gasp*
In the preview I saw those OCTOBOTIC things attacking Earth...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Quote:[lets biologically modify all the Kelpians at once, inducing horrible pain, hopefully not killing them, and overturning the balance of two species which will inevitably end up with conflict]

Devil's advocate:

I am not saying you are wrong, but the Ba'ul falsely accused of the Discovery/Federation of kidnapping Saru! The moment Ba'ul threatened Discovery/Pike, it became a Federation matter. Saru had curious instincts to explore the stars. Again, I am not defending why PD was slightly washed over, but Saru was effectively an asylum seeker on Starfleet.
1. Saru had a personal stake on this, he has a sister on the planet
2. The Red Angel is reported to have been sighted there, a Discovery mission
3. The Ba'ul (we learn now) lied about the Great Balance and is effectively oppressing the Kelpiens (apologies for previously spelling it with an a) because they were prey to the evolved Kelpiens.
4. Yes, the Kelpiens have seen warp technology, albeit very rare and occasionally.

So yes, the PD should have been explored more, but they did explain WHY they did what they did. It is not like the species were totally unknown to them and completely pre-warp. Saru was basically an ambassador and yes they did not ask for their permission to have their biology changed, but they just accelerated puberty, as it were.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Quote: [But the way Saru was able to quickly piece together a tool to suddenly transmit the frequency that had been somehow sent to him on his improvised device by Tilly...it was all a bit much. There was a lot of that in this episode, as has been pointed out by numerous folks above.]

Saru is intelligent, no? He could speak and understand how many languages? He got off the planet, didn't he, when he was younger? Sorry, but that quote is nonsensical. I think Saru is intelligent enough to deduce or work out how Ba'ul technology works since it is from the same planet where Saru is from... Sure it is a stretch but it is not implausible.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Yeah, Hank said it. It could be Georgiou.

*anyone (above comment)
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 4:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Oh dear... has anything thought of this... empress Georgiou could be the red angel. She has saved people in the past.. ! She's connected to Michael. Leland didn't want to help but Georgiou gave them an extra 3 minutes... "have a little faith" or something she said...

I think the red angel is Georgiou
*gasp*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Near the beginning... That spinning thing with Michael, Ash and Pike, before the signal was received by Saru, was very funny now that you mentioned it. I couldn't remember where it happened but they were discussing the Red Angel. However I did not feel dizzy or anything, otherwise I would have remembered it, but it was very funny.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Booming said: //@Eric Jensen: This had nothing to do with evolution. They just induced a process that the Kelpians experience at some point. And at that point get killed/eaten? by the Ba'ul.//

Do you know what evolution means? Do you know what prey and predator mean? At some point? Not unlike a butterfly undergoing metamorphosis? And what is "induce a process"? What process? Oh wait, a biological process. What kind of biological process? Anything biological is related to evolution. Why do you think Michael, Tilly and Airum were doing discussing about what Kelpians/Ba'ul were doing in the past? Extinction and evolved Kelpians, and non evolved... are you watching the same show??
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

And that scene with Saru and Pike on the bridge, until Michael stepped in between. That was tense. Also when Saru stayed in the captain's chair... will Saru become more aggressive over time?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

My thoughts/opinions: The reasons why I think they skipped the Prime Directive (PD) on this is because: 1. Saru has a personal stake on this 2. The Kelpians have seen warp technology before (from Michael) . 3. Although they did not know this at the time, the natural progression of Kelpian evolution was stunted/controlled by the Ba'ul (hinted by Saru losing his ganglia) and effectively Saru is asking Starfleet for help... 4. The investigation into the Red Angel.

Throughout the episode I was hoping the Kelpians wouldn't "evolve" to become the Ba'ul. This episode could have been better served over two episodes - why force the Kelpians to accelerate their evolution? (Obviously to overcome the Ba'ul, but without consent? And it being related to the Sphere/Red Angel, but isn't that playing "fate"?)

I feel a bit different this episode because Tilly and May's chemistry was better than Saru and Siranna's (sp?). We saw May at least 3 episodes and we see Siranna just once. I understand why Siranna felt the way she did in this episode - Saru leaving, The Watchful Eye, joining the priesthood, but it felt rushed. But I still liked the brother/sister relationship in this episode.

That superhero scene with Saru, the Ba'ul and Siranna was cool, where Saru released the darts from himself. We know Saru is physically capable but his "adrenaline" in this situation allowed him to do this because of his repression of fear. I thought the Ba'ul was menacing.

I also liked how the camera focused on Saru putting a hand on his colleagues... is that alluding to his empathy still being intact? Anyway, I felt this episode was good but not as good as the previous episode. 3/4.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I thought it was very good. It was star-trek like, in terms of reconstituting back Culber's body (not unlike transporter technology), searching for Spock, and section 31's un-mysterious elements.
The mycelium network is not unscientific. Search BBC Earth - Plants talk to each other. "By linking to the fungal network they can help out their neighbours by sharing nutrients and information – or sabotage unwelcome plants by spreading toxic chemicals through the network."
Just because others do not understand technobabble or the concepts behind it does not make the technobabble implausible or too far fetched.
I liked how Tilly helped the situation with May. Only time will tell why section 31 is so unsecretive at the moment.
As for the long discussion in the MN as DSC is being enveloped, well they did not expect to see Culber and they did not expect to see Culber vanish pass the barrier. It is hardly faith if they saw what happened to Tilly and they talked about energy is not created or destroyed and DNA and using the mycelium matter instead.
Was Culber's death pointless in season 1? Not necessarily. It showed Voq's (in Tyler's body) intentions. However it is explained in this episode that Culber isn't fully dead. Why could Stamets see Culber in the network?
They could have explained Admiral Cornwall though. Like "Cornwell briefed us on this" or something. It was completely out of the blue. I thought the acting was good overall.
4 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 7:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Hold on now, Santa does too exist!
Next ►Page 1 of 36
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.