Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Mon, Sep 16, 2013, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

It's a middling episode, to be sure, but I enjoyed the Data / LaForge patter. I also like Spot the Damned Cat. However, the A-story boasted annoyingly hardheaded characters, and those characters are especially Annoying Trek Cliches [tm]. Two stars is an accurate assessment, IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Fri, Aug 30, 2013, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I agree with William; Geordi comes off as utterly creepy. In the first ten minutes alone, he gives away to Leah Brahms his knowledge of future technology she presumed nobody knew of yet, and just happened to guess her favorite food. If I were Brahms, I wouldn't have gone within one parsec of his quarters. LaForge's behavior is also off-kilter, behaving more like wesley than a chief engineer. And the sub-plot of the suckling baby whatever was weak. One and a half stars for this one.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Thu, Aug 29, 2013, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

"Face of the enemy" proved that Troi as a character was badly misused for years, and that Sirtis can genuinely act. Rarely, if ever, was she given a better script to truly show off her acting chops. I wish this Troi had been around more often.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Thu, Aug 29, 2013, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

This is one of a dozen tng episodes I can watch again and again and not get tired of it. I've always believed the key to good sci-fi is a solid plotline, but "frame of mind" takes me on an entertaining journey through a mental labyrinth that always kept me slightly off-balance. Jammer is exactly right: four stars.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Sat, Aug 24, 2013, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Another incredibly annoying Troi episode. Sirtis had a distressing tendency to overact in the first two seasons, and this episode was but one example. As for Pulaski, Muldaur is certainly a better actress than McFadden, but Dr. Crusher was a more interesting character. I think Pulaski suffered from the writers' lack of ability to give her a deeper character other than the Grouchy Skeptic and her one-dimensional arguments with Data.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Fri, Aug 23, 2013, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

The only good thing about this mushy episode was the death of Tasha Yar, and not because it was done well. Yar was not only a fairly non-descript character, but her presence kept Worf largely in the footlights. Denise Crosby's departure turned out to be a boon for Michael Dorn, as Yar's death paved way for a much larger - and satisfying - role for our favorite Klingon. episode? One star.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Fri, Aug 23, 2013, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

This episode was painful to watch, largely due to some of the characters. Troi in particular made me want to kick small children, and Yar and Riker weren't much better. The story, however, was not bad, and Q and Picard made great sparring partners from the very beginning. Two stars is accurate.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Fri, Aug 23, 2013, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I never thought that badly of this episode. It's equal parts silly and weird, but the characters handled a weird and silly situation fairly well, and that helped immensely. I'd give it one more star than jammer.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Thu, Aug 22, 2013, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Mathematical formula: TNG episode + ferengi = zero. Only DS9 was successful in writing an episode with Ferengi in it. Troi romances are problematic, but the B-story is serviceable. Two stars in my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Reverend Spork
Wed, Aug 21, 2013, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

Never was a fan of this episode. It did boast, however, Trekdom's worst hair. And that, indeed, is a very impressive achievement.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.