Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 63,136 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,526
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 21, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Brian S. nailed what was going through my mind most of the episode.

Solid one, but nothing that will stick in my mind for particularly long, I bet.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, May 21, 2019, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

I'll add, under normal circumstances the natural move would be to make the weird EM crystal thing Wesley figures out block the Enterprise's scanners. But it was wise to not have the Enterprise crew working on the same problem as Wesley, so as to avoid the s1 trap of Wes solving the problem faster than the entire rest of the ship working together.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, May 21, 2019, 10:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

It's true they need some contrivance (I'm not using "contrivance" pejoratively here) to keep the Enterprise away, either some reason they are unaware of the crash or some urgent business away. But I don't think they had to spend any time on it after setting it up. That said, if it were better executed it wouldn't be a problem to have a problem-solving B-plot.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Tue, May 21, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, absolutely. I've been really frustrated with the hypocrisy in fandom. I've seen people who claim to just want a "genuine dialogue" with fans who disagree, and then turn around and trash those fans when they do disagree. People are far to ready to dismiss any opinion that doesn't line up with theirs.

@Chrome, I just watched the most recent episode of Ducktales and you're not wrong. I hadn't been watching that show, but it's actually quite good (and clever). If I had more time I'd dig into it.
Set Bookmark
Rick S
Tue, May 21, 2019, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I just saw this episode and was blown away by how relevant it is to these modern times. Perhaps my favorite episode of Trek for me so far (TNG, now DS9). Wow.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, May 21, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Man, I am EXCITED about this (and I'm extremely happy Seth & Co. are taking a inclusive approach to fan projects). I may have to buy a VR headset!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ALHs9lDdsc0

The Orville, The Interactive Fan Experience
Set Bookmark
Eastwest101
Tue, May 21, 2019, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

I loved The Orville and it's whacky indulgent and slightly unbalanced workplace comedy feel right from the start, and it looks like Jammer and some other people are coming around.

Some of the comments re comparisons with MASH are surprisingly illuminating, although I"m not a MASH fan or expert myself.

It's Seth's "love letter" to the Trek universe but still quite surprising how much heart shines through, the juxtaposition of Dolly Parton music over a routine hand to hand combat scene was inspired.

Thank God for Seth showing us that Sci Fi can be "fun" - something that only a few Trek episodes and Red Dwarf and maybe some Dr Who have pulled off,
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, May 21, 2019, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

I'm pretty sure they needed the B plot about the space trash because it without it the crew of the enterprise would quickly find Picard and Wesley, I mean, without it, the enterprise crew would look pretty incompetent if they can't find the missing crew on the planet's surface, uness you wanna pull a "electromagnetic disturbance" out of your ass as to why they couldn't user their scanners to find them right away.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, May 20, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Plusses: Some nice performances from Muldaur and Nimoy; Nice surprise reveal regarding her blindness.

Minuses: Kirk trying to distract Miranda with the power of his irresistible sexiness; some very boring stretches.

An average offering.
Set Bookmark
Casey Argall
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Trills are parasites and would never gain entry to the federation.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Demons

I saw this episode a million years ago, and again just recently..same question now as then: can somebody please just tell me where the baby came from? I heard the word 'clone', but from where? How would someone get samples of T'Pol's and Reed's dna if that was the method?
Thank you..
Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, May 20, 2019, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

NO KISSING ON DUTY

I am looking forward to this series finale and will be sad to see my review of TNG at an end...

Stewart does a good job of acting an aged Picard complete with the higher pitched whine old men get when they are upset (Buckle up gents, old age is coming for all of us). But with his fitness regime etc he seems more like 85(not 72). So was he 60 at the end of the 7 year run? I was thinking he was 40-47, no that isn't right is it?

Wait! how did Picard (in the past) know Q was involved???


We are a dangerous savage child race indeed...

After watching seven years, there is no way humans are inferior to Ferengi, Romulans, Cardassians, Klingons, Bajorans, etc. Not better but not worse...

I shall miss Riker shouting "Red Alert!"

This certainly has more of a movie feel to it: where they pull in all the old bridge crew through often bizarre tangents (We're getting the band back together). For example, I hope that medical globe ship didn't have any patients in it. Hey where did they put the patients?

I like the idea of time travelling for the series finale. It shows the past we experienced, where the ship and crew are now and then the future possibilities. But a big minus for me was how much this focussed on Picard. Yes he pulled this series along with his acting, but surely there could have been more of an ensemble plot. I know there was the Worf/Riker spat, seeing Beverly divorced from Jean Luc, Troi dead but these were minor minor vignettes.

It wasn't even a good episode for Stewart acting besides the old man behaviours I spoke of earlier. And my god, his early behaviour asking the crew to trust him when he as taken them on a series of actions without explanation and with certain peril. He comes across as a cult leader frankly.

I did like Q's little speech although I thought Picard was always telling Q how they were improving as species, developing as beings and not just exploring.

I did like the poker game and I am sure it is difficult to write a series finale. This one had its good elements. The ultra focus on Picard just put me off it.

8/10
Set Bookmark
Alcoremor
Mon, May 20, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Mertov

The book about the aborted Phase II series is definitely worth a read (not to the detriment of graduate studies lol; speaking of studies, I got through many a lonely night in college through reading it and can't recommend it enough). Several of the proposed stories became TNG episodes, which you already may know. I think the Reeves-Strevensens, the authors, subsequently wrote at least one episode of Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Mon, May 20, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

Ugh. Mediocre. I haven't watched one of these season 1 episodes in a while. It was so slooooooow, just drags along. The only character who seems to have any energy is Geordi. Picard seems really un-Picard like here and quite nasty and rude to Data, I'm surprised @LizzyDatalover hasn't complained...
Set Bookmark
Meister
Mon, May 20, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

A good start but Ro's little fake bar scene seemed so contrived. how would they trust her? shouldn't she have a very public fallout with Star Fleet?

wow Picard shows poor judgement in threatening Ro. If she is already feeling conflicted but is in a good position in terms of gathering intelligence, do you threaten her and send her over to the other side? And who was the numb nuts attacking their cell?

Why did Picard make a show of asking Ro if she was willing but then be total hardass and not in a good way later on? What a pisspoor way to end the series...

8/10 for Picard the assalope.

Even Riker seemed to be more sympathetic. I wonder what Picard was thinking at the end? his part in pushing her over to the Maquis? His lack of finesse? His lack of judgement?
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, May 20, 2019, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

Truly awful - nonsensical plot and actions from our characters, bad acting, (particularly Belli), nothing in the way of redeeming characteristics except possibly the lack of baby salamanders.

Definitely worse than Spock's Brain. A smidge better than The Alternative Factor, Threshold, or Meridian.

Ugh.
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sun, May 19, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Also them blue eyes on Data. Lol. ^-^
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sun, May 19, 2019, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

A universe where Guinan is captain of the Enterprise, Geordi and Data are a couple, Tasha Yar lived thru Armus only to be killed by Nagilum, (sparing poor Mr. Innocent Redshirt) Picard married Beverly and had to *shudder* adopt Wesley, using a holoemitter like the Doctor's they brought Minuet off the holodeck and she and Riker are in their own jazz band, Data dyed his hair mint blue for a new look, Deanna is SUPER modest and always wears very heavy sweaters, Wesley had a *not so accidental* accident and now he's paralyzed in a wheelchair, Worf and K'ehleyr are married with eight children, ect, ect.
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sun, May 19, 2019, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

A rather dull episode. But being a HUGE Data fangirl, I enjoyed the filler with him trying to train Spot the transgender cat.

"Geordi, I cannot stun my cat." Lol!!
Set Bookmark
Don Meisner's Jubilee
Sun, May 19, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

"I want an explanation Mr LaForge. Picard out. "


No shit! Their technology is soooooooooo flaky!

Picard's reaction after hearing about the Theta buildup and the mysterious force that saved their lives is every IT manager's life....

clearly the writers of this had no technical background if they think the shite systems could form an intelligence

I'm all for science fiction but this isn't consistent with the shitty (did I mention that?) systems as they are...

4/10 the lowest of the low
Set Bookmark
Danno
Sun, May 19, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I have a hard time believing that a society on the verge of warp travel seems to have never traveled in space. When the scientist comes to 10 Forward she is amazed at how her world looks from space. Humans figured out our place in the universe long before the first airplane flight. Do they not have any space program or even ground based telescopes? They are going from zero to warp speed and I don’t buy it.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, May 19, 2019, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Dom

"There's a difference between allowing fans to have their criticisms and those criticisms being constructive and leading to productive discussion. I believe strongly fans can and should be allowed to say whatever they want about a show and not attacked. At the same time, while I respect their right to disagree, that doesn't mean I have to respect their argument."

I completely agree on both counts.

One thing that drives me crazy, though, is that many people tend to have double standards on this. If it's someone they disagree with, they judge every word in the most negative light. But if it's someone who shares their own opinion, they'll let almost everything pass under their radar.

This is hypocritical, and it isn't conductive at all to having an honest discussion.

"I do worry about a world in which these corporations deliberately whip up fans of their works to shout down fans who are more critical. I think we already saw a bit of that with The Last Jedi, which was a PR disaster."

CBS did the same thing with the first season of Discovery, and it was no less of a PR disaster. It was that, more than anything, that turned me away for good.

You wanna know how to treat your fans? Watch how they do it with the Orville. Both Seth and his production team are doing everything they can to make us feel comfortable. They even come to fan forums and have discussions with us on a regular basis. They are practically treating us as their friends.

It's just heartwarming... and quite refreshing, after the dog-eat-dog vibe I was constantly getting from CBS. What can I say? Thank God for the fact that we have free competition in the entertainment industry.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, May 19, 2019, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Just saw this again for the fifth or sixth time. Boy, do I love this movie! It's the best retirement these characters could ever get, and the Cold War commentary is so very inspirational. Everything about it just works, especially that boldly different soundtrack. What a joy.
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sun, May 19, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

@Artymiss

Yes, they were trying to recreate the Bones/Spock dynamic but for me they failed miserably.

And as I told Booming, even if Data can't be hurt on the same emotional level as we can, that certainly doesn't give Pulaski the right to disrespect him so much. And besides, I think we've seen time and again that Data sometimes can be wounded, maybe not entirely in the same way, but enough to where being looked at as a mere machine is unpleasant and not something he enjoys contemplating. I tend to defend him passionately on this issue mainly because he was a good person, and did not deserve the unfair treatment he received from Pulaski.

That is why I very much prefer Beverly, despite being so underused in storytelling it wasn't even funny. But to me, Pulaski was the bland one, because all I got from her character was prejudice and stubbornness which I didn't enjoy watching.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sun, May 19, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

@Lizzydatalover

Doesn't Pulaski start off obnoxiously prejudiced against Data (which as we've seen lots of him we get angry with her for), but then as she works with Data and spends time with him she learns to appreciate him and her prejudices are softened? I think this particular plot strand is actually exploring the nature of prejudice. Pulaski was hostile to Data before she'd even met him just because he's an AI. Meeting and working with the reality of an AI her prejudices are challenged.

And @Booming is right. Data's feelings can't be hurt and so he can't be insulted (therefore Pulaski is wasting her time trying to wind him up).

I wonder if the writers weren't also trying to replicate the sparky nature of the Bones/Spock relationship to a certain extent. Think how baffled Bones was by Spock and his Vulcan ways and how he used to get really riled by him.

I liked Pulaski, at least she had a personality (plus the actress playing her was a massive improvement on Gates M as well). Yes, she's abrasive but that's preferable to blandness and Bev is soooooo very very bland.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,526
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.