Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The fact that Voyager's Threshold got ZERO stars and this steaming pile of sh*te has got 1.5 stars tells me Jammer has really mellowed over the years LOL. Personally I think this episode is Threshold-level bad.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 2:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery is NOT Star Trek. Lots of reasons why. My biggest bugbear is that Trek has never been about one damn individual at the heart of a series like Discovery is. Star Trek was about teamwork, not one single superstar who comes up with all the answers and saves the day every single time.

Who the hell are the bridge crew on Discovery? Does anyone know anything about them? I can't even name them without looking it up. On TOS, TNG, DS9 and ENT we all knew the bridge crew, they were all key characters. That familiarity made you actually care about the wider crew. Does anyone care about the Disco crew? If the black woman at the con, or the white woman with a thing on her eye, the oriental or black dude died, would anyone care? Would anyone notice?
While we're talking about the crew, I've never seen a Starfleet crew as unprofessional as this one. All the CRYING, HUGGING and emotional nonsense is not how a Starfleet crew should act. I cringed when the black woman said "I love you all!" when she left them to die. I don't think I ever heard Janeway ever say that about her Voyager crew and she was basically a mother figure to them.

Another pet peeve is the profanity. Star Trek was a family show. Nu Trek is a disgrace in this regards with its casual and totally unnecessary use of profanity. I have a potty mouth in real life so I'm not averse to swearing in general but I don't expect to hear people effing and blinding on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 12:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't know why people think it's perfectly fine to make Discovery ALL about Burnham. That's all this show is - about Michael Burnham. Then these same people complain when others say Discovery isn't real Star Trek. How many other Star Trek series do you know that were centred around a single character? How many Star Trek series made the senior bridge crew nothing more than background characters who barely get 2 minutes of screen time between them?
And who is this person that the show revolves around? An insubordinate Mary-Sue who figures out everything, is always the hero and despite being put in mortal danger every time, we all know she's never going to get hurt much less die so there is zero tension in any of the danger scenes she's involved in. I could tolerate a Star Trek series that focussed on one character IF that character was interesting, relatable and well acted. That's not what we get with Burnham.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 7:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A fitting end to an atrocious season. The finale was the worst episode of them all, perhaps the worst episode ever seen on Discovery. It's hard to explain in words just why and how bad this episode was, so I won't even try. If you don't want to take my word for it, unfortunately you will need to watch it just to believe how ridiculous this trash truly is. Truly a low point in Star Trek, I really hope there isn't a season 4 of this garbage and instead CBS just focus on the new Pike series.
Set Bookmark
Redders
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

What I don't think has been highlighted amongst the comments - and the thing I found most Infuriating about this episode - is that the so-called "man," Deral, having claimed he'd move to the Alpha Quadrant for Dax - then back pedals and bails out! "Oh, I can't leave," he whines! So it's Dax - the woman - who is expected - and seemingly willing - to make all the sacrifices. I would have thought, after 8 lifetimes' experience, Dax would be savvy to this spineless excuse of a man!
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Mon, Mar 18, 2013, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Sometimes i just love certain episodes for what they offer,despite their lack of substance

The first time i watched 'civilization' i felt very entertained by solid pacing, a terrific and innovative score by JAY CHATTAWAY, an adorable guest actress, well executed action sequences and, above all, a stunning production design ( watch all the details in the shop).

In my opinion, other TV-Series can't offer even half of the dedication that was put into ENTERPRISE.
And not every single episode has to be a lesson about right or wrong choices, as long as they're entertaining.

ROGUE PLANET for example was boring AND without substance or any kind of productiom value.

'CIVILISATION' will always remain one of my favourite season One episodes
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Mon, Dec 3, 2012, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Maybe it is because i was about 15 when i first watched this episode. But still - another 15 years later - it remains one of my all time favourites of the entire series.
Brilliant direction, a good score, a great villain, superb character moments and one of the best endings of an episode of Trek. I love the changeling twist and this episode will always be remembered as the only TREK outing where the death of Red shirts is properly dealt with.
This is big drama ( especially the scenes between Colm Meaney and F.J.Rio) and i don't care whether it is out of character sometimes because i can't imagine what effect a tense situation like this would probably have on people.
4 STARS
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Fri, Nov 16, 2012, 10:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

Very entertaining episode and a great score by Jay Chattaway by the way ( which can't be said about a lot episode this season )

And i agree about the always reliable Brent Spiner. An incredible performance on his part
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Fri, Nov 16, 2012, 9:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Easily one of season 7's greatest and well remembered episodes.
By the way it was nice finally seeing Deanna in that nice blue dress again the first time since season 4 ;-)
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Fri, Nov 16, 2012, 9:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Although all of your criticism does make sense on this episode, i must admit that i really enjoyed SUB ROSA when it was aired because of its uniqueness in terms of setting, atmosphere, score, direction.....it is one of those episodes you can never get out of your head ( in positive terms) because they try to do something that has never be done on the series and for that i love SUB ROSA, despite the fact that its story is weak and the actors are not all convincing.
Episodes like SUB ROSA, A FISTFULL OF DATA, GENESIS, and MASK are much more fun than most of the i-bring-back-a-family-member-never-seen-before-and-bore-you-to-death episodes :-)
Set Bookmark
freddy
Sun, Jun 17, 2012, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

Enterprise was a disaster...female Spocks never worked,
Quantum leap dude seemed to shout every line and
The smug, self assured doctor was just boring.

The contention that ST has outlived its usefulness is
plain wrong, Chris Pine et al saw to that.

And the worst thing IMHO about Enterprise
was the theme song. Vocals from a half baked pop song? Are you kidding?

Ick...

Just gimme the huge awesome instrumentals from every other ST series,
that's what gets the point across!

Sorry but I'll take flawed Voyager over this any day of the week
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.