Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 171 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Sat, Jul 24, 2021, 1:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I enjoyed this episode a lot and had fun watching it (which is all I ask most of the time).

But as someone else mentioned, it bugged me when Sisko, O'Brien, and Jake are just casually walking towards the doohickey control panel when the self-destruct timer keeps counting down the minutes. Double time, men!
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Sat, Jul 24, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I enjoyed the A plot but found the B plot problematic. It made me wonder if morals had changed since 1994 that a relationship between a 20 year old woman and 16 year old boy was OK back then. And as mentioned above, what if the gender roles were reversed? Would it still be OK?

I can't tell if the writers were just writing from the perspective of their time, or trying to make a point with this plot.

Also, it didn't help that Mardah is drop dead gorgeous and clearly the focus of many other people's amorous attentions. That Jake - the awkward boy we saw hanging out ogling women on the Promenade just 2 seasons ago - would be her choice for a boyfriend doesn't work for me. It's suspicious. As said before, is she using Jake to gain influence with Sisko?

As far as the A plot, hard to believe Sisko, and Odo, would not face repercussions for allowing the Jem'Hadar to "escape".

Finally, I assume even without him, Starfleet gained a ton of knowledge about the Jem'Hadar from Bashir's work with him.
Set Bookmark
Fred
Tue, May 4, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

What happened to Icheb was the worst thing I've ever seen on any Star Trek as far as I'm concerned. I've rewatched the series a couple of times and I can't watch this scene anymore especially because his death seemed so unnecessary and as already been said that eye was an implant made by The Doctor and not even Borg... I also wasn't clear on why he wouldn't survive, Seven literally reanimated Neelix after about 18 hours and he didn't have any Borg implants though I feel like they ignore that episode because the implications are too life altering if it is that easy to bring people back that died.

However, I did enjoy the episode otherwise. I was glad to see Seven again, I thought it was fun to see that part of space, which I think is technically in Federation space but on the border. I also liked that this episode as kind of standalone considering we get so few of those now with the new Star Treks.
Set Bookmark
Fred
Tue, May 4, 2021, 3:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

One thing that bothered me about this episode is that not only did Earth leave the Federation they pulled back from the rest of the Sol system? That seems a bit much. Even before joining the Federation United Earth controlled Sol as well as several other systems directly. I guess the other systems might have become independent within the UFP and I was never clear on if Mars was independent from United Earth within the UFP framework but maybe this means they were? I would assume by now whatever damage was done to Mars at the end of the 24th century would have long since been corrected so I would be curious to know what is going on in the rest of the Sol system because there were expansive colonies and space stations throughout it. It seems hard to believe that Earth would abandon all of it, it is not like you need warp drive to go from Earth to Mars or to Jupiter Station.
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 6:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

I'm fairly sure I would have disliked this episode during my initial watch when it aired, but I loved it upon rewatch. I know it's nothing serious and has flaws, but I was entertained. The egotistical scientist was an interesting character.
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 6:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

This was the only episode during my rewatch I actively did not like because of the Skreeans, specifically their leader. Though I do appreciate the episode for creating this difficult ethical situation.
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 11:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I've been rewatching DS9 from the beginning and it's been so long since I last saw it, and forgotten so much, it's like watching it for the first time in many regards. I had forgotten entirely about this episode.
I loved it. But then, I have found my standards remarkably different than before. I love almost everything now, the only episode that I didn't like so far is the one with the refugees from the Gamma Quadrant who wanted to live on Bajor.

Much has been said about this episode, but I found myself thinking about the Unabomber through much of it, and how similar Alixus's philosophy was to his. And this episode came out well before he was generally known to the public. I wonder if these sentiments were more common than I recall in the early to mid 90's.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 5:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@grey cat. Totally agree. Jammer's been overly generous towards Discovery this season. Personally I would not give any episode over 2 stars this season.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The fact that Voyager's Threshold got ZERO stars and this steaming pile of sh*te has got 1.5 stars tells me Jammer has really mellowed over the years LOL. Personally I think this episode is Threshold-level bad.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 2:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery is NOT Star Trek. Lots of reasons why. My biggest bugbear is that Trek has never been about one damn individual at the heart of a series like Discovery is. Star Trek was about teamwork, not one single superstar who comes up with all the answers and saves the day every single time.

Who the hell are the bridge crew on Discovery? Does anyone know anything about them? I can't even name them without looking it up. On TOS, TNG, DS9 and ENT we all knew the bridge crew, they were all key characters. That familiarity made you actually care about the wider crew. Does anyone care about the Disco crew? If the black woman at the con, or the white woman with a thing on her eye, the oriental or black dude died, would anyone care? Would anyone notice?
While we're talking about the crew, I've never seen a Starfleet crew as unprofessional as this one. All the CRYING, HUGGING and emotional nonsense is not how a Starfleet crew should act. I cringed when the black woman said "I love you all!" when she left them to die. I don't think I ever heard Janeway ever say that about her Voyager crew and she was basically a mother figure to them.

Another pet peeve is the profanity. Star Trek was a family show. Nu Trek is a disgrace in this regards with its casual and totally unnecessary use of profanity. I have a potty mouth in real life so I'm not averse to swearing in general but I don't expect to hear people effing and blinding on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 12:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't know why people think it's perfectly fine to make Discovery ALL about Burnham. That's all this show is - about Michael Burnham. Then these same people complain when others say Discovery isn't real Star Trek. How many other Star Trek series do you know that were centred around a single character? How many Star Trek series made the senior bridge crew nothing more than background characters who barely get 2 minutes of screen time between them?
And who is this person that the show revolves around? An insubordinate Mary-Sue who figures out everything, is always the hero and despite being put in mortal danger every time, we all know she's never going to get hurt much less die so there is zero tension in any of the danger scenes she's involved in. I could tolerate a Star Trek series that focussed on one character IF that character was interesting, relatable and well acted. That's not what we get with Burnham.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 7:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A fitting end to an atrocious season. The finale was the worst episode of them all, perhaps the worst episode ever seen on Discovery. It's hard to explain in words just why and how bad this episode was, so I won't even try. If you don't want to take my word for it, unfortunately you will need to watch it just to believe how ridiculous this trash truly is. Truly a low point in Star Trek, I really hope there isn't a season 4 of this garbage and instead CBS just focus on the new Pike series.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 3:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Do Discovery writers get paid for this drivel, or are they just there on school work experience? As with every big Discovery reveal over the past 3 seasons, I knew the cause of the Burn would be something anticlimactic but I never imagined it was caused by a tantrum from a man child!
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 3:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Another ridiculous episode. There has been absolutely no indication that MU Philippa is a redeemed good guy. Now all of a sudden she's back in the MU and trying to be a force for good? She hated the prime universe and saw it as weak and hated the entire crew except for Michael. I just can't buy that she's a changed person to the extent where she would radically transform the Terran Empire. Becoming the Emperor again is all she would have wanted, I don't buy the idea she resented the role if given the opportunity to reclaim the throne in the MU.

At least this is the last we'll see of her on Discovery. An absolutely ludicrous, cartoonish character that added nothing except cringe value. Good riddance!
Set Bookmark
Red D
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 6:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

I really hope this illness of Georgiou's really is terminal and she dies soon, preferably next week. Mirror Universe characters have always been fun and interesting yet Georgiou is just absurd. I don't think I've loathed a character as much as this in any Trek series before. She is an absolute joke, I cannot believe people are being paid a lot of money to write such a ridiculous character. It truly is stupefying.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 4:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@trent - I am literally applauding your breakdown of this episode. A superb summary of this godawful episode!
Set Bookmark
Red D
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 1:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Brandon - I feel the same, no sense of "shipness" at all. Does anyone really imagine themselves wanting to serve on Discovery the way we did with the Enterprise in TNG or Voyager? The crew does not inspire you at all.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 4:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

I think I'm finally done with Discovery. Watching this is becoming a chore, and not an enjoyable one either. This season really has plummeted to new depths of cringe and lameness. Awful.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 4:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

I just can't seem to get into Discovery. Into the 3rd season and I feel I'm just watching this for the sake of it, not because I enjoy it but because it's a Star Trek series (in name at least). I can only think of a handful of episodes in the 3 seasons that I enjoyed. What it should be called is Star Trek: Burnham.

There are other potentially interesting characters on this show but we'll never know since this series is only interested in Burnham. Her obsession with the Burn is bizarre and is yet another annoying "big reveal coming up" type of thing that we've seen before, where the entire season is building up towards.
Last season was the Red Angel. The season before was the deal with Ash and Voq, I think. Was there another mystery that dragged on throughout season 1 that had a major reveal? I can't even remember.

The weird obsession the writers have with setting up a big mystery at the start to reveal at the end just baffles me. The reveal is ALWAYS going to be a big anti-climax. I guess we all have figured out that the Burn was probably caused by Burnham or her mother, or perhaps another random family member. I don't get why the writers keep repeating this type of storyline, it's just silly and not exciting in the least because by the time we get to the reveal after it dragging on and on, the curiosity is long gone.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 4:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

I just can't get my head around the Burn. How can dilithium all over the galaxy just stop working? And why did it cause every warp core to explode? Burnham said that "dilithium is the heart of every warp capable ship". Did anybody tell the Romulans that? Or did the Discovery writers forget or just not know about that? Romulans don't use dilithium for their warp cores so they must surely dominate the galaxy? All very strange.
Set Bookmark
ReD
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 8:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Is it just me or does this episode seem to be the birth of the concept of The Matrix...
Set Bookmark
Kindred
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 1:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

In my opinion, a lot of the story points were forced forward and I didn't enjoy it as much as other episodes.

Riley was 1. used as bait by Kirk and 2. he didn't even get protection.
McCoy files a verbal report sensitive to Riley in Riley's earshot.
Redshirt lets Lady Macbeth disarm him like nothing.

Lazy writing in multiple places basically. And Lady Macbeth's overacting was a shame.
Set Bookmark
Redders
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

What I don't think has been highlighted amongst the comments - and the thing I found most Infuriating about this episode - is that the so-called "man," Deral, having claimed he'd move to the Alpha Quadrant for Dax - then back pedals and bails out! "Oh, I can't leave," he whines! So it's Dax - the woman - who is expected - and seemingly willing - to make all the sacrifices. I would have thought, after 8 lifetimes' experience, Dax would be savvy to this spineless excuse of a man!
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 9:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Man, this show has had a real streak of winners for these past three episodes. Really getting me into the show with nicely played character moments, great callbacks, and a surprisingly engaging plot. Not perfect, but very good stuff. Hope the two-part final sticks the landing.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 2:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Mostly echoing what other people said - great episode only somewhat marred by Hiugh's unnecessary death and Rizzo continuing to feel like a terrible stereotype out of a worse show. Everything with the Riker/Troi family was wonderful, and overall the episode just felt *right.* In other words, two big wins in a row for the show.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.