Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
SouthofReality
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Great idea for a Voyager episode.

* Kim dies
* Neelix dies

And then the writers fumble what would've been a classic episode by bringing them both back.
Set Bookmark
SouthofReality
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

No way this is a 4-star episode. Maybe 3-stars, but no more. The basic flaw in the story is that we KNOW that Barclay story is the illusion because if it isn't, there is no Voyager tv series. So what we're left with is the Doctor looking anxious trying to figure out what is reality and that can only take you so far.

Here's where it might have been better. If the Barclay version referenced the messages received via the Romulan scientist and then built the simulation based on the known facts contained within that message (the crew makeup, the Kazon, etc.) Then we would still have the Voyager universe from the tv series but also with a reasonable belief that the Barclay story is true. It would have kept us guessing, rather than - well, quite frankly - annoyed.
Set Bookmark
SouthofReality
Sat, Mar 31, 2018, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Once I saw the truck in space, I could only flashback to the SNL skit:

https://youtu.be/Sx0xOgFDXFg?t=27

and could never take the episode seriously after that.
Set Bookmark
Reality
Sun, Sep 10, 2017, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

"T'Pol is cold toward Koss, making me continue to wonder why Koss would waste his time holding out for her."

Because she's a hot piece of @ss.
Set Bookmark
Ethereality
Sun, Jan 24, 2016, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I think people who nitpick to even the smallest details are either:
1) Too dry and detail-oriented to appreciate the bigger picture
2) Lack imagination to fill in the blanks for themselves and thus needs everything spelt out to their faces
Set Bookmark
CaptainReality
Sat, Jan 23, 2016, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

The episode sucked..Have only watched it once, never again.....If we are here in the 24th century(which I know we won't last that long), and there was a planet where only homos would live, it would by like that Symbiosis episode, where the whole population HAS the disease...Except in this case, it would be AIDS.....State don't lie....
Set Bookmark
Ethereality
Wed, Jan 20, 2016, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

"The other major fault is the scene between Worf and Data on the planet where Data asks Worf why the two Rikers, especially Will, have such a hard time with each other. There is an enormous elephant in the room here that just gets ignored (TNG seems to do that a lot here in Season Six). And that elephant goes by the name of Lore. Data has experienced the exact same thing that the Rikers are experiencing - coming face to face with a duplicate of himself. And yet it doesn't even get a mention? Instead Data serves as the character who has the "aww shucks, I just don't understand" mentality? Give me a break!"

I don't see the parallel. Lore and Data only LOOK the same, whereas the Rikers literally branched off the same person, which means that they share much more in common with each other such as certain inherent personality traits and all the experience before they branched off. The appropriate question would be how would 2 Datas interact with each other? I imagine they'd get along, since they have no emotions to get in the way.
Set Bookmark
Reality
Fri, Jan 4, 2013, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

Good riddance to Kat, the most annoying character in the series.

Shame on the writers for butchering the Starbuck and Apollo characters to this point in the season.
Set Bookmark
SouthofReality
Tue, Nov 1, 2011, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

It's all too apparent that the writer(s) never did any climbing because of the farcical climbing scenes. Also, climbing technology hasn't improved apparently since 1920 in the Trek universe. And I would have thought they would have anti-grav units or something.

No, the best part of that episode was the fate the tribble. After that, it was downhill ...
Set Bookmark
SouthofReality
Tue, Oct 18, 2011, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Great episode. Regarding the comments of the implausability of T'Pol not using the stun setting, we should note what the story doesn't tell us. We don't whether Jossen was reaching for a deadly weapon or not, in fact we don't really know exactly how he was killed. And also note that T'Pol's memory is not completely reliable. All we know is that T'Pol was forced to do something that put her over the deep end. Whether that action was justified or not, smart or not, the episode does not answer. I'm fine with that level of ambiguity.
Set Bookmark
SouthofReality
Thu, Oct 13, 2011, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I have to disagree (along with others) about your review. I found this a nice, quiet, charming episode. I would give it a solid 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Southofreality
Wed, Oct 5, 2011, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

So they oppose hunting but in the previous episode they were eating chicken Marsala? Did the chickens commit suicide or did they just wait for them to die of old age?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.