Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Sun, Jul 30, 2017, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Disgusting.

Not the episode (it's a solid 3 stars) but the fact Jammer downgraded his original score to zero because the majority of Star Trek fans believe this is the worst episode of any Trek yet.

Since when are we pandering to the majority?

People who say "how did this get written?" - it's a damn good script.

If you had this come across your desk you'd read it in one sitting.

Sure the ending is a bit rushed and there's a couple of unanswered questions (it should have been a two parter with recovery slow and painstaking) but it deserves 3 stars because the premise is interesting, the execution well done and not one of you ever wanted to "skip ahead" in it (ie. not boring).

I think a lot of people are giving this zero stars because they're the exact people South Park parodied in "Go God Go" - self righteous know it alls who cry "humph - that's not how quantum physics and evolution works!"

Honestly what do YOU know? You know NOTHING about either independent of each other let alone what effects may result from the two together.

It's a sick symptom of 21st century cynicism - you're all unhappy because society has turned you into powerless consumers so the only way you can feel better about yourselves is to criticise others based on a passing knowledge of something you think you understand but in reality know nothing about.

Can any of you cynics even tell me what DNA stands for without googling it? All of you will say yes but put on the spot hardly anyone could type it out without errors in spelling (which shows you don't know).

The saddest part is that Trek is about expanding our horizons and dreaming big. It's about encouraging us to reach for something like this and yet because the Trek community deems Threshold to be the worst episode, you all fall in line.

Disgusting - if you don't have the courage to independently evaluate this and keep an open mind then you don't deserve to ever get off this rock.

3 stars, would've been 4 if the ending wasn't rushed - one of Voyager's strongest season 2 episodes and definitely not the worst Trek episode ever.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Fri, Jul 28, 2017, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Quote

::If it was Sisko, he would sent a few well-aimed photon torpedoes their way. God, I wish it was Sisko.::

End Quote

LOL, makes me wanna watch a DS9 Defiant episode now
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 7:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Coming from DS9 I enjoyed this episode more than "The Phage" and a couple of others.

Sure it asks you to suspend disbelief a bit (such as Chihuahuas in the Delta Quadrant *but* they have spikey fur!) but overall I would happily watch this again.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 2:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

Comparing all Trek to DS9 as the pinnacle (other than TOS), I loved this episode - solid 4 stars.

That said, I've skipped the last quarter of the last 2 Voyager episodes despite being initially impressed.

I really hope I'm not going to find out why everyone said Voyager sucks but I kind of have the feeling that this 'lost in space' trope is going to be hard to stretch out over 7 seasons (like childbirth stretching - that hard).

Still, I really like the ship and the crew, shame about the quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Disclosure: big DS9 fan here, starting Voyager for the first time.

There is no way Caretaker is better than Emissary but I do think it's just as good or bad as Encounter at Farpoint.

I've heard Voyager sucks later on which is why I skipped it but have to say the first couple of hours has me smiling - it's a beautiful ship.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 5:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

This film sucked

Star Wars is only the original trilogy.

You people deluding yourselves into thinking this was good are just desperate.

What all post-OT films suffer from is 21st century dialogue/humor for films that are supposed to be set pre-OT (prequels+RO) and just *after* OT (the farce awakens).

The only thing all these Star Wars films have made me realize is that Lucas was fortunate to have good people working with him on the OT that are truly unsung heroes even to this day.

Prequels = demented old Lucas
TFA = Jar Jar Abram's Recycling Plant
RO = I don't even know where to begin - Forrest Whittaker? What is this, Battlefield Earth II?
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 2:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

WYLB was almost perfect.

Just to clarify about Odo and the founder - when he linked with her she understood that the solids could love changelings and how much Bashir did to get the cure for Odo.

At that moment I think she understood that changelings and solids could co-exist - that's why she ended the war.

Re: Odo returning - a close watching of the series after Odo joins the link up until the end shows that a part of him always wanted to return - the fact he waited showed how much he loved the solids and the female founder would've finally understood this.

Re: Damar's death, it was poetic and real. War doesn't care who you are - even token skirmishes can end the lives of great men.

Re: DS9 being over - binge watched all 7 seasons in a month - I'm so sad it's over, it's was the best Star Trek ever made because it was real (even in the 24th century black fathers are absent - jokes!)

Seriously though, great series - we won't get anything as good as this again.

People who bash it don't realize how convenient the 45min "encounter, struggle, learn, move on" paradigm is for Star Trek.

DS9 - like life - shows that you can move on but the problems remain.

I love you DS9.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Great episode but the ending was pretty Elliott
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

I almost cried at the death scene - 4 star episode- after it's over you want to instantly re-watch it.

If there was one change I could make to this episode it's two simple pieces of dialogue.

After Weyoun-6 asks if he has failed Odo I wish Odo would have said something like this:

"If one day I am the last, I wouldn't want anybody else by my side"

To which Weyoun-6 would have shed a tear of joy and surprise and said with his last smiling words

"My lord and my god"

With Odo now holding the dead Weyoun-6 in his arms and a look of loss on his face.

But that's just my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 7:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Are we judging age of consent now by mental age? There's a ton of people out there whose mental age doesn't align with their biological age, GFL testing for it and then enforcing it.

Also she was catatonic, not a newborn, she did thwart Jack's plan last time remember? Are you saying a newborn can defeat the dominion?

Bashir's actions here could be frowned upon (just wait, this isn't the magic sentence you feel it is) but history has quite a large number of cases where doctors have fallen in love with a patient, how we react to that lack of professionalism is still ultimately "tribal" (if marry, ok, if just sexual fling, evil).

Bashir has stated how hard life is at times around those who mentally can't keep up with him, it's why he enjoyed working with these 4 last time around (much to O'Brien's "uncomplicated" chargrin) and after Jadzia's death that loneliness has increased.

I don't doubt his feelings here and to be honest the object of his affection is quite pretty and many a man would've taken advantage of her with her being socially naive (remember Quark owns a book called "Oomax for fun and profit").

However I didn't like this episode because frankly I wanted to get back to the war. I understand DS9 needed to break from the war for character development (plus, no war stops life completely - skirmishes do but wars can drag on for years) but I felt the reprieve was a tad too long and to be honest this could have been a four star episode and I probably would've been a philistine towards it because my mind was focused on getting back to the war.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

For the rest of you haters - peep this:

1) Anyone saying "urgh, you only like this episode because you like baseball" is wrong.

I don't like baseball and knew this episode was coming and was absolutely dreading it. Turns out I didn't want to skip ahead at all, it's a well done episode.

2) Anyone saying "urgh, why does teh future peoples like teh baseball!"

Shows how much attention to detail you've paid.

Sisko virtually jumps at the chance to see an amateur baseball game played when Kassidy Yates says it is widely played where her brother loves.

Sisko even said the game isn't played anymore so it's not a case that the great American Baseball has survived into the 24th century - it hasn't.

3) Anyone who says "urgh, why does the demigod like Vulcans want to play baseball?"

They don't, they're following their captains orders and their captain probably doesn't care for the game either. He just wants to beat Sisko for some emotional reason. (Wait - point 4 is for you doggie)

4) Anyone who says "urgh, Vulcans don't have emotions, they are teh evolved!"

Really? If you know your Romulan history you know that they were a breakaway Vulcan sect who didn't want to follow the new teachings.

You know all those traits which make the Romulans hated by everyone else in the Alpha Quadrant (arrogance, competitiveness etc)? You mean to tell me Vulcans don't have some of them? What is Pon Farr anyway? Does some Pah-wraith possess Vulcans at that time and suddenly they cry out for the sex?

Vulcans are almost robotic but not completely. They repress their emotions, Pon Farr is an ingrained social custom for letting their hair down (so to speak).

Furthermore, Trek has shown us that aliens raised in different cultures can act in a manner that is more like the culture they grew up in rather than where their DNA heritage is from. Sisko went to school with his Vulcan adversary didn't he? Worf and his son were raised on Earth and both aren't considered Klingon by some Klingons. Nog wasn't raised on Ferenginar and voila, first Ferengi in Starfleet.

Trek has always been about exploration of deep issues and it saddens me that Trek fans are buying into cheap 21st century cynicism without evaluating all the evidence first.

Cynicism might make you feel right but it dismisses a lot of data to accomplish this skewed perspective.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 6:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I'm convinced the only things Elliott likes are TNG, Roddenberry and gay sex.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

If I was forced to watch this or "let he who is without sin" again I'd choose the latter in a heartbeat.

I have no idea how Jammer can give Profit and Lace zero stars yet give this over 2 stars.

The whole episode is like a counselling session with Deanna Troi with a side plot of Odo planning for a one month anniversary.

W T F ?

At least Profit and Lace discussed an important topic - female consumerism and how the rise of feminism and female suffrage wasn't "moral" choices humanity made because they felt bad but rather a calculated piece of social engineering to tax the majority of the population and create new job opportunities (know how many day care centres there were in the 50s? You could count them on one hand).

This episode was simply boring and honestly Sisko in this one was a worse captain that young Captain Watters of the USS Valiant.

6 day mission off a one way distress signal? Maybe I can agree with that.

Using the phaser reserves to possibly save one life during wartime? OMG, lucky the Defiant is a Federation ship, had Martok tried to do that on a Bird of Prey Worf would have challenged him for captaincy and rightly so.

I struggle to think of a worse DS9 episode than this one, heck, it makes the alien jellyfish lovers at the end of TNG's Encounter at Farpoint look masterful (Blergh!)

Half a star (purely for Worf insisting they don't using phaser reserve power)
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 6:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Zero stars?

Way too harsh - 3 stars at least for Quark giving one of his employees a book called "Oomax for fun and profit"

LOL
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

People who say this episode sucked need to stop drinking tap water- you guys have missed very key pieces of information in this episode.

1) Red Squad exists = fact.

As we saw in Paradise Lost, Red Squad is not only allowed to exist (I believe all "elite" groups within groups are destructive) but they are given more than extra drills and training, they are given covert missions.

It's a travesty that Starfleet Academy allows this because despite all the checks and balances you put in place, an elite group within a group fosters hubris and divided loyalty.

2) Red Squad got to be on the Valiant under close watch of senior officers = fact.

This is where a lot of you haters of the episode get it twisted.

I don't doubt that Watters was promoted to field captain by the last dying member of the senior staff but I think that was only done to inspire Watters to get the Valiant back to the nearest Starbase by putting the burden of his classmates on his shoulders.

But did Watters do that? No. He decided of his own volition to rally the troops and keep the Valiant flying on a recon mission.

It's highly likely that in the beginning his classmates would've broken down and begged for an immediate return but both the "faux-promotions" of their new "captain" coupled with the peer pressure of not failing Red Squad (ie- "maybe you're not Red Squad material after all") would've brought them quickly in line.

Watters has parallels to Stalin here. When Stalin took power, everybody knew Trotsky was next in line to succeed Lenin but Stalin had charisma and fear on his side and everybody fell in line.

3) could these youngsters run a ship after 8 months?

Yes, yes they could. Kids their age fought in both great wars and it forces you to grow up mighty quick. These kids were the best of the academy, 6 months would've turned all that theory into somewhat competent practical skills.

As can be seen by the warp issue, there's only so far they could go but they had the second most dangerous ship in Starfleet at their command (only second to the Defiant because the Valiant is the "vanilla version" and lacks the cloaking device).

This was a wonderful episode about the dangerous of elite groups within groups and about child soldiers.

3&1/2 stars - watch it again and watch it closely.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

There was a heavy undertone to this episode which commented on organized religion and how its often infiltrated by people who don't give two hoots about it and just want the power.

Kai Winn is such a person. She doesn't care about holy artefacts, she doesn't care about communicating with the prophets - she's a selfish old woman who knows she is going to die within a decade and just wants history to revere her, heck, I don't think she even believes in the prophets.

To answer "why Jake?", as said above, he's the emissary's son. If you actually go back through the seasons you'll see some "coincidences" where Jake gets into a bit of trouble (and avoids others) - the Pah Wraiths have been after him for a while and while not responsible for all danger he's experienced they are definitely responsible for some.

Bet anything if Jake had an engineering background it would have been him and not Miles in that Pah-Wraith-Keiko episode.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

People who hate DS9 are too used to the TNG paradigm - encounter resistance, shields at 30%, we will not compromise who we are, perhaps we can learn to co-exist, take us out of here warp 6 (the comfortable warp speed).

DS9 shows you don't always have that luxury of moving on, you don't always wrap things up in 45mins - sorry every episode doesn't end with alien jellyfish embracing.

The federation was built by people who wanted a better existence and the Dominion threaten that by going against everything the federation said no to (eugenics, domination etc)

This episode is a major arc for Sisko, whether he realizes it or not, he has become Eddington.

Quark quotes Rule of Acquisition 98 - every man has his price - Eddington's price were a bunch of displaced colonists, Sisko's is the Alpha Quadrant.

Was what he did right? Depends. If you're religious then your God sets the morality, if you're not then some charter simply replaces a holy book.

From a benthamite utilitarian aspect, Sisko did the right thing - the lives of a few Romulans, a criminal and Garak's contacts were worth dispensing with to turn the tide of a war that that by Bashir & co's predictions would have eventually claimed 9 billion lives.

But the slippery slope is that once you say "just this once" it's harder to stick to that and your precedents can eventually have you acting in the same way as the great evil you originally intended to defeat for the sake of peace.

The fact that DS9 invokes such thought and debate shows why it is the best Trek. TNG was too much of a rinse repeat idealistic fap-fest. Compare TOS to TNG and you see that unfortunately great creators in the old age become a bit more starry eyed and out of touch like Lucas with the original Star Wars trilogy compared to the prequels.

TNG fanboys seem to think only DS9 isn't Trek for its "shades of grey" but I question how closely they watched TOS.

Of course they retort "but by TNG we has evolved!" honestly, rewind history 400 years right now and tell me the people then were really *that* different than they are now. Why do you think the bible continues to be the most read, sold and translated book? Because the way people acted thousands of years before Christ has parallels even today.

Cultures change, tech improves but humans at their core don't shift as much as TNG fanboys and Roddenberry 2.0 would like you to believe.

Contest this? Best of both worlds, Worf and Data passed over as first officer for Shelby because it was war time against a formidable foe. Was that fair? I don't think so but I'm sure TNG fanboys will defend every single action and sentence in that series as being inspired by god Roddenberry while even the finest episodes of DS9 are not really Trek because of "shades of grey".

Face it, when you can't warp 6 away from your problems after 45 mins with a nice "supplemental" about how much you've learnt you get DS9 and since no TNG fanboys can resolve all their real world problems on their lunchbreak and warp 6 away to the next adventure, they should realize how great DS9 is.

"But 24th century we has evolved!"

*smacks head*
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Some people deify Roddenberry
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 3:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

This ep was basically a sub plot story stretched out to fill an entire episode - it works though.

Love the nod to Reservoir Dogs near the end.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

4 star episode.

To those who say "shades of grey!" - you're wrong.

Dukat was - and is - very complex. Yes he has suffered a breakdown over his daughter's death but this episode shows he had suppressed (key word) feelings about Bajorans and Sisko that I don't think even he admitted to himself.

Can you understand Dukat though?

Everything he said about his first month in charge was undoubtably true. The pressure he was under was enormous. He was an ambitious man who had to watch his back from the Bajoran resistance, other guls and also the Obsidian Order who would scrutinize everything he did on Bajor (even if he smiled at a Bajoran servant girl at dinner).

The pressure would have been enormous and I do believe that initially he had a kind of "colonial paternalism" which turned into a cold social Darwinism within the first few terrorist attacks.

Re: his feelings about Sisko, this ep is legendary the way he toys with Sisko about them being friends - seemingly fishing for Sisko's opinion and laughing at the facade at the same time.

Remember that Dukat had to sell out his people to get Terok Nor back - he had to "bend" to the dominion and *still* lost Terok Nor to the inflexible "moral arbiter" Benjamin Sisko.

TV writing and acting doesn't get any better than this - heck, a lot of film actors couldn't do what Marc Alaimo does here.

4 stars - if you disagree I respectfully ask you to read this comment again and then watch the episode with what I've said in mind.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Worth 3.5 stars for Moogie's well-timed "sidestep" of Keevan.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Thu, Jul 13, 2017, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

You know an episode is going to be bad when within the first 10mins you contemplate just skipping it altogether.

That's how I felt about this episode and unfortunately not even Andrew Robinson can save this one from being on my "do not rewatch" list.

How Jammer could rate this higher than Ferengi Love Songs is beyond me.

If you rewatch Ferengi Love Songs you get to look forward to so many great lines from Quark, Brunt & Zek before getting to the Marauder Mo toys at the end.

For Empok Nor, honestly why would you watch it again? Is it to see the 4 "red shirts" (TOS terminology for "dispensable characters" you know will be killed in the ep) killed again?

Is it to see Nog fire the awesome rifle he's been holding all throughout the ep? (He never fires it)

Is it to hear a great speech from the villain? (There isn't one - not great anyway)

Is it to see the epic fight scene between O'Brian and Garak? (It isn't)

In short, there's no reason to watch this episode again. You may fool yourself into thinking Garak said something cool when he becomes the villain but he honestly doesn't say anything of substance.

Vols were promised at the start of the episode and not one makes an appearance. Empok Nor could have been a great episode if they tried to mimic the film "Aliens" and had a space station absolutely teeming with vols that were hyper aggressive enough to warrant Nog and everyone else using their rifles. The deaths of the 4 crewman could have happened by panic falls or even friendly fire (which would have taught Nog a lot about the true horrors of war).

Instead Empok Nor had a couple of silent and pointless Cardassian hunters who get taken out by Garak who then becomes villain for the last 15mins or so.

Sad to say this but one of the worst Trek episodes ever, even "Let He Who Is Without Sin" had some redeemable qualities in its speeches and motivations - Empok Nor is basically "I know what you did last summer" with Star Trek uniforms.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

3 stars.

As Chris pointed out above, we normally don't see this side of Klingon "warriors".

So many times we are told - either directly or indirectly - that they die in battle or if not they kill themselves, this time we see what happens when they don't and it makes you realize (whether you agree or not) why the Klingons are always going on about honor and death.

The crew were utterly downcast and a danger to themselves and their captain in their state but the highlight of the episode was the psychological damage done to Martok by his 2 years in a Jem Hadar internment camp.

The only criticism of this episode I have is its title - they should have called it "Sons of Redemption" or something along those lines because it's really an episode about how Martok got his fight back.

I really enjoyed this one and it takes place on a Bird of Prey - one of the most beautifully designed warships ever.
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

I'm a huge Ferengi fan and as a few others have pointed out (not on this site) - they are an allegory of Jewish stereotypes (of interest to note- most prominent Ferengis were played by Jews who enjoyed the roles).

Once you appreciate that you start watching Ferengi behaviour closely and comparing it to Jewish stereotypes. That's why this is a solid 3 stars - highlights are of course Zek's voice again and Combs ("Brunt. FCA").

This ep made me do a little research so here's some trivia:

- re: the Marauder Mo figures, apparently quite a few were made for this episode but the crew liked them so much they kept them as souvenirs.

- re: Ishka's line about keeping them in their original packaging, Ira Steven Behr is an action figure collector and apparently keeps them in their original packaging. The line was an improvised nod to the producer.

Long live Ferenginar!
Set Bookmark
Real Ric
Wed, Jul 12, 2017, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

I respectfully ask people to reconsider what a gem this episode is.

Bashir's father no doubt spent all his savings to have this done to his son and there's a shadow of a doubt over every aspect of his personality. For example, is his lower class socio-linguistic dialect real or was "upper middle class" but after the augmentation chose to live a more mediocre life to ensure not much attention was paid to him and his family? (Remember they moved after the treatments and he procured falsified documents for his son - fraud big time).

Re: Julian, now we know this about him so many of his actions make sense. Why does he endlessly play the role of a spy in holosuite programs? Is it because his whole life he's been in "deep cover" or is that the vocation he really wanted? (We actually don't know if he wanted to study medicine or not, he may have been pushed in that direction).

It shows that Bashir is a competent liar also. That explains why he enjoys Garak's company so much - is his meetings with Garak training for him or is it further study in learning from the best? It also "proves" he got that question wrong not for a girl or because he froze but because he didn't want to stand out too much in every way. It also explains why he chose a post on a Bajoran station in deep space - far away from Earth, his parents and a too "Starfleet" environment.

Lastly, regarding him "lying" to Starfleet, you guys have to understand his position. I reckon he learned while still as a child of what had happened. Sitting through history classes about the Eugenics Wars would have been a nightmare for him. He would have also lived with the fear that if it was discovered his parents would go to jail and he would be rehomed. After the treatments were done, to confess the truth would make everything his father did for him meaningless and remember that he would have been continually "coached" on how to act by his father (who may have introduced him to James Bond films to help him pretend to be someone else).

Lastly II: the "deal" at the end works for the following: This is a time of war - heck, even Romulans are cooperating with the Federation and Bashir has a plethora of knowledge on the Dominion having even been captured by them and spent time in an internment camp. To instantly "drop" him from Starfleet over something his parents did to him as child and the daily "abuse" of having him lead a pseudo-double life (quite burdensome and traumatic for a child) during a time of war when the whole Alpha Quadrant's future hangs in the balance is shortsighted and harsh. It's not like he's an Eddington - abusing his position to secretly assist an anti-Federation cause, he just wanted to please his father after a terrible (and illegal) sacrifice was made.

The punishment fit the crime - it was harsh enough to send a message that Starfleet will not allow augmentation to go unpunished but soft enough not to turn Bashir into another Eddington.

This is a stand out episode in any Trek, it makes you want to rewatch DS9 from the beginning and pay close attention to everything that comes out of Bashir's mouth because the person we thought was just a goofy young doctor with a penchant for the ladies and "frontier medicine" is just a cover for who he really is - the human Garak.

4 stars - one of the best Trek episodes ever, even with the Zimmerman/Leeta/Rom love triangle subplot.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.