Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 451 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 20, 2019, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Hello Everyone!

I always like reading Elliott, even if I don't agree with what they have to say every time.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Strange how something can just strike a person so funny:

Kardashian War...

I had to take off my glasses, wipe my eyes, take a sip of coffee, all before I could continue.

I'm picturing nice-looking but largely expensive, useless ships; with huge engines.

Enjoy the day everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Randie
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

how can anybody go this long without mentioning THAT EAR SCENE? Have to say I was very pleased (and disturbed) with the continuation of subjecting Chekov to the worst mind control and disgusting torture possible like they had during the series.

Anyway, that scene is AMAZING. Gave me a phobia I’ve never gotten over. But damn... it’s worth it.
Set Bookmark
Randie
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

I’m pretty biased in favor of TOS, having been raised on this series and none of the following ones, so the fact that this is one of my favorite episodes probably doesn’t hold much weight compared to somebody with a broader perspective. But, alas, I’ve always loved this episode, even given all of its long and repetitive dialogue and minced plot.

The reason I enjoy TOS so much is its unapologetically theatrical execution. The sets are evidently fake, the performances are overdramatic, the costumes are ridiculous, and the dialogue is preachy - and I adore it. I think I loved Spectre of the Gun so much because it exemplifies all of that to an extreme. The half-constructed western town was so fascinating to me as a child, especially the buildings without walls and randomly designated edifices. There is something so unnerving about an empty stage before or after a performance, and that’s just what the charicature of Tombstone captures in SotG.

I’m a sucker for actors who take their roles completely seriously, and Star Trek TOS required that from its cast. The dedication (and overacting) of the actors help suspend disbelief and create a light-hearted atmosphere of “look, I know this is fake, but humor me”. The guest actors who play the Earps and Doc H are absolutely phenomenal and genuinely creep me out. Often my least favorite part of Trek is the guest characters (motives hard to believe, backstory ridiculous, etc) but the stone cold performances really gave our leads something to act with.

The dialogue is slow and redundant, but I’m the kind of person who enjoys a scene where the characters are just bantering back and forth, even if it is meaningless. My favorite part of TOS is the main characters and their ongoing dynamic. I appreciate Spectre of the Gun because it was one of the few episodes that actually included Chekov.

Okay.... Chekov. What a mess. I love the character, and I love the actor, but I hate the writing. While I’m appreciative that SotG gives the character an opportunity to do something, it vexes me that he was written so lamely and almost out of character. That is, if there was any character to write him out of. Why would he jeopardize the entire mission to be with a random girl who - when they first met - basically molested him...? And, also, if he’d really do that in this episode, why in The Way to Eden does Chekov’s old girlfriend say he is rigid, correct, and straight-laced??

The problem with chekov is it seems no one ever knows what to do with him. Does he HAVE any personality traits besides flirty, Russian, and occasionally psychopathic? Even though Chekov is my favorite character in the series (unpopular opinion, I know, but I’m a sucker for hard luck cases), I feel the only reason he has a somewhat consistent personality in the series is due to Koenig making the best of every line he’s given.

I think that speaks for the rest of the episode, and the series, too. In TOS the producers and the actors just had to make the best out of what they were given. SotG really demonstrates that in its writing, set, and costumes. I don’t know... for me, the most enjoyable part of the show is not just its fakeness, but the reality it wants you to accept.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Hello Everyone

From the time I watched this first run, to the last time a couple of years ago, I always thought the way he malevolently said "peaceful co-existence" meant that was the last thing they wanted. He said it to mock the Feds, not offer the hand (heh) of peace. Federation sentient beings were taken over and at least one ship was destroyed along the way, with the loss of all hands. This was an invasion, pure and simple, and they stopped it.

I do recall being a bit surprised they made it all explody, instead of beaming it to a holding cell, but I think it is a case of shoot first/remove the threat, and figure out the rest later.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Bobbington Mc Bob

Heh, I liked how you put that, at the end. And two manly things I can still do, as well. :D

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jun 28, 2019, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Hello Everyone!

My main concern was with helping the Kraylor get their cloaking device. We've seen races in ST who were destroyed, or nearly so, because they were "bad" and there was a good reason for them to be confined to their own world.

In Voyager, we've had the Trabe be homeless because they'd been jerks, and we've had those few thousand folks in the 800-year-old ships who'd been naughty in the past as well (not on my normal computer, so I'm not looking the names up today). Now these folks with Sheppard Book (he even had the same haircut as on Firefly!) ask for help to escape their world, which is under blockade. Until I knew if the blockade was bad, or for the good of the galaxy, I'd not help either one of them.

As far as promotions, it has been noted here and elsewhere that there were only two that we ever saw/noticed: Paris and Tuvok. I don't really believe those count. Paris had no rank when he started, and flipped back and forth between Ensign and Jr. Grade, while Tuvok started out as a Lt. Commander. I think they just fouled up by giving him Lieutenant pips and kept him there, and fixed/retconned it later.

I figured since we didn't see anyone else ever get promoted, they decided to leave everyone where they were at, and if/when they got home, the ranks could be adjusted. I mean, if it were to actually be 70 years to get home (as originally postulated), who'd care what your rank was when you retired on the generational ship? That was how I thought of it anyway. :)

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, May 14, 2019, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

Hello Everyone!

@Jason R.

I really must agree with most of your comments. My thought is (without reviewing the comments again), how could that fellow be a Commodore, above a Captain, having never commanded a ship? Did he get that commission by being a good "supplies" commander, over time? A "chair-bound paper-pusher"?

Then he dis-regards the comments of the junior officers about traveling across the neutral zone. Is there a bulge in it they cannot go around? Or are they on the other side so, so far away that they have to cut across it to save time and they'll wave hello to Romulus and Remus along the way? Even an idiot would have known to take the fastest safe passage that doesn't break the treaty.

On the other hand, when I was 12, and Checkov finds the body, I was hooked/stunned. And we had ships shooting? Oh my gosh! I still have a soft spot for this episode, but not as soft as it used to be. Even then, I wondered how the Commodore could be so... stupid. He'd have been "retired" as soon as they got back to the Starbase....

Enjoy the day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 11, 2019, 1:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Hello Everyone!

@acd hit it on the head for me. Partially fix the memorial, making it voluntary. Explain in the buoy message (multiple languages they've come across, I'd think) what the memorial is and what it says it's for. Tell about the BIG BUTTON they've added to it. Hit the button, relive the memory.

I thought about the ST:Voy episode Nemesis throughout the story.

Regards, Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, May 10, 2019, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Hello Everyone!

I won't post too much. I mostly agree with both the positive and negative assessments that have been posted before.

I did like how the folks on the planet didn't just say "Oh, you're right, we must see music your way" and went off doing their own thing.

But I did wonder how they never, even by accident, ever invented a wind chime? :)

Have a glorious day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, May 8, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

@Trish

I enjoyed that. Sounds like something I'd do/write. :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 4, 2019, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Hello Again, Everyone!

I just watched this for my second time, using Hulu, and had missed the part about the special serum during the storm warnings. But, I didn't miss all that much. :)

I've seen a couple of comments saying something along the lines of "...if Ed isn't the Captain, the Kaylon win the battle..." (paraphrase), and those folks finding fault with Ed being the saving grace. It isn't just Ed. If Kelly doesn't get him this command, she isn't the second in command, and Gordon isn't on the ship either. After Kelly demanded to head out to find allies, with Gordon as the pilot, they never pull the stunt with the drive to get them to Krill space.

So, so many threads to pull, but that one stood out for me. Ed didn't save the Union, it was the people around him (since he was there as Captain) that saved the day (including Claire then dating Isaac).

On the other hand, if Kelly wasn't on the Orville, who notices LaMar is really smart and makes him the head of engineering? *ouch* *brain hurts again* At least, he Seemed to be an engineer when they went to the Trench to find the ship, as he was the only one in the engine room trying to make the plan go forward.

I just hope, if and when there is a third season, LaMar doesn't go blind...

Regards Everyone... just some... random thoughts...

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Hello Everyone!

Heh, I hate storm warnings. Glad it was only three minutes for me towards the beginning. I'll catch that up on Hulu. Same thing for Supernatural, which I'll catch up on at the CW app.

I was gratified one of my musings on the previous episode was right. They were not in the right place, at the right time, to prevent the Kaylon destruction of Earth. And boy, they didn't mess around. I'm thinking they took pieces of the Moon and shot them towards Earth, as those were some big craters. If that was the case, the atmosphere might have been more hazy though, from the ejecta.

Those flying heads were a neat surprise, but once again, why didn't Isaac use his head cannon to save them when they were stranded on that planet? And they don't seem to be all that stable when flying, since for the most part they were only successful in shooting the ground. They seem to do much better standing still.

And a question was answered for me from a previous episode, there are indeed Kaylon in those ships, they are not separate entities.

It was nice to see Alara.

It seems this version of Isaac didn't spend 700 years on a planet (my opinion) and didn't date the Doctor. It just had the original programming to learn for invasion. I think that means in the original timeline, Isaac did indeed develop empathy for the sentients it was observing.

The empty Orville, with a bit of interior damage from their takeover fight (I presume) did look creepy to me as they slowly walked along, but not over the top. I did expect to see some bodies around though. Maybe the Kaylon do indeed like their spaces to be neat and tidy, and there was a room full of bodies somewhere.

Yes, Kelly was bad for that small thought of hoping that timeline would remain. Ed was bad for not being shocked and appalled. I also said out loud "He's EATING HER FACE!". But I've never had to kiss someone, and feign passion, on camera. Maybe it's harder than it looks... :)

I thought they'd run into some Kaylon at Earth, then realized since it was blasted to rubble months before, why bother? They needed the ships to defeat other races.

It seems the Kaylon are indeed connected to each other in some way. Now I wonder, as others have, why they didn't know their guards were defeated in the shuttlebay in the earlier ep? Or when Isaac went rogue? Perhaps they have to actually "think" about it, just as we have to say something verbally after the thought hits us. I might be reaching though... :)

I also wondered why, when the Doctor was set to go back in time, she hadn't told them what to do beforehand? The clock is running, she's about to get on the table, and only then hurriedly gives them the instructions. A small point, but enough that I took notice. Maybe do the instructions off-camera, and have her say something more along the lines of "Do you remember what I told you to do?"

Overall, I liked this one. Not fantastic, but not horrible. I'll watch it again on Hulu, and not just to see the little bits I missed when they came on to tell us about the potential tornado. I'll give it a thumbs up.

Enjoy the day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Hello Everyone!

I mentioned on a previous episode of The Orville about how many ST episodes have their roots in some other Sci-Fi show or movie, and that The Orville does the same. But do we add in a brief plot of some old movie we think a ST ep is drawn from? Not normally (but I've seen a few in the comments). Are some Orville's reminiscent of Trek? Yep. Did I mind? Nope. And do the gentle sentients that have not seen all 700+ episodes of Trek mind? I doubt it, any more than they would if a Trek was based off of a old movie they hadn't seen. I have seen them all (-Discovery), and still find this to be a nice take on things.

It's just, in the review (and thank you Jammer for these), there is a description of a TNG episode, so we will perhaps know where the writing is coming from for this one. But I honestly never thought of that episode at all until I saw the comments comparing this one to that. It came from a totally different circumstance, and goes in a mostly different direction. But there are two Kelly's, so it's felt a comparison must be made, since Thomas wanted to date Troi, and Ed still holds a flame for Kelly. But the stories are not the same.

I feel like I'm not being clear on my point though. After decades for some episodes, and a half century for others, at what point do those of us "in the know" stop comparing Orville to Trek? Or should we? It just seems to me it should be judged on its own merits a bit more, and not compared to the past quite so much.

Thank you for your time... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Hello Everyone!

@bobbington mcbob

I truly laughed at that. Thanks! :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

Hello Everyone!

@hifijohn

He did? I hadn't read that, but there are many things I haven't read. :)

He did do a reprise of his role in a fan-fic story/filmed episode. It was quite a few years ago, so I don't recall the name of the not-for-profit production, but the Enterprise goes back in time (shocked! :) ), and they find him in some way by accident, I think.

It seems the Doomsday Machine had a singularity at it's core, or something, and when he went in to commit suicide, it instead sent Decker through space and time. And there he was, on a viewscreen only (as I recall), talking to their version of Captain Kirk. He'd ended up living out his days on "old" Earth.

Perhaps, in the end, he didn't feel as bad about it as he had before. Hopefully, anyway. At least, he was nice enough to help them with their ST project. :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Welp, Endgame reviews are upon us, so Jammer's run out of time to keep us interested in his review. See y'all in August :P
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 7:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Hello Everyone!

I noticed the opening was different as well. I just figured the episode was running a minute or so long and they cut the opening instead of making a cut to a scene. While the Simpsons is a cartoon, they've done this many times when they needed an extra minute.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Hello Everyone!

I generally liked the episode, a heavy thumbs up for me. Now for some thoughts...

I thought Ed was going to ask Kelly her opinion of him dating her younger self, not give her a "if not you, then it'll be her" statement (paraphrase). That felt weird. On the other hand, it was one of the unexpected moments of the episode, though not necessarily a good one. On the third hand, if I saw a seven-year-younger version of someone I'd dated, and they were into me without the knowledge of my many (smile) screw-ups, maybe I'd do it too. But... probably not with the older version down the hall from me.

I think they did a fantastic job of having the two Kelly's in the same shots. If I didn't know any better, I'd think they were twins. And the smoothing they did for "young" Kelly was pretty good. I kept looking for the smile or laugh lines on young Kelly that older Kelly has, and didn't see them.

Heh, I did enjoy seeing Bortus and Klyden having a good time together on the dance floor. Long time coming, that...

I thought it was a nice touch, in an emergency, they don't take the time to put on superfluous uniforms but show up wearing their sleepwear.

The shot of the Kaylon vessel passing above was pretty cool. :). And it was also good to see them again, and being a bit menacing at that. Also, after saying they were close, and seeming to lose them, it was nice to have them come back later, after I'd forgotten about them. I enjoyed that. Oh, and when they focused on the glass with the ice in it, I thought the next scene would be about the Captain having one too many or something, and was glad it was instead young Kelly's wheels turning.

I have not watched previews for any show since TNG wrecked "Cause and Effect" for me, but have gathered this is a two-parter. I must admit, I was sort of expecting a happy smile and whatnot from his 9am phone call (perhaps because of all the happy endings of ST), not her saying no. That really sort of floored me. If that changed the timeline, perhaps Ed would be Captain of a better ship, because he didn't head into the gutter. Maybe Kelly does indeed make Captain herself, learning from the mistakes of the future. Maybe the Kaylon invasion was successful because they weren't in the right place and time to stop it. I'm going to resist reading many more comments for a time, especially since I am now only three weeks behind on the comments section. :) I look forward to the next episode...

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Hello Everyone!

@Mike

While they never really say (that I can recall), I have thought perhaps if they were mining asteroids, then a space station would be a good place to break it down. But not if the mining was on a planet or a moon (unless the atmosphere was totally hostile).

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 1:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Hello Everyone!

I remember thinking how it would have taken Tash longer to build the catapult by himself, from scratch, than the ten years it would take him to fly home.

If there were no conspiracies, then I wonder who the race was that just happened to be there, cloaked, waiting for Voyager to blow up the array with their finger hovering over the button for their tractor beam? Since they'd had no contact with each other, how did they even realize Voyager was going to destroy it in the first place? And it had to be real, because the power source turned up in the catapult. Right?

I thought both of the conspiracies hinged on the tractor beam, and it made it mildly more plausible to them because of it. Without that tidbit, they just send Seven to Doctor for tests. I wouldn't have minded that they wrote it that way so much, if they hadn't ignored this big mystery at the end. Now, if it had been a Romulan ship they'd seen, and not Cardassian with no cloak, maybe. But that would destroy one of the conspiracies... sigh...

Does a tractor beam keep an item from being damaged/destroyed as it's removed from a massive explosion, during the time it would take to move it?

Acting saved this one a bit, but the holes were bigger than I could swallow.

Have a Great Day, Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 5:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Hello Gentle Sentients!

I will say this only once... Probably. Depends on the story. Could change my mind and copy-paste it later...

Deep Space Nine ended in 1999, and The Next Generation a few years before. Even Enterprise ended in 2005. There is nearly a whole generation of folks who didn't grow up with Trek. And that doesn't include those that just didn't want to watch "Star Trek".

Are some of them a re-hash or a re-telling? Yes, I'd agree (but that didn't stop me from liking them). I keep seeing comparisons to Kira or "The Wounded" or some other character from Trek, looking at them with the knowledge of 700+ episodes of Trek under their belt. Hey, get this, some of those folks have not seen all of those episodes. And of those 700+, when you read comments or reviews, a sentient finds out some of them were based off of Other Stories! Yes... it's true! I think after all that time, it might be difficult to write a story with a different bad guy, or good guy, or scenario, that won't remind a sentient of... something...

I am one of those that has seen all of those 700+ (minus DSC), but I attempt to just watch The Orville for what it is, and the story they are telling. Sometimes the jokes are bad (so... so bad), but other times they are light moments in a serious situation, just to break the tension. I'll admit I don't like them as well when they are incongruous, but I accept them for what they are, and sometimes still snicker.

In conclusion, there are people who might like this show, and would never give Star Trek the time of day (and have not memorized every episode of it). To them, it is a new story. And they hopefully enjoy it.

Regards Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 3:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Hello Everyone!

@Aaron

That is an interesting thought. They said it all along, they are "Of Bajor". So in some way, shape or fashion, they have a true connection to it. It would be an interesting show, or movie, that takes this further.

Thanks for that insight, lost among the seemingly endless bloviating that has been making my eyes bleed.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I really enjoy and want to see more of every single character on this show EXCEPT the two that keep being given most of the screen time. That is a frustrating place to be in.
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.