Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 58 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Sun, May 2, 2021, 9:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Some blood on the blades would have been nice. Down the road there was blood during the "let's prove we are not shapeshifters by slicing our palms" scenes ...

The very last scene -- silence and an exchange of knowing looks, well-done. Perhaps Jadzia could have gone to Morn for advice...
Set Bookmark
Ramon Ymalay
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 2:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@peter
If you truly believe that I believe we are actually "close" to holodeck level tech, I don't even know what to say. LOL. I am definitely laughing.

My point is that given the insane jumps in technology it would take to create that turbolift chasm or the holodeck, we are lightyears closer to a holodeck than making subspace bubbles inside a starship that encapsulate turbolifts.

We have already "transported" one photon.

https://mitechnews.com/guest-columns/one-step-closer-to-creating-star-trek-style-transporter-warp-drive/

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/09/23/quantum-feat-takes-us-one-step-closer-to-star-trek-transporters_n_8181418.html

Couple billion years (if humans can avoid self destruction) maybe we can transport someone... then move on to the turbolift dilemma.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 3:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@slackerinc I think saying complete lack was too strong of wording. Any show when it ends always will have some minor quibbles from fans about the ending.

However, I think we can both agree it stuck the ending a million fold better than Lost, BSG, dexter (worst ever for me, hope the revival can fix that) or GoT. I want to watch breaking bad again to get to that last season. I avoid BSG, Lost and GoT specifically because of the endings.

While not Sci Fi, I felt Friday Night Lights and The office along with TNG are some of my favorite endings. The office probably being my all time favorite. Perfect resolution on all fronts practically. DS9 when it first aired, I was underwhelmed with “What you leave behind”, but having watched through the series multiple times since the era of DVDs and now Netflix, being able to binge it, the ending seems to flow much better and I love the ending now.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 10:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Peter- any of the tech manuals provide a better explanation than any “sub space” turbolift.

The fact that there are manuals that can at least provide a half hazard explanation proves my point. Furthermore, the tech has some basic explanations given in actual episodes throughout the use of the holodeck.

The turbo lifts would have been remotely acceptable if they had explained during the refit that discovery or they briefly addressed the insanity of the turbolift shafts. They could have said that discovery now transcends normal limits of space due to retrofitting some sub space bubbles on the ship or some other technobabble. The fact that the turbo lifts were an issue back in the 23rd century (just not as insanely cavernous) does not bode well for that explanation.

Heck we are getting closer and closer to holodeck technology already. Not sure how much VR you do, but the Virtuix Omni is a VERY rudimentary idea of the treadmill in place concept and they are even producing a second version. Combine that with replicated matter and transporter tech and it’s really not hard to
Imagine a holodeck.

The fact that we are having to come up with endless explanations for the lazy writing just further reinforces just how bad the writing for Disco truly is. A truly great show shouldn’t have fans trying to justify every thing for the sake of the writers.

Game of Thrones was amazing....up until the end... as the ending did not feel earned. Not wanting to give spoilers for anyone that hadn’t seen it, but that was controversial because despite some characters showing some tendencies, they did not allow the actions to happen organically at the end. It was rushed. Breaking bad however allowed everything to happen organically and it felt “right.” Hence the complete lack of controversy regarding the ending of breaking bad.

The same thing that happened to GoT is the same thing people are doing for Discovery. Fans trying to endlessly justify the lazy writing, when if fact it is what it is. Lazy writing with unearned moments. I do not believe GoT had the plot of the ending wrong, it was just the execution of it and the rushing of the character arc that was the issue.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 8:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The holodecks are explained in detail in the tech manuals.

If the turbo lift issue was only a season 3 phenomenon I could live with the “it’s crazy 32nd century tech and they can somehow create insane cavernous spaces inside a ship via warp bubbles.” The issue is that the turbo lift shafts were an issue in an episode in the prior season as well back when they were in the 23rd century.
Set Bookmark
Ramon Ymalay
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 2:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Lower Decks is the best of all the new star trek series by far. It actually has heart. It has a cohesive story. It has relatable characters. It pays homage to canon. It has awesome and appropriate use of throwback characters and references. Most importantly, IT HAS REALISTIC TURBOLIFT SHAFTS!!!

It's a true travesty that this website is devoting it's time to Discovery, when Lower Decks is the best of all the nuTrek by a mile.

I enjoy LD more than ENT, DISCO, or Picard. It is shockingly good. I am not sure how much I'd enjoy it without having watched TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY, and ENT, but it truly is a show made for the fans.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

My autocorrect spaced out turbolift. And I meant to put two words. I am well aware turbo lift shafts is three words. My emotions and rage got the better of me.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 9:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I rarely ever post on here, but Disco has gotten so absurd I don’t even know where to start.

Throughout the season I have never seen more unearned moments than what I have seen on this show.

The crew could have cared less about gorgiou yet when she dies she gets a better send off and tribute than DATA!!!’ (At least before Picard). That is ridiculous.

Tilly as ensign???? Don’t even get me started! How about some basic chain of command.

The crew is crying constantly. I have never seen a more unprofessional crew in my life.

One word. Turbo lift shafts. Enough said about that.

The burn being caused by some emotional child’s outburst.... omg.

This show is a disaster. I wish they would just call it non canon and cancel it and start over. It’s the laziest writing I have ever seen.
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 9:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Thanks to Trent for the quotes in his post, making this so much easier.

Re-watch this episode and you will realize it is an allegory for Covid in the time of 2020 Politics:

PLASUS: Do you really expect me to believe that that mask can ...

VANNA: It's hard to believe something which is neither seen nor felt can do so much harm.

PLASUS: Preposterous.

VANNA: But soon ... We'll die.

KIRK: Die from something that can't be seen? You astound me, Vanna.


Sigh. It's all about the masks.
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 2:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

Sisko could have booby trapped the station with Covid. Cardassians are well known to be vulnerable to viruses (TNG "Ensign Ro")

Disabling all of the DS9 Keurig Raktajino machines was very cold blooded.
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 1:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Anyone notice that what happened to Losira and the
Kalandans seems eerily like Covid, especially how
the disease was spread to their entire interstellar
society via the trade routes ... yikes.

Add a star for Lee Meriwether please.

Like a door opening and closing ... can we get to 2021
and get past Covid asap?
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 12:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Arena

If Sisko had mentioned Garth, we all would have known who
he was talking about. The Gorn however is a classic and
can be haunting (just ask Sheldon Cooper).

I am sure the Star Fleet Academy Case Study that Sisko
read as a Cadet was entitled "Captain Kirk and the Gorn:
Cestas III and the importance of morals in the face of
outrage" (did the Metron mineral planet have a name?)

Does anyone have the rookie card for the Gorn who played
First Base for the Pike City Pioneers?
Set Bookmark
JJ not Abrams 8-)
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 11:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

It is 2020 and we all could use The Doctor's help.

Probably just as well that the Photonic Cannon hasn't
been invented yet.
Set Bookmark
Rama
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 2:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

I think I figured out the “a technological society’s descendants become a religious society on an asteroid” angle.

It is probably based on The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester (aka Tiger Tiger in the UK), which was written about a decade before TOS. In a chapter that would be completely offensive today, the main character crashes into an asteroid. The original inhabitants, 200 years prior, were scientists, but the descendants are “savages” (Bester’s words) who practice superstition and are very religious.

Personally, I think it’s cool to see how sci-fi stories influence each other. For example, Discovery’s new storyline about being flung into the future makes me think of Tau Zero by Poul Anderson, in which the ship’s crew must deal with the psychological effects of being flung very far into the future. And Tau Zero itself seems to have been influenced by TOS in some respects. Tau Zero’s constable character also seems to have influenced the character of Odo in DS9.

I could go on all day long but yeah sci-fi is cool :)
Set Bookmark
Rama
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

The thing that never made sense to me is why they developed a religion around hiding the identity of the generational ship. Wouldn’t that just make it more difficult to correct accidents, like the one that almost happened?

I think that McCoy getting married is 1960’s for “had sex”.

The takeaway I have is that Arthur C. Clarke seems to have gotten a small seed of inspiration from this episode for his Rama series- at first, they think it’s an asteroid, but it turns out to be a generational ship. His story is better in my opinion though.
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 2:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Demons

everyone seems to think Tpol somehow secretly got pregnant and stashed the baby in the solar system.

Hasn't anyone noticed that she has been halfway across the galaxy in the expanse for quite a while?
Set Bookmark
Kabraman94
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Remco_Spock_Helmet

Seriously.... some people need to lighten up. It's like their entire world is crumbling.
Set Bookmark
Ramon
Fri, Jan 10, 2020, 1:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

When I watched this episode when it first age at the age of 15, I though it was a good episode, but not great. I have watched this episode periodically over the last 24 years but not since I became a father i 2020. As a father 25 years later I have just watched this episode. WOW! I never quite got why it was such an amazing episode before, but now as a father I totally have a new point of view. I cried no less than 3 times through the episode. The acting was spectacular. Cirroc lofton I pulled a performance for the ages out of thin air. The pain in his eyes each time Sisko shifted away was palpable. The fact that we are talking about this episode 25 years later is a testament to the greatness of this episode. The writing, pacing, music and acting just clicked. I totally understand where some people believe this was overrated or they just didn’t get it. I didn’t “get it” for 25 years. I just “got
It” today. Bravo! A true classic and literally the best episode of Star Trek among all 7 series. And a classic TV episode in all aspects.
Set Bookmark
Deram
Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 1:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Trainer herself wasn't in hiding, though, so Data still should have at least recognized her as one of the Omicron Theta colonists if he had the logs of anyone who knew her there.
Set Bookmark
JJ Not Abrams 8-)
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 10:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

About Nog ... and Wesley Crusher

Sometimes the kids who get C's succeed because they have experience dealing with and overcoming failure. The geniuses often crumble upon stumbling for the first time

I was under the impression that Wesley didn't fail the entry exam, only that he was outscored by another genius in a "only one winner" contest

Wesley gets into SFA, then is involved in the death of an academy cadet. Genius, eh?

Nog (spoiler alert) goes on to display uncommon valor and bravery, coolness under fire, and a knack for getting things done in the Starfleet bureaucracy.

Nog has Insightful diplomatic skills too - Martok would have gutted Wesley over that promenade spot thing!
Set Bookmark
Caramel
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I definitely agree w/all those who hated Pulaski. I never liked her. I just saw this episode, and I guess I didn't realize she was such an uber bitch to Data for no reason when I was younger. Her attitude toward him in this episode is ridiculous. She mispronounces his name, then pronounces it correctly, and the says "whatever" b/c she doesn't actually care. Even if I thought he was just a machine, if he took the time to correct the pronunciation of his name, I would call him by the name he wanted me to use!
Set Bookmark
yramina
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 7:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Definitely in the minority here, but this is one of my favorite DS9 episodes, and one of the few memorable ones. In general I find DS9 the weakest of the four ST series I deem "real" (TOS, TNG, DS9, and Voyager; Enterprise is decent sci-fi, at least the first couple of seasons, if you do not try to take it as actual Star Trek; everything later is, at best, fanfic ...and sometimes the "fan" part is questionable), but probably for the very reasons others like it so - it is not episodic. To me it is a dreary, talky, sci-fi based soap opera with too many characters, too many concurrent plots, and too many improbable situations.

But this episode is self-contained and, like the best of ST, explores concepts and ideas, even if not entirely well-handled. Yes, there are many plot holes (any captain, especially in a war situation, would immediately check the computers for information about the ship from which they receive a distress call ...but ST has never been known for realistic security), and yes, the denouement contains typical "modern" ST (TNG and later) technobabble, which was unnecessary. But I find it compelling and it remains one of the few DS9 episodes I will actually sit and watch, rather than losing interest in fifteen minutes; its effect, for me, is much like TNG's "The Inner Light" (admittedly a much better episode).
Set Bookmark
Ramo
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 7:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

“It combines elements from previous episodes and form a new unique story which is easy to do”

You’re right, it is easy to do...with recycled footage.

Can’t wait for your review touting “Cost of Living”’s refreshing take on disciplining children.
Set Bookmark
Karel Kramer
Fri, Nov 16, 2018, 10:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Tony (April 2017). You’re absolutely correct about the location of Panama City, Trip’s hometown. Ironically, it’s part of the devastated Panhandle hit by Hurricane Michael.
Set Bookmark
Karel Kramer
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 10:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

Jez: Further evidence of the need for knowledgeable editors/proofreaders in all areas of writing. An interest of mine.

TO ALL POSTERS: I greatly appreciate reading the comments on how certain elements of the plot fit into Trek canon. I’ve been watching the series solely for its entertainment value, which has upped the game this season. Learning the lore here is an added benefit. Thank you.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.