Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 772 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Nov 8, 2018, 8:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

re. "Calypso" Short Trek

First of all -- not sure what to make of these short treks - not even a full 1/2 hr with commercials. What can possibly be achieved in such a short time?

So the Discovery has just been sitting there for 1000 years with a lonely computer?? Reminded me a bit of the Companion in "Metamorphosis" as the USS Discovery computer befriending the black dude after tractoring in his escape pod. The two develop a friendship, try and satisfy each others' needs etc. I guess the computer realizes the dude needs to get back to his wife and so off he eventually goes in a shuttle. Some trite stuff about being reminded what it means to be human -- maybe supposed to be a feelgood thing about AI.

Just hope DSC S2 is much better than S1 -- definitely not too many brain cells are being wasted on these short treks.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Nov 8, 2018, 4:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Just re-watched this one and find the ending quite a bit more touching than I initially thought and to see Odo's transformation was very nice with Croden's stone and the changeling within. We know from "Captive Pursuit" he can make his own decisions regardless of what his standing orders are.

3 stars for "Vortex" -- will prove to be a prophetic episode and lays a seed for Odo's longing to find his people while he lives in loneliness. Sometimes it takes an odd/misunderstood character like Croden to show Odo something "human" and become an inflection point for him.

Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 6:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

This is a lame, trite episode -- it did feel a bit like Sesame Street but it's not all bad as some of the earlier interactions were sort of amusing and I liked Neelix's concern for the hatchling. But of course this type of episode will never really test the limits of his concern for the hatchling -- the ship rescues them just in time.
Kes was OK here being caught in between Neelix and Tom and being concerned about possibly losing both of them -- her jumble of emotions.

I suppose it had been building - this Neelix/Kes/Paris triangle as a sideshow on VOY and so here comes "Parturition" to resolve it. I think it's fine that Paris admits he feels something for Kes and goes to Harry first as a buddy. But the whole Neelix/Tom confession scene at the end was just too trite and predictable. Put the 2 malcontents in a situation where they have to care for a baby and the problem is solved -- not good enough for Trek.

As for the aliens, they're just more random aliens of the week -- nothing special about them. Why no verbal contact between the ships was made is strange. It's just disappointing to see the extent the show goes to to create these aliens and ultimately does very little with them. Seems odd that these aliens have a powerful starship and yet their babies hatch in a cave...

Neelix's over-the-top jealousy is kind of funny -- maybe this is a trait of his race regarding their mates. I think there should be more such traits among the aliens that can annoy humans more...

2 stars for "Parturition" -- plenty of the VOY cliches of transporters not working, shuttle crashes, random aliens of the week all to resolve the Neelix/Kes/Paris relationship triangle - which is hardly compelling. It's an overly feelgood episode that is too much so for Trek, I think.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Nov 2, 2018, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

"Tuvix" is a good example of the kind of episode VOY is pretty good at -- taking some technobabble but really making it a solid character episode with some very strong performances (Janeway - for the most part, and Kes). The episode has its flaws and I agree with Jammer that not enough time is focused on the consequences and too much time was focused on Kes missing Neelix - although both are relevant. But it's a poignant episode with Janeway having to make a tough moral decision and is easily a better-than-average hour of VOY.

The good thing about the episode is that the whole symbiogenesis in the transporter mishap -- Trek has its share of transporter mishap episodes -- isn't that far-fetched considering "The Enemy Within" or "Relics", as examples. I have more of an issue with how Janeway quickly operates the transporter for the reverse process and in a few seconds Tuvok and Neelix re-materialize -- as if this process is as easy as making a sandwich and she knows how to do it so expertly. Shouldn't Janeway have to at least wait for the injection of the isotopes to circulate throughout Tuvix's body? Anyhow, whatever - it's Trek.

The best scene was the heart-to-heart between Janeway and Kes -- both Mulgrew and Lien are terrific here and this is something VOY can do that no other Trek can (for obvious reasons). I liked how they tied losing Tuvok/Neelix and no hope of getting back to being separated (in Janeway's case) to home and their loved ones and the overall question of giving up hope.

So Tuvix believes he deserves to live -- that's fine of course. He has Neelix's and Tuvok's memories etc. and understands how he was created. But I think Janeway should have really hammered home the point of how his creation was a mistake. Instead, it did seem abrupt when the crew, who had become his friend, just abandon him completely when Janeway wants to get Tuvok/Neelix back -- did they get an order from the captain ahead of time? And I do think Tuvix is exaggerating when he calls it "murder" -- that's not quite true, although it is understandable for him to say that.

The ending with Janeway just telling Tuvok and Neelix that it's good to have them back is too abrupt -- but that's where the structure of the episode was more focused on Tuvix integrating with the crew etc. No time left for an epilogue.

3 stars for "Tuvix" -- definitely a compelling story and a really good VOY episode with some flaws, of course. The actor for Tuvix did a good job in trying to get into the swing of things on the ship, being uncertain, trying to relate to Kes etc.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Borderline terrible this might be the worst episode of DS9 S1 -- basically an elaborate lesson to make Quark regret cheating is just ridiculous on so many levels. The idea of the senior officers being in a dangerous maze is a good one provided there is good justification for it -- here, there isn't. Quark is terrible in this episode as well -- not great for earning the character any points. Watching the 4 senior officers in the maze got seriously tedious.

The aliens who are supposed to represent first contact with a GQ species were stupidly outfitted and ultimately, if there's a lesson to be taken from them (perhaps about integrity?) it's completely lost in the nonsense.

The scene with Quark grovelling just came across as pathetic -- and it was impossible to take him seriously. That's a problem with this character in that one can't take him not being devious in some way.

I think there was supposed to be a B-plot of father giving son lessons about girls but that went nowhere since Sisko spent most of the episode in the maze. But it continues the idea that Nog is a bad influence on Jake.

This actually felt like an early TNG episode, which is not good considering S1 & S2 are the 2 worst seasons in the Trek cannon.

And why was Kira freaking out so much? Seemed excessive. We know she's supposed to be especially fiery to start the series but some of her characterization was over the top.

Barely 1.5 stars for "Move Along Home" -- first contact gone wrong because Quark's an idiot. The ringer he gets put through in deciding which of the 3 to sacrifice pales in comparison to what the 4 senior officers had to go through. Another set of stupid random aliens here with technology that goes beyond the required Trek suspension of disbelief. Just an early warning that DS9 will produce a handful of really dumb episodes over 7 seasons, but that one can forget in the grand scheme of things.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 7:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

There are some things to like about this episode but it's also very sloppy. Disappointed at how understated Amelia Earheart was -- it's almost like what's the point of having her here other than tying it to the mysterious disappearance in 1937. Her partner was more dominant (and annoying) in the episode -- which is poor judgment on the part of the writers. There's plenty of stupid stuff like the landing party being taken hostage by the 37's and the phaser battle -- not to mention how a 1936 Ford is floating in space and then Paris is able to start it up again.

But the whole idea of the crew being tempted to stay on a nice Earth-like planet and then unanimously committing to the long trip home is a good affirmation of the main thrust of VOY. There's also the initial hope for the Voyager crew of finding these aliens and helping them get back home. But then the slave uprising that sent the aliens packing sounds like a stretch. So the aliens captured the 37's and made them breed and then put them in cryostasis chambers where most of them eventually died -- why? Just one of the strange questions I'm left with. I guess Earheart didn't procreate as the last thing she remembers was the alien abduction -- or did the aliens wipe her memory of the procreation? Who really cares.

More should have been made of Janeway and Earheart -- it was clear the captain was fascinated by discovering Earheart and wanting to show her ship etc. Have to wonder about PD violations, which is a constant theme on VOY...

I got the sense this episode went for something somewhat grandiose with spending time on the ship's landing. But then I was disappointed when we didn't even get to see these wonderful cities of humans that have developed here. That might have given more weight to the crew's decision of staying or continuing on.

Barely 2.5 stars for "The 37's" -- one of those VOY episodes that tells a good story but when you open the cupboard, it's pretty bare. It's borderline mindless fun -- maybe the kind of Trek episode for the very casual viewer, but not bad as a season opener to reinforce the main VOY issue of why Earth/home is special etc.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@ Debra Petersen,

In "Balance of Terror" the Romulan commander says Romulans are creatures of duty. So I would expect the Romulan commander in this episode to accept her fate at the hands of the Romulan Senate (or whatever governing body). She knows she's a goner and is programmed to accept it. And her punishment would likely be execution. That to me is the most realistic and consistent outcome. I too can't buy that nonsense fanfic about her being given a chance to work her way back to a command position. Her errors in judgment were far too grave.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Oct 30, 2018, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

@ Peter G.,

I've always had a soft spot for this episode. I totally agree with you that there is much merit to this episode (Jammer's TOS reviews/ratings are very much hit and miss and he misses it here).

"TOS could turn a lackluster set and make the scenes feel eerie." This is so true. Look at "Spectre of the Gun". The cheap-ass set works here and in this episode.

But I don't think this episode is consistent with Spock's character development, even as it relates to him being in command. He is just plain out of character here -- maybe the bump to his head has something to do with it. He has been repeatedly challenged when in command "The Galileo Seven", "The Tholian Web" come to mind but I don't think he should be more aggressive with his denouncement of others' input here. I think the character interactions for Kirk, Sulu, Spock are where this episode suffers greatly not to mention phasering the disco cube as the ending resolution. I can't see it better than a 2* episode.

The other thing is I get the sense people shit on TOS S3 far too much. I don't think it is weak either (it's not strong, though). It's really a few stinkers that drag it down. It has excellent outings like "The Empath" "The Enterprise Incident" and "All Our Yesterdays". But for me, there is a noticeable dip in quality from TOS S1 and S2 (the 2 best seasons in the Trek cannon) and S3. And (after careful consideration) I'd posit that, for example, TNG S1, S2, S6, S7 are worse and TNG S5 is barely better than TOS S3. Yes, I will always lament that TOS stopped after 3 seasons...Still remains the best Trek for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 7:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

More TNG S1 mediocrity here with lot of stuff that doesn't make much sense. Wesley has to compete against 3 other brilliant kids to get admission to Star Fleet -- did every other person currently in SF have to go through the same BS or was Wes in line for some special training in the academy?

Next, Admiral Quinn's reason for his investigation of Picard is ridiculous and Remmick is super-annoying. So Quinn sees conspiracies everywhere - how is this idiot a SF admiral?

There's almost more for me to upset at with this episode but I did like Wesley in this one -- he's more like a normal 17-yr-old. And I did like how the crew didn't put up with Remmick's nonsense -- good to see a rise out of them. The character of each crew member (Worf, Data, Riker, Crusher) comes through in the different ways they "express" their levels of irritation.

The whole part about that Jake kid stealing the shuttlecraft was pretty dumb. So it purports to show Picard with an ingenious rescue -- but this was unnecessary as Remmick's investigation found nothing wrong. And what was wrong with Jake? He steals the shuttle - something about not being able to face his father? This whole "C-plot" should have been omitted from the episode.

Another gripe is the overacting in this episode -- does Remmick really need to come across as such an ass? Riker is always up for a pissing contest. Even Quinn and Picard get testy with each other -- I blame it more on Quinn and some poor writing.

2 stars for "Coming of Age" -- lots going on with the 2 main plots but both are ill-conceived and don't seem practical. Why can SF only admit 1 of the 4 brilliant entrants? The whole Quinn conspiracy thing as a means of determining if Picard is suitable to lead the academy - kind of ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Oct 22, 2018, 11:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

I think I was a tad too harsh on this episode -- I think Mulgrew's acting is pretty solid. And the best parts of the episode are the earlier ones with the whole "Janeway's going insane" thing. It gets silly in the end with Kes turning the tables on the alien - like some cheesy horror movie.

A lot the hallucinations / WTF stuff seem to be twists on stuff like "Frame of Mind", some holodeck gone wild episodes, and maybe even a bit of "The Naked Time" with people's past/true natures coming to the fore and being used to make them catatonic.

The ending with some random alien screwing around with people's minds because he can and the crew wondering if any of it happened etc. -- the whole reset bit is a big disappointment. Maybe what the crew get out of it is seeing a side of themselves they know is there but that they'd rather keep under wraps.

And where do things stand with the xenophobic Botha aliens whose space Voyager is trying pass through? Were they just conjured up by this 1 alien?

2 stars for "Persistence of Vision" -- a weird sci-fi episode that doesn't have the substance to back up the atmospheric effects of hallucinations, playing on the crew's past weaknesses - it's all a bit much for some random alien to come up with. Too much suspension of disbelief here and a disappointing ending leaving this as a "who cares?" episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Oct 20, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Yanks,

While I agree it's nice that the solution doesn't come down to more "technobabble and photo torpedoes" and that Tuvok's do nothing is the solution (makes sense to not apply logic since it's an illogical situation), I'd hardly call anything in this episode a blessing. Ultimately it all means too little if anything -- and if it means something, the episode doesn't even make it close to obvious. Have to agree with "Waldorf" that bad writing won the day in this turd of an episode.

What the distortion ring was doing to Voyager was beyond suspension of disbelief -- which you do need a fair bit of in watching VOY.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Oct 19, 2018, 11:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Clearly the worst VOY episode to date -- this one's terrible on so many levels: idiotic premise, bad interactions among characters, nothing meaningful and completely arbitrary resolution. Janeway speculates about some kind of alien intelligence trying to communicate, exchange information but it just comes about as an afterthought at the end of the episode making "Twisted" a total waste of an hour.

The distortion ring made absolutely no sense. The episode spends way too much time on filler stuff like the crew wandering around in a maze. There's just not enough here in terms of ideas, plot etc. It's not hallucinations, which might have been better.

What is also bad is the bizarre nature of the interactions among the crew. Why, as Janeway and Kim are crawling around, does the captain decide to tell the ensign out of nowhere that he has been exceeding expectations? This makes no sense. And then there's the pissing contest where Chakotay calls Tuvok arrogant and the Vulcan says he doesn't agree with some of the 1st officer's decisions (or whatever). So there's supposed to be some resentment about Chakotay getting to be the 1st officer instead of Tuvok -- Vulcans shouldn't feel resentment anyway. It was as if this episode tried to artificially manufacture some spice in the midst of the overall boredom/idiocy.

There's the nonsensical technobabble of a shock pulse and particle shower, which doesn't work and Tuvok, who got shut down by Chakotay, gets everybody to do nothing and like magic the distortion wave passes and all is back to normal.

Neelix's jealousy is somewhat interesting -- maybe it's a Talaxian thing. At least it's not bland and it's moderately humorous and I thought Chakotay had a good answer for Neelix's questions about women.

1 star for "Twisted" -- a true VOY turkey here: stupid spacial anomaly that does arbitrary things and nothing useful comes out of it. The characters say some out-of-character things but it's not systematic -- just reeks of poor writing, as they're supposed to be normal. The special effects were bad as well - like a high-schooler was doing them. Sounds like it was meant to be a Chakotay leadership episode as Janeway was out of commission for the most part -- but that would up failing as well.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Oct 18, 2018, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Initiations

Not a bad episode but certainly not great -- most important is fleshing out the Kazon and, yes, finding out they have much in common with Klingons. So there is potential for them as a foe over the next little while. I think they come across as foolish and treacherous. Based on what we know of them at this stage, I also find it hard to see how they've managed to develop warp-capable ships etc. I assume some Kazon like Razik must have some scientific/technical knowledge, though it doesn't seem like it.

Interesting also is Chakotay's attempts at making peace and more about his spiritual side. Paris and Neelix play minor out-of-character roles on the ship as Janeway, Chakotay, and Tuvok were all gone. That was enjoyable to see.

Kar was like early-DS9 Nog -- just annoying. But Chakotay wears on him and I was surprised when he kills Razik. No idea what the consequences would be. Why wouldn't the 2nd in command kill Kar? So this seemed like a gamble but I guess all the rules of Kazon weren't explained -- or maybe you'd have to apply Klingon logic (Worf kills Gowron and then he gives the power to Martok -- or something like that).

The Kazon coming across as foolish or idiotic: Their landing party deceives Janeway and co. -- not sure for what purpose. They put them in a forcefield but Janeway and co. easily get out and then there's no further conflict between them other than threats after Nog kills Razik. So I think the writers could do better with the Kazon -- or at least the plot is a bit wonky here.

2.5 stars for "Initiations" -- at least at this stage I'm interested to see more of the Kazon and their inter-relationships if they can make a few of them recurring characters. Maybe by sheer numbers they can be a worthy foe for Voyager. I liked Chakotay's principles and his spirituality has always been somewhat interesting. The Kazon should be annoying and Kar certainly was all that.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Iceman,

So now you're the expert on journalism and can discern science from pseudoscience...interesting.

I'm actually a professional journalist and I'd much rather trust what somebody like Professor Colin Reeves, from the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Coventry University has to say about science than you or Elliott.

If you want to put a lot of stock in what CBS says, go ahead. Just don't necessarily expect me to. This particular article on YourNewWire.com is fine and who says that news site "blatantly lies"? CBS? Like I said, I could not care less what CBS says. I just consider the article.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 10:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Elliott,

It's fine for a story to have just one source -- not sure why you say the credentials of the scientists can't be checked. I checked this guy's credentials and they seem to be fine: Professor Colin Reeves, from the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Coventry University.

It is certainly not propaganda (maybe you should take a history lesson and see what the USSR did during the Cold War and what the Chinese Communist regime does today for what propaganda is). I suspect you have some ulterior motives or some bizarre agenda to push.

All I'm saying is I don't buy the theory of evolution. I don't have to provide an alternative scientific theory to say I don't buy it. If you want to believe in evolution go ahead.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Iceman -

What CBS News calls a fake news site is irrelevant. It's up to the news consumer to judge. Personally, this article is the first time I've even heard of the news site in question -- I came across the article through social media where somebody I trust shared it.

I think what CBS News is doing is identifying sites which have maybe once or twice got something wrong - and calling it "fake news". I couldn't give a rat's ass what CBS's motivations are. In this case, what is more important is if the news on the site YourNewWire.com is decent journalism or not. In this case, regarding nixing the theory of evolution, I think it is -- that is if you even bothered to check out the story and the links/sources.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Small point but I think this episode could have paid some homage to "What Are Little Girls Made Of?" in recognizing Dr. Roger Korby's work with androids. Korby worked on creating androids out of human beings -- Soong's work took a different approach and he's glorified here with developing the positronic brain.

At this stage of TNG, there seemed to be the effects of TOS lingering -- familiar production crew etc. -- so would have been nice (for me) to get a TOS reference in here.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 6:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Small point but I think this episode could have paid some homage to "What Are Little Girls Made Of?" in recognizing Dr. Roger Korby's work with androids. Korby worked on creating androids out of human beings -- Soong's work took a different approach and he's talked about here as the foremost scientist and developing the positronic brain.

At this stage of TNG, there seemed to be the effects of TOS lingering -- familiar production crew etc. -- so would have been nice (for me) to get a TOS reference in here.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Oct 13, 2018, 6:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Jason,

For me, I just think the arguments against evolution are too powerful to ignore. And one can take that stance without having to provide a foolproof alternative scientific theory.

Who knows -- science may not be able to explain everything rigorously. And maybe there is something to the belief that God created man etc. It used to be that what science could not "explain" was sometimes attributed to the divine.

But yes, there are reasons why evolution has stuck around. No better scientific theory and examples from natural selection.

As for "Genesis" - there are so many problems with the episode and I think it's an insult to Trek. Data positing the rapid de-evolution theory is an attempt to bring some "science" to what's happening but it's hopeless.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Oct 13, 2018, 3:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

just randomly came across this, so thought I'd post it here -- theory of evolution is a sham. Sometimes human thinking gets so set in its ways...

https://yournewswire.com/500-scientists-reject-theory-evolution/

Anyhow, regardless of your stance on evolution "Genesis" sucked and for me not believing in evolution hardly makes it any more palatable.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 9:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

@RandomThoughts,

Thanks for your comment.

Yes, I didn't belabor the point about Odan not being transparent and you're right, it is a pretty big deal and a intriguing theme of love/romance in this episode (which gets lost in the shuffle of all the other reasons to be critical of this episode) that the appearance of a love interest is paramount for Crusher and being open and honest up front. That in itself is not a particularly enlightening concept from this episode if applied widely as a general commentary. It's more like common sense.

From Odan's perspective, even if he knows being a joined Trill is rare, it is likely not the first thing that comes to his mind if he gets romantically involved and he'd eventually find the right setting to open up -- although he did spend enough time with Crusher... So maybe what you suggest should happen would have happened had things not been precipitated. But I still think, as I said initially, that Odin is deceptive.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 6:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Somewhat unsatisfying and hit-and-miss but it had some strong moments with the mind-meld rape and even the B-story with Trip/Kov (never seen a chubby Vulcan before) was nice. I think it's interesting that there could be a group of Vulcans who see Surak's teaching differently, but that it proves to be dangerous, which is consistent with what the general population's understanding is.

Blalock's performance is terrific from start to finish -- she is skeptical and then curious and plays the part of the trusting but ultimately violated female well. The actor for Tolaris was also good and gave that distinctly creepy vibe. It is a bit confusing what the dream with the jazz club means and how that leads to her dreaming of being in bed with Tolaris etc. Is the jazz music a trigger for hidden/sexual emotions? Ultimately T'Pol is envious of Archer for his ability to dream, but again, not sure how to interpret that.

The history of the mind-meld is also a bit confusing -- T'Pol consents to it but I thought it was supposed to be frowned upon / illegal at this stage of the canon. Of course, it's cool by the time of TOS. The scene with Archer confronting Tolaris was weird -- he starts out rather cordially but really he wants figure out what Tolaris did to T'Pol. Then Tolaris gets confrontational and throws the captain across the room. Poorly handled by Archer -- should've just kicked his Vulcan ass off the ship or found some way to get him to the Vulcan authorities. T'Pol was essentially raped and Tolaris gets off scot free.

The Trip/Kov part provided some levity and the usual reciprocal learning about cultures -- it was a welcomed part of this episode. Liked Trip's story about regret in not asking some girl to dance and that gets Kov to call his ailing dad. Also Kov's chubby appearance works for being an unconventional Vulcan!

2.5 stars for "Fusion" -- could have been a much stronger episode if it wanted to be a proper treatment/analogy of rape. Also adds another dimension to the Vulcan society, although it's inconsequential. A really good episode for T'Pol's character although not a good one for Archer, who encouraged T'Pol to keep an open mind about something she already has a good sense of how to handle.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Oct 4, 2018, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Decent episode that is likely the best Ezri episode to date + it uses the Joran host interestingly (albeit requiring a bit more suspension of disbelief to "conjure" him up). But I liked how the Joran character was acted -- certainly wasn't wooden, was engaging in a dark way. One could understand what a sociopath he was given the blatant disregard for life and describing a killer's motivations.

Had a bit of difficulty understanding why Ezri/Joran decided to focus on Vulcans as the logical murder suspects and that a Vulcan who has suffered a heavy personal loss could believe that logic dictates he kills those who are happy. Some relevant part of the canon may be escaping me as to why that could be plausible. Or it is just simply that the Vulcan murderer is insane.

But why does the Vulcan killer decide to kill Ezri -- just because he ran into her on the turbolift and he perceived her as acting weird (due to Joran)? Ezri (to my knowledge) didn't have a photo of herself being happy when with friends, which was the common link between the murder victims. The Vulcan looked up her personal file and then immediately decided to kill her but Ezri turns out to be a step ahead.

Thought the rifle transporting the bullet was quite cool although being able to look through bulkheads etc. is another bit of a stretch. Sounds like this kind of weapon should be used a lot more by the Federation (or its nefarious enemies).
In any case, the best scene was when Ezri and the Vulcan are using the same type of rifle to simultaneously shoot each other -- good suspense here.

2.5 stars for "Field of Fire" -- neat way of doing a murder investigation using the Trill framework and having Ezri be put through the wringer a bit (something DS9 likes to do to its characters). Joran being able to be a strong voice in Ezri's head is an intriguing feature as part of the Trill framework and with it represented as him being alongside her worked for me, suspension of disbelief to achieve this notwithstanding. DS9 is certainly trying hard to make the most of the Ezri character so far.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Oct 4, 2018, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Just terrible -- combine the weak elements of DS9 into 1 stupid episode: the Mirror Universe, the Ferengi and a focus on Mirror Ezri. What does DS9 want to even accomplish with the Mirror Universe? For me, it's just been an excuse for outlandish, mindless nonsense. Prior outings have had far better plots as this one brings in the element of dumb Ferengi comedy (Zek/Rom), but have never been good enough for even 3 stars.

If this episode tried to do something, it's maybe to show how Mirror Ezri develops something of a conscience. But that falls flat in a scene where she just lets Mirror Kira (who I've always found annoying) go. The bit of a lesbian vibe was just gratuitous crap.

Other than Mirror Ezri, nothing even close to being notable in this outing character-wise. And who even gives AF about Mirror Ezri anyway. Quark isn't going to score with her either.

Mirror Garak was particularly stupid -- the whole "inquisition" scene was just so dumb. Mirror Brunt being a nice guy was odd. I did find the part where Mirror Worf punches some nameless Klingon funny -- but that was about it. Rom going on about poisonous tube grubs and trying to rationalize the alternate universe was tedious to get through.

Anyhow, so much is ridiculous here -- Quark/Rom stealing the cloaking device from Martok's ship -- give me a break, Zek figuring out how to get to the Mirror Universe, the fact that the Mirror Universe doesn't have a cloaking device so they have to get it from the Prime Universe -- the whole premise of the episode is so bad.

0.5 stars for "The Emperor's New Cloak" -- this episode is in memory of Jerome Bixby who wrote "Mirror, Mirror". He'd be turning in his grave at this pile of dogshit. The worst episode of DS9 S7 kills 2 terrible birds with 1 stone: gets the token Ferengi episode and Mirror Universe episode out of the way so the series can get on to stuff that matters.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

@Trent,

I think you missed the point of the episode. Flint is not a villain. Yes, he uses Kirk and causes him to have his heart broken, but he's not evil and deliberately trying to inflict harm or achieve some other nefarious goal.

I think @Philadlj's comment re. the similarities between Flint and Kevin Uxbridge from "The Survivors" is helpful, although the 2 had different purposes. Uxbridge wanted to be left alone and Flint did too, until Kirk fell into his lap and so he tried to use him to give Rayna the ability to love like a real human.

Also I don't see how you can characterize an episode can be "subtly hilarious" but predominantly a "soulful tragedy". This episode is meant to be, as @ZITO CARNO says, "a tragic love story".
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.