Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,006 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 41
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 10:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

I've thought about this for some time actually -- Trent went thru his ranking of the doctors from the 5 "classic" Treks. So here's the definitive ranking :)

For me, no question Bones is No. 1. He was part of the Big 3 -- no other Trek doctor had as important a role as he did and Kelley really delivered. I didn't always like the writing he was given in terms of being forced to disagree with Spock but on occasion it really worked ("All Our Yesterdays") comes to mind.

No. 2 has to be the EMH doctor -- really think Picardo's acting elevated this character to be (after 7 of 9) the best VOY character for me. I always enjoyed is acerbic wit, facial expressions, and he's definitely the most humorous of the doctors.

No. 3 is Phlox as I think of the range of tones Billingsley could portray. "Dear Doctor" and "Damage" are a couple of episodes I think of when he has those really deep ethical conversations with Archer. Also in "Regeneration" he does a brilliant job confronting his own mortality. Really liked his curiosity about humans in early ENT.

No. 4 is Bashir -- ranking him 4th doesn't feel right to me given how much I like him on DS9 but all things considered, I didn't like how, at the start, he was overly attracted to Dax ("Emissary" for example). Him and O'Brien made the 2 best buddies on any Trek series, but the genetic meddling I thought was unnecessary as well as making him super-competent as a bridge officer.

No. 5 is Crusher -- no question about this for me. Of all the doctor actors, McFadden is the weakest for me and I prefered Pulaski from Season 2 over Beverley. Yes, it's nice to have the mom thing and being buddies with Picard but I just found her too plain.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Cody,

Fair enough.

I agree with you that there are so many better things -- in principle -- that Trek could have done instead of this type of half-hour attempt at parody. Let's hope Strange New Worlds, DSC and PIC deliver on that.

Taking place in a period after TNG, there's such a rich canvas with which to tell stories, reference events, races etc. -- and still parody them -- that I held hope of some interesting bits here and there with STLD. But I've found it far too annoying to sit through. I don't think that if somebody takes a dispassionate, objective view of STLD, that they could call it good television.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Sep 11, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I've realized I haven't watched an episode of STLD since the third one -- saw the teaser for the 4th one where Mariner is yawning during a high-level briefing and then turned it off. Enough is enough. I intended to watch all the episodes and approach it like I would any other Trek series, but it is truly fundamentally different and, for me, putrid. I just wonder if, for those who initially did not like it but who are softening to it somewhat, if the episodes are truly getting better in some meaningful way or if the viewers in question are getting accustomed to it and now unbeknownst to them just have lowered their standards. Is STLD undergoing an evolution like ORV did?

Interestingly there's a little discussion here about TNG S1, which I've said a few times is clearly, for me, the worst season of Trek including DSC and PIC. I won't include STLD in the comparison as it is totally different. So I think folks might increasingly give TNG S1 a pass based on its legacy and sort of looking at it through revisionist goggles. I generally agree with the comments Lady Galadriel made about it and can see where Startrekwatcher is coming from just as far as sense of unknown and exploration goes, given that it's the first meaningful Trek since TOS ended 18 years prior. But some of the episodes he/she lists as good to great ("Skin of Evil", "The Last Outpost", "The Neutral Zone") have way too many flaws to be anything other than at best weak and at worst terrible.

But it takes more than just ideas and a sense of freshness to be good Trek -- so many execution problems (bad acting, writing etc.) hampered TNG in S1. It didn't know what it wanted to be and, for me, didn't find it's identity until well into S2 and possibly S3. When TNG was trying to be TOS, it was a failure. Worse still, the Picard character was such a hardass in S1 and hadn't evolved to be the incredible character that it would become even by S2 ("The Measure of a Man" stands out, for example). "Encounter at Farpoint" was such an over-bloated mess and kind of sums up the season in a way -- a good idea: existential idea to hold humanity's feet to the fire, but ultimately it had its boring moments, poor acting, poor structure etc. Of course, we know how TNG turned out and of course it's a bit much to expect much improvement in DSC S3 and PIC S2 unless there's an overhaul of the showrunners.

Now, STLD, I can't see it evolving to something palatable given the constraints of being a 1/2 hr animated show. It is its own thing and will cater to an audience that can accept something different from non-animated Trek.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

@Caz

That music is from Sol Kaplan's original score for "The Doomsday Machine" -- frequently re-used in Season 2 episodes and yes "Jaws" definitely borrowed from it, however I don't think too many realize Williams' score wasn't truly original. Kaplan didn't get all the credit he deserved.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

@Kuebel

Who knows ... Lenore is completely bonkers insane
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: The Ties That Blind

hey an "Earth Final Conflict" mention -- absolutely love the theme music for that series -- especially the use of the erhu, the 2-string Chinese violin!
The soundtracks for science fiction alone are one of the reasons I love sci-fi.
Bought almost all the TOS music on iTunes.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I think anybody who has checked out this forum off and on over the past few years will likely agree that Boomer has some serious issues. Why don't folks just ignore him/her and not give the attention he/she craves? Shortly after I started checking out this forum, it was clear that nobody else spews anywhere near as much hateful, vulgar, and offensive things and attacking anybody who doesn't share his/her opinions as a Nazi. So I just ignore Boomer.

It's a pretty way simple to enjoying the time spent on the forum to just scroll past Boomer's posts whenever you see them and focus on reasonable folks just discussing Trek. You're not going to change him/her.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Obviously STLD is predicated on a very superficial, lowest common denominator humour but what I also find disappointing is the stories seem to be too obvious. I suppose being only 1/2 hr long will do that. But it was so evident the “Ferengi” and Mariner were in on a plan to boost Boimler’s ego — did it really need to get spelled out with their video chat at the end of the episode? The Rutherford plot was also too obvious (that he's meant for engineering) but at least it got various senior staffers involved in the episode.

The general idea that Mariner is so bad ass but superior to Boimler in every situation is going to get pretty tiresome. It had already gotten that way during this episode — does everything have to leave no shades of grey like Boimler screwing every thing up despite his diligent training? I don’t think this is good parody.

I will say I chuckled at some of the humour like the teaser where an entity boards the ship and Mariner makes it produce a tricorder etc. The writers screwed up with the “the man wants hot worms” for Klingon gagh — should be “live worms”.

I have massive issues with STLD and am disappointed it is now a part of the Star Trek franchise — or that Star Trek has gone in this direction. But what interests me is what the show will parody and what “name-dropping” it will do. I am curious if it comes up with just an iota of an intelligent narrative about a given race or planet or event. Like I would love to see a parody of Kolrami’s race (Roy Brocksmith was a blast in this role). I just don't see it lasting for multiple seasons with this schtick.

I guess I would prefer "Envoys" over "Second Contact" -- just wasn't as over the top but it's still got a blistering pace, characters talking too fast. I can see how some folks can enjoy it but can't see how it can be considered good TV when looked at critically -- even as a comedy/parody.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

@Robin Smith

Yes, I too am disappointed we didn't get a 5th season of ENT as I think it really stepped up after the 1st 2 seasons.

And I also agree with you that I felt more attached to the ENT cast than the TNG one, which I think is overall the weakest cast among the 1st 5 Trek series. ENT's strength is the cast's character development -- both how Trip and T'Pol evolve over 4 seasons is very well done. Aside from the Travis (Anthony Montgomery) character, every main cast member is above average for their role, IMHO. And that's what makes it enjoyable to re-watch the series, even if it didn't hit the high notes TNG did.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@ Peter G.,

Hey, I never said it was good parody. Fully recognizing that parody is what STLD was going for (at least in "Second Contact"), I'd still only rate it like 1*.

As for being pointed about what it wants to parody, I think it was done more generally in this pilot -- not targeting a particular episode but rather broad topics like the underlings' views of senior officers, senior officers being obsessed with covering their asses and taking credit for underlings' work, miracle cure etc. So there were definitely specific aspects of Star Trek that were parodied -- at least the wheels in the minds of the showrunners were turning as to what they wanted to spoof. But any intelligent spoofing was lost amid the furious pacing and excesses which I already talked about.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

OK so I watched it a 2nd time while doing laundry... and I have a more nuanced take than my initial impression.

I think the key thing about STLD is that it needs to be understood as a parody primarily, though I don't think it was marketed as such -- at least that was not my expectation when I first started watching it. Strictly as a comedy, it does not work for me. When observed through this parody lens, it's better than a zero-star experience for me even when evaluating it like I would classic Trek, though that's where I was leaning after my first viewing.

I could see a non-animated parody of Trek being successful provided it was still done with a measure of class, which STLD isn't. Nevertheless, I still feel this type of show isn't good for the Trek franchise given its ethos and I think on its own merit as a parody, I think 1 star is an appropriate rating -- still pretty terrible.

I definitely think they went way overboard with the rage illness and medical response and the characters on steroids. For example, did we really need to see the Orion chick pumping the guy's heart? No. Did we need to see infected crew furiously spewing black stuff all over? No. The couple dating was pretty forgettable. And the bit with the giant spider attacking is again way overboard.

As for Mariner going off on her own to help the alien farmers and circumventing Star Fleet bureaucracy -- that's a good idea to show. The macho camaraderie between the commander and another senior officer -- that's fine as well. The captain taking credit for curing the rage illness and not crediting junior staff was also good from a parody standpoint. But the idea that a miracle cure is found in the nick of time -- that much is typical classic Trek.

A couple of other comments would be that I noticed the episode title and credits are in the same font/color as TNG -- so that's a nice touch. At least we get an episode title on the screen, which nu-Trek shied away from. Why I don't know. And as for the animation, some of it was pretty cool -- like the ship's panels and the ship itself -- some nice details. But I don't get why the animation for the characters is so simplistic. Pros and cons to the animation.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@GuidingLight

"It feels like these are real people acting like real people would."

What world do you live in?

Could not disagree more with you on this.

These are characters on steroids in a show on steroids trying to cater to the lowest common denominator.

It's a shame the appreciation for real acting, solid writing, intelligent ideas and premises seem to have vanished from this new iteration of Trek. Just because it's an animated half hour show doesn't mean this is how it has to be.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Man, was that ever stupid. Certainly tried to cram an awful lot into half an hour with every character talking at warp speed. The pacing was on steroids. The whole thing is an insult to classic Trek. I didn’t laugh once even though this is supposed to be a comedy.

As for the characters — can not even one of them come across as a normal person who could conceivably actually belong on Star Fleet, serving in something like a military or diplomatic capacity on a star ship?

And who is this show intended for? The show gets a warning for violence, nudity and mature subject matter so it can’t be intended for kids.

But it’s not quite fair to compare Lower Decks with classic Trek as it is an altogether different product being just half an hour and animated. It can’t tell in-depth standalone stories and can’t have stellar acting performances. The acting was actually terrible. It is basically a gimmick to profit from the rich heritage of the Trekverse.

There are some classic Trek episodes that I believe have done a massive disservice to the franchise and that should not have been produced. I tend to rate those episodes zero or 0.5 stars and so that’s where “Second Contact” would rate if I applied the same criteria.

One its own, if I think about the story told, the characters, any interesting themes or premises touched upon and what STLD is trying to achieve as a product, I still find it extremely disappointing. I suppose there are some seeds being planted like what to do about the Mariner character, Boimler’s and Tendi’s development and getting promoted. But should the senior officers and captain really come across as such jerks?

It’s only one episode, but what is particularly disappointing is that STLD doesn’t seem to have the respect and appreciation of what came before it and instead has as its modus operandi to use the Trekverse as a basis for cheap humour. That, to me as someone who has a deep appreciation for classic Trek, is just awful. I can’t identify with this style of humour. It’s like when I watched the ORV pilot I felt that the show was not my cup of tea -- granted I hear it has evolved from the mainstay of locker-room humour into something more thoughtful and classically Trekkian. Will STLD be able do that? Being animated and half hour in length work against achieving that laudable objective, but perhaps if the pacing slows down and we get less gore, there might be a drop of merit to be found. But so far I see none.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

Good post Mal. I'd also echo Jason R.'s comments. For me VOY really fell apart after Season 5 -- which was a very good season not just for VOY but for Trek overall.

I've seen some interviews and stuff on Youtube about the backroom ... writers/producers etc. But one takeaway I'd have is that Braga is a piece of shit. Seems to me he's always pointing fingers and not realizing that he basically sucks. He had been living off the mileage from a couple of good TNG episodes but I think as it comes down to working with writers etc., he was a problem.

In any case, they are all professionals and were able to put together VOY S6 & S7, which has plenty of watchable episodes. I'm sure burnout was a factor -- after all it had been 14 straight years of cranking out episodes.

Quite disappointed to hear how little regard Berman and Braga had for TOS -- maybe not as surprised to hear Braga was like this, but Berman? Interesting.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Having just finished yet another run through DS9, thought I’d share some overall thoughts (not just on Season 7).

DS9 is obviously quite unique in the Trek franchise and I truly think it is very special for how it departed from the sanitized world of TOS and mainly TNG to focus on the darker side of morality, more realpolitik albeit doing it in a way that is definitely classic Trek. I’d say DSC, PIC could learn a thing or two about that, but that’s another topic...

It ultimately comes down to writing and having capable actors. The long-form story telling was superbly done and how the characters evolved, interacted, responded was a joy to watch. DS9 took risks and they paid off and for the most part it was logical and not overly forced. That is a credit to the writers. I find that as I’ve gone through TNG, DS9, and VOY a number of times, DS9 has the most episodes I’d watch in their entireties for the 4th, 5th, 6th times.

What’s great about DS9 is not just its main cast but the recurring actors/characters, which is something it benefits from over TNG, VOY being a serialized show. This is one reason I prefer the Dominion War arc over the 1st 2 seasons — having characters like Weyoun, Damar and even the female founder was a true credit to the show and its world-building. The final 11 hours of Season 7 (aside from "Extreme Measures") is so compelling and it's always nice to re-watch the final 1/2 hour or so of "What You Leave Behind" -- great to get a bit of an epilogue.

My sense of that if I conducted a random poll of people on this forum, DS9 would be most people’s favourite Trek series. It’s my 2nd favourite after TOS. Also, critically and objectively speaking, I’d rank it 2nd after TOS.

What was also much appreciated with DS9 is the remarkable consistency in quality of the seasons. I would say that after a below-average first season (which I understand turned some folks off) and after a small dip with Season 3, seasons 4-7 were terrific. Season 2 was also terrific. As I prefer the Dominion War arc over the Alpha Quadrant geopolitics of seasons 1 and 2 (if I could broadly categorize as such), I think the best DS9 seasons are 6 and 7. It’s interesting that after TNG and VOY came out with strong fifth seasons, they really petered out in seasons 6 and 7 for me, while DS9 went from strength to strength.

The Dominion War arc was outstanding in how it affected the characters and the plots themselves. How Kira went from fighting Cardassians to help liberate Bajor to then helping Cardassians liberate themselves of the Dominion is just fantastic. Visitor is a wonderful actor and was given great material to work with and she never let us down. Could say the same for Auberjonois and Meaney. But one strike against the main cast for me will always be Avery Brooks — have said it before that I don’t like his style of acting in a few key situations where he overacts or huffs and puffs. But the character and story the writers created for Ben Sisko is nothing short of exceptional and in a couple of key Sisko episodes, Brooks did deliver (“In the Pale Moonlight” and “Far Beyond the Stars”).

DS9 didn’t really put an emphasis on sci-fi as much as it did a political action/drama, and that’s fine with me. I liked the way the series tried to show grit and the palpable effects of ground combat. I don’t think Trek should shy away from that, when it is needed. But what still bothers me are the many scenes of starship battles with hundreds or thousands of ships just firing at each other — I know it should be chaotic but it just didn’t work for me in terms of how it was represented. That’s never been so much an attraction of Trek to me.

For 7 seasons of 25-ish episodes a season, there will be some misses of course and I think DS9 could have been a much tighter product had it omitted the Ferengi arc (some of the worst episodes in all of Trek) and the Mirror Universe arc (just dumb and meaningless).

My top 5 and bottom 5 DS9 episodes:

Best:
1. In the Pale Moonlight 10/10
2. Duet 10/10
3. Tacking Into the Wind 10/10
4. Far Beyond the Stars 9.5/10
5. The Visitor 9.5/10

Worst:
1. Profit and Lace 0/10 (worst episode in the entire Trek franchise)
2. Ferengi Love Songs 0.5/10
3. Fascination 1/10
4. The Emperor’s New Cloak 1.5/10
4. Prophet Motive 1.5/10
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Dave in MN,

Thanks for the link -- will check it out.

Would be uber-cool if DS9 Season 8 got the kind of treatment Star Trek Continues provided TOS, though DS9 did already end very nicely.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Obviously much has been said about the first poker game on TNG but as someone who used to play (recreationally), it really bugs me how Data absolutely does not play like a cold calculating android should -- or even as a regular human should.

He folds trip queens on the river when all he has to do is pay another $10 -- he is getting pot odds and has an excellent hand. If Riker actually does have a flush, then he would be correct in paying the $10 to see it. I'm sure a poker pro would pull his hair out if he saw this hand!

But of course the writers wanted to tie Data getting bluffed out with the bigger issues in this episode... but the teaser is a lesson in how not to play poker.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

@Helmus

Couldn't agree with you more. For me, the best episode of the entire Star Trek franchise. Absolute perfection.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 6:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Dave in MN

You're probably right that I'd enjoy some ORV episodes -- if there's a good story to be told and I have even a slight of appreciation for the characters, and the locker-room humor is kept to a minimum. But I believe that brand of humor is one of the pillars of the show -- isn't it?

I only watched the first episode just as an experiment -- I was not prepared to make any commitment to ORV. There was some hype about it and Jammer was reviewing it -- so I gave it a shot.

Given that Jammer's not reviewing Lower Decks, my interest in it will not be as great. But I'll approach the 1st episode with as open a mind as possible, just as I did with "Old Wounds".
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Dave in MN

Maybe I'm being a bit cavalier in saying I'll stick with it. I intended to watch all the short Treks, but didn't end up doing so. Just being an animated series isn't an excuse to cast it aside but it really comes down to if I feel it is Trek -- and that does go beyond just having the label affixed to it. I hope there will be plenty of references to the non-animated episodes, which could add further details to the Star Trek universe.

I was pretty turned off with ORV's first episode and can understand how things only got better but there's certain aspects about the series that aren't my cup of tea.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Dom, I hear what you're saying. Just for me personally, I have this pet project of wanting to watch ever Star Trek episode, so I guess I may not be helpful.

But I don't really know how change at the top gets engineered for Star Trek's showrunners/writers in the short term. Maybe it has to be some high profile criticism, certainly a drop in viewership, advertising? And I don't know how I (being in Canada and not having to subscribe to the CBS All Access stream) impacts the viewership ratings.

But I'm with you in that Star Trek is not fulfilling its potential under the current direction and Lower Decks is not going to help the situation.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Just watched the trailer and have to shake my head at what direction Star Trek is going. This is definitely nothing like the original animated series. But trailers also have to be taken with a grain of salt.

Seems like Star Trek trying to take a page out of The Orville's book which is not good for me. I watched the first episode of ORV and realized it is not for me, not what I'm looking for. I'm not interested in juvenile humor being the preeminent ethos of a series.

But this is Star Trek, after all so I'll stick with it. Each episode is only half an hour. With an animated show, you won't get the acting performances that are occasionally wonderful, but can also be a drag if not done right. Perhaps the animation can be cool in depicting some phenomena -- the views of the ship from the outside look good. But ultimately, it will come down to the writing and the premises of the episodes, what ideas and themes are elucidated.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

This episode just reeks of the some 80s pop culture stereotype -- just goofy, shallow. It does seem to capture what I think of that decade -- and in that sense a lot of very early TNG does.

Any reasonable arguments or stances to be made, just get overwhelmed by how tongue-in-cheek the various characters seem in different scenes and how arbitrarily things come about. It's just very hard to take any of this seriously.

Yes, this is another example of TNG trying to be TOS as in many Season 1 episodes. Guess it really rings true that it's best to be yourself (what TNG would really become in Season 3) instead of trying to imitate something else and winding up looking like a fool.

Riker gives a speech that Kirk would typically give -- and "Angel One" is a Riker-focused episode. While all the other males are affected by the virus, he has his chance to shine. He ultimately scores a point for the men when it's all about the women being in charge (both on the planet and on the Enterprise with the virus).

In going thru Season 1 again, I just don't get any sort of positive or revisionist sentiments for these primordial TNG episodes and still firmly believe it is the worst season of the entire Trek franchise (writing, acting, execution etc.). But it is interesting to see the TOS influences (premises for episodes) and I appreciate the more bold musical scores -- shame Ron Jones didn't last the entire run of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I think TOS was sloppy with its stardates. Not sure how much weight one can put in them as far as a chronological order of the Enterprise's mission under Kirk -- especially in the early part of Season 1.

In Kirk's first log entry for this episode, he says stardate 1512.2. The second time he mentions a stardate, it's 1513.8. What's odd is the stardate for "The Man Trap" is 1513.1.

We know the order of the episodes to air was not the order in which they were produced but what else is odd is you have 2 episodes with stardates in the 1300s ("Where No Man Has Gone Before" and "Mudd's Women") and then nothing in the 1400s. Then you have some episodes in the 1500s. Haven't looked up how stardates correspond to the regular calendar, but it would seem Kirk's Enterprise went a long period of time without anything worthy of an episode. And it would do so again when stardates jump in to the 2700s for 3 episodes starting with "What Are Little Girls Made Of?"
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

"What I found unbelievable was Tuvok explaining that Vulcans believe in some sort of soul that survives death. That is an epic fail for a race that prides itself on being logical."

This comment is almost too dumb to even be worth addressing. There is the well-established Vulcan katra which is essentially a soul. In ENT's "Awakening", Archer gets Surak's katra passed on to him from the Syrranite leader.

So I think it is perfectly logical that Vulcans would believe in some kind of soul that survives death and actually dealing with it physically is part of Trek canon.

My impression is Vulcans are a deeply spiritual race, which is not contrary to logic. The logic thing is adapted as an alternative to emotion, which can be highly illogical.
Next ►Page 1 of 41
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.