Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 3,614 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 145
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

“He's riling up the people based on false information, scapegoating, and appeals to emotion.”

Try to imagine how Trump would have responded to a demand that we evacuate the country. Now imagine what his supporters’ course of action would be. We say the response is shallow and two-dimensional. Seems spot-on to me.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

A tedious, irritating boring episode. Klingons bore. Day time soap opera writing bores. Unwatchable, like 11:59. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Picard is meant to be French. Instead Stewart makes zero effort to not portray himself as some pompous Brit git. You're French pal, French don't quote crapspeare, don't drink Earl Grey tea, and don't sound like inbred British "royalty". Irritating acting.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, May 23, 2021, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

Loved everything about the episode except the ending.

Don't get me wrong - I like the bummer aspect of the ending I just wasn't convinced, at all, that going that route made sense given what we've seen from Sisko so far.

The ending just felt rushed in that regard. I didn't buy it.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, May 23, 2021, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Man - I just really do not enjoy Dax. Terry Farrell is the weakest performer on the show by far - at least to this point. I don't buy the trill concept and I don't understand Dax's complicity in Verad's plan. They've tried to make the Trill concept clear but it's one thing to understand there are personality shifts from the joining and another thing entirely to watch that same symbiote continue on with the whole 'holding the station hostage' plan only to hit the episodic TV show cast reset button at the end.

Sisko's awesome ass weird acting style is the only thing that saved this episode. Avery Brooks is a freak in the best way.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, May 23, 2021, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I really like the all-too-few glimpses we get of the rest of the galaxy that isn't some federation or empire's ship or star station.

So I was pretty excited for a storyline about smugglers. I'll give them a pass for how ridiculous it is for Picard, with his perfect narrator's dictation, to be passing as a grimy smuggler. How would Baran's crew even know what a formal human's accent would sound?

Richard Lynch's performance here stands out for me as I have just watched DS9's Duet 2 days ago which also featured a performance by an actor I only seem to see in one-off roles in TV shows. Stands out in a terrible way. No attempts to hide his Brooklyn accent or act in any way differently from any number of other roles I've seen him in. Just fucking awful.

Putting Riker on the team that was going to the Enterprise after knowing him for like 3 hours? The overly-contrived 'I can blow up your neck' method of maintaining a crew just really grated on me.

A real bummer given it was a premise I was really excited to see after the episode started in a hive of scum and villainy.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, May 23, 2021, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

This is honestly the first episode where their attempts at humor didn't make me die inside. I genuinely enjoyed some of Worf's pain.

Also - I need to keep this episode's opening in mind when people bitch about STD being too 'woke' or SJW - as though that is something new for a Trek show.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Sat, May 22, 2021, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Genesis - the crew reverts to its primitive genetic predecessors but Data’s fine and cures them.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, May 22, 2021, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

The thing I hate about plots like this is that it makes it impossible to imagine a scenario where Starfleet would allow Data to be a Lt. Commander on their flagship because he's too susceptible to being re-programmed/remote controlled. It's a gaping security hole.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sat, May 22, 2021, 4:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

The crazy part is you can practically see the resemblance with Dr. Soong. They hit it out of the park with that casting.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, May 21, 2021, 4:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

What an amazing episode. I've never made it this far in DS9 but wow.

This episode hits on a level no other Star Trek episode I've seen has ever managed to match.

Harris Yulin's is flat out amazing especially before the reveal when he manages to act so proud of 'his' atrocities without tipping his hand. Rewatching some of his scenes with Kira you can see what a truly masterful job he does in portraying a man who is laden with guilt but trying to hide it.

I simply cannot remember an actor in a one-off Star Trek role who was ever able to match this type of performance and we're really lucky they cast someone who wasn't going to just phone it in for the pay check on an often goofy TV show.

Still floored.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Wed, May 19, 2021, 2:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

My only qualm with the B story was that the resolution was legitimate instead of what I thought it was - Quark and Odo making the whole thing up about the Government building plan in order to bail out Jake and Nog without them knowing. I thought that would have been a much more interesting outcome - especially if, in th end, we see Quark selling the land for 6 bars of gold-pressed latinum.

It was weird seeing Jesse Pinkman's dad in an episode with an A plot that also takes place in Better Call Saul.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

The name Nagilum is Mulligan spelled backwards, according to Memory Alpha. Not entirely, it is short of one L. I have wondered why the writers dropped an L frequently.
Another thing is I don't think that the federation would name a starship after a ship that was on the evil side of man's history in the second world war.
Perhaps the federation knew that the american generals knew about the upcoming Pearl harbor attack, didn't act and let the harbor get attacked, in order to make their entrance into world war two more palatable to the US public. Therefore the federation figured that the japanese weren't so bad after all, and were deserving of a starship being named after their erstwhile flagship.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

The actor that plays Moriarty is an excellent actor. Well spoken, superb elocution, and delivery. No doubt had theatre training. Very good actor.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

No, Wes is not gay. Neither was harry kim. I'm assuming okona was outrageous due to him having had sex with two frigging crew women within a few days. I must assume they were reprimanded offscreen for that. Or perhaps they both fell pregnant, which is why those crew women don't appear on the ship again.
One can always assume that if they did indeed fall pregnant and wanted to kill the fetus by aborting it, a trip through the transporter to a version of their previous non pregnant state would be the least messy.
Set Bookmark
S. D. Martino
Mon, May 17, 2021, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I think it would be a good idea to teach the country's sign language in primary or high school as a subject, if only to give the hearing person a basic vocab when encountering a deaf person. We must learn more languages in school. It brings us into other people's mindsets. The theme of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, May 14, 2021, 7:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Wow...Keiko gives off serious "Karen" vibes and we're like 4 hours into this thing.

Please tell me this isn't going to be the normal. I've seriously not yet seen anything redeeming about her. Whether it's Skyler White or Betty Draper writers just can't seem to write a wife character without making her a shrill, joyless ball buster.

Don't get me wrong - at some point I was definitely on Skyler and Betty's sides because they were married to absolute garbage human beings but that doesn't mean they weren't still just awful spouses in their own right.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Fri, May 14, 2021, 7:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Sisko speaking his mind to Picard is my favorite part of this episode and I *love* Picard.

Surprised so many people don't like it. Yes, it is irrational - that's the point. And Picard because he, too, is irrational in the guilt he holds onto. It was a genius bit of writing because it hearkens back to a huge event that should have had far greater shockwaves in TNG. It shows us that Sisko has an edge that the 3 shift rotationers on the Enterprise don't.

It's great writing and great TV for all those reasons and more. The fact it stuck with so many of you being one of them.

Sisko was wrong. That doesn't make it bad writing it makes it realistic. He wasn't there to see what Picard went through. His only exposure to the Borg was probably getting blown up into widowerhood. It would be very, very easy to convince yourself that you lost your wife because some flagship captain couldn't keep his shit together while in enemy hands.

I loved Sisko from the moment that happened.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Tue, May 11, 2021, 3:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

Vash is an annoying Irene Adler ripoff.

I can handle goofy Robinhood stuff just fine, but I don't buy her as a character let alone a Picard love interest.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Tue, May 11, 2021, 3:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

I don't like episodes that should result in giant technological leaps forward but instead just end with credits and the show goes back to its normal routine.

It was fun seeing Barclay become a badass but it's always funny to me that after all this he apparently just goes back to being a nervous wreck engineer on Geordi's team. You'd think that Starfleet would have wanted to study him to see what else they could learn.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, May 10, 2021, 5:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

The most remarkable thing about this episode is how the writers almost certainly never envisioned how it would suddenly become relevant with the advent of deepfakes and how famous people must feel about their likeness being used for AI-generated porn that is more and more indistinguishable from reality.

I liked a lot about how they developed the Brahms and Geordi relationship, it felt mostly realistic which is high praise considering how most of the single-episode relationships go down in TNG.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Mon, May 10, 2021, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I found this episode tedious and goofy. There was never a moment where we thought Arda was really the devil and I don't think we were ever supposed to. So it just became a question of 'how is Arda running this scam' and the answer wasn't particularly clever.
Set Bookmark
John Carter
Sun, May 9, 2021, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I think you’re all nuts. This was a delightful episode in an excellent series. When I look at the “trek” we're being offered 25 years later, it makes me appreciate DS9 even more. Even the worst episodes in the series are light years beyond anything that’s been produced since ENT ended in 2005. “Let He Who is Without Sin” is a wonderful piece of nostalgia. How I miss that world of the mid 90s...
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, May 9, 2021, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

Very fun episode not just for the premise but for the break from the usual method of story telling employed on TNG. Plus Data has yet to ever be a character I didn't enjoy.

I also really enjoy how at least one later episode references events from this one. I wouldn't have minded if TNG did that more often but maybe too much more and they would have been overdoing it.
Set Bookmark
Crobert
Sun, May 9, 2021, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I think the idea of Troi losing her powers was a good one but it was her completely childish meltdowns as a result that resulted in a truly terrible delivery of that premise.

A friend lost his vision in his early 20s to an undiagnosed neurological condition. When he was first admitted to the hospital he was upbeat and hopeful but gradually sunk into a deep moodiness and stopped being helpful to the medical staff until it was pointed out that he was hurting his own care by not participating. He snapped out of the funk and started working with the staff again.

I would have rather seen something like that with Troi falling into a depression. People handle grief and loss in all sorts of ways and lashing out childishly is absolutely one of those ways but that doesn't make for a good TV viewing experience.

I did not feel empathy for Troi because she was acting less like someone suffering loss and more like a spoiled brat who had their favorite toy taken away.
Next ►Page 1 of 145
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.