Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,987 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 120
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

Hated the way the ending just had to undermine Keiko. She was believable for me in this episode and I wish they'd left it at 'she really does know her husband'.

@Michael I like the revisions!

I did wonder if it was easily curable and less contagious because they were human, and the aliens' physiology was different. I don't think the writers had that in mind though, otherwise they should have mentioned it and not left it to look like a plot hole.

Also, I could be wrong but wasn't altering memory engrams still risky in the 24th C? It's been a while since watching any other Trek though so I may have forgotten or be confused with something else.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

Enjoyable fluff, for me. I would love to know if Bashir's bizarre warm-up was directed or improvised. Rom made me laugh, and I loved Keiko in this. They're not very consistent writing for her throughout the series and it's nice to see her like this (I also thought she was very believable in the Harvesters episode).

This is one I'll happily rewatch - for me the best part of it is Bashir/O'Brien, but the rest is quite fun too.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

@Leif I agree.

Could the ep have been better? Yes. I'd have liked to have seen more of the real characters, but at this point in the series they are still getting established so we don't know whether these are amplified traits, or just completely out of character.

For sci-fi there are stock plots and ideas, but the details in how it's executed are generally what interest me. So this episode,the question was 'they are out of character - why?'. That's what kept me watching, and of course the answer to that also determines whether the station and/or characters are in danger.

Not the best episode, but interesting enough for me - the the first time round, anyway, and again after enough time has passed to forget how it turns out. Certainly not a favourite to regularly revisit.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Re: original Borg plan

The original idea was to open season two with the Enterprise discovering the Borg has destroyed the Romulan Empire and the crew discovering that the Romulans found a way to destroy the Borg cube

The crew were to run into more Borg and would need to figure out how the Romulans destroyed the first cube
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Trying to write this through brainfog right now so apologies if some of it doesn't make sense or it goes off on tangents and not actually addressing the comments to which I'm responding.

@Peter G. Very good points, and regarding POV I think that's probably the overarching problem with it. If it had been written by able-bodied people I think I *would* have given it a pass because it was the 90s. Learning that it was co-written by a disabled person (he's credited with the story and on the teleplay) is what aggravated me so much. But as I said, nobody is immune from internalised ableism, and many disabled people today, even of the younger generations, still struggle with it. It's just frustrating that they blew such a potentially great opportunity.

People feeling inconvenienced by making accommodations is unfortunately still something we come up against a lot. Anything more than a token ramp (which may or may not even be useable) is usually questioned at least, refused at worst. I suppose that is one good point for the episode - they did willingly do everything she needed to the station before her arrival, Julian's unauthorised specs change notwithstanding.

@Booming I think Melora not actually being disabled is why I felt so conflicted back when I first saw it, not sure if it was supposed to be about disability or what. But seeing it so very obviously depicted with medical devices (all the bracing, the wheelchair, the cane) this time around I knew it was definitely intended to portray a sci-fi version of disability.

I have no idea what other representation was or wasn't around at the time so can't really comment on anything else (though I agree Quark in drag was truly terrible, but I have no idea what level of offensive that was).

@OmicronDeltaThetaPhi "Representation done wrong is worse than no representation at all" - indeed. Bad representation does give opportunity to discuss why it was terrible, but only in certain circles. The rest of the viewership only see the bad representation and hear nothing to dispute it.

@TopHat interesting questions! Your first paragraph kind of aligns with the real-world social model of disability, which is what I was hinting at re: deaf and autistic people, and disabled people with purely physical disabilities - in a fully accessible world, many disabled people would genuinely have no problem. It's people like me who are disabled through chronic illness with inherently unreliable bodies that muddy those waters ;)

Re: straying too far out of her lane, historically and even still today (though it is better now than it was) disabled people have struggled with having very low expectations put on them*, which feeds the problem of inspiration p*rn. Not expected to be able to learn, to love, to live independently, to work, to make useful contributions to society. So in my view, Melora working so hard to leave her planet and do beyond what was expected of her is possibly one thing they actually got right!

*Either that or having excessively high expectations - able-bodied people using para-athletes or other well-known disabled people and saying 'they can do it so you should be able to as well'. Or seeing all disabled people as the same, 'my friend's disabled aunt can do this that and the other so you should too' even though they don't have the same disability (although even the same disability will affect everybody differently anyway).

I will have a look at that essay. I'm not usually involved particularly with politics around identity and representation (although my initial rant might call that statement into question).


DS9: still inspiring debate more than quarter of a century later! Thank goodness most of the rest of it was better ;)
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Me again. Y'know, I've just realised why this is such a big deal to me. Sloppy representation might have been okay if she were a supporting character, and/or her disability were incidental. But not only is she the central character, her disability IS the story - so it HAD to be done right. That's the responsibility they chose to take on and I'm not sure they get a pass just because it was the 90s.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Urgh. This episode was uncomfortable while I was able-bodied, when I watched all through DS9 a few years ago. I couldn't bear it as a now disabled person; it's the only episode I skipped after the teaser. From what I remember, based on the reviews -

'CMO's log, We've been working overtime':
AM: didn't pick up on it
DM: Oh great, of course making accommodations is such a burden on the able-bodied people *rolls eyes*


Julian likes Melora after just reading about her:
Able-bodied me: Julian's immature woman-chasing strikes again, sappy
Disabled me: the embodiment of inspiration p*rn (the entire foundation of his admiration is 'she's so inspiring to overcome her challenges, isn't she amazing?!') blech.

Why doesn't she use the transporter?:
AM: Huh, I don't know
DM: It's about independance and the freedom to go where you want without having to rely on others. Unless she had her own transporter device? [I would find that cool, but that doesn't mean every disabled person would.]

Julian alters her wheelchair specs:
AM: arrogant, obviously that's not what she wanted but his intentions were good
DM: WOW how dare he presume to know better than the disabled person what she needs?! Modifying someone's wheelchair without permission is awful. His intentions may have been good but HE SHOULD HAVE ASKED

Melora is defensive, hostile:
AM: that's not called for
DM: that's still not called for. If there are backstory reasons*, they really need to explain them; if not then their only portrayal of a disabled person is insulting because it plays right into the perception of 'I was only trying to help but that ungrateful disabled person bit my head off'.

[Actually, in the real world most of us will only get defensive if unwanted 'help' is *forced* on us, usually because the abled 'helper' just wants to feel good about themselves, isn't actually thinking about us and genuinely helping, and their actions are neither wanted, needed, or even safe sometimes. If someone *offers* to help, most of us will appreciate the offer and politely decline if we don't need assistance. #JustAskDontGrab]

*Just read Memory Alpha, and there are some feeble reasons. I don't buy them as being any justification - I understand frustration and the weariness of going over the same things again and again, and the 'talking about me without me' - but this was a new group of people, a clean slate, and it's still uncalled for. There are ways of comminicating one's needs assertively without being horrible.


Some nice little bits about accessibility (the Cardassians didn't have Melora in mind, and the world doesn't have disabled people in mind. Legislation has been in place in much of the Western world for years now, and still the majority of places aren't accessible. Just putting in a ramp does not make a building accessible)

Overall the teaser can be summed up in one word: Ableism.
So, so much ableism.

The flying scene:
AM: Huh ... it's kinda sweet? Not sure what to make of it
DM: Still not sure what to make of it? If you squint reeeeeally hard, they *might* be making a point about removing barriers and getting to know the person, not the disability? Maaaaybe? Or that disabled people might have struggles in everyday life but that doesn't mean our entire lives are hopeless and tragic?

Someone mentioned in the comments Julian getting praised in Ops as Melora walks for basically 'curing' her - in isolation it could be taken as okay, but in the context of what I remember from the episode, it's basically 'yay abled saviour well done you for rescuing this tragic person and giving them the opportunity of a normal life' - blech, again.

I also seem to recall Melora really only spent her free time with the Dr. That just strikes me as so lazy, so 'medical model' - she's disabled so of course(!) she spends time with the doctor - !!! as if a disabled person's identity revolves around their disability. (and URGH I still can't get past how he fell for her initially because of her disability),
- In-universe I understand that it was a character episode for Bashir, it's just unfortunate he was also the doctor. It might have felt less unsettling if the character falling for her and spending time with her were, say, an engineer, but with the established characters that wasn't really possible. An unfortunate situation with a result that just didn't sit well with me.

The conclusion, again I don't know what to make of it. Perhaps I might have to watch it to see how well her decision was explained.

Maybe it's a good thing the episode didn't go with the abled/'normal' saviour conclusion? After all, any 'cures' in the real world come with a huge price and are extremely rare (think, exoskeleton suits, wheelchairs that can climb stairs - all prohibitively expensive) and for some people such as in the Deaf community, autistic people, their disabilities are an integral part of their identities and they wouldn't change it. If the world were made truly, fully accessible, they would have zero problems.
But then, those of us disabled by chronic illness - despite fully embracing our disabled identity - would very happily have our health back given the chance! The most that the majority of us can hope for, however, is increased accessibility and understanding.


Phew.

Having read Memory Alpha and seeing how it ends - and having sorted my feelings out - I might be able to watch it again. I'll have to see. I just remember feeling profoundly unsettled through the entire episode before, because I really felt it had the potential to say something but completely missed that opportunity.

I didn't mean for my first comment (I think?) to be an SJW tirade; this episode was the only one to leave me feeling so conflicted and so deeply uncomfortable (even though I was watching it at the time as an able-bodied person). And I do like Julian as a character overall, by the end he's certainly one of my favourites; just the writers unfortunately chose to play the VERY long game with him. Underneath the initial arrogance and lusting after women though, there are glimmers of a good heart - I remember him making me cringe a bit early on when I first watched DS9 through, but not hating him.

Just remembered - did someone mention this was written by a disabled writer?! Oh yes, @Andrea did. My heart just sank again. I mean, it might not have been completely ableist, but for a disabled writer to completely miss the mark is really disappointing. Many of us do have to struggle with internalised ableism but one would hope before putting something out so publicly, it would have been scrutinised a bit more carefully. *sigh*

My final niggle is that Of Course the disabled person was played by an able-bodied person - however, as it was way back in 1993 I can forgive them. (House M.D. on the other hand ... !! I can only recall three disabled actors in the entire eight years. That's disgraceful for a medical show.)

End rant. Thank you Jammer for both your thoughtful reviews and hosting space for our varying opinions, and debate. I haven't read all of TNG, DS9 and VOY yet but it is so interesting to come and read analyses of certain episodes - really adds an extra layer for me as someone who doesn't usually have the brainpower to think too much about what I'm watching! I hope to get through the three sets of reviews some day.
[If Farscape had been your thing, I imagine your reviews and the comments from regulars here would have been fascinating!]
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

The writers were doing so well in season one then they just seemed to not care any more. This and voyager season three are really some of the weakest seasons in Trek

Most episodes were uninspired. And I came away with feeling of Been There Done That, Been There Done That Better

Nothing new. Nothing entertaining .

Dawn and The Breach are pale imitations of TNG The Enemy

precious Cargo a poor rehash of TNG Perfect Mare

Vanishing Point weak copy of The Next Phase/Realm of Fear

Regeneration retread of Q Who and Identity Crisis

The apathy from this season doomed the series
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

2.5 stars

For a big event multi parter wasn’t very exciting. Very formulaic only thing that helps it rise above is the inclusion of the Tellarites, Andorians and Romulans

The Hoshi/archer bickering was fun.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"This was the most enjoyable 15 minutes of Trek I've had in decades."

Not sure about "the" most but definitely up there Yanks. Plus, the bonus of seeing the origin story of Spock's first time on Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 8:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

Summary: Okay episode undone by plot contrivance 2/4

This is an example of the TNG writer not respecting the fan's intelligence. In order to believe the action of this story you have to believe that the Klingon commander is an unhinged idiot anxious to go to battle with an ally. That's sloppy writing, catering to the idea that the ONLY way the fans are going to be interested in the story is if --- ooohhh - the Enterprise is about to be DESTROYED. But we all know the Enterprise isn't going to be destroyed and so there's really no dramatic tension and we spent a good part of the episode wondering why the Klingon Commander is such a moron and how he ever got his job in the first place.

The interaction between Riker and the Klingon crew ARE great and comprise the really charm and interest in the story. However it would have been much better if the ending had gone something like this:

(Klingon commander is beamed abroad the Enterprise)
Picard: Commander Kargan?
Kargan: Oh hi Picard. A little trick of your first officer. Seemed to think I was losing my grip on my command.
Picard: How is your ship?
Kargan: Fine. Fine. I smeared the bacteria over our waste collection section. Got rid of a lot of mess that add collected after our deep space mission. Planting that bacteria was a good test of our officers Picard.
Picard: Indeed. (Looks over at Mendon.)
Kargan: But one that Riker failed. He should have tried to kill me for my actions. It'll be a long time before he's a ready to be a Klingon officer, Picard.
Worf: The Pagh is hailing us.
Picard: On screen
Riker: This is command Riker of the Klingon ship, The Pagh. You have 1 hour to clean up the mess you left on our ship or else I'm going to blow you out of the sky!!!
Picard: We'll get right on commander. Mr. Mendon, beam over to The Pagh and show the Klingons how to remove the bacteria.
Mendon: (gulps) Uh .. yes sir.
Kargan: Hmmm maybe it won't take as long as I thought ...
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 2:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Most people have said it already. I just wanted to add that Tom Paris' character brought down the entire likeability and decorum of this series. He is so mundane, so boring, so staunchly 20th century (cars, grease monkey, television, black and white film non-sense), that he just brought the sophistication level way down. The actor is so white bread and annoyingly all-American that it's hard to take any of his plot involvements seriously. And this episode was no different.

Harry Kim is probably the only worse character, so the fact that he and Tom are close friends just makes it all the more mundane. There is absolutely nothing endearing about either of these characters and I couldn't really care less if they lived or died. Tom never really evolves or matures as a character. His romantic status changes and he has a kid, but he himself is pretty much the same from day one.
Set Bookmark
Robert
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

My main problem with this episode, like most Voyager episodes that reference human history, is that they are very white-bread Eurocentric. It makes the senior staff seem utterly uncultured and mundane. United Earth means that humans can go anywhere on the planet they want, at all times. Presumably, any Star Fleet officer in that century has been all over Earth. Yet all we hear about is people reminiscing about "good old Indiana", or Paris, or Ireland. We never see any portrayals of interest in Asian, African, or South American culture for example. It's all white European, and it's all Hollywood's version of those European places.

So naturally, their 24/7 holodeck program that "everyone wants" is of a white, 19th century Irish village, complete with the crew dressing in period costumes like bar maids and priests. It can't get more white bread than that.

Star Trek: Enterprise continued this problem. Most of the senior staff are white, into meat and potatoes, water polo and other boring crap. Who knew that the future centuries would basically be 'Merica in space? There's no sense at all that Earth has united and that its cultures are widely distributed, known, and available to everybody. The only thing we get is a very serious Vulcan, and a native American character who is distinguished by having a facial tattoo. Wow, big whoop.

The problem goes on in other episodes. Tom Paris and his fascination with hot rod vehicles, juke boxes, and being a grease monkey. Harry Kim and playing the clarinet. Neelix making a holodeck version of Hawaii.

You can tell that this entire show is under a white male gaze and there is no attempt to even manifest one inkling of Roddenberry's dream of a highly diverse, accepting society that is deeply self-reflective. It basically just looks like Americans in space.

Look at how much effort Roddenberry put into casting TNG. It was painstaking. Picard is from Europe, Geordie from the Moon, Worf a Klingon, Troi a Betazoid, Riker from Alakaska, and later Ro Laren from Bajour. They made a real effort to make the ship cosmopolitan. Later Trek iterations were basically white 'Merica and it only got worse from Voyager onward.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

This episode is a lot of things but I disagree with Jammer that it's boring. It's dismal, badly written, sexist, need-a-whiskey-to-get-through-it type of episode, but definitely not boring. I chuckled throughout the episode.

But Holy Moly !!!! It's amazing what a chore it is to do even do a rerun of Enterprise. I began this rerun 2018 summer and it has been struggle to get myself motivated to watch an episode here and there. Easily the worst Trek of the franchise (relatively speaking of course, I still watched every episode when it originally aired, gladly). I couldn't even get my energy up to comment (not sure if I did or not). Even seasons 3 and 4, they are fine seasons in that they pick up the storylines, the pace, and thankfully get into more serialized story telling, but even those two seasons are above average and nothing wrong compared to the rest of the franchise.

Anyhow, five episodes left, I believe... I think I'll make it to the end by next month!
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I rewatched this the other day I realized it is kind of all over the map as far as the narrative

It starts out about a legitimate investigation with good faith from all parties then decided to pull the rug out from the intriguing conspiracy angle before halfway in turning into a story making Satie too extremely paranoid and Picard too extremely naive before deciding to change course again with Sati turning into an all out villain singlemindedly wanting to destroy Picard for opposing here

The writing left a lot to be desired
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Taking Patrick's quiz...

DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO BE THE CREATOR OF A NEW STAR TREK SERIES? (by Patrick D)

1. Will your Trek series/movie take place in Trek's past?

A. No
B. Yes

My answer: C) Depends on the story being told and when it makes sense to take place. My favorite Star Trek Era is the 23rd Century but that's never NOT been the case. Despite having said that, I'm okay with moving forward like "Picard" and the third season of "Discovery" are doing.

2. Have you watched The Original Series?

A. Yes
B. Does watching old parodies of it, count?

My answer: A) Yes.

3. What's the inspiration for your new Star Trek series?

A. Firefly
B. The New Battlestar Galactica
C. A and B

My answer: D) Neither.

4. What's your favorite Star Trek Movie?

A. Wrath of Khan
B. Wrath of Khan
C. A New Hope
D. All of the above

My answer: A) "The Wrath of Khan", but non-sarcastically.

5. Will your Trek series/movie try to adhere one iota to continuity?

A. Yes
B. What am I? A fucking nerd?

My Answer: C) For the most part yes. But sexism should be retconned out. And, like it or not, anything set during the TOS Era would have to have at least some updating. Maybe not to the extent that DSC did, but the point still stands.

The asshole who'd reply with "B" doesn't speak for me.

6. What will your Trek series/movie feature?

A. Green Animal Women!
B. Space Battles!
C. Klingons!
D. The Mirror Universe!
F. Khaaaaaan!
G. Tribbles!
H. Section 31!
I. Thoughtful, exploration of the human condition through a humanistic lens
J. All of the above, except "I".

My Answer: K) Depends on the story. But I would NOT have Green Animal Women or Khan. And I think the Tribbles have had enough exposure.

IF YOU HAVE CIRCLED THE BOTTOM CHOICE FOR EACH QUESTION: CONGRATULATIONS YOU ARE HIRED!

Guess I'm not hired. Even though I like "Discovery".
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

With regard to the earlier discussion above, about previous series also facing their fair share of antagonism from Trekkies..

From Scott Collura's interview with Jonathan Frakes last week..

His first question to Frakes: "Do you remember your first convention experience?"

Frakes: "Only too well [pause]. I was in Syracuse, NY, and the show had just barely aired. The audience, as you may or may not know, was quite skeptical, of all of us. So, it was a, dare I say, a hostile group.. who were not ready for a bald, English captain with a French name and a wholesome cast. They wanted their Kirk, Spock, and Bones."
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Jul 31, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Hulu? Ugh.. Unfortunately, I don't have it.

I'll look into getting it, but it looks like I don't have to decide until over a year from now and it will take me more than just The Orville to sign up for another streaming service.

I am sure there are reasons for the move (none that I have read that I found satisfactory though), but I am disappointed that it's no longer on Fox.
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Sat, Jul 27, 2019, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Sounds like this episode will be one of the planks setting up the backstory in the forthcoming 'Star Trek: Picard' series.

https://www.ign.com/articles/2019/07/24/star-trek-picard-borg-seven-of-nine-7-9-hugh-jeri-ryan-voyager
Set Bookmark
Robert
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Yes, it’s been around for awhile now and I had a good laugh at it with my mates. No where as good as the Star Wars reviews made in RLM’s heyday, though. I guess even video critics can jump the shark.
Set Bookmark
Jamie Hartley
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Y'all take things too seriously lol. Yeah it was a bit corny, but non stop seriousness is boring as well. I actually loved this episode. I didnt see it as lowering the Q, because all we really know about the Q is from Q himself, and given his high opinion of himself, can we really trust it? Are they really 100% God like? This sent it in a new direction, omnipotent and powerful, but no where close to perfect. And who is to say that the Q arent dependent on some kind of technology, like having to "enter" the continuum through a supernova, actually having weapons, etc. Its notimpossible, since if the Q were susceptible to stuff like that, Q certainly wouldnt have told Picard that. It's also not unusual of a story of the God falling in love with a mortal, very common in ancient mythology. Even the bitter Goddess like Suzie-Q isnt unusual. Hera was so pissed and bitter at Zeus for taking mortal lovers that she turned one of them into a cow if I'm not mistaken. I'm glad they took the direction they did though, because actually following through with Janeway and Q probably would have ruined the characters. Underlying sexual tension is usually more interesting to watch in my opinion. Although I personally find Q hot as Hell, so this episode inspired way more fantasies than I probably should admit lol
Set Bookmark
Ellert
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

This is my first watch of DS9 (I probably saw a few episodes as a kid on German tv, but don't remember anything)
First episode was hit and miss, I really can do without the religious stuff, but I guess it is here to stay. Similar thing bothered me on my re-watch of Babylon 5 recently, although there it is more as a spirituality/universe kind of thing.

Since I still consider B5 my fave SF show till now (with the Expanse coming fast from behind), it will be interesting to see the parallels and differences in "the other station show".
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

3 stars. Another in a small group of season 7 episodes that was pretty solid and felt like TNG

TNG didn’t have a lot of things to revisit before it ended but Wesley returning was one of them.

I liked the way his arc wrapped up and I found the characterization believable and true to life with regards to his overachieving then burnout

I also liked seeing Native Americans brought into the 24th century and a little bit about them and how they exist in a future setting. It felt very fresh and interesting. Plus it set up the fact that we knew that year that the first officer on the next series Voyager would be Native American

Another thing the episode had going for it was the feel of interactivity between TNG and DS9 in settong up things for VOY.

Overall a good interesting episode

Another
Set Bookmark
Ellert
Mon, Jun 3, 2019, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I don't agree with the comments, that this is one of those "it was just a dream" endings. Someone just waking up in the end usually entails undoing a whole lot of story, plot and character developments being gone or something major happening that is undone. This one almost immediately shows you that stuff is happening in Riker's head, so the question is just what is causing it and how he got there.
We are not lead to believe that what he is experiencing is reality (unless you spend most of your time just simply thinking oh, which one of this is real.
Set Bookmark
Ellert
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I liked it, even though the other races were a bit simplistic in their views (again).
Gets 3 stars from me and the German joke dub "Sinnlos im Weltraum gets 4. :)
Next ►Page 1 of 120
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.