Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,062 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 43
Set Bookmark
SuperKoopa
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 6:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

Terrible episode. You all must be smoking that good bud while you watch.

Terrible writing throughout, dialogue is not just bad but at an unprofessional level. Yar: "I do not think that is a good idea, Worf. I do not think you should do that, Worf. I do not use contractions. I do not do things. I am not a good actress."

This is one of the only episodes I can recall where the dialogue and direction are so bad that even Patrick Stewart doesn't come off as a good actor.

The plot makes no sense and is filled with absurdities. The first 15-20 minutes is straight cringe in every direction (plot, concept, direction, writing, acting) and possibly the worst 20 minutes in the entire series.

Then you get the Klingon stuff which is only slightly better. The two Klingon "survivors" tell Worf that they stole a freighter and destroyed a Klingon warship that was pursuing them and lied to Picard about all of it, and Worf is like, "I understand you my brothers. Let me take you on a tour of our vessel." And that's that, he tells Picard nothing and shows them around as honored guests. Then Yar comes to arrest the Klingon criminals with a big security team (no thanks to Worf) and Worf stands in between Yar's team and the Klingons and refuses to help. And he acts suspicious toward Yar and the security team not toward the Klingon confessed murderous criminals that he just met. Some friend and some officer, wow.

What else? Well the dangerous Klingon criminals are confined to the brig without a fight but of course they have a whole huge kit of weapons and devices on them that are not searched for or confiscated so they easily break out and start shooting people. Thanks to the backstage tour of the ship provided by their "brother" Worf they know exactly how to get to the Ship's dilithium crystals and hold the Enterprise hostage at phaser point.

So "some things happened" like one or two security officers getting killed, Klingons getting killed, and the whole ship nearly being destroyed with everyone on board, but Worf never confesses to or faces any responsibility for his gross negligence and dereliction of duty, nor does he ever appear to have any regrets about it. None of it is consistent with the character at all, even within the episode itself.

There are practically an endless number of other absurdities, non sequiturs, inconsistencies, illogicalities, and irrationalities in this episode, but let those examples suffice.

One star at most. All of you that gave more than two stars are fired from giving further reviews!
Set Bookmark
mark
Mon, Jul 12, 2021, 2:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I refer to Katie's question as to why 24th-century Borg could be defeated by 22nd-century humans. Well, in a Borg ship that would be true. But the Borg only had access to a 22nd-century human shuttle, which is inherently less powerful than a full starship. I think the Borg being able to upgrade an old shuttle to give the Enterprise a real fight sufficiently shows their technological superiority.
I also questioned whether this violates the Trek timeline, but I consider it to be a separate timeline that was created when Picard went back to the 21st century. In this new timeline, the human race will be FAR more ready for the Borg by the time the 24th century rolls around. Of course, in other Trek time travel stories, there is little mention of other timelines. But that may be because the Trek characters don't really know how time works. They don't travel in time that often, and have often expressed confusion about temporal mechanics when they do.
Set Bookmark
QuarksIsFun
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 8:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

No one has a problem with the ending of nonchalantly condemning thousands of prisoners back to eternal torment? I would think that even though they hijacked his ship and harmed his crew, the super-enlightened Picard would have made a promise to find a way to eventually help them, the way he did with the nanites in an earlier episode. I get Prime Directive and so forth, but let's face it, the Prime Directive is made to be broken.
Set Bookmark
J. Parker
Sat, Jun 5, 2021, 11:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

The intertwined (and almost contrast/duality) nature of this episode between its A and B plot is the most important takeaway, in my opinion. Obviously it sets up major character arcs, or at the very least expands upon pre-existing ones.

The slow break down of Odo when he has to accept that he's going to lose Kira is yes, impactful. For me, it totally worked... Not to mention, just being swallowed; encased slowly until you can hardly breathe anymore is one of the most horrifying thoughts. Him having to put himself in her shoes, someone that he does love? Having to see that? Shit.

From the get-go when Kira calls for Odo, it does just sound... off. Then she starts acting subtly off, doing or saying slightly out-of-character things-- but not enough to really think too much of it other than standard "margin of error" character development I guess? So when you see her by the end, and Odo confesses his "love", regardless of fake Kira saying it back, that's a huge deal for HIS character-- in the show, and his self-image and "ego" moving forward. It was real to HIM, and crueler still that it just ended up being a "test" for the Changelings to see his dedication and rationale for choosing to be with the "Solids" over them. The fact that his confession was completely nullified was certainly not bad writing in my opinion.

One of the most important things to do when watching an episode like this is thinking about it from the perspective of when it was created, and how it ties together while watching it AFTER seeing all that follows (something I've yet to be able to do, myself seeing I'm watching through for the first time).

In this case though, it went to show the extent that Changelings/the Dominion was "watching", and could watch over you and involve themselves in your affairs if they wanted to. And even though it ended up being a "meaningless" gesture-- Odo didn't know that his reveal to the disguised Changeling was less than meaningless in the context in which he meant it, and so it makes total sense when once he knew Kira was indeed okay, that he wouldn't want to put himself in that vulnerable position again. It would probably be hard as hell to bring up those feelings again, let alone on PURPOSE, to someone you know damn well doesn't feel the same way back. And especially when you're Odo, who's still uncovering who he is and how he fits into the world around him, knowing (or, thinking) he's not supposed to feel the way he does.

As for Nog, obviously this ignites a character arc that would continue through the series, from just about nothing; which you could see as a good or bad thing, depending on how you want to look at it. A couple episodes before, Nog was being a horrible Ferengi when Jake and him double-dated-- and now, he wants in Starfleet. Sure. But even though the setup is unrealistic, the way Sisko makes him prove himself had great writing and great execution, culminating with Nog's final speech expressing his desires to not be held back by Ferengi tradition and beliefs-- to not be like his dad, always just chasing success but not being viewed as worthy in what you can do, just what you can't. It's definitely impactful.

Both stories are equal tear-jerkers in my eyes, for very different reasons. Definitely a 4/5 episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Park G
Tue, May 18, 2021, 5:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Robbie, shush.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 3:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Biggest thing with Travis is that he should have been a lieutenant in far less than four years. He had more space travel time than anyone else on Enterprise, he did his job through innumerable trials and tribulations, and he never made any mistake that I remember.

I am choosing to assume that the holodeck images in "These Are the Voyages" were six years out of date: no rank increases, no hairstyle changes, no new wrinkles, etc.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 3:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Regarding what Alex said, in older Naval tradition, the position of captain devolved on the highest ranking subordinate (usually a lieutenant) when the captain expired. This was in the days when you couldn't just radio your superior that your captain was dead and have a replacement flown out in a few days. Voyager is essentially in that position here. There are no replacements to be had. When the captain dies, the first officer becomes captain. This includes title and rank pips. Indeed, when Tuvok received command in "Resolutions", he should have changed into command red and put two more pips on his collar, and probably reconfigured the chain of command: chosen a first officer, for example. It's almost like he knew that the captain and Chakotay were going to come back...
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Mar 11, 2021, 2:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Ro exemplifies the danger of the deep cover operative... to have a convincing story, they have to have the right background. And what happened here (Ro joining them for real) is always a potential risk.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 9:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

I don't know if this one rates a ☆☆☆☆, but by Season 1 standards, it was very good. The Bynars were interesting, and their motivation was understandable. We see vignettes on how the cast handles shore leave. And Minuet... I didn't even know what "sultry" meant when I saw this episode, but she sure was SOMETHING!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 9:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

You're right about a lot of things, Jammer; you usually are. But you missed a lot of the points of this episode.

1. I think that the purpose of this episode was to explore a story arc the showrunners had chosen not to take. Just as "Year of Hell" explores a Voyager in dire straits and "Before and After" explores the life of an Ocampa among other species, most notably family (I thought the dynamic with Tom and Harry rather cute). This was "Janeway and Chakotay explore the feelings they have for each other".

2. I'm not sure Tuvok was quite as resolved to his course as we think. He still wore security yellow and two pips on his uniform. He should have put on a red uniform and worn four, and made a point of selecting an acting first officer. Maybe his clampdown on Harry was because the latter was tempting him to do what he knew he shouldn't. And Kes simply gave him a convenient excuse.

3. The monkey's purpose was to show a different side of Janeway, and it did. Similarly, the storm's purpose was to accelerate Janeway's decision to move on. Had her equipment remained intact, it would have taken far longer.

4. The antimatter was not conveniently improvised on the spot... Tuvok had undoubtedly planned for an ambush, and had instructed his people to prepare a few "just in case" contingencies. He was a security officer after all, and his job was to prepare for the worst case scenario. Yes, you see where I was going there.

5. The hard reset of the final ending. Yes, you saw what happened... and that's the point. Janeway and Chakotay both knew that whatever had happened between them (whether handholding, screwing like minks, or somewhere in between), could go no further. What happened on New Earth would stay there, at least until they reached the Alpha Quadrant.

You're right about most of it, though. That endless application of the reset button got really old. And this episode wasn't even the most annoying example.
Set Bookmark
Park G
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 7:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

You have absolutely ridiculous takes on so many solid episodes. Honestly, I read your reviews more to laugh at your ridiculous viewpoints than for any credible critical analysis.
Set Bookmark
Park G
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 2:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I disagree entirely with this take.
I thought it was a very interesting episode that gave a more nuanced look at Lwaxana, who I always personally liked as a character.
Set Bookmark
Kirk Walker
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 7:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

I don't know if anyone will read this, but what does WTOWT stand for? I can't find it anywhere.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 6:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

+1 on the thanks for everyone mentioning The Expanse. This is real Science Fiction.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@greycat
“The crew are about as professional as the DSC crew.”

Lower Decks is a comedy though, Disco is supposed to be serious drama.
Set Bookmark
Mark Nolan
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 5:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

... also Bareil 2.0 would have been unique*. Is he human? What makes someone human? He was born a human, he has a human body, he has his memories and personality, he can even father human children (with his human body).

* In the ST universe, and possibly in science fiction (certainly the popular franchises).
Set Bookmark
Mark Nolan
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 4:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

"An alive (but robotic) Bareil would have been a decent way of handling his character going forward"

I agree. This would have been fascinating, and different from Data's journey (an android wanting to become more human).

Bareil 2.0 would be a human with his brain replaced with a positronic matrix (is he still human?) . Effectively a robot brain with a human body - as opposed to a human brain with a robot body (e.g. RoboCop). SciFi doesn't have many characters like this - I can't think of any.

Bareil 2.0 would have somehow had Bareil's memories and personality transferred, since that's what Bareil wanted in order to do whatever it takes to continue the peace treaty negotiations. It raises many questions, and it would be interesting to see how Bareil 2.0 navigates being thrown into Bareil 1.0s life. Bareil 2.0 could discover new things about himself, for example if his "software" (memories and personality) is now being run on superior hardware, what would that mean? Let's say he can think quicker, how will that affect the development of his personality, or his interactions with others. I think Bareil 2.0 could have been one of the most interesting characters in all of SciFi.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I’m not sure what target audience is, but I watched the first two episodes of Lower Decks and it’s quite fun. I’m 45.
Set Bookmark
Ripley Clarke
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 10:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Generations IMO was by far the best of the TNG films.

The main point of this film was summed up best by Picard at the end on the bridge as he was speaking to Riker. He reminds us about what Soran said "time is like a predator that stalks us all our lives..." and then says he would rather think of time as a companion which travels with you remind you to cherish every moment. With many plot elements reminding you that all things end, Picard's relatives dying in the fire, the loss of the Enterprise D, the loss of Kirk.

None of the other TNG films made me come nearly as close to crying as I did the two times you lose Kirk in Generations. First contact was yet another moby dick (which it competes with Wrath of Khan in that respect), Insurrection was yet another White guilt Native American analogy (again- tons and tons of episodes on this), and finally Nemesis was just flat out bad. To rate Generations on the same level is completely unfair in my opinion and im not sure why it seems to be the forgotten of the TNG films.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 3:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

You just know that by the end of season 5 Burnham is going to be the new president of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

About Burnham killing people without reason in the last escape scene with the warp core: Starfleet is basically at war with EC, Discovery is trapped *inside* another ship and heavily fired upon. Not sure what people are expecting in such a situation.

(The above point ignores the question of the warp core had to be ejected - it was not explained why it was necessary since they were going to do a jump)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Maq
“ Why did Culber not take and use a hypo spry?”

They did take some I think but the holo-environment magically removed all objects they had on them.
Set Bookmark
KArkhon
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

After watching this season I have just one question: "How is it this bad?"
Seriously it looks like the writers made a conscious effort to make the whole story as dumb as possible to attract new viewers. It's the only explanation. Someone who gets paid to write cannot possibly make something this bad.
Like there are glimpses of what the show could be, with world building, with NiVar, Trill, Saru, there are stories there to tell, yet all we get is Discount Seska with a throwaway "empire", some ridiculous macguffin, and 0 character development.
Oh and the actress playing Micheal, that is some next level... apples acting. She is one of the worst if not THE worst actor to star in a ST show, and that is saying something. At least the old shows had an ensemble cast that could pull the less talented among them, in Discovery however she is given 70% of screen time and it. is. not. good.

This episode is on another level writing wise, even with the insanely low bar set by the previous ones. It's like they shot every suggestion from the writers room, and glued it all together with CGI:
- NiVar comes! Great what do they do? - Nothing at all - Sold
- We eject the warp core! Why? No reason other to put ourselves in unnecessary danger - Sold
- We nearly die trying to blow up a nacelle! Why? Who cares! - Sold
- Michel gets put into a moving wall! What's the wall? Dunno -How does she get out? Dunno - Sold, I'll take two of those
And there are many many many more.

As usual I should have given up on this show on episode 3 but somehow I keep thinking this band of semi-conscious monkeys that write and produce this pile of... apples will make something watchable. But now I am certain they won't.
I will of course keep on watching because I'm a masochist who can't help but watch anything remotely scifi (I mean I watched the ENTIRE S5 of Andromeda), but at least I will be calm knowing that it simply cannot get better.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 3:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer’s reviews and the comments section has been a saving grace for this season. Will be back for Discovery: Dilithium Freighter :D
Set Bookmark
Burke
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 1:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Colin Lindsly

I did watch a couple of LD, and thought it was nice for what it was, but it just wasn't for me, and that's OK. As for SNW... it's from the same people that made DIS and PIC. I think it's a bit naive to expect something different, but we'll see.

@Booming

It's kind of sad. I really want a Trek show that I can look forward to watching, with well-crafted sci-fi stories, ethical dilemmas, and reasonable people working together to solve it. A show that makes me believe that the world can be a better place. But I guess things are what they are.
Next ►Page 1 of 43
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.