Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 231 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Wow -- much better than I had remembered. One of the few of TOS that I had not seen since the 1970s.

The Big Three really standout in this episode, but the supporting players and guest stars turn in strong performances as well.

The episode has a quality to it you don't see again until DS9. It's pretty dark -- in a good way.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I must have a must higher tolerance for rapid-aging stories than the average "Trek" fan. I really liked the Next Gen rapid-aging story in season 2, and it's mostly panned.

I enjoyed this one as well, and it sure resonates with the almost 57-year-old me a lot more than the 12-year-old me.

Poor Lt. Galway. She's was treated like an afterthought. I don't know why, but her death always stuck with me as a particular sad one, and last night's viewing didn't change that.

That line about what a stupid place to put a mirror -- that's a great moment.

I had forgotten about the entire Romulan angle. Glad they had it in there.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

One of the best episodes of TOS and any Trek. I keep hoping for canonical treatment of the DM again.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

Wes B. -- I had the exact same thought on the Deck/Ilia probe.

I've also wondered how folks would have felt if that had been Uhura or Chapel in the shuttle dying and left behind to make sure handsome Mr. Cochrane had someone to knock boots with.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Goofy costumes aside, the Capellans made for one of the more interesting one-time-visited alien races in all of Trekdom.

I think they could make a compelling villains-you-respect race in the Prime Universe set in the decades after DS9 and Voyager.

At that point, they've had a couple of centuries of being exploited for their minerals and they've decided to give up their tents and head for the stars. As a space-faring race with technology equal to the Federation, they could easily emerge as worthy rivals to the Federation, Klingons and Romulans.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

There are a lot of reasons I love this episode, but at the top:

Mirror Sulu, Uhura and Mirror Chekov. It showed what they would have been capable of if they had been given more chances.

They should have each had one episode per season that heavily featured them.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

In many ways, this is The Quintessential Original Series episode. It checks off so many prerequisites:

-- Multiple red-shirt deaths (this time by a variety of groovy causes: Flower that shoots poisonous "darts," lightning bolt, exploding rock, knocked in the head).

-- Philosophical argument between Spock and McCoy.

-- Showdown with a computer (they really were obsessed with technology taking over things).

-- Scotty delivering dire news about the status of the ship in orbit while the landing party is also in danger.

-- A main character "almost" dies but quickly recovers (this time, Spock "almost" dies twice).

-- Kirk briefly questions his command decision and quickly gets over it. Kirk later gives speech about freedom.

-- Yeoman De Jour beams down with landing party.

-- An inappropriate desire for romance in a dangerous situation (this time with Chekov and Yeoman De Jour)

-- An extremely red sky (I think red was their favorite color for planetary skies).

-- After another deadly mission to red shirts, quips and laughter at Spock's expense to wrap things up.

This was the kind of Trek I loved as a kid. I definitely have less kid in me these days. The ones I found a bit boring back then I like a lot now. "The Apples" of Trek are less interesting to me these days.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, May 16, 2019, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

A good episode. Better than I remember (this is one of the few that only saw once way, way back in the day).

The yeoman du jour was kind of intriguing.

Kirk got over the loss of his brother and sister-in-law a little too quickly. Such was episodic TV in those days.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

My favorite "Original" Trek and very, very high up on my all-time, all Treks list.

I'll always think of Edith Keeler as Kirk's greatest love. Here's an aspect I haven't seen any comments on:

Joan Collins and William Shatner were two over-the-top, hammy actors. But they both toned it way down for this, and it was pure magic.

I usually roll my eyes at Kirk's "loves," but I totally buy in to why Kirk fell so hard, so fast for Edith Keeler, thanks for Joan Collins' on-spot performance.

My favorite part in an episode that was excellent from first to last minute was indeed that last minute back on the Guardian planet. I'm so glad they didn't do the usual yucking it up on the bridge at Spock's expense.

The ending leaves you with such as strong sense of Kirk's loss.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 10, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Has anyone every noticed that McCoy is always by the captain's seat, needlessly questioning every decision of whoever is in command?

Scotty, who had the situation well in hand, should have sent him down to Sickbay with orders to stay there.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Here's one thing I've never seen addressed:

The High Commissioner was absolutely right when he said the investigation of the quasar was an unnecessary risk. It was.

I can't think of a more important mission than transporting emergency medical supplies.

The HC is treated as some kind of pompous ace-hole, but I think he was spot on from the start.

And let me add my voice to the chorus of people praising Mr. Scott. I'm really impressed with him in Season 1. I'm sorry that as time went on, he started being treated as comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

I agree with Springy above, and I consider this episode a watershed moment for the franchise.

It really helped establish the foundation of our notions of Starfleet and the Federation. Before this episode, the Enterprise was out there going from one thing to another -- extrapowerful aliens, Mudd's womenfolk, mad scientists, mysterious diseases -- but none of it was connected together.

"The Menagerie" did that. We now have context. We're beginning the process of universe building.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Lt. Bailey would later return to Earth's past to infamously interrogate secret prostitute Karen Wolek during Victoria Riley's murder trial.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Crazy mess. Literally.

The woman talking to her spoon was a good moment. The rather was rather tiresome.

At least it was a whole episode of Riker without his damned trombone. Or him trying to bone someone.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Monumental discovery is made.

Nothing more is ever said of it, and everyone acts normal the next episode.

And how is it that everyone is chasing this at the same time? Did the professor have his research stolen so many times and sold so many times to everyone?
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Picard is brainwashed and a thought planted in his head is driving him: "Kill, pussycat, kill, kill!"
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sat, Dec 15, 2018, 8:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

Why does Data change to a red uniform?

Why is his uniform a different shade of red?
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

O'Brien has been a transporter chief for 22 years he states. That's sad.

And this episode probably gave him the most speaking time until he joined DS9; he got to keep repeating the same technobabble steps in the transporting process, 3 times. Boring...
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Tue, Nov 13, 2018, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Meh. Boring. An episode with a lot of "ugh".

Ro. Ugh.
Riker on trombone. Ugh.
Troi isn't allowed to talk much, but she's still there. Ugh.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Thu, Nov 8, 2018, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

What a load of sh*t.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

When Picard claimed to be an amateur archaeologist, he went around blowing up old ships.

Now they find one, and he leaves it alone, because he doesn't care about that stuff anymore.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

- Troi is a chess master
- Data has to make an ice cream sundae "as only he can"
- Ro is back

All that cr*p, and the opening credits haven't even rolled...hating the episode within 3 minutes.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Oct 14, 2018, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Data: "The [random space object thing] has a density of 100 billion kilograms per cubic centimetre." Uhh, bit exaggerated?
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Boring drivel. Another waste of celluloid, where you had better have something better to do like play mobile games or shuck peas, while this boring stupidity plays in the background.

This is the most tolerable use of Troi though--put her in a coma so she just lies there and doesn't be the stupid idiotic bimbo that she is.
Set Bookmark
JerJer
Sun, Sep 9, 2018, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Reading through the comments, nobody mentioned the STUPIDITY of the "science" plot. WTF was that at the end, they shoot their phaser, the planet turns all red, then blue, then a beam of dust and crap flies up and engulfs the ship, which they just in turn blast off into space. Just WTF was all thath? And the planet magically returns to perfect. UGH!

And the time-travel thing...that was just getting stupider and stupider. The guy could figure out the time machine in a few weeks? How? How did he even get into it in the first place, if entry is encoded to only 1 handprint? It should have been encoded to the original guy's hand.

The actor was annoying, the story was dumb. He seemed to know his way around the ship well; he knew exactly where the sink was and to press a button to open the top...why didn't he just download stuff from the computer? Why not get the tech like a tricorder from anywhere like Earth? Maybe he popped up in front of the Enterprise because it was pre-recorded--he wouldn't know how to do anything himself.

The episode was fun when I was like 14 years old; now it stinks.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.