Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 283 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 6:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

I like the general premise of a transporter fear / transport goes wrong episode. And it turned out OK, but nothing to get excited about. Or disappointed about either.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 6:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

A classic "middle-of-the-pack" Next Gen that you won't see on many "best of" or "worst of" lists. This strikes me as something you'd use as a two-parter in the middle of a season, too, rather than the end/beginning of two seasons.

I think we're supposed to be engaged because it's Data and because it's time travel and because it's Twain. It ends up being serviceable but that's about it.

What those aliens are doing ought to come across as rather horrific, and yet it really doesn't. And having so much of the story take place in yet more sets of caves is really drab.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 9:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

I think this is the best episode so far in the run of "Voyager." Kate Mulgrew hits a home run, and I liked the Torres/Tuvok scenes a lot. Great idea to put those two together.

These DQ races sure aren't nice folks.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 11:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

While the Kazon will never be epics, I'm upping my evaluation of them. I was pretty entertained.

Whatever the plot holes in Cold Fire before and this episode Manuevers, at least they both work off and advance previous stories (Caretaker/Ocompa and Kazons/Seska) instead of another episode spacial distortions and such.

Any Seska episode is worth a viewing.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

There's this Caretaker that's been on my mind
All the time, Sus-Sus-peria
Oh oh
Now she don't even know my name
But I think she'll send me to the Alpha Quadrant just the same
Sus-Sus-peria
Woah oh


(And as usual, I liked the episode more than the rest of you. 3 stars from Sarjenka and me).
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Three stars? Not a fan of this episode, and I'm frequently in the role of defending a "Voyager" episode as being better than given credit. Here, credit is too generous.

(And I like Chakotay -- so no issues with a Chakotay/Native American storyline).

Another observation:

Earth was a VERY busy place for alien visitations according to canonical "Trek," going all the way back to "Who Mourns for Adonis?"
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Feb 9, 2020, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

After mounting a partial defense for the two previous episodes, there's not a lot I can say for this one.

The Paris/Neelix fight was cringyworthy. I usually like Kes, but she was bad in this too.

Weakest show of Season 2 so far. WHY were they not doing Seska episodes by now? MORE SESKA!
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Feb 9, 2020, 4:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Way too many spatial distortion episodes on Voyager for my tastes -- BUT for this overused genre, I thought it was one of the better outings.

I liked the various character interactions and the way they went from puzzlement and annoyance to a dire situation they simply couldn't fix.

I'm usually with Jammer, but take a departure this time.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Feb 9, 2020, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Just for the record, my favorite Treks are in order:

1. Deep Space Nine. 2. Next Generation. 3. Original series.

Voyager is No. 4, but it's not some really distant fourth. I like it, and I'm enjoying my first retrospective since the show aired. I am seeing a few episodes I never saw, and I'm seeing others I didn't remember much about.

I'm definitely more delighted by Voyager than most folks here on Jammer's awesome board. Case in point: I liked this episode.

I always liked Garrett Wang and Harry Kim. (Maybe I'm just swayed by the fact that I think he's handsome). But I thought this was a good vehicle for him.

I do agree with general sentiment that Libby wasn't a success. The same actress played Keesha on Young and Restless, and she was unfortunately the weak link in an otherwise riveting HIV storyline.

Anyway, I liked the Harry-Tom bromance aspect of the episode, and it was cool to see their conception of San Francisco in that era. Clever way to give us an Earth-set episode.

I think in general Star Trek relied too heavily on time travel. And let's be clear: This is no "City on the Edge of Forever" or "Yesterday's Enterprise." And the time travel explanation was a bit lame (but all time travel explanations ultimately are).

Anyway, despite it not being an example of stellar Star Trek, it was a perfectly good "middle range" episode that was an enjoyable hour of TV for me.

I'm really puzzled by folks who really disliked Voyager and were still watching by this stage. Just hanging in for a Season 3 blossoming?
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Feb 2, 2020, 9:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

My sister, Sarajenka, was Data's special friend. She's all grown up and ready for her close-up!
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jan 28, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I like to "fix" episodes in my mind that show a lot of promise -- give them a mental rewrite that preserves the basic premise but makes more sense.

And honestly, at the end of the day and way too much thought, I can't come up with a single plausible story that has a frozen Amelia Earhart AND her descendants in the same show. Anything I thought of had too many plot holes.

But many of us did like the part of the episode that dealt with the decision to stay on the '37s planet or forge on.

I think something like this might have worked. A two-parter with the first part to end Season 1:

We open with a scene in the mess hall with some of the crew talking about how far they are from the Federation, feeling lost and lonely.

Then, Voyager encounters a widely disbursed debris field, but the crew can't ID what it is. It's too small and they are too far away. They go in for a closer look after figuring out none of the debris is consistent with space craft. And there it is -- a 1930s Earth plane floating in space!

+++

They beam it aboard. (And by the way, it doesn't work! It's nonfunctional wreckage) They are naturally agog and wonder how it got there -- and if what brought it to the DQ can take them back.

After some Tom Paris speculation and group detective work and historical research, they figure out it's the plane of Amelia Earhart. The mystery deepens!

+++

Janeway gives an enthusiastic debriefing of what Amelia E meant to her and Earth aviation. They decide to press on through the scattered debris field to see what else they find.

The next discovery is a Japanese war plane. And then they find an aquatic Earth vessel of unknown origin. But all three date to late 1930s.

The next piece of debris deepens the mystery yet again -- it's not of Earth origin at all. After more analysis, the Maquis members of the crew figure out it's an atmospheric craft of Cardassian design.

+++

Crew speculation starts to get out of hand and Janeway has to provide a cautionary reminder they have lots more questions than answers about what's going on.

As they search the debris field, they find a couple of more Earth or Cardassian aircraft or ocean-going vessels. Then they find another aircraft of unknown origin -- Tuvok figures out this one is Andorian design.

All the debris is roughly from Earth year 1937 give or take a few years.

Before they can speculate for long on the Andorian discovery, Kim announces he's detected the derelict remains of a large spacegoing vessel of alien design.

Voyager moves in. It's clearly been attacked and has large blast gaps that open to space. Voyager begins its scans. They discover from their scans that it was something of a transport vessel of sophisticated design and had numerous cargo holds. There are also scans of other Earth, Cardassian and Andorian vessels inside cargo holds that weren't exposed to space.

Without warning, three small ships whip around from the other side of the large derelict and open fire on Voyager, with her shields down. KAZON!

+++

Voyager is heavily damaged but able to destroy one of the three attack ships. It heads off for the nearest solar system, hoping for a place to hide.

Things are getting worse, but they manage to destroy a second Kazon ship en route and they approach a planet with one remaining Kazon ship in pursuit. They can't get a reading on sensors because of atmospheric interference, but it appears Class M. They have no time to confirm.

Janeway orders an emergency landing as the Kazon ship won't be able to safely follow them in.

They score one last hit on the last Kazon ship. It's damaged but not destroyed. They must go in before the Kazon have a chance to return fire.

Just as they are about to go in, a ship that is Kazon-like approaches from the planet. It fires -- but at the remaining Kazon ship from the sneak attack! It's blown up.

The Kazon-like ship (it looks a little different and seems like it's a bit bigger and better) comes about as if to now fire on Voyager, which is defenseless. Voyager is hailed. A human woman appears on screen with a Kazon man behind her:

"This is Captain Amelia Earhart of the League of Nations spaceship Goven. Surrender or you will be destroyed!"

END OF SEASON ONE

+++
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 12:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Folks make a lot of good points about the flaws in the story -- especially a truck that remains operational after being in space. That should have been caught in writers' meeting.

And how did they have such nice weather and a blue sky after going through that maelstrom of an atmosphere?

Usually these unforced errors diminish an episode, but I honestly got swept up in the sentiment and emotional impact of the episode.

I think it could have been a good two-parter actually, with Part I being the season ender for season 1.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Sometimes I find myself swimming against the "Trek" tide, and this is one of them.

I liked "Learning Curve," and I think Janeway gave Tuvok the assignment because he ALSO had a lot to learn -- and she knew it.

In series placement, I think this would have worked a lot better around episode 5, 6 or 7. I think Maquis integration should have been the first story arc.

It was also not a good episode with which to end a season.

As for the cheese, I actually thought it was an inventive and even plausible explanation for the biopack infection. I'm sure the designers of the ship never anticipated a live galley.

Great outing? Nope. But I think it's better than most folks do.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

I think this was Voyager's "Duet." It even comes in the same place as "Duet" -- next to last episode of the first season.

And just as I'd rate "DS9" higher than "Voyager," I'd rate "Duet" higher than "Jetrel." Still, it was a very good hour of "Trek" and one of the best episodes of season 1.

Among its other attributes, it definitely fleshes out the character of Neelix, who needed it pretty badly.

One nit-pick: I would have liked to haven known the current status of Talax. Is it still conquered and ruled by Jetrel's race or did it break free? Either, I'm surprised Voyager could just assume orbit around the moon of a planet with a space-faring race in control and not have to explain itself.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Four stars for Roxanne as the split selves.

Three stars for the rest of the episode. Very solid but with some flaws as others pointed out.

So 3.3333 stars from me. And I concur with Caz's comments above about the Vidiians. "Voyager" didn't break much new ground, but the Vidiians were a different kind of beast. We should have had a few more episodes with them.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

Just good enough to not be memorably bad "Trek." Among other things, it committed the sin of being kind of boring.

And I'm more easily entertained that most.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

The holodecks should be shut down as long as Neelix is cooking in the kitchen. 'Nuff said on that.

Voyager has already made a cliche of energy searches revealing new life forms, just 12 shows in.

A few lines of clever dialogue and nice performance from the Doctor just can't salvage a bad idea, but do make it go down much more smoothly.

This would have been a good time for an aftermath episode from the previous episode -- menace of another sort from a different Kazon faction.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Very good episode for all the reasons Jammer and other fans of the episode have well-stated.

Martha Hackett is wonderful. This episode shows what "Voyager" could have been if the writers/producers had been allowed to take the show in more of a stronger story arc direction.

Two more random things: I think "Voyager" has the best theme music and intro. It's also the most visually appealing of all Treks to me.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

Very good outing on all fronts. For those of us who feel like "Voyager" didn't live up to what it should have been, it's because of episodes such as "Prime Factors," which did live up to the promise. We just wanted more than we got.

So far into Season 1, I rate the following as "good or better":

Caretaker / Phage / Eye of the Needle /Prime Factors. That's out of nine episodes. That was certainly more than Next Gen at this point.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Way, way, way, way too soon for an anomaly episode.

This should have been an aftermath episode with much, much more Star Fleet / Marquis conflict ... OR ... another visit from the Kazon (or both). I didn't love them, but they were the first villains they came up with. We probably should have gotten another visit.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

This should have been a Star Fleet / Marquis conflict episode, not some time anomaly filler.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

The character-building moments were pretty good. The cloud plot was tired.

My question: What would have been wrong with an hour of character building, with maybe a short encounter with a Kazon ship or something?
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

I really enjoyed this episode -- granted, it starts to fall apart if you think about it too hard. So I just don't, and I like it!

I liked the Romulan and I liked the twist that he was 20 years in their past. I also liked that they restrained themselves from making every episode about getting home or getting home faster, but you needed a few those along.

This was a good way to do it.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 2:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

An A- on concept and effort. C+ on execution. I liked that they tackled the subject, and more on that below.

Regarding warp speed:

"Trek" just can't nail down how fast/far warp speed will take you. But ignoring all the wildly varying calculations from the previous series, "Voyager" should have nailed it down at premise. After all, the entire idea of the series is you're 70,000 light years from the Federation, and it will take about 75 years to get back.

So without shortcuts, you're looking at journey where you clock about 933 light years per Earth year.

So yeah, it was really stupid that they covered half a light year so quickly in this episodes. All Janeway had to do was say get us a safe distance away.

+++

I also read up above about how this was kind of early in the series to do an episode like this, and I agree.

I don't know why they didn't do a lot more "Delta Quadrant building" and "Star Fleet / Marquis" integration episodes out the chute.

They went to great pains in the pilot to build off the Marquis storylines from Next Gen and DS9, which I think was a good idea. Then they established decent backgrounds on the core characters and how/why each person fell on the Star Fleet / Marquis continuum.

And then in Episode 2, it was already getting wrapped up. Most tension was already being resolved. The overriding concept of Season 1 should have been a messy integration.

Episodes 2 and 3 should have been nothing but Star Fleet / Marquis storylines. Episode 2 could have been a Chakotay-test episode with a Marquis member attempting a real mutiny. Episode 3 could have been set on a dangerous planet where a landing party of Star Fleet and Marquis had to band together to fight for survival.

As for Delta Quadrant building:

In the pilot, we're introduced to the Kazon (where we learn they constitute numerous warring parties). We also get a Talaxian and an Ocompan. And then a few episodes in, Videeans (I actually liked them a lot).

I think that was plenty to work with for most of Season 1 without throwing in a whole bunch of random one-off species. We have two new species for villains. Potentially new allies in the Talaxians. And well, nice to meet the Ocampans, but they seem to be isolated to one city on one planet.

And I can buy the Kazon factions as viable threats to Voyager, even with their inferior technology, because Voyager has been crippled by the Caretaker. Just don't let her get repaired so fast, and the Kazon make for real trouble.

And the Videeans were a fantastic concept. We should have seen more from them.

I think each season should have had an overarching species (or two) that proved to be the main menace for that season. Given Voyager is trying to do straight shot home vs. roaming around in circles exploring and attending to diplomatic missions, etc., that would be have made a lot sense.

They pass through the space of _______ (the Trabe, the Hirogen, etc.). Things go poorly. They have some encounters. We learn about this species. Voyager then leaves ______ space and then enters ______ space, maybe after a couple of one-off episodes.

Instead, we got all these spacial rifts and time paradoxes and think pieces at first when they really should have been mining the Marquis and the outer rim Delta Quadrant species at first for most of the episodes (and looking harder for Lady Caretaker).

All that said, I think "Voyager" is better than many fans give it credit for. Especially in hindsight when we seen what came afterward.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, Jan 1, 2020, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I was really intrigued by the Vidiians and the phage disease.

I wish they, and not the Klingon-Lite Kazons, had been the primary Season 1 villains. I definitely felt for them and what they were driven to.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.