Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,117 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 45
Set Bookmark
Eric in RI
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Just rewatched this episode moments ago. The entire augment story could have been derailed if Malcolm had just stunned Malik and Archer together.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 5:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

After doing a big rewatch of Voyager (well, the half or so of episodes that are worthwhile), I'm starting some DS9 rewatch here.

What strikes me most in flipping from Voyager to DS9 and this episode in particular is how much richer these characters and their relationships with each other are. Scene after scene of relationships that feel real and particulad and informed by past experiences in a way Voyager could never do-- I love those characters and some of the relationships, but they operate at a much simpler level (in part because there is less continuity and therefore development, but also because characters are put in fewer stories that even seem
to allow them to grow in the first place).

In fact, even in a fairly minor scene like the exchange between Dax and Martok when he arrives to the rescue, and forgetting all the particulars of their past relationship (which I don't think was much apart from Kurzon Klingon stuff)--- there was a richness to their pretty simple exchange that came from actors knowing the nuances of their (I think somewhat) limited history.

And of course all of the wonderful material informing Dukat's personal relationship to the siege and sisko.

Anyway, in my mind DS9 is the best trek because of the storytelling, but I can't say that it's my favorite crew. For whatever reason that is, its certainly the richest one. I guess I just like my Voyager junk food...
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Useless fact:
The other ships name is Brattain, not Brittain. The subtitles are correct because one of the pads shows it too and crew says indeed Brattain. However, in one exterior shot of the ship it is spelled as Brittain. Whatever. Engaging episode and Picard and Riker genuinely looked sleep deprived.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 7:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“but they are finishing filming the third season of The Orville right now”

They’re delayed due to corona and haven’t started production which means there’s at least six months of work left on it:

https://amp.cinemablend.com/television/2560892/seth-macfarlanes-the-orville-season-3-just-hit-another-setback

Shows can get canceled at this stage. My point was only that you shouldn’t be bragging about its success. Discovery has been greenlighted for a Fifth season.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“I must point out that the Orville has managed to lay the groundwork for an entire scifi universe and juggle several arcs while also telling a bunch of standalone Trekkish stories and they managed to do that in only 26 episodes (2 seasons).”

The Orville couldn’t maintain its network audience and has no production schedule for a third season with somewhere else yet. I wouldn’t call that a success.
Set Bookmark
Cetric
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

I think it may be interesting to you all that this is the one and only TOS episode which did not get aired back then in Germany.
And not for decades...
Only after the xxth rerun, in early nineties (I think) someone bothered to give this a dubbing as German language version and bring it on TV screen (or rather, publish on a video cassette edition).
So, the memory of WW2 was fresh enough in end 60's German television (probably state-run ZDF) brass thought this would either hurt people or create legal problems with all those svastikas being shown (nazi symbols are forbidden in public, up to this day). This as a historical side note.

About the plot, it ends with a big amazement. Because the problem is simply solved by eliminating the leadership. What about the hate they have sown and exploited for years. How could it be everyone immediately forgets about it and is friends with the other faction? They swallowed the ideology and lived it to the last minute, it should be hard to get this out of their heads, particularly for the side with the upper hand who must have enjoyed their privileges the system brought them. So Gill does a speech about having done a mistake and everyone should stop molesting, suppressing, killing the others? This turn is quite unbelievable and too easy.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Booming
Right. My point is, the term "time crystals" exist in the real world and it is not necessarily science fiction.

Time crystals in star trek fiction:
From memory-alpha://A time crystal (or poH qut in Klingonese) was a rare mineral with a non-equilibrium matter state. Time crystals could be identified by their orthogonal indices. To Klingons, at least those outside of Boreth, time crystals were a myth, a symbol of Kahless, and the namesake of Qo'noS. (DIS: "Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad", "Through the Valley of Shadows") By the mid-23rd century, the Vulcan Academy taught its students about time crystals. No Federation-aligned species had been able to stabilize them as the decay rate of the lattice was too unpredictable, and it was thought that any technology based on time crystals must have been perfected by a four-dimensional race. (DIS: "Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad") Nonetheless, time crystals were encountered a number of times.//

Just like the Orb of Time etc, it is fictional. Just like Warp Drive is fictional, but Alcubierre found a solution that can allow for warping space. And as you mentioned, the mycelial network is fiction but it has real significance on Earth. Obviously this is fiction but it has "borrowed" some terms from real physics.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Ryn, Book, Adira, Grey, Admiral [Vance], have been great additions to the cast."

Basically, we know more about these characters that are NOT the original crew of Discovery! What does that tell you about the writers?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Why is the focus always on Burnham?"

There is NO problem with this. But if you are going to put a crew with a main cast, show something about the main cast...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

For example, who is Rhys? What does he do in his spare time? What is he good at?
We learn Owosekun can hold her breath... what else do we know about her?
Bryce? What is his history? It is not in my mind, it is not notable or note-worthy.
We know a lot about Stamets, Adira, Saru, Michael... which is fair enough. But where are the characterizations or Rhys, Bryce or Owosekun? We do learn bits about them but it is not enough... I feel anyway. Even a scene about what they do in their spare time. All we see is in the "mess hall".

Compare with Voyager, we know about Tom Paris Maquis history and as a "criminal" - he can play billiards. I remember Faces in Voyager and explored Torres Klingon-ness... Kim - he can play the clarinet. Kes's journey... Chakotay's spiritual journey, though we lost that later on (LOL) Tuvok was more gradual...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

LINKS to "time crystals" in this comment

https://physics.aps.org/articles/v5/116
Here is a link about time crystals.
Quote: //Alfred Shapere at the University of Kentucky, Lexington, and Frank Wilczek at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge [2], provide the theoretical demonstration that classical time crystals can exist and, in a separate paper, Wilczek [3] extends these ideas to quantum time crystals. Tongcang Li at the University of California, Berkeley, and colleagues [4] propose an experimental realization of quantum time crystals with cold ions trapped in a cylindrical potential.//

https://phys.org/news/2020-08-crystals-interacting.html

//Time crystals are different from a standard crystal—like metals or rocks—which is composed of atoms arranged in a regularly repeating pattern in space. First theorized in 2012 by Nobel Laureate Frank Wilczek and identified in 2016, time crystals exhibit the bizarre property of being in constant, repeating motion in time despite no external input. Their atoms are constantly oscillating, spinning, or moving first in one direction, and then the other.//
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I actually like Michael. It's just that there is no exploration of other characters in Discovery. I know basically nothing about many of the "main" cast.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 7:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"time crystals" actually exist
Set Bookmark
Richard Webb
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:47am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

It boggles my mind that Jammer is not reviewing The Expanse.
Set Bookmark
Richard Webb
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm not really sure how to feel about this - I mean, it wasn't a terrible episode. No episode from this season was truly terrible. It's just than none were particularly good either.

Star Trek series are notorious for slow starts, but I don't think DSC is going change. By this point in TNG or VOY they had already hit their stride, while DSC seems to neither have the shocking, borderline unwatchable first season episodes of TNG nor the absolute gems. It's always just meh.

DSC always touches on interesting concepts, ideas (trans identity discovery, resource scarcity, diplomacy with an enemy) but it's always so superficial with its execution and ramps up the sentimentality and action, which makes every episode feel rather empty. Compare this to the Expanse (which delves much deeper into socio-political issues) or the Mandalorian (which was more honest about just being a Space western - and embraced it). At the end of the day I'm not really sure what DSC is about. It seems like a show run by committee.

The ending? Contrived would be the best word. The fact that Burham is captain defies belief (mutiny after mutiny......) and that the best character Saru is now apparently off the ship doesn't fill me confidence.

I don't think it's the car crash many people think it is - for that it would have to challenge its ideas and push something forward in order to fail. You can't truly be that terrible if you're always middle of the road.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Oh and spoilers again... of course...
They "showed" us Ni'Var possibly re-joining the Federation again... because of no Osyraa... Surely there will be a power struggle now... It feels like everything was rushed... Yep, so the burn was explained because of Su'Kal. Will they expand on this new stellar propulsion the Ni'Var was working on? Now that they have worked out the cause and Su'Kal is safely on Kaminar. Su'Kal needs to make amends. Of course, it was not his choice, but these have consequences. Will he stay away from dilithium? They really need to expand on other characters. Yeah we know Michael is the main character, but DS9, Voyager, TNG all expanded on other characters...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Yeah I was confused.
The turbolifts going horizontally and vertically. All good visually. But was that inside discovery? Was that inside the Headquarters of the Federation? Maybe it was clear but I did not find that clear. Only because afterward, when Michael was fighting Osyraa, they ended up somewhere similar to where Vance was...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Obviously spoilers ahead...
First thoughts...

It was ok... meh. Not good. Not terrible. Ok.
The new uniforms look good, but I prefer the older one.
Saru had better be on the bridge/captain next season
Did they have to kill Osyraa? I know she was an awful antagonist, but at least make her stick around... Glad it was not deus ex machina ending... of course Michael saves the day and not the DOTs.
They kinda explained the Su'Kal phenomenon but I was not convinced...
What happened to the music? Resonance frequency? They did not explain that! So many unanswered questions. Maybe I missed the explanation...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 2:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

And that scientist... yeah it feels like there will be an uprising
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

It was definitely more tense than last week. This felt like a Borg Voyager episode and I liked that, but it feels like nutrek which I am still getting used to.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I liked the ending of this episode by it's too fantastic... too fantasy like but it's good. Sphere data is helping out. I liked the admiral. Where did stamets go?
Set Bookmark
Cetric
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

Very enjoyable episode, nevertheless the moment when the transparent globes are no longer needed for switching souls (Kirk destroys them in sickbay actually giving up on Spock and Mulhall believed to be inside, a detail which does not bother anyone much), the logic string of the story telling is done for, unfortunately.
What's also a plot mistake, is the temptation the aliens feel by staying in human bodies instead of proceeding into robotic bodies later. Robots mean much more of an extended life expectancy (with changing parts as they may become defect) than clinging to mortal bodies which are aging and dying some day (or by accident quite suddenly). And being able to construct such sophisticated bots should mean also to incorporate some sensors in them coming close to human feel. After all, it's just nerve ends collecting the impulses and the result (as sensation) is still done in the brain.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

I liked the episode. 2.5 or 3 stars sounds good to me. I particularly liked the ending and the facf that we don't get anything more from the alien than "because I can".
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I liked the first half, 3 stars on its own and could have been the first half of a standout episode. But the second half just got progressively disappointing-- once we got the cake line, I just felt a shrug. I think I liked it more in middle school. But It all just ends with a shrug for me (and how did voyager get in that sphere?)

Fortunately, since voyager isn't particularly into growth and change and continuity and such, it's not like this is a blown landing for things leading up to it.

And my, how tired the borg have gotten.

2.5 stars sounds right. I love Voyager, but it's not a great show. Cut out 1/3 of the episodes on rewatch, turn off your brain to anything beyond the episode itself, and it's my favorite to watch for whatever reason.

If I want something that does more, DS9 and BSG await. I like Voyager for Voyager. As a series? 3 stars? 2.5?
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Definitely a contender for best episode (along with Scorpion and perhaps Timeless). It was even better than I remembered-- in my mind this was the is the doctor a person episode, and while that part is the ultimately the core, I was surprised by the ground it covers before it settles into that. Particularly, I reeeeeallly liked crew members like Paris confronting the doctor about how he must see them. Neelix was put to great use in delicately coaxing the doctor into the right action. And all of the little conversations with family were so well done (and concise and efficient) that I was kind of impressed that the episode was able to make room comfortably for these side things. Seven's was great.

So the comparisons to measure of a man I think are a bit unfair-- that's just one component of the episode (really just its climax) and just one really interesting outcome
of doc'a holonovel. It's handled in its own way and is done well, but the episode is more than that!
Next ►Page 1 of 45
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.