Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 318 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
George
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 7:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

If Riker had fired a phaser at the time of transport, wouldn't the phaser still be in his hand?
Set Bookmark
Burger
Sun, Oct 4, 2020, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I always find it hard to concentrate during this episode - I'm constantly distracted by Scotty's hair.
Set Bookmark
Kargarath
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 2:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

As soon as Sisko threw the tablet across the room the episode was broken for me. That action is never something he would do.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, May 20, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Glom

Im fairly certain Plinkett has done Star Trek 7-10 and re:view did Star Trek The Motion Picture.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, May 20, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"Galatic Treaty








SHUT THE FUCK UP!!!"

gets me every time
Set Bookmark
RG
Sat, May 16, 2020, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

This was a good episode, you’re wrong.

Credible plot, interesting twist, and sympathetic character in Timothy.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sun, May 10, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

“My question is whether the Defiant could really be this invincible. If Starfleet sent a dozen ships after the Defiant, I don't care if it's from a century in the future; it's weapons are not so much more advanced that this one ship could go up against an army and win.”

Viewing from history, I can definitely see how the Defiant would be virtually invincible against any counterpart that the 22nd century could offer.

Take a look back at the history of battleship development from the start of the 20th century to 1944. Until the advent of the Dreadnought very early in the 20th, battleships were a mixed armament that at the time was deemed the cusp of military naval technology.

Once the Dreadnought came along, or previous vessels were relegated to the status of obsolete, so much so that any vessel predicting the Dreadnought was labeled a pre-Dreadnought.

Size also matters. The average battleship even in the early dreadnought era was around 20,000 tons, mounting guns in the 12 to 14 inch range with relatively slow reload times and weak optical targeting methods. The Iowa, by comparison, was nearly 50,000 tons, mounted 16 inch guns, and enough speed to steam circles around it’s aged compatriots. Iowa also mounted far better targeting and rangefinder technology compared to battleships only 20 to 30 years older than she.

So I have no problem seeing how Defiant could slice and dice the very best that the 22nd century had to offer in the mirror universe
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Mon, May 4, 2020, 1:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"The Dominion were just generic bad guys, scary af when first introduced but watered down to nothing by the time the war rolled around. The same Jem Hadar fighters that took down the Odyssey with ease could later be killed by a handful of photon torpedoes (if only Keogh had thought to use his!) or a single volley from a scout ship class Klingon bird-of-prey."

It was brutal how the Federation and Dominion skips could be taken out like they were TIE-fighters by the 6th and 7th season of DS9. Galaxy Class star ships being blown to bits by Cardassian phasers? Give me a break
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Mon, May 4, 2020, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"The Dominion were just generic bad guys, scary af when first introduced but watered down to nothing by the time the war rolled around. The same Jem Hadar fighters that took down the Odyssey with ease could later be killed by a handful of photon torpedoes (if only Keogh had thought to use his!) or a single volley from a scout ship class Klingon bird-of-prey."

It was brutal how the Federation and Dominion skips could be taken out like they were TIE-fighters by the 6th and 7th season of DS9. Galaxy Class star ships being blown to bits by Cardassian phasers? Give me a break
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent

Because Alex Kurtzman is a moron and a terrible TV writer and producer.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Titan A.E.

Wow. 20 years and no comments?

I guess I will get the ball rolling then. Agree fully this is a 2.5 star movie. Jammer pretty much nails this review on the head. Some fantastic 3-D visuals but a lackluster to the story. Still, I do enjoy watching it from time to time.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Wed, Apr 15, 2020, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

THis episode failed me because it failed to let Warf see that the Klingons on the homeworld are stupid angry idiots who turned Kronos into a nightmare dystopia where one has to constantly fear being killed in the street by assassins. The writer of this episode must have never seen the episode where Warf realized that Klingon culture was garbage when he found out that Klingon culture is nothing but a bunch of psychopathic angry idiots running around killing each other. He was asked to kill a child whose only crime was being born and told that killing this child for such a ludicrous crime was part of the Klingon tradition of the dumb angry psychopathic idiots that make up the world of Kronos. That was when Warf turned his back on Klingon culture and tradition by returning to Starfleet so that he didn't have to kill a child.

Even children are prone to being murdered on Kronos. Kronos contains no engineers, doctors, farmers, scientists. There is no industry on Kronos, no agriculture, no science, no art. Kronos is a worthless planet and Klingon culture is worthless garbage.

It should also be pointed out that the "honorable" Klingon culture creates and uses only stealthed warships which attack other ships without provocation while being stealthed so that the ship they are attacking doesn't even know the Klingon ship is even there.

A good writer would give Warf some development by letting him see that Klingon culture is garbage and the culture of the peaceful humans is vastly superior in EVERY WAY. Warf should have seen the utopia that the Klingons on this planet live in and been like, we have to make sure ALL Klingons adapt this vastly superior peaceful culture instead of the culture which turned Kronos into an endless hellscape.

Instead the dumb writer basically just has Warf constantly chafe at seeing Klingons live in utopia on this planet instead of the dystopia hell on Kronos and try to ruin the utopia by making them adopt the stupid culture of the dumb angry psychotic Klingons on Kronos.

The complete lack of realization by Warf about how stupid and awful Klingon culture is and how much he tried to ruin the utopia on this planet made this episode hard to watch.

I could understand if the writer wanted to do a sort of story like the first Matrix which failed because it was too perfect as there wasn't enough suffering so all the people rejected it, but that isn't what they did here. By all accounts the Klingons on this utopia planet are the happiest and most prosperous Klingons in the universe. No one lives in constant fear of being stabbed in the back, there are no fights to the death to establish dominance, there are no angry Klingons constantly lashing out at each other in anger and discontent. There are no Klingons dying because they didn't get space supplies.

Warf even drives home how awful Klingon culture is by talking about how Klingons hunt because they enjoy killing animals even though they have replicators and don't need the meat. The peaceful Klingons on this planet were taken aback and how wasteful and needlessly cruel that was. That should have been a good wake up moment for Warf. But it isn't because this writer had a hardon for the angry idiot Klingons on Kronos.

The angry idiots on Kronos don't have a future. There is absolutely no way that those Klingons could have developed spaceships, could build spaceships, could maintain a technological arms race with the Romulans and the Federation when the Klingon culture is just a bunch of barbarians killing themselves which denies all forms of industry, science, agriculture, etc. It is only by deus ex machina and writer handwaving that the Klingon empire exists and doesn't get instantly steamrolled by the Romulans or the Cardassians when it implodes to the constant infighting.

I think this quote sums it up best:

"The Mark of the Immature Man Is That He Wants To Die Nobly for a Cause, While the Mark of the Mature Man Is That He Wants To Live Humbly for One"
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ao99bNrJ_1Q

oh my god, I cant wait.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@msw188 @glom

I actually liked Picard's Romulan butler even though she was an overbearing bitch but she was a well acted character that had some potential depth. You knew immediately that she had some meat on her character. It pissed me off to leave those two on Earth while we got Jurarti, Elron, and Raffi as the crew. I also liked Dahj (sp?) way more than I liked Soji for some reason.

I dont feel like debating the male vs female aspect of this show (its absolutely horrendous), I just wanted to voice that I pretty much disliked every female character this show offered. I dont know if it was trying to be some form of female empowerment, but it didnt work for me.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Someone mentioned female leads, I wanted to say how awful i thought all the women were portrayed in this show. Right from the foul mouthed Admiral, to Raffi the drug addicted deadbeat Mom. There wasnt a single likeable female character, aside from Seven (an existing character, and even then.....) in this show. I wonder if Alex Kurtzman is Misogynistic
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Tom

I think The Expanse is an incredible show backed by an even more incredible set of books.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Brian L

"Well? Did you fuck any of them?" - One Romulan to another Romulan

That line of dialogue sums everything up for me. This was not some well thought out character piece of Data LOL.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"No, what this season of Star Trek: Picard is actually about is Picard saying goodbye to Data."

Well, no it wasnt, because they shot that all after the fact because the original story they had was even worse than what they put on TV. This statement is giving way way too much credit to the writers.

@Dave in WN

"I read that both Riker's and Data's appearances in the finale were part of the reshoots. "

I thought I had read that Riker's episode "Nepenthe" was the thing that was added after the fact which would make sense because his appearance as Captain of the Jeng He makes sense in terms of the story being told, but absolutely no sense from where we left Troi and company on Nepenthe.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"his upcoming deep pleasure from reading a two-hour review consisting of hatred on a show (that he chooses to continue to watch"

No. The finale had already aired when I said that, so no, I will not be "continuing to watch". And I recommend everyone to watch Redlettermedia, they are hilarious and Mike Stoklasa is a diehard Trek fan, so I appreciate his take on the subject matter, whether he likes it or not. I just know they will thrash this show like the simple minded trash that it is.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"So sorry that Jammer's review does not fulfill your intense addiction to hate-orgasm that some feel."

No need to apologize, you didnt write the review.

"But feel free to spend hours of your weekly life on the pleasure that you get from watching a show you loathe with a passion, spewing your hatred about it, and pleasuring yourself to the hatred of others on it. That show must really have a permanent space in your mind."

I only spent 45-55 minutes of my weekly life on this show, and I dont need to feel free to do it anymore as it is over for the foreseeable future.

I can see from your previous comments that you are a simple person who is easily manipulated and entertained. The perfect demographic for this show!
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

3 out of 4 stars for this garbage? Is this a sick April fools joke? I was pretty numb to the last 20 minutes because you knew they were just going to bring back Picard at the clone. Its complete garbage. And no, even if the final 20 minutes moved me, it doesnt negate the bullshit that was the previous 9 episodes (with the exception of a few nice scenes and moments). The entire show was a waste of time.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I cannot wait for redlightmedia's two hour evisceration of this puke of a show. Its going to be glorious.l
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom @Glom

In DS9, I always found it disjointed how the Defiant and Sisko & Company became the Federation flagship/crew during the time of the Federation's greatest threat. Where was the Enterprise? Obviously I know they were making TNG movies while DS9 was fighting the Dominion and you were never going to get any cross over due to a variety of reasons, but still, I really found it strange back then how Sisko became the most prominent Captain in Star Trek history.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Some things ill never get over with this show:

1) So the Romulans have these visions of the past, that are so horrific that people literally bash their fucking brains in with a brick, the visions that are so horrific that were going to send a fleet of 218 ships to wipe out a planet of 20 androids, visions so bad that weve established secret police forces over, murdered tens of thousands (maybe millions?) of martian colonists over, the thing some people have devoted their entire lives to, were just gonna turn around and never come back because the head android decided to be nice for a moment???

2) Where are all the scientists, doctors, guards, random personnel on the Borg cube while its flying and crashing into this random planet? Dead? Assimilated? Shot out the airlock?

3) What was the point of any of this?

4) Lesbian seven of nine and Raffi? GTFO

This show was an insult and a disgrace.
Set Bookmark
Jorge
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Gerontius
"I just can't make sense of seeing it that way. The loved stuff is still there, and it can't be damaged. Even if you hate Picard today and think he's not consistent with Picard in the old days (I don't), that doesn't have any impact on the old Picard.

It's as if people were seeing it as analogous to some kind of time travel story, where altering what happens in one time zone has drastic effects on other time zones. "

I don't know. This seems to deny part of the human psychology to link appreciation for something to past or future events connected to it. Say, for example, your favorite director or writer turned out to be a serial sex abuser. I imagine that would sour you on their works, even though it's a piece of information that has no effect on the works themselves. That's the way our minds work and it's not particularly right or wrong.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.