Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 259 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Fri, May 24, 2019, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Another episode ruined by nothing being logical.

It has already been determined that Androids have all the rights of every other sapient species in Starfleet. Starfleet is thus precluded from treating Lol as property it can control. So the entire stupid B subplot about a Starfleet admiral ordering Data to turn over Lol not only makes no sense but is simply a repetition of an earlier episode which suffered from the same problem. And now there have been two rulings that androids have all the rights as every other sapient species. Since Starfleet is a rule of law government then issue preclusion applies.

Secondly if Starfleet really wanted an android to study then Data could have made a second android or simply given Starfleet the plans he used to manufacture Lol and then Starfleet could print all the Lols it wanted.

Thirdly, this episode was the most elementary, basic, and surface level manner of handling Data creating a child android. Especially since Lol was both programmed to think and know perfect English and to be able to analyze and determine which body she preferred but not know something such as basic biology? I was dumbfounded that they would have Lol ask a question involving basic evolution (why do we have two hands instead of three) even though she knew perfect English and already was able to decide which body she preferred and why she preferred it. HUH? WHAT?

Finally, DATA WOULD NOT CREATE AN ANDROID ON HIS OWN WITHOUT PICARD'S PERMISSION. Right from the beginning I knew this episode would not work because this was already a violation of Data's character and how he would act. Especially after the whole Lore episode where Lore almost killed Wesley Crusher and the entire crew of the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Casey Argall
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Trills are parasites and would never gain entry to the federation.
Set Bookmark
Intergalactichegemon
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

My favorite part of this episode was the end credits. Total skipper. A shame. How did they drag Frakes into directing this mess?
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius

-- "she's even said "no problem" with me going ahead with her younger version, so that would settle it for me"

You sir are far braver man than I. If and when the WW3 comes I'd be honored to share the foxhole with you and brave the post atomic horror so we can witness that glorious day in Bozeman, Montana.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@ Tomalak

Generally there is a lot of unspoken red lines associated with dating friend's exes, siblings of your friends, siblings of your previous partners etc. etc. which can cause a lot of fallout if you don't approach them carefully. It's just the way humans work, an ever shifting minefield, when feelings and sex in general are involved. General rule of thumb is communication and respect, you contact parties involved and talk it out, if you value persons involved. Time stranded doppelganger is a play on this situation to the power of thousand. I mean we are not Vulcans :D
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Tomalak

The problem with Star Trek in the waning years of the 90s era was the recycling and it was something the franchise was called out on repeatedly until most of us just moved on and Enterprise petered out. I watched ALL of Trek multiple times, original runs and reruns, and Voyager and Enterprise are cynical and bald faced exploitation of TNG formula, I said it then, and I say it now. In both shows you still had good actors heroically struggling against almost computer generated scripts.

Regarding Ed and younger Kelly, him doing the whole relent or I'll date your previous self thing was very very unethical, because despite them being divorced Kelly is a person who has feelings, is his friend and coworker and some sort of empathy must kick in. It's a strange way of violating one's person, also it kinda nukes the whole possibility of him getting his "real" Kelly sometime down the road and risks effectiveness of his chain of command.

If an old girlfriend of mine tried to date my previous self I'd feel pretty much pissed off and insecure because despite me and my past self being essentially two different people it's still ME she is after and the thought of 7 years older ex gf preying on my younger self with all the knowledge and power disparity would definitely make me suspect I'm dealing with someone who perhaps never respected me above having me as a possession, I'd maybe even feel obliged to go along to protect my previous self.
Set Bookmark
Gorgon
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

@Michael

I see you're becoming a bigger asshole as the time passes. Heartwarming. Tell me, who would work, if all the workers were airlocked? Repression like that only creates more rebellion. Pretty soon the whole Fleet would be in an uprising. It's not human nature to submit to repression. Never was. Never will be. If you don't treat your workers like human beings, why should they work for you? Why should they give a fuck? And if they rebel, what then? Execute their families as an example? Good idea. Galvanize MORE resistance and rage at you! Brilliant thinking.

I think you and Admiral Cain would get along nicely, in your societally-destructive ideologies. And you would also eat a bullet in the end, right alongside her. Thank the gods most humans don't think like you do, or I would root for the Cylons to finish the job and exterminate humanity.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Booming - window or no window is immaterial here, because Star Trek material science is rather undefined and acts according to the writing and budget since forever. It's kinda silly from our perspective, but it could very well be some transparent tritanium alloy or whatever. I just wanted to point out that there's some basic engineering principles involved that are applied in 20th Century to deal with those situations and being kinda into all things naval and military I was amazed that people here were that surprised by basic blast redirection.

Also, this classified thing is also pretty possible. In a 7k ship fleet stretching over thousands of lightyears it's not really that hard for a ship to drop out of public knowledge with a gag order. The US could have classified F117 if it sucked in some way and we would never find out about it, like no one else did know during the Have Blue phase of the project or Beast of Kandahar which did it's thing before getting snatched by Iranians with nothing more but silly sounding rumours about something something flying out at night.

Basically, what I'm arguing here is that some stuff that gets criticised is kinda directly lifted from various real life examples. There's so many problems in this finale that blast doors doing blast door things and a navy successfully classifying stuff about a ship are the least of our worries.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Spockless

How exactly is redoing stories genius? I mean, I do art for living ( TV related ), and I just can't for the life of me get why would retracing stuff this closely be anything else but ( most politely put ) derivative. Is it really the case that Trek told ALL the possible stories that could happen to people serving on a starship? I don't think so. For 20 years of hindsight and $7 mil a pop there is painfully little innovation or will to move on. Why can't the TNG nod stay on the visual trappings and the whole ensemble structure? Would Orville suck if they kept the visual language of TNG and threw away the script books? With cancellation looming I am getting more and more pissed off with old Trek inertia that the show seems to have caught by hiring everyone and their dog from those days and letting them do the same thing yet another time, even though the last two shows doing the same recipe pretty much killed TV Trek for 15 years? You can do TNG type show, without reducing a great ensemble to a hotel cover band doing 80s AOR covers.

Problems with Discovery and Last Jedi aren't new stories, but deeply deeply flawed execution, from the writing room to the cutting room.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I'm just gonna talk about the blast door thing. You guys familiar with M1 Abrams tank, designed through the 70s and fielded through the 80s and up to this day? It keeps it's ammo in turret bustle which has blast doors that separate the ammo from the crew compartment while the roof is made in such way that if something penetrates the ammo storage the blast doors protect the crew and help explosion go upwards and not incinerate people in fighting compartment. Is it so far fetched that similar design principle is used in starships with outer skin configured to vent the internal explosions out so they don't crisp the crew?

Also, it's not only about the material, it's about how the whole thing ties into the overall hull construction and there is usually some plan involved with dealing with various types of damage, be it concussion, blast or penetration borne out of incessant testing. I suppose that blast doors are integrated into strength decks ( or whatever is equivalent on starships ). Basically, you can't build an invincible Abrams out of it's blast compartment doors.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Weren't Klingons droning about cultural preservation in face of Federation since like forever? From Kruge to Chang and onwards, forever dreading that moment when they'll feel the urge to settle down on some nice farm world with Federation flag waving in the wind above them.
Set Bookmark
trashbarg
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

By no means I'm against measuring the two shows against each other, what I'm against is entrenched war of attrition which persists, with sides rarely conceding anything. It's like World War 1 with all the fun sucked out of it. You see, for me both shows cut both ways, with stuff that I find really well executed and stuff that I rather dislike.

Discovery, I appreciate it moving away from what by the mid run of Voyager became corporate exploitation and filling in some blanks along the way, however it suffers from myriad of problems in execution, with the the biggest problem for me being the direction and editing which take after modern Marvel stuff which I hate. I mean I could go on and on, but I'll reserve that for Disco threads :D

Orville on the other hand gives me comforting format that I grew up with and a very capable ensemble, but it follows the old playbook rather too closely and it seems to me like a lot of the old Trek crew there on the production/writing side of things just fell into their old habits. I grew up with TNG, watched all the shows while they aired, then in countless reruns, know everything by heart and I know I want some of that "same old same old" but not quite the same "same old" if you catch my drift? I guess that's why I like that whole Klyden/Bortus thing so much, how many strained alien marriages we had the chance to observe at length? Not many!

In the end, I tune in every week for both shows, because potential is there and occasionally it shines through. I'm pretty interested in what will they become and wish them long runs to realise that potential. Also, both shows running in parallel offers a nice possibility to sort of revise and discuss a lot of aspects of Trek, without getting the knives out :D
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Man, this show. I guess it was okay? With Orville it's always the same for me, whatever originality it has and whatever a really good ensemble tries to do it sort of always crumbles for me with it's slavish following of TNG/VOY/DS9 formulas. I loved each of those, but after 500+ eps of the same schtick I know all the beats by heart. Hell most of the VOY run I was really pissed off at the production for just faxing it in, then ENT killed me inside right out of the gate. IMO Orville needs liberation from these chains to truly become a great show, it's being dragged down by all the baggage.

Does anyone else find Union a bit opportunistic? It's one of the more interesting aspects to me. They seem real quick to admit peoples or try to ally with them for immediate gain, be it tech or ships. Perhaps this Moclan thing will be the engine of change for their foreign policy. Less Machiavellism, more idealism. I hope they continue to run with this theme.

P.S. First time poster, long time reader, yadda yadda, nice to meet you all. Wish all the boring Disco vs. Orville flames would stop, because they are boring and not very well argumented, and life is not a zero sum game.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its not a paradox its a loop, just like in Mission:Earth when the Enterprise was supposed to have been involved all along. You saw the scene. You know what she got out of it. I'm not saying you have to like it, but it does explain how Sarek knew where to be and when. Just like with all the other 4 Red angel appearances that lead the Discovery this season.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Future Burnham has been moving along a process of setting up events to achieve whatever final goal she desires in response to events which occured in her past. One of these events is saying goodbye to her parents on the Discovery before heading to the future, which is in her past but current Burnham's future. Sarek and Amanda make the journey because Michael asks them to because she remembers needing their support for what she's going to be doing. Its really simple time travel mechanics.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Brian Lear

Not sure what your problem is with plot twists, cliffhangers and WTF moments. That's what entertainment is all about
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its very simple. future Burnham told him where and when she needed him to be.
Set Bookmark
Stargazer
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Pike is not doomed to be disfigured & stuck in a chair. That is an idea of disability from the 1960s, but we should be farther today.

It‘s well possible that it‘s his choice: we know he distrusts technology & after the Airiam event he may well reject tech that would make him susceptible to hacking. The Airiam event could also explain why this level of technology disappears between this show and TOS.
Set Bookmark
Zoidberg
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 2:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

“Star Trek isn't about coping with horrible trauma again and again while fighting deathly threats. It is about hope.”

Yes, Star Trek: A New Hope was my favorite entry of the series.
Set Bookmark
George B.
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I like how you commented on Mercer not immediately just getting the hell out of there - that's exactly what I thought and I was saying during the show itself "Stupid - wrong move, just get out of there!" I guess maybe it's procedure or something?
Set Bookmark
Burger
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 6:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

A number of the comments above state that the 'skeleton in the bed' sequence was really creepy & well done. I've always thought this scene is suspiciously like a very similar scene in the 1971 film 'The Omega Man' with Charlton Heston (scared the cr*p out of me as a kid). I find it very difficult to believe that the writers/producers weren't aware of this sequence - it had been a major film & Heston had been a huge star thanks to 'Planet of the Apes' etc. So - plagiarism anyone?
Set Bookmark
Burger
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 1:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

I just love how clever the transporter is - it can dematerialize people sitting in a chair, then rematerialize them standing up, perfectly balanced! Come to think of it, why is there even need for a 'Transporter Room', since it seems that objects can be transported from anywhere to anywhere at will?
Set Bookmark
Burger
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Nice shot of the shuttle landing on the planet, & Muldaur is a better actor than all the others combined - no wonder they had to get rid of her. Everything else about the episode is just bleeeh, clearly knocked up on the back of a postage stamp. Final dialogue - Riker: Set course & speed for such-&-such. Wesley: Course & speed laid in Sir. Uhmm - any chance of specifying *what* speed? Dumb.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Tue, Feb 12, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I'm only 2 minutes into the episode and already turning it off.

Not even 30 seconds after the station explodes the head examiner is already beaming up to the Enterprise to accuse Riker of murder saying that two witnesses came forward to accuse Riker AND that he had reviewed Starfleet regulations regarding jurisdiction, choice of law and extradition? BULLSHIT!

At this point I know to stop watching the show because the writers always do an absolutely horrible job when it comes to anything involving legal matters to the point where I simply cannot stand to watch it. Let's start with something as simple as the Rules of Evidence. Or what about criminal procedure? What are the criminal laws on the planet? What defenses are allowed? What is the standard of evidence? Jury selection? Is there a jury trial? What about appeals? What is the case law? Does the Federation have a clause about refusing to follow other law when their officers would not receive a fair trial or when the laws of the planet are clearly ridiculous and stupid or when certain defenses or appeals or claims would not be avaiable? Nobody would EVER have a regulation so broad as to always follow other law over federation regulations because there is simply too much stupidity in the Star Trek galaxy.
Set Bookmark
Stargazer
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 6:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

"The captain isn’t let in, there’s no extensive medical study done on him. It was cartoonish. "

Look at the crew standing up when he leaves the bridge. They know and the captain knows, because he was on sickbay with Saru. Just because they don't show the scene doesn't mean it didn't happen.

You also don't see Burnham getting from the lift to Saru's quarters. We assume she must have gotten there, because she arrives there in the end.


"no extensive medical study"

The ship's doctor clearly has no idea of his anatomy and how should she: Saru's the only Kelpian they have for study and he comes from a medieval society, so they probably have no idea about their own biology, etc. Unless they'd disected him and put him in a laboratory for ages, they can study him all they want, they wouldn't have medical data that would be helpful. They're lacking comparison and reference cases.

So, it's not cartoonish. It's just the only course of action available if you think through it.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.