Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 271 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Some things that stood out to me after a first watching:

It took me a little while to realize that Picard’s two assistants at the Chateau were Romulans. Nice touch.

I thought that Data’s appearances were well done and very appropriate. I’ll be curious to see if they include him in future episodes somehow.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Wow. I am really impressed with how this series has started out. A very interesting storyline that picks up some 15 to 20 years after the last time we saw the card and the next generation crew.

I am really looking forward to seeing the rest of the season play out.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 1:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

My sole problem with this episode is the background that set the episode into motion, specifically the problem with the sun. If this species sun is dying and about to explode so or whatever it was going to do then fixing that sun would become the number one priority about which the entire society would restructure itself to fix. So if their sun really was going to explode then NO ONE would be demanding Timicin kill himself, in fact quite the opposite. They'd be demanding that he DOESN'T die in order to save them.

Also stars are VERY dense. So dense that it takes light almost a year to travel from the core to the surface of the sun. So photon torpedoes are not going to instantly be able to penetrate a sun. Not to mention that the fusion process is caused by and maintained by the gravity of the sun.

For the actual meat of the episode I thought it handled its subject of growing old well and Lwanxana was well placed in the episode as a foil to Timicin. If you cut out the whole problem with the sun then this is a three star episode, but when you throw in the backdrop of the sun problem then the star rating falls to 2 or lower because the absolute need of the species to not die out in the next 20-30 years if the problem isn't fixed then this would take precedence over EVERYTHING.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Mon, Jan 6, 2020, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

This episode is great in theory but horrible in execution.

It is ludicrous beyond belief that a planet full of technological marvels which invented warp drive would also have "traditional policies" and a belief that their world is the center of the universe. Astronomy must by necessity dispel any belief that the planet is the center of the universe because it would prove absolutely that the planet orbits around the sun and that there are many suns near your own each identical to your own. What even are these "traditional values" besides a ludicrous claim by the writers that the people woudl deeply believe they are the center of the universe and the only intelligent life. Let's even suppose that is true, how would there be any problem with finding out that is false and intelligent life does exist outside your planet? There wouldn't be an actual problem. Oh writers LOVE to claim there would be because writers don't like to put thought into natural results and LOVE LOVE LOVE to make a strawman of conservatives.

Furthermore having one person claim that they could withstand or stand up to aliens with a spaceship that has teleportation technology and weapons that could level the planet in seconds also makes this episode ludicrous beyond belief.

Thirdly, the whole bit where the alien woman forced Ryker to have sex with her because she always wanted to have sex with an alien was so horribly puerile it was embarrassing to watch let alone how embarrassing it must have been to write and direct.

This episode felt like the writers trying to force an agenda and a hatred of conservative values even though conservative values don't include a refusal to embrace change as the writers are trying to claim in this episode. Conservatives aren't the Amish even though the writers seem to believe that conservatives are all Amish and all refuse change. There is a difference between not changing at all and between someone questioning the benefit of a radical change that was proposed without any evidence to indicate it would be a positive change verse a negative change.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Mon, Jan 6, 2020, 7:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Watching this right now and already the glove hands are ruining the episode for me. Upright beings who evolved to use tools would not have glove hands because glove hands are almost completely non functional. There is a reason why all animals with hands have individual digits.
Set Bookmark
Burger
Thu, Jan 2, 2020, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Why were there clomping sounds as they walked around on the hull? In space no one can hear you clomp.
Set Bookmark
Sergei
Tue, Dec 31, 2019, 12:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

This episode is very personal to me. I am Russian, my mother is Canadian born, it was very important to my mother that I went to Canada for university...I did and I hated it, the culture was so wrong to me, the values so out of line with my own, I found myself perpetually angry and disgusted. During my first holiday I returned home, my mother convinced me to return, that it was right for my future to have a degree from the University of Toronto. 10 days after my return to Canada I had to go to Church Street for something, I don’t remember what, but I saw two people doing something that would never be allowed where I come from, it was not the first time I saw it but this time it made me so angry that I returned to my residence immediately, packed my things and took a taxi to the airport, I left my Canadian papers in an ashtray. That was 5 years ago and it was the best choice that I ever made!

So I understand how Jono feels here, to live in a strong culture all of your life and then be stuck among a weird, effeminate and lost culture who do things wrong is excruciating, especially when they act as though you’re the one who isn’t right!
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Mon, Nov 18, 2019, 2:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

I want to like this episode because it is a lot of fun but the constant plot holes keeping throwing me out. Such as Guinan telling Picard he should leave the space without warning Picard about the Borg specifically. Or Picard's blase response to the threat the Borg pose to the ship. They had a perfect chance to blowup the Borg cube and pick over the pieces and instead they shoot the ship a couple of times (despite having already seen that the Borg had the ability to perfectly adapt to the Federation's phasers) and then decide to hang around and let the Borg repair the ship. This also makes one wonder just how weak the Borg cube is without its shielding as three phaser hits destroy 20% of the Borg cube whereas the Enterprise has been hit by more and only taken minor structural damage.

Nothing anyone does in this episode actually makes any sense. Picard sees that the Borg are apparently technologically superior but also apparently inferior in materials and tactics. Deanna says there is a communal mind but never mentions how that is a weakness they could take advantage of by creating dissent within the collective mind or making use of group think that would prevent the Borg from considering alternatives. The lack of shielding on the Borg cube before they had scanned the Enterprise or learned of its defensive capabilities was a grave tactical error which calls the threat of the Borg into question. Suppose Q had sent over Klingons or Romulans instead. They would have immediately destroyed the Cube while its shields were down and then taken home the technology to study as a prize. Or what if Picard had ordered the away team to place a bomb inside the cube as a backup plan in case the Borg cube wasn't actually disabled. Instead the Borg leave themselves completely vulnerable and only survive destruction because Picard makes just as many grievous tactical errors as the Borg.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 10:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Just to add that Data would have been permitted to immediately kill Fajo for the crime of kidnapping an officer and holding him against his will. There is no moral ambiguity in this episode. Fajo is clearly in the wrong and Data is morally and legally permitted to kill Fajo to leave.
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 10:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Watched the episode and hated it. A shuttle in working order explodes without any clear explanation, killing a Starfleet officer and no actual formal investigation is launched. Instead they just immediately pronounce Data dead because the poorly written plot demands it and proceed to divy up his possessions. Data is then held captive by a bunch of people who are clearly fools that he should have had zero problems outsmarting but is instead forbidden from beating them by the bad writer. Fajo is not a believable character, the story isn't a believable story and the setting is not a believable setting. Let me pose this question, where does Fajo's wealth come from? What could this person possibly have to offer in a galaxy where people can replicate material goods? He isn't an intellectual, he isn't an artist, he isn't a shrewd merchant, he isn't a brilliant business strategist. He has nothing and is clearly just a fool.

If he's dealing with criminals then why hasn't one of those criminals killed this weak man?

For that matter why does Fajo have a baseball card? What is a baseball card to him when his planet didn't even have baseball? How would anybody know the difference between a replicated baseball card and the original? Especially when the thing he seems to enjoy the most is the synthetically reproduced bubblegum smell.
Set Bookmark
Virginia
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 9:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

I don't think that T'Pol's reaction to Trip was so bland. It took a lot of effort for her to reach out and touch his shoulder in comfort. While she may not always cry tears-like she did when she went into the ready room after Archer leaves in the "Azati Prime" or when her Mum died in "Awakening"-you can tell she's overwhelmed when her voice breaks. It did here and when she told Archer she hadn't been able to meditate in "Damage". She couldn't tell him about her terellium addiction yet, but told Dr.Phlox.
Set Bookmark
bleerg
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 9:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

"Enough talk, link with me"

Gonna try that one out on my next date haha
Set Bookmark
George Monet
Fri, May 24, 2019, 10:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

Another episode ruined by nothing being logical.

It has already been determined that Androids have all the rights of every other sapient species in Starfleet. Starfleet is thus precluded from treating Lol as property it can control. So the entire stupid B subplot about a Starfleet admiral ordering Data to turn over Lol not only makes no sense but is simply a repetition of an earlier episode which suffered from the same problem. And now there have been two rulings that androids have all the rights as every other sapient species. Since Starfleet is a rule of law government then issue preclusion applies.

Secondly if Starfleet really wanted an android to study then Data could have made a second android or simply given Starfleet the plans he used to manufacture Lol and then Starfleet could print all the Lols it wanted.

Thirdly, this episode was the most elementary, basic, and surface level manner of handling Data creating a child android. Especially since Lol was both programmed to think and know perfect English and to be able to analyze and determine which body she preferred but not know something such as basic biology? I was dumbfounded that they would have Lol ask a question involving basic evolution (why do we have two hands instead of three) even though she knew perfect English and already was able to decide which body she preferred and why she preferred it. HUH? WHAT?

Finally, DATA WOULD NOT CREATE AN ANDROID ON HIS OWN WITHOUT PICARD'S PERMISSION. Right from the beginning I knew this episode would not work because this was already a violation of Data's character and how he would act. Especially after the whole Lore episode where Lore almost killed Wesley Crusher and the entire crew of the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Casey Argall
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Trills are parasites and would never gain entry to the federation.
Set Bookmark
Intergalactichegemon
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

My favorite part of this episode was the end credits. Total skipper. A shame. How did they drag Frakes into directing this mess?
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Gerontius

-- "she's even said "no problem" with me going ahead with her younger version, so that would settle it for me"

You sir are far braver man than I. If and when the WW3 comes I'd be honored to share the foxhole with you and brave the post atomic horror so we can witness that glorious day in Bozeman, Montana.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 9:32am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@ Tomalak

Generally there is a lot of unspoken red lines associated with dating friend's exes, siblings of your friends, siblings of your previous partners etc. etc. which can cause a lot of fallout if you don't approach them carefully. It's just the way humans work, an ever shifting minefield, when feelings and sex in general are involved. General rule of thumb is communication and respect, you contact parties involved and talk it out, if you value persons involved. Time stranded doppelganger is a play on this situation to the power of thousand. I mean we are not Vulcans :D
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 7:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Tomalak

The problem with Star Trek in the waning years of the 90s era was the recycling and it was something the franchise was called out on repeatedly until most of us just moved on and Enterprise petered out. I watched ALL of Trek multiple times, original runs and reruns, and Voyager and Enterprise are cynical and bald faced exploitation of TNG formula, I said it then, and I say it now. In both shows you still had good actors heroically struggling against almost computer generated scripts.

Regarding Ed and younger Kelly, him doing the whole relent or I'll date your previous self thing was very very unethical, because despite them being divorced Kelly is a person who has feelings, is his friend and coworker and some sort of empathy must kick in. It's a strange way of violating one's person, also it kinda nukes the whole possibility of him getting his "real" Kelly sometime down the road and risks effectiveness of his chain of command.

If an old girlfriend of mine tried to date my previous self I'd feel pretty much pissed off and insecure because despite me and my past self being essentially two different people it's still ME she is after and the thought of 7 years older ex gf preying on my younger self with all the knowledge and power disparity would definitely make me suspect I'm dealing with someone who perhaps never respected me above having me as a possession, I'd maybe even feel obliged to go along to protect my previous self.
Set Bookmark
Gorgon
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

@Michael

I see you're becoming a bigger asshole as the time passes. Heartwarming. Tell me, who would work, if all the workers were airlocked? Repression like that only creates more rebellion. Pretty soon the whole Fleet would be in an uprising. It's not human nature to submit to repression. Never was. Never will be. If you don't treat your workers like human beings, why should they work for you? Why should they give a fuck? And if they rebel, what then? Execute their families as an example? Good idea. Galvanize MORE resistance and rage at you! Brilliant thinking.

I think you and Admiral Cain would get along nicely, in your societally-destructive ideologies. And you would also eat a bullet in the end, right alongside her. Thank the gods most humans don't think like you do, or I would root for the Cylons to finish the job and exterminate humanity.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Booming - window or no window is immaterial here, because Star Trek material science is rather undefined and acts according to the writing and budget since forever. It's kinda silly from our perspective, but it could very well be some transparent tritanium alloy or whatever. I just wanted to point out that there's some basic engineering principles involved that are applied in 20th Century to deal with those situations and being kinda into all things naval and military I was amazed that people here were that surprised by basic blast redirection.

Also, this classified thing is also pretty possible. In a 7k ship fleet stretching over thousands of lightyears it's not really that hard for a ship to drop out of public knowledge with a gag order. The US could have classified F117 if it sucked in some way and we would never find out about it, like no one else did know during the Have Blue phase of the project or Beast of Kandahar which did it's thing before getting snatched by Iranians with nothing more but silly sounding rumours about something something flying out at night.

Basically, what I'm arguing here is that some stuff that gets criticised is kinda directly lifted from various real life examples. There's so many problems in this finale that blast doors doing blast door things and a navy successfully classifying stuff about a ship are the least of our worries.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@Spockless

How exactly is redoing stories genius? I mean, I do art for living ( TV related ), and I just can't for the life of me get why would retracing stuff this closely be anything else but ( most politely put ) derivative. Is it really the case that Trek told ALL the possible stories that could happen to people serving on a starship? I don't think so. For 20 years of hindsight and $7 mil a pop there is painfully little innovation or will to move on. Why can't the TNG nod stay on the visual trappings and the whole ensemble structure? Would Orville suck if they kept the visual language of TNG and threw away the script books? With cancellation looming I am getting more and more pissed off with old Trek inertia that the show seems to have caught by hiring everyone and their dog from those days and letting them do the same thing yet another time, even though the last two shows doing the same recipe pretty much killed TV Trek for 15 years? You can do TNG type show, without reducing a great ensemble to a hotel cover band doing 80s AOR covers.

Problems with Discovery and Last Jedi aren't new stories, but deeply deeply flawed execution, from the writing room to the cutting room.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I'm just gonna talk about the blast door thing. You guys familiar with M1 Abrams tank, designed through the 70s and fielded through the 80s and up to this day? It keeps it's ammo in turret bustle which has blast doors that separate the ammo from the crew compartment while the roof is made in such way that if something penetrates the ammo storage the blast doors protect the crew and help explosion go upwards and not incinerate people in fighting compartment. Is it so far fetched that similar design principle is used in starships with outer skin configured to vent the internal explosions out so they don't crisp the crew?

Also, it's not only about the material, it's about how the whole thing ties into the overall hull construction and there is usually some plan involved with dealing with various types of damage, be it concussion, blast or penetration borne out of incessant testing. I suppose that blast doors are integrated into strength decks ( or whatever is equivalent on starships ). Basically, you can't build an invincible Abrams out of it's blast compartment doors.
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Weren't Klingons droning about cultural preservation in face of Federation since like forever? From Kruge to Chang and onwards, forever dreading that moment when they'll feel the urge to settle down on some nice farm world with Federation flag waving in the wind above them.
Set Bookmark
trashbarg
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 11:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

By no means I'm against measuring the two shows against each other, what I'm against is entrenched war of attrition which persists, with sides rarely conceding anything. It's like World War 1 with all the fun sucked out of it. You see, for me both shows cut both ways, with stuff that I find really well executed and stuff that I rather dislike.

Discovery, I appreciate it moving away from what by the mid run of Voyager became corporate exploitation and filling in some blanks along the way, however it suffers from myriad of problems in execution, with the the biggest problem for me being the direction and editing which take after modern Marvel stuff which I hate. I mean I could go on and on, but I'll reserve that for Disco threads :D

Orville on the other hand gives me comforting format that I grew up with and a very capable ensemble, but it follows the old playbook rather too closely and it seems to me like a lot of the old Trek crew there on the production/writing side of things just fell into their old habits. I grew up with TNG, watched all the shows while they aired, then in countless reruns, know everything by heart and I know I want some of that "same old same old" but not quite the same "same old" if you catch my drift? I guess that's why I like that whole Klyden/Bortus thing so much, how many strained alien marriages we had the chance to observe at length? Not many!

In the end, I tune in every week for both shows, because potential is there and occasionally it shines through. I'm pretty interested in what will they become and wish them long runs to realise that potential. Also, both shows running in parallel offers a nice possibility to sort of revise and discuss a lot of aspects of Trek, without getting the knives out :D
Set Bookmark
Trashbarg
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Man, this show. I guess it was okay? With Orville it's always the same for me, whatever originality it has and whatever a really good ensemble tries to do it sort of always crumbles for me with it's slavish following of TNG/VOY/DS9 formulas. I loved each of those, but after 500+ eps of the same schtick I know all the beats by heart. Hell most of the VOY run I was really pissed off at the production for just faxing it in, then ENT killed me inside right out of the gate. IMO Orville needs liberation from these chains to truly become a great show, it's being dragged down by all the baggage.

Does anyone else find Union a bit opportunistic? It's one of the more interesting aspects to me. They seem real quick to admit peoples or try to ally with them for immediate gain, be it tech or ships. Perhaps this Moclan thing will be the engine of change for their foreign policy. Less Machiavellism, more idealism. I hope they continue to run with this theme.

P.S. First time poster, long time reader, yadda yadda, nice to meet you all. Wish all the boring Disco vs. Orville flames would stop, because they are boring and not very well argumented, and life is not a zero sum game.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.