Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,283 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 52
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Mostly it's about the money. "What do you do?" is a first question asked most of the time, and it's more or less interchangeable with "how much money do you make".

That is an oversimplification. The "importance" or status of a job may be correlated strongly to remuneration but in my experience there is a distinction.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Peter I am only noting that even today there are pockets of relative "paradise" here on Earth where things like hunger and deprivation are largely eliminated. They may not be post scarcity societies but they are pretty good overall. Yet we don't say that *humanity* is evolved by arbitrarily ignoring the large parts of the world that are not so lucky.

It seems to me inconsistent with Picard's claims that any human colony could be a dystopian nightmare. If that's true, then how is future human better than the one of today other than having fancier gadgets?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

"I think you misunderstand. This is a post-scarcity society with replicators and nearly unlimited energy. That's why there's (nominally) no money in the Federation. With no scarcity there's no reason for a medium to allocate scarce resources. Yes people have possessions, but there's no longer a materialistic drive for accumulating said possessions. If anyone can have them, there's no exclusivity or pretension, no keeping up with the Jones'. Instead that drive is turned towards self-improvement and fulfillment through other means. Generally when they do bring up money it's when exchanging with cultures outside the Federation, such as the Ferengi or the Bandi (Farpoint)."


Hmmm... what culture was Turkana IV again? Ferengi?

I always thought Tasha's home world was an odd anachronism. I mean ya, not every human world is creepy sewer rape gangland - but these are *humans* no? Same species as Picard. Where does Picard get off with his mankind has evolved BS? Maybe he should talk to Tasha.

I mean today we have states like Sweden where most everyone lives pretty well while states like Somalia are not so enlightened. Can the Swedes just wall themselves off from the rest of the world and declare *mankind* evolved because Sweden is a paradise? What about the first world generally? If nobody starves in Canada does that mean Canada is as good as the Federation?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 11:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"Man, am I ever getting annoyed by fans of the morally darker New Star Treks pointing to this and "For the Uniform" as justifications via "whataboutism" for "Discovery," "Picard" and "Lower Decks"'s reprehensible moral codes. These were the EXCEPTIONS to for Sisko, while being the rule for those series."

Yes. DS9 for all its reputation as a "dark" Trek isn't actually all that dark. We have to make a distinction between dark subject matter and what I would call a dark morality I e. nihilism. DS9 ventures into the former but almost never into the latter.

In the Berman era shows killing was a big deal and Starfleet crew almost never did it if it could be helped. Voyager was notorious for this and it even became a bit comedic as Janeway would permit the rando alien hard-ass of the week to wail on the Voyager until its shields were down to 8% before ordering the return of fire - and then she'd just target their engines or something. DS9 wasn't all that different, although given the war setting, obviously Sisko wasn't able to be as accommodating when facing a wing of Jem'Hadar fighters.

Compare this with the casual violence of 7 of 9 mowing down a dozen people in Stardust City Rag or Burnham setting her phaser to kill and shooting that Klingon in the back (no I'm never going to let that one go, cause it was way worse than the mutiny).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

This finale, while not perfect, packs more punch, gives us better spectacle, and carries more dramatic weight than all of the sequels put together. Good god, so Disney knows how to make a good Star Wars story after all! Imagine that: action that has tension and gravity, flowing from logical ideas and not arbitrary spectacle; a strong story with real world building in every scene that actually respects its characters; a well earned emotional payoff flowing naturally from *gasp* actual character development and growth; even a bad-ass fan servicing cameo that is perfectly set up and executed for maximum wow factor but is held back until the right moment.

What the Mandalorian got that the sequels completely missed is that we want to spend time in the Star Wars universe, to feel like it is a real place with real worlds and aliens and characters; that not everything has to be about the fate of the galaxy; that lightsabers should be used sparingly; that sometimes smaller stories are the best and to tell a big story well you do have to start small! (Or small-er at least)

From now on, I am going to file away the entire sequel trilogy into some non canon box, say along with that Jedi Academy novel series. As far as I am concerned, the Mandalorian is the sequel to the Star Wars trilogy, its proper successor. To hell with Mary Sue Ray and good-for-nothing Finn and the whole lot of them. To hell with gigantic fleets of 10,000,000,000,000,000,000 death star destroyers and bullshit casino planets and plot breaking light speed jumps through enemy capital ships and all of that tedious, unearned, vapid FX vomit spectacle.

As I see it there are two paths forward for me to enjoy Star Wars: something in that 20 something year gap before the sequels or more prequels. But the second Rey and her merry band so much as get a whisper I am bailing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

"The ep is undoubtedly about the Cold War, but I'm not quite sure it's implying that Kirk is barely better than the Klingons. He does, after all, believe his intention is to bring about peace, whereas Kor outright wants glorious battle. So the sides are not exactly symmetrical"

Well consider that at the very outset the Organian tells Kirk that his choice is to deal with the Klingons or the Federation. I think that's a sly dig at Kirk, the implication being that the difference isn't as great as Kirk believes. Later, when we learn that Klingons and humans are "amoeba" compared to the Organians, that attitude is much easier to understand since the Organians could care less about Kirk's rationalization for his own violent behaviour.

I do think there is a cold war parallel here as you stated and note that the episode aired in 1967, right around the time that public opinion was turning against the Vietnam war. Even the name of the episode, "Errand of Mercy" is incongruous as there is nothing "merciful" about Kirk's mission, even if you accept that his goal is noble. Indeed, I see the title as another dig - basically mocking the idea that proxy wars are for the good of the people caught in the middle (another theme that emerged from Vietnam)
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 10:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

I love how backhanded the Organians are to Kirk and Spock, thanking them graciously for their "altruism". One thing that jumps out at me is just how self-serving and reckless Kirk and Spock's "help" is. They have just heard from Kor that the Klingons will punish any infraction with death. How many Organians are they sacrificing with their little munitions dump explosion? Are they helping liberate an oppressed people or seeking to use them as canon fodder in a proxy war? Even if it is in the Organians' best interests to fight back it's mighty cold to make that call for them against their will knowing that they will be the ones who pay the price. All to hobble the Klingons so that they won't have their base against the Federation. Altruism indeed! Without any revisionist cynicism I find it apparent that the episode intends for us to see Kirk's motives as barely better than the Klingons. Rather subversive!

I also think there's something to the fact that even after the Organians essentially tip their hands right from the get go (when one of the council members reveals his knowledge of the position and number of Klingon starships) Kirk and Spock remain totally oblivious until the very end. I mean supposedly these guys are at best medieval in their capabilities (notwithstanding their knowledge of space travel) yet Kirk and Spock think nothing of one of them telepathically sensing starships in orbit?! I feel like there is some kind of a metaphor there for colonial arrogance and closed mindedness when faced with a society they deem primitive or beneath them. It's hilarious that the Organians never even really conceal what is going on - they state outright "we are not in danger" . Poor Spock should have put his logic cap on and figured it out.

I also love Kor and Kirk's "you haven't the right!" tantrum when the Organians finally intervene. Coming from Kor especially it is mighty funny. This is the guy who marches onto someone else's planet and declares himself military overlord and he's making a right to self-determination pitch? It's not the argument that bothers me but the total petulance and childishness of it. I expected him to have more humor at the irony.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@Mal just a correction: the Borg Queen never appeared in Scorpion. Her introduction was in First Contact which I think preceded Scorpion didn't it? If that is correct I am grateful she was excluded from Scorpion.

I actually thought she was a decent villain in First Contact but for me she will never be equal to the Borg as they were in BOBW and Scorpion: just a single disembodied voice speaking from a vast collective consciousness.

I was lucky enough to view BOBW in its original broadcast and the line "Death is irrelevant" still sends chills down my spine.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 7:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming it reminds me of that X-Men movie where a mutant assassinating a weapons scientist nobody has ever heard of supposedly causes an anti mutant backlash- not apparently the dropping a football stadium on the White House lawn lol.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"LOL I thought you were still talking about Sarah Michelle Gellar when you said SMG and I kept wondering when she was on TWD."

Haha I didn't even notice the initials were the same.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Incidentally regarding SMG, while I haven't seen the Walking Dead I suspect she was a strong secondary character who worked well in that specific context but the showrunners made the same mistake as Angel's; failing to understand the limitations of their actors. Except with Discovery they were doubly stupid because for some insane reason they decided to forego the traditional ensemble approach for Trek and just shovel the entire weight of the show on the head of one incredibly mediocre actress playing a poorly written nonsensical character.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Peter G. it is noteworthy that several main cast members on Angel (including of course the titular character) were transplanted from Buffy so calling it poor casting can't really be right entirely. It didn't help that the two initial transplants (Angel and Cordelia) were always secondary recurring characters on Buffy who served niche roles on that series. Neither character was ever intended to or capable of properly carrying a series. If it's casting then only in the sense that the showrunners tried to put too much on the shoulders of actors and characters who couldn't bare the weight.

Buffy's main cast actually wasn't that fantastic individually when you think about it. Sarah Michelle Geller let's face it was always a mediocre actress but she was perfectly casted and the story was perfectly written to her strengths. The cast just had chemistry plus fantastic writing behind them. B5 was another example of a show that was more than the sum of its parts. I mean Claudia Chrostian can't act her way out of a wet paper bag let's be honest.

I mean if someone tried to make a DS9 spinoff starring Andrew Robinson as Garak that would probably be great. Not so much if they picked, I don't know, Bashir or Jake Sisko even if those characters might work well enough in their specific context.

Regarding TNG that cast was jam packed with talent. Season 1's failings were about overarching stories; the characters themselves were bang on from the get go.

Discovery is an example of a show that has pretty much nothing going for it except really high production values and consistent low-risk storytelling. It can never be "bad" in the sense of Code of Honour or Shades of Grey but it's ceiling is so low that the characters are hitting their heads before you even get to 3 stars.

I'm with you that I will take an inconsistent product that reaches great heights (and depths) over something manufactured to never fail but also never really succeed. It is like going to McDonalds versus some brand new high end restaurant. The former will never disappoint but will never surprise or elate either. The new restaurant is a risk no doubt but no risk, no reward.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming as a scientist I am also appalled.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Just checked Rotten Tomatoes out of curiosity. 93% fresh for critics for Disc S3. Amazing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

I agree with Jammer that this series is steadfast in its mission of solid storytelling using the Star Wars universe as its canvass. It isn't overly ambitious but manages to deliver on its premise episode after episode. This is true world building coupled with good stories well-executed. Good God I can't imagine what Kurtzman and crew would do with this. The fate of the galaxy would be at stake I am sure.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I think I read somewhere that Kurtzman has a big picture of Michael Burnham in his office, like a shrine or something. They really are proud of this character. She's like the muse for the whole show.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

" Picard surrounded by high achieving women, doctors, engineers, commanders, admirals, even gorgeous Klingon, Vulcan and Romulan babes, and he falls for a grifter. On Risa even! Gimme anothet break, PLEASE!"

Well to be fair she's established as an archeology expert who studied under a prominent archeologist - that isn't what I think of as a grifter. She is basically a female Indiana Jones. You can definitely see the appeal. She even wanted to donate the Tox Utat to the Daestrom museum. Well... maybe not *donate*...
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 8:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

"A food replicator should be able to create food that can be digested without any waste. Why would you add something that cannot be digested, it just puts stress on the digestive system."

I am no doctor but I doubt permitting a part of your digestive system to go unused perpetually would be desirable or healthy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 4:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

" I'll be honest, English is my first language and I didn't realize that term was on the same level as the "n" word, thankfully I don't use the word but it's not something I really thought about before."

This is Dec 2020 not Jan 2020.

Radical far right hate speakers like you and your pal Booming won't be free to do further violence so better get with the times.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"Above, Booming used a slur for transgender people. The "t___ in Star Trek." I hope you will respond as you would with use of a slur for other groups."

Fuck off.

Saved Jammer the trouble.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

"Because THIS is the moment that Voyager stumbles upon the nebula, wherein doth lie the transwarp hub. "

Except for the fact that Admiral Janeway herself has magic future tech that permits her shuttle to not only jump through time but also through space all the way to the Delta Quadrant instantaneously.

She could undoubtedly have just used that tech to bring Voyager home or equipped it with whatever advanced propulsion she had access to in the future.

All of which would have been simpler and less dangerous than picking fighting through a fleet of Borg cubes to use their hub.
Set Bookmark
R.J.
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

Too bad Nichelle Nichols was busy performing at a concert to appear in this episode since the communications officer actually has a lot of dialog.

I think Lt. Palmer comes off as professional and no-nonsense right out of the gate when compared to some of Lt. Uhura's more subdued exchanges with Captain Kirk or her exaggerated fear when reacting to strange aliens or dangerous situations. Makes me wonder how Nichelle Nichols would have played it for this installment.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

"If they want to make a section 31 show (I hope they don't), then why did they make Georgiou soft and peace loving? Those are not the character traits for a S31 operative ..."

My guess is they will glorify S31, make it out to be some kind of anti hero rugged protagonists who do the things no one else can for the good of the Federation or some such. Mirror Georgiou is a perfect fit because the values of the showrunners are right about on par with MU / S31 values. Basically the showrunners would turn Terran in a second for the right cause like if there were some racists or something.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Yanks Peter makes a good point - Disc is not only serialized but highly condensed. And Measure of a Man (arguably the first bona fide TNG classic) came just 9 episodes into Season 2.

I have made my point about the pros and cons of serialized writing in another thread so I won't belabor the point. But suffice it to say, Jammer's reviews reflect the flattening of the curve we see from a show like TNG with big highs and big lows (even in otherwise well regarded seasons like season 3) versus Discovery and Picard, which almost never escape the gravity of that 2 1/2 star baseline.

And you know I also agree with Peter G. that there is no excuse for this. We have seen how modern serialized tv drama can give us those incredible moments. Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Stranger Things, Game of Thrones - this kind of television can reach incredible heights with the right cast and writing. Certainly season 1 of Picard (which I will refer to because I watched it completely) doesn't even come close to anything resembling a great episode.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

They should make the GOF the next Price is Right host.

"And what is the next item in the showcase Guardian? *portal shimmers and fog clears...* A NEW CAR!!
Next ►Page 1 of 52
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.