Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 559 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 23
Set Bookmark
Dr. Dunc
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

@Luke - ah I see now! Thank you for the generous response.

I myself am currently in the midst of a series rewatch. Given that I find it work enough to simply read the review and browse all comments after each episode viewing (and I’m a decades-old confirmed Trekker), I am astounded and impressed at the voluminous output of people like yourselves; hence I can well appreciate the need for a break. I also feel your pain regarding these season 2 doldrums, but seeing as all *I* need do is watch the damned things, I’m soldiering through :). May Sisko grow his goatee ASAP!!!

Thanks again.
Set Bookmark
Dr. Dunc
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

Ok Luke, having read and enjoyed many of your comments (along with those of everyone else, on this magnificent accomplishment of a site by Jammer), I’m finally going to bite: wtf is ‘WTF HAIR’ and what do each of the subsequent two numbers signify? Thank you!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 6:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Jammer, I have generally respected your viewpoint and refrained from calling you out when I have disagreed, but your reviews of the new SW movies seem... unbalanced. 3.5 stars for this drek? Really?

I finally got around to watching this on Netflix and it was as bad as everyone said. I mean there was an entire section of the movie that was utterly pointless. I can only describe it as a level from a video game. That's what it was. And in the end it came to... nothing.

I can say more about the movie, but I just can't bring myself to believe that you believe this is a 3.5 star movie. I have never before felt this way.
Set Bookmark
Dr. Pholx
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

I really didn't mind the episode unexpected. it was weird but funny at the same time, but there was a few things that weren't told. like if tucker had the child how would he give birth. Why did T'pol make fun of tucker being pregnant. and of all of it why did the Klingon's find it funny that tucker was knocked up. If I were a Klingon I would be dead silent from weirdness.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jul 8, 2018, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

"It's absolutely chilling to watch this in 2018. It resonates with me so much more than it did in 1991. And I don't see any Jean Luc Picards on the horizon to save us from our current band of Admiral Saties who have hijacked our country and have an angry, self-righteous mob to support them. "

Haha You know what's funny about this comment? Pretty much 100% of the population would agree. 50% would point at the other 50% and the other 50% the reverse.

And everyone might be right!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

This debate reminds me of the one currently taking place with automation. Robots and computers have been eliminating our jobs since the industrial revolution, and will continue to do so at an accelerated rate. Even knowledge jobs are threatened due to AI.

As I purchase a candy bar in the pharmacy in my office building from a computer terminal (while a hapless employee stands by to assist, essentially training customers to render her job useless) I ask myself: is this a better world? Does buying from a computer improve my life or even the pharmacy's bottom line in a manner that's sufficient to justify the human cost of rendering half the population unemployable?

The answer seems to be obviously no. Objectively, it makes our lives worse. I frankly doubt that even the pharmacy is more profitable today than it was 5 years ago before they brought in computer terminals. "Progress" sometimes seems like a losing proposition.

Yet what is the solution? Do we ban automated computer kiosks? Okay, but why just them? Why not ban online shopping too? We laugh at the notion of buggy whip makers rioting in protest of the automobile, calling them luddites, yet how is that any different? Do the Amish have the right idea to freeze time at some arbitrary period?

As Peter G. suggests, technological progress may worsen our lot, yet to attemp to freeze ourselves or artificially constrain that progress seems wrong too, like cutting our nose to spite our face. The point is there is no going back, not without sacrificing our freedom.

Perhaps the point about the Alixus character was that her domination of the colonists and her desire for power weren't just incidental factors. Perhaps they were integral to the entire enterprise of artificially constraining human progress.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

" He should have been given the chance to tell Kira that it would take a lot of time for him to come to terms with her actions, and the fact that she nearly got his unborn baby killed, and that he might have a hard time trusting her again in the future. "

What a stupid idea. What's he going to do, find another surrogate? Fire her?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

"Maybe it's best you watch the drivel on today's network TV, and leave the thinking to the unwashed masses of yesteryear."

All the cool kids watch network tv.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jun 13, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I just wonder if they had this in mind when they conceived Thomas Riker:

RIKER: It's not a question of harm. One William Riker is unique, perhaps even special. But a hundred of him, a thousand of him diminishes me in ways I can't even imagine.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

"It’s not like anything bad happens to Will in this episode."

Well in Up the Long Ladder he basically claimed that if he was cloned he would lose his soul. I guess the joje was on him - he lost it already. The spirit of his murdered clone must be laughing at the irony.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

This episode is Riker's comeupponce for being such a bigoted jerk to those clones in Up the Long Ladder. Oh yeah, and for murdering his clone in cold blood.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 7, 2018, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I am not really taking issue with the trope itself either. I just don't really think Ro is a great example, or any example really.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jun 7, 2018, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

DLPB, I guess Ro is "badass" in some overarching sense, but that's never been the vibe I got from this particular episode. She's more depressed and damaged than anything. She never actually fights anyone. It's not like Rey beating up 3 thugs in episode 7or Jadzia battling the Jem'Hadar.

It almost seems like you and others are reacting to your own head canon of what the Ro character is supposed to be rather than what is on the screen. Ro is tough but not in a cartoonish way that would be outlandish for a real person.

If I am wrong please point out the parts of this episode that are so unrealistic. I'm curious.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 29, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@hlau I for one am perfectly content with Vic's "docility". The idea that a hologram (or, in reality, an AI manufactured by a computer) could be sentient or present as sentient, a la Moriarty (and later the doctor) is an interesting one, worth exploring. But this can't be more than an exceptional circumstance, or else it defies all sense. Quark's holosuite should not be able to just conjure up a sentient AI. I am perfectly happy to conclude that VIC is an incredibly sophisticated intuitive program but still - just a program.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 28, 2018, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

"It’s not quite as simple here because the scientists presumably use inorganic matter in the process of reproduction. So were the clones killed here still mostly in the inorganic stage?"

I don't really get you here. You seem to be using "organic" to mean "alive" or maybe "biological"? But even then I can't follow you. You are suggesting a cluster of cells growing in a woman is automatically alive but not necessarily a fully recognizably human clone?!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 26, 2018, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Chrome, I find it inconceivable that any court today would arbitrarily conclude that a human clone has no rights and can be killed without consideration. Ethically, morally and legally I see no serious argument on this point. I suppose the Federation could be different, but that seems unlikely. Imcidentally, a ban on cloning hardly equates to stripping clones of their rights and permitting their murder.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, May 16, 2018, 6:37am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"I'm not saying anything about white people in general. Shakespeare was white and was working with a white cast and he made great art. "

You don't seem to be saying much of anything at all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 15, 2018, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"That's splitting hairs as the Empire simply went by a different name and some people were always against it without the formalized name "Rebellion."

Huh? What name was that? You mean the Republic? And the rebels would be who, the Trade Federation and the seperatists? You do realize that Palpatine was controlling both sides in the war, right?

One of the great things about the prequels was that the Clone War was just a distraction; it was the very antithesis of the rebel versus evil empire we saw in the original trilogy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 15, 2018, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"@ Peter G. When did I say that movies starring white people cannot be meaningful??"

You're the one who brought up Lucas's race in the context of whether ESB was a good movie.

Regarding Alec Guinness, he was obviously entitled to his opinion, but being an artist, even a great one, does not automatically make one a great art critic or even a smart person.

Not to say that he was wrong, just that his opinion isn't the be all end all.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 14, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

In addition Chrome, I'd suggest that Worf's perspective is one of a very rarified elite in Klingon society. He isn't just a Klingon living among humans; he is basically royalty in exile. His perspective comes from being the heir to one of the great houses in Klingon society. His ideas about honour, family, marriage etc.. would not be from the point of view of a rank and file Klingon.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, May 14, 2018, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

Lupe, if you were a rodent, you'd probably notice that Odo is a cheap copy of one too. The answer to your question is literally "takes one to know one".

As for the rock question, this is tougher to answer. To fool 24th century tricorders, changelings must do more than just mimic what they are changing into superficially. Pretty whacky concept and hard to imagine how such an organism could naturally evolve.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 11, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I took it as pretty much the text that Sarah was unwilling. But I'd say that the notion of Gods messing with unwilling mortals goes back to ancient Greece and to the Book of Job.

I think the ancients figured out that Gods will do what they're going to do. Trying to throw human morality in their faces is as futile as trying to win an argument with a hurricane.

The mature and adult response is what Sisko does; express displeasure and make your feeling known, but realize it's a fait accompli and wringing your hands about it is pointless.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, May 11, 2018, 6:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

"Sisko is a rape baby. Full stop"

The Prophets don't care, full stop.

They're basically Gods.

What would you have Sisko do, lecture the Prophets about consent for the rest of the season? Demand that they go back in time and annul his existence?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, May 6, 2018, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Repli, who knows what, if anything, J.J. had planned in his first draft. I for one think if Johnson tossed it in the garbage, maybe it wasn't worth much. I doubt Abrams planned some big climax to any of the mysteries he started.

Anyway, your article notes:

"The expectation is that Abrams will provide more of what fans enjoyed about The Force Awakens and restore the feeling of a Star Wars movie to the final installment of the new trilogy. "

That's the biggest joke of all. I can only pray that Abrams is around long enough to take the fall for crashing Disney's cash cow and killing the proverbial golden goose. The weasel usually high tails it before the shtf but maybe this time he won't come off so glossy as usual.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Apr 29, 2018, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Wow Reaper, thanks for that. Fascinating.
Next ►Page 1 of 23
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.