Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 19 (Showing 1-19)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Mon, Jun 15, 2015, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

watch Brooks when Sisko tells Odo "she was wearing Red". Brooks delivers that line like he's a psychopath. That is bad acting. Why didn't the directors stop him from talking like that? It couldn't have been intentional. And it only gets worse. By the time Cassidy and him get together he regularly talks all creepy to her. And sometimes he does that when he's talking to Dax or Kira. Then Our Man Bashir comes along and gives him an actual reason to sound loony with his holodek character and from that point forward a lot of the time he makes Sisko talk and yell like that crazy holodek character. I just don't undrstand why the directors never said "Cut!! What are you doing Brooks? Quit fooling around."
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Wed, Jun 10, 2015, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

I want to talk about holograms in Star Trek and if some of them are alive. Most of the time holograms in Star Trek are explained to be just that with no life at all. Yet in season 2 of Next Gen it is explained that professor moriarty does reach a level of life and self awareness. I was surprised in this episode how quick Dax who is supposedly a science officer and Odo come to the conclusion that this village is full of holographic people who are alive and worth saving. I haven't seen much Voyager so I'm not sure if the holographic doctor is ever described as becoming a real person. One thing that makes me think that "some" holograms do become alive is the silly DS9 episode The Emperors Cloak where Vic is found to be alive in an alternate universe. It makes me think that even though not all holographic characters reach the point of life some do. I could see that maybe in one of the many parallel universes there would be a Sisko hologram that is alive. It's all a silly conversation but I feel that with the Vic, Moriarty and these people in this village the writers are saying that some holograms are alive.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Sat, Jun 6, 2015, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Man, all the comments about soccer is about as boring as watching it. It's all good. As for the episode, I just watched it again and it was so sappy. The only part I liked is when Worf told Jadzia she wasn't Klingon. Sisko should have point d that out to get in Blood Oath. Am I the only one who grew tired of Jadzia acting as though she were Klingon because her last host worked with them?
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Sat, Apr 4, 2015, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

The episode is great but my problem is how Kira keeps forgetting the lessons she learns. At the end of this episode she seems to realize that not all cardassians are bad. But there are many episodes later in the series where it seems like her attitudes towards cardassians are the same. Obrien goes through the same thing. In tng he showed his racism towards cardassians and it continues through ds9. There are a couple times where he seems to let it go but then he goes back to calling them Cardis. Obviously these issues take a long time to get rid of in real life but obrien and Kira seem to continue to revert back to their old ways quite frequently.

Another problem I have with the early seasons and this episode is how the bajorans treat Sisko. The minister basically yells at him and orders him around. By season 4 the bajorans would do anything the emissary asked. Look at the first 3 episodes of season 2. The bajoran military treats that Li guy better than Sisko when Sisko is supposed to be the emissary of their gods.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

Odo was a collaborator. Odo wasn't just a collaborator. He was basically a founder who just happens to be obsessed with Kira. In season 7 Las links with Odo and tells him he knows the truth. The truth that he learned when linking is that if it weren't for Kira Odo would have joined the link regardless of the war. That says a lot. He would rather be with the link regardless of if all of The DS9 crew was killed in the war. The only reason he stayed is for Kira. He didn't stay because of his morals or connection with the ds9 solids. So it shouldn't come as a surprise that he sent innocent people to death. He was just concerned with order just like his people. Too bad the show ended. I would have liked to see if Odo changed at all when he joined the link. Maybe the dominion would have just built up their forces in te gamma quadrant and went back to war with Odo's knowledge
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Sat, Aug 23, 2014, 2:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I'm just annoyed with how the show in the sixth season still wants us to believe that only obrien knows how to keep the station running. O'brien is not Scotty and ds9 is not a starship. The station was supposedly built by bajoran slaves or at least that's what Sisko claimed. The only way this is possible is if obrien is intentionally changing how the station works and not telling any of the crew so he can keep his job.

The ep itself was great. Obrien should have taken spent some quality time with girl bilby got him. Kieko would have understood it's part of his job. Is always wanted obrien and Keiko to divorce so obrien could find someone nice anyways
Set Bookmark
quarky
Mon, Aug 11, 2014, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Slow clap.....,,Great episode. No Rom or Nog for one thing. I do find it annoying how Kira is some sort of superwoman. I don't remember. How many times has she been beaten in hand to hand combat? I'm sorry but she isn't that big. The show seems to make us think she could beat Dukat or any Jem Hadar if she had to.

I did like the tension between Bashir and Obrien. I'm glad Bashir finally told Obrien to shut the hell up. There were so many times in the earlier seasons where Obrien was just mean to Bashir. And after he says that the look on Obriens face is priceless. It's a little shock and a little respect for Bashir finally sticking up for himself.

Worf killing Gowron was also awesome. I love how even though Worf knows Gowron had to die he still does the death scream because he believes Gowron is still honorable enough of a warrior to enter stovokor. But I don't like how Sisko is basically telling Worf to assassinate the leader of the Klingon empire. Sisko long ago lost the honor or good qualities that starfleet captains have had. I would have seen Kirk or Picard finding another way to persuade Gowron just like I would have seen them finding another way to bring the romulans into the war other than murder and lies. I think once Sisko was fooled by the wormhole aliens into believing they were some sort of Gods it was only a matter of time before he lost all his good qualities and eventually abandoned starfleet and his family to join the aliens.

The only thing that could have made this ep better is if nog died accidentally frying himself in the engine room of the defiant or more Weyoun but there were only 45 minutes.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

This is one of my favorite episodes of ds9. Phil Morris has a lot to do with it. I can't believe that is the same man who played Jackie Chiles on Seinfeld. Ha.

And since I like nitpicking here are are the only things I had an issue with. Why does Jake keep calling it an Occupation? Kira specifically said the the bajoran government welcomes the dominion plus they signed a non aggression treaty. The Bajoran government is perfectly fine with them on the station. Yet jakes keep calling it the occupation. Its annoying. Weyoun rightfully called him out on it. I wish when Jake was interviewing Odo that Odo or Kira had pointed out that this wasn't an occupation and any bajoran who had a problem with it should speak with their government. Now we all know the only reason they welcomed the dominion to ds9 was because Sisko recommended it. It's not an occupation. The other issue i have is Kira disobeying Sisko and forming a resistance. Sisko who she believes is a religious figure told her what to do. In a previous ep she told Sisko that the bajorans would do anything the emissary asks of them. I'm not a fan of the whole worshipping the wormhole aliens storyline but if the writers are gonna force it then let's be consistent.

These are minor problems. I can watch this ep over and over. I find it fascinating to watch how brainwashed the jem hadar and vorta are. Plus you have have great battles, awesome scenery and Sisko and company agreeing to shoot them down in the valley to win. Something that kinda shows starfleet will do whatever it takes just like in pale moonlight. Of course Nog is brainwashed by starfleet and can't understand why they would go against their principles. Great ep.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Fri, Jun 27, 2014, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

I can't stand the wormhole aliens being worshipped as Gods and I don't care for the emissary storyline at all but I did like the last scene with Kira and Sisko where Sisko invited her to hang out and watch a baseball game. She sees him as a religious figure so it must mean a lot to get close to him and I think Sisko was disturbed to hear she feel uncomfortable around him. So I dislike the whole emissary prophet nonsense but since it's there I did like the Kira Sisko moments. I kinda wish there would have been a moment in the series finale where Sisko said goodbye to Kira
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Wed, Jun 25, 2014, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Did anyone else find the fireworks display at the end kinda dumb? It was a little too nice of the cardassians. I'm sure someone was being executed for allowing Sisko to prove the bajorans got there first

It was an ok episode. I'm just not big on Sisko Jake episodes. I didn't really think the Visitor was that good either and apparently DS9 fans think it's worth all the latinum on ferenginar.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Tue, Jun 24, 2014, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

Enjoyable episode. The one scene missing is the scene where Kira apologizes to Quark.

I like episodes like this. Back in the 90s I stopped watching because I can't stand stories about Bajor. I can't stand their race or their worshiping of the wormhole aliens. So I always wanted to see more episodes where weird things happened like this and the episode Visionary. Now later on I do like the long story arcs but I wish they would have gotten rid of 90% of the bajoran stories and added ones like this
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Thu, Jun 19, 2014, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

Before Obrien makes the last jump he tells Bashir there is a recording for Keiko in case he dies. I wonder if Bashir gave it to her. Some people would say no obrien is the same so it doesn't matter. I would disagree. The original obrien is dead and Keiko would deserve to know. I'm sure Keiko would feel sad her obrien died and would have to figure out if she felt the same for this future obrien. Very odd. If this really happened it would be something everyone would talk about. Just like the Odo from the future in children of time is a different person. When worf came along in season 4 obrien should tell him he's actually from a different timeline. Of course this is science fiction and it's easy to watch a couple of episodes and forget this happened but it's just weird. Very brave for the writers to kill off obrien in this way. Even if obrien is still on the show he's not the same person
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Thu, Jun 12, 2014, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I don't understand why people like nog joining starfleet or rom becoming an engineer. It is established in earlier episodes that rom is an idiot and not just by quark. Odo and moogie say it as well. Roms mom says he doesn't have the lobes for
Business but is made the grand negus. Nog says he also isn't a smart ferengi and good at making profit. But then in the later seasons they make him a good ferengi when it comes to profit and acquiring items. It was bad enough that they made the ferengi simply comedic after the first season of stng. Then in ds9 they make every ferengi but quark turn away from their society and become human basically. I'm in the minority though. Most people love what the writers did and really feel for the new versions of rom and nog even though it came out of nowhere
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Sat, May 24, 2014, 5:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

O'brien really gets on my last nerve in this ep. Bashir is his commanding officer. He should have obeyed Bashir. Bashir even gave him the option to leave. I don't care if Obrien thought he was saving bashir's life. He never would have acted this way toward Picard or even Sisko. He didn't respect Bashir. He talked down to him and yelled at him. I find obrien yells a lot at people. He's kind of grumpy. Bashir should have brought obrien up on charges and we could have had a few episodes of obrien in the brig. Very disappointed in the chief in this one.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Fri, May 9, 2014, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Just finishing ds9 for the first time. Never got into it back in the 90's. I do not like Nog or Rom solely for the way their characters change out of nowhere. Nog whines to Sisko and tells him he and his dad don't have the lobes for business and aren't good ferengis. Then once he's in star fleet the writers decide that he is actually great at finding deals and is still a ferengi. Then you have Rom who once said that women who quote the ROA and wear clothing should be severely punished. Don't even get me started on how Rom became an engineer. Ha. Still a great series but I can't stand Nog especially.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Fri, May 9, 2014, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Why couldn't Jadzia phase shift like everybody else? They never explained that. Jadzia should have accidentally called Worf Deral on her deathbed.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Fri, May 9, 2014, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

This episode isn't as bad as some fans make it out to be. I almost feel like some people feel like they are supposed to hate this episode so they do. It was a fun first season ep. I liked the idea of using real people as game pieces. Maybe people hate it because of the singing but I liked this ep.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Sun, May 4, 2014, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Good episode but I have had problems with Nog and Rom. I do not like the changes their characters make. Nog goes crying to Sisko begging to join starfleet. He says he's not a good ferengi. He says he doesn't have the lobes for
business and isn't good at making profit. Then once he joins starfleet all of a sudden the writers make him a great ferengi. All of a sudden he has a gift for finding rare alcohol and trading and acquiring any item you need. Then you have Rom who Odo says can't fix anything. Then all of a sudden he's an engineering genius. Rom also said that any woman caught wearing clothes and earning profit should be SEVERLY punished. By the end of the show he is all for woman's rights. These might be great characteristics but it totally changes the ferengi.

I've noticed that sometime after around 2010 people started trying to find racism and sexism in everything. Maybe it is our society changing. Youll see it everywhere online. These reviews are a perfect example. Read some of the other reviews. You'll notice around 2010 people's comments will start complaining about it. It's just something I've noticed. I don't care if jake dated a black woman by the way.
Set Bookmark
Quarky
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

I just started watching DS9 for the first time. I liked this episode so much I watched it twice in one night. Just an interesting observation. The character of Thrax does a perfect impersonation of ODO. Either the actor has watched a lot of ds9 or the odo actor helped him with his scenes. Look at when he's talking to quark. All his mannerisms are perfect odo. Great episode
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.