Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 902 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 37
Set Bookmark
QuarksIsFun
Fri, Jun 11, 2021, 8:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

No one has a problem with the ending of nonchalantly condemning thousands of prisoners back to eternal torment? I would think that even though they hijacked his ship and harmed his crew, the super-enlightened Picard would have made a promise to find a way to eventually help them, the way he did with the nanites in an earlier episode. I get Prime Directive and so forth, but let's face it, the Prime Directive is made to be broken.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 24, 2021, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

@Walrus1701D

"I'm also wondering if the Cardassians were actually developing biogenic weapons. "

Good quistion. The Cardassioans were mean but ..

I think that is just the point. This rumor fits Starfleet or did the start spreading it.

"The first casuallty of war is truth" The lies from Bagdad Bob during Iraq war was wery obvious. But what about the coalition? They also lied but we very much was believed becaus Saddam and Bob was so bad.

I think its is similar here and that is what is very well described. This episode was made about 1993 . Gulf war (without Bob) was 1990.

And I do share the opinion that Ro Laren could have had a place in some DS9 episodes.

@Sigh2000
"Still, Ro's turning coat was no surprise; a variant of the Stockholm Syndrome. Excruciating."

Definetly not. This was a conflict between the big socity and those who have to pay a the price of a compromise. I believe Ro was able to see both sides but she had to make a choise.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 21, 2021, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

@Daya, I see what you are heading for. But I beleive it is very difficult. In TNG they did had an ecounter the Sheliak in S3 The Ensigns of Command. Itergrating Darmok or a Sheliak in the normal concept cou.d be very strange an risky. But even if Data looks lik a human. His thinking is very far from our thinking. This was a sucessful atempt.

I agree with the Borg concept. This was really a way of approaching another type of socity. What would have been if they had been less agressive?

SCI-FI has mostly very little to do with the future to me. It is very much describing and quistioning the current humanity and socitiy.

That does not mean that oppose episodes like Darmok but they are difficult.
Set Bookmark
Q
Mon, May 17, 2021, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Anyone know what happened to the signed baseball? Did it get sold off at auction, did AB, RDM or Chip Chalmers keep it, is it in a prop warehouse next to the Ark of the Covenant?
Set Bookmark
Q
Mon, May 17, 2021, 6:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

An all-Vulcan team vs. an all-Klingon team would be fun/interesting to watch.
Set Bookmark
Q
Wed, May 12, 2021, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I sit on a board established by the U.S. government that hears petitioner's claims; the board has the ability to question the petitioners. I asked one of my colleagues how he would react if a petitioner invoked their 5th Amendment rights. My colleague took the Worf position that it would be damning to his case. I took the Picard position that invoking should be treated with neutrality.

Unfortunately, a problem with the 5th Amendment (Federation's Seventh Guarantee) is many people see it Worf's way - so while the person technically doesn't incriminate himself, he in fact makes himself look guilty.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 11, 2021, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

@Daya
" What ENT got wrong is the aliens. The differences between the human culture and the alien culture should have been more stark. Something that the audience would have felt alien too. Then these voyages would have been filled with more wonder and strangeness."

Intresting thought. I like the idea but in my opinion ENT was quite good here. What was wrong with the XINDI approach?

in DIS there is LINUS and you also see some other strange race with a strange head. Linus appars silly and we do not learn anything of the other race.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 11, 2021, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I must have seen it but I did not really remember it. Just parts of it.
To be honest the story felt a little bit slow although well made.

I liked the B plot better. There has been som irritaion over that Troi just passes the exam in so short time.

First of all I got the impression that Datas village story was more than just a couple of days. So there was perhaps more time.

But I agree this is irritating. Nothing in the plot would have been unrealistic in having Data away for som weeks. The handling of time in all star trek ar mostly badly done. DIS beeing the worst example.

But I think I have said it before. This is a television serie, It is fiction. It is not docmuimentary. Therefore I think it is ok to try to show that although Comander Troi has a high rank ith the starfleet organsiation she has not the qualification to comand Enterprise. Describing her reasoning and the way is ok but it was very simplified.

Although showing more of daily life in the last episodes, I think they missed the opportunity to explore the Enterprise in itself.

Worf is very much visible on the bridge and on missions. His other securuty tasks, management, training etc are seldom and just briefly shown.

In fakt ENT was better here I think. The MACO theme was a good idea.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, May 11, 2021, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Definetly one of the top episodes.

The Visitor, The Siege od AR-558, and some others are of this quaility.

Good acting, good cutting , swapping between the sceenes. Good to give Ogawa and Ben more life. Ogawa does appers every now an then but still good to see more of her.

It is a pity that this concept was not used more. There are some bridge crew among them a ensign with page cut hair who we only just get to see.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, May 10, 2021, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I would say this was quite an entertaining, romantic and partly funny horror episode when you watch it the first time. ***

The real horror comes when you force yourself to rewatch it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Trent, Rahul, Nolan ...
I am rewatching TNG an I very much love these stand alone episodes together with the quite invisbible main theme. Somtimes there is an episode thet does not suit you . Ok. Then to the next.

It started with Enterprice but DIS and PIC becmes worse. An overlying theme that hinders the self standing episodes.

I have though decided to still like what I see. It makes it easier. Picard is a quite beautiful saga. Visually good and mostly good acting. But it actually is a very, very, very long TNG double episode.

DIS. The episodes are more free standing than PIC. But the almost non existing development of the characters from the bridge is unsatisfactory. Still I like it better than many other series.

I would gladly watch a more new low budget ds9 like serie where every third episode whas poor, every third ok and every third good.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

@Chris L You have a point there but ....

In a real life situation it is not neccesary that one partner just goes out of the door. I assume that the separation process developed and Dr Soong accepted it. He dis though still love Juiliana. So one evening he just switche her of and implemented the disc.

There are episodes with much bigger an real loopholes.

I admit that I did not notice this contradiction when viewing but I van live withit.

Last 5-7 minutes where excellent with a very good philosophical question, when should you not tell the truth.

Crusher said that Data would be the best person to tell the truth. I agree.

But "every mother" would also forgive a child fpr trying to protect and make her happy. Data made the correct decision.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

I always feel confused when watsich a Lwaxana episode. They are mostly silly but on the same time inside Lwxana theres also a very good woman. She may be "flamboyant" on the outside but has a really good core. She is old, she is almost not more wanted. She creates chaos but when it really matters she has guts.

In fact I would like to have her as a friend and aquentance but bit as a partner.

Majel Barrett's interpertation is from this point of view impressing. In real life thoug I have met women aged 60 with very similar atributes. They can really shake you up and make you feel ashamed beacuse you are to early to judge.

This episode has very many similar problem with other Lwaxana episodes. Uneven, slow, chaotic. Also having two psychological episodes after another do not improve the judgement

in itself , the plot was not bad but the script poor. By the way, I had almost forgotten this episode, or my mind supressed it. It started with the suspicious "bad telpath" but it was not.

Still, I would defeinetly want to have slightly more Lwaxanas around me. Just to increase my adrenaline level and reflection capacity.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 9, 2021, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

@James G

Agree, enign Tyler is just some sort of filler / diverson. Perhaps there to descirbe "normal" life.

Episode, fun, but perhaps to many cigars. On the other side, comander Troi wearing old fashion male unterear would have been a to obvious Freudian slip.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 8, 2021, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

So , ome part of is is quite mediocre or and typical. Not bad but not fantastic.

Then there is almost a "who have done it". The myster solved by Sherlok Picard. This part is fair enough an OK.

The hit is really the interptation of Data as acting capatain. In Redemption, Part II he first executed comand in a "Data" way. Here it was quite much moore and I really liked the way they iterpeted how an andvance artificial intelligens would act.

I very much liked this part, it was well thought over and well executed. They managed to get a least two funnies in it, very much indicating that Data at least have some sort of algorithmic humour.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 7, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

@Erwd

I am not sure it's bad. It is difficult to say. I just saw that this episode had been commented recently so I rewatched it.

I also smiled quite a lot. Silly indeed, but it was quite well executed.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 5, 2021, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

@Bob (a different one)

Almost agree, but only good.

Beverly's bridge duty felt a little (ok much) bit constructed. But it was nice to see something new. It is entertaining when the characters has to play a contrast. Like Worf beeing a midwife. The idea of letting Crusher and the lower decks take over the bridge was fine.

I also never really liked the Lore episodes. I can understand that the idea of letting Data be alternate (Lore) and playing with the contrast was tempting. Also using Brent Spiner's acting quality. The problem is that it becomes a little bit of show off for him. Like Picardo in VOY. It gets to much.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 5, 2021, 11:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

@Jordy
" I've just finished rewatching this one. Add me to the list of people shocked at how unpleasant Will was to Thomas."

Also joining.

There where a multitude of scenarios possible. Wills unpleasantnes was perhaps the price for this otherwise very good episode.

Also add me to the list where Will had been transferred and Tom stayed. That could have opend the way for many good A, B and C plots.
Set Bookmark
Q
Sun, May 2, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

@John G
"The NX-01 is a small ship only has just so much space for personnel [...] it’s not like they would have had the luxury of bringing along a few extra engineers.,"

No need for any extra crew, just a better one. NX-01 has a number of engineers on board, one or two of them should be capable enough to take over.

"We simply don’t know if engineers of Trip’s caliber and knowledge are that commonly available"

Hard to believe he's the only one and the mission of such importance should not have a problem with recruiting another one. Weren't there another NX ships being built? There would be some engineers preparing to work on them.

"You may as well rip on NASA for not having crammed loads of extra pilots and engineers on board Apollo 11’s lunar module in case Buzz Aldrin got a toothache."

A "slightly" different stakes.
Set Bookmark
Q
Sat, May 1, 2021, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Instead of "Rosemary's Baby " on the movie night they should be showing "Groundhog Day"!
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Apr 30, 2021, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Very good theatrical acting and quite a good plot.
The problem.
Somehow I did not like it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Now having rewatched it two times I come to a sligtly other conclusion than the first time. I then disliked it because it was slow and had no free standing episodes.

When I rewatched the serie during three days it was definetly more enjoyable and quite beautiful. Perhaps that is the solution for next time. Wait until its ready and then whatch it en suite.

Two other things struck me, one obvious.

1. It was almost the same plot as in DIS seaon 2. That already had been used in stargate.

2. The end reminded me very much of Disneys jungel book from 1967.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

O, dear.
@ William B,
You are not alone having struggled with this matter. When I was young I had the same concern but then ... a woman turned up and three childs arrived. Now at least one of them asks herself the same question. As this is a forum for sci fi I refer to an explanation from Jurassic Park. The character played by Jeff Goldblum says "the nature always find a way" or something similar.

On an individual level we can (somtiemes ) make (our own) choises and make our path, but the path of mankind is more complicated.

Reading and enjoying your comments. Your struggle seems to have payed of well in a fine reflective mind.

Back to Picard. I agree that Picard generally does not generally consiously condemn the "simple life" but he gets horrifide realising that he could have lived one. In the discussion with Q at the end he is really upset.

So, to me he subconsciously he despises the “simple way”. This is something I dislike. But it is also ok that Picard is not perfect. By the way he ist not the only star ship capatain to whom I am sceptical.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

To some extent Picard never really advancing in his alternate Life was to me some sort of exxaguraing this alternative.

In my real life I did not land on a starship. I chose to settle on an outpost. The starship that I knew (i.e Headoffice) and a mix of Bridge officers, Quilified tecnical specilists, and Crewmen. But there wher also som Junior Grade Liutenants. I am unsure of how I should judge them. They where loyal qualified and good. I also saw those officers who tried to climb and suddenly got lost and sidetracked. They where also loyal qualified andd good. They did though to carry more betternes and was more stressed.

I would like to ask the rabbi, whose chlilderen are more proud and happy?

The real Picard was chocked of the life of his alternate I but let us turn the coin. If the alternate Picard suddenly was on the bridge faceing an newly decloaked warbird, what would he do?
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

@Daya,

It really gives you the possibility to chose between two things.

It is true but the Vulcans did not consider it important enough,
or
T'Pol is pulling their leg.

To me the first one is more likely, the other one is more fun as it it showing an un Vulcan behaviour.

Now my problem, the first one with T'Mir lying is also (or should be) unlikely.

Both answers are "unsatyfiing" . Both are unlikely ..... or?

Good episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 37
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.