Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 698 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 28
Set Bookmark
Q
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

@Jammer - I don't think they were hookers; I think they were interns.

Separately, I'm surprised one or two vessels weren't deployed as part of an expeditionary force to find Earth.
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I just finished binge-watching the first seasons of Discovery, and while I enjoyed most of it, I spent a considerable amount of time just saying "WTF?" to this finale.

Kronos is the Klingons' homeworld, but they have allowed the Orions to set up an outpost where humans can walk around freely in the middle of a war with the Federation?

MU Georgiou can't restrain herself from spouting racist garbage on the bridge and potentially drawing the suspicion of crewmembers who don't realize what's going on?

Cornwell signs off on this genocidal plan and knows that the rest of the crew might not agree with using it, but she and/or MU Georgiou don't bother to disguise the bomb at all, so that Tilly discovers the whole plot just by opening the box and looking at it?

It's compatible with Starfleet values to hand the bomb to L'Rell and let her blackmail the rest of Klingon society into accepting her as their leader?

What exactly was the message given to those Klingon ships that we see withdrawing from around Earth? "Forget the whole war and come home"?

I wanted to be able to like this - I'm tired of anti-heroes and I'm in the camp that Star Trek should not ultimately be grimdark - but there's just too much illogical behavior here, and it exceeds my ability to suspend disbelief by quite a wide margin.
Set Bookmark
Q
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

@Helmus
@Rahul

For me - too.
Set Bookmark
QDouwd
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Janeway in MELD: "An execution? You're not seriously suggesting we execute him? We are Starfleet officers."

Janeway in TUVIX: "Starfleet who? I'll personally carry out the execution!"

This is Janeway in a nutshell. She changes her morals constantly to fit the outcome she wants.
Set Bookmark
QDouwd
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

@Silly

His behavior there is worse than in Lonely Among Us. Really, the ONLY reason I believe he got away with it was he hadn’t yet picked up the first offic

Ha. that's true. Yeah, it was ridiculous that they didn't all relieve him of command. Picard is standing on the bridge yelling at something called "Q" and then takes them right into that anomaly. I would like to think that the TNG characters I watched for 7 seasons wouldnt blindly go to their deaths just because picard gave a 20 second speech.


I actually enjoyed this voyager episode. I seem to be one of the few people who likes Chakotay episodes. They definitely could have developed him more but I like when he gets a lot of dialogue and screen time. I liked the episode Nemesis a lot too for what its worth.

I don't believe Icheb and Naomi would go along with Chakotays plan either. He points out that Janeway is pretty presumptuous to believe she can change the future of the crew after 7 years. Icheb and Naomi have 17 more years of history. They haven't been just waiting for Chakotay ftoro come back. They wouldn't just give up their entire lives without even questioning it because Chakotay says so. The writers never thought about stuff like that.

Also, when Chakotay asks if anyone had encountered one of the temporal barriers, Janeway says "My helmsman disappeared when she tried to walk down that corridor, but that doesn't prove she passed through a temporal barrier."

Where does she think the crew member disappeared to? she acts like she doesn't care the helmsman is gone. Nor does she put 2 and 2 together and think maybe Chacotay is telling the truth. I don't know why they want to portray Janeway as that dumb.

At the end Chakotay won't tell the present Janeway what happened because of the temporal prime directive. How exactly would her knowing change anything now? The previous comment by Silly mentions All Good Things. At the end of All Good Things Data points out Picard told them what had happened because they are back to point where the future hadn't been written yet. Maybe I'm missing something but again, why would the writers throw that in?
Set Bookmark
Q
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

@Matthew Martin - I agree 100%. I hated seeing her character die that way.

This episode deserves a lot of credit. It accurately captures how people sometimes achieve apparent peace and composure when they've decided to end their life. It also shows the aftermath of what happens after the person dies - sorrow, pain, trauma, confusion, sense of loss, despair, guilt.
Set Bookmark
CptnQuirk
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Why did they leave the shuttle on the planet and why did they blow up the Lantree? Those inanimate objects would not have been anymore dangerous than Data. The transporter would not have filtered out the antibodies on him if they were present.

The bodies on the Lantree could have been beamed into space and the ship recovered. What a waste!
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming
"It is not made for people like me and apparently many old Trekkies feel the same."

You said it above. But even if it is not really made for me, I will try to enjoy the parts hat I can.

@Dave in MN

I watched it without real expectation. I had hoped for more. Unlogical stuff Loopholes I try to ignore, After all it is a fiction, fantasy, fairy-tail and entertainment. It is far away from a plausible society. I did manage to rewatch it. It did not really get better but I died enjoy some parts more but also used the forward button.

Star trek have always been uneven. The entertainment value have often come from the contrasts with other species. That has been thoughtful and often funny. In Picard the main alien species was the Romulans and it was quite serious. It was also dystopian societies that was described. Fair enough to try something new but it was to boring to slow before it really started and just a single loooong theme.

I have not given up the hope for a better season two.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

Yes, something has gone wrong. But I do not see it as harsh as you do, I think. TOS was far from perfect. They had some really horrible episodes. But they did something new, and it was optimistic, exploring and new.

Growing up in a country without the same kind of racial or ethnic conflicts I dis not really appreciate the importance of Uhura on the bridge, To me Chechov was a the big statement.

Today there are three things that is irritating.

Episode should be free standing. I do accept some sort of theme in a season but in my opinion each episode should be free standing. Ok compromise if you only have 35 40 minutes you sometimes need more so double and triple episodes might be tell something more complex.

Violence, our perception has changes but Star Trek was to a big extent non brutal an violent compared with today.

Even if I like the fantastic graphic, the story should be more important. More thoughtful episodes instead of star wars.

I try to enjoy the things that I can :-)
Set Bookmark
grandinq
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Sitting here in quarantine, I am sympathetic to the sentiments of being glad to spend time in TNG world.

Best moment of the episode was the Picard-Riker exchange about the lasers. The way they said “lasers” was great, like us saying some word from 200 years ago that we’d maybe vaguely heard of.

Two Worf thoughts as well. The sexism in this episode is so cringeworthy. Okana has been onboard for what, a few hours, and I believe they report he’s been in the quarters of four different crew members? Worf is the only character who seems to have a problem with this.

Also, I remember seeing a YouTube video that is a collection of clips where Worf offers advice and it’s rejected. When they first encounter Okana and decide to fix his ship, there is this brief exchange:

Worf: “Sir, recommend limited access to our ship.”
Picard: “Agreed.”

So a win for Worf! Then again, seeing as Okana, once onboard, seems to wander around seducing crew members at a fast clip, to the point they are not sure where he is when they want him, maybe this wasn’t really a win for Worf. Dang it!
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming
"Seven also drinks all the time. "

Yes, a lot of people having daemons in Picard. Do You get an discount when you send three persons to a clinic?

If I remember correctly, Roddenberry after having seen the horrors of ww2 had an idea of an equal world, no race boundaries, not even monetariean. Let go that the woman have do run around flashing their knickers.
(Guess that is the price for "peace on earth" they have to pay, and I could live with it)

But what happened after Kirk? Picard the patron has a great vineyard but Raffi Musik lives in a mobile home like container and Riojas wants to double the price when it gets a little bit tricky.

Something went wrong.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Correction:
Rios would also need a Detox. Picard perhaps not or perhaps also after living on a vineyard so long. :-)
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Borusa I can understand some of your points. I also have my doubts regarding Legolas. But his naive character was interesting.

But your comment regarding Raffy and detox. Honestly, is not Picard in more need?

I very much enjoyed the return of Seven. She seems very fit. I also liked that the Raffy character had traces of life. I am lucky to be enough old / mature to appreciate the beauty independent of it's age.

It is good to see that 50+ women also have a place in the world.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Nolan, thanks for your insights. To late now. I still would have walked the way.

I mostly never really enjoy the Trek first time I watch them. It is first when I rewatch them that I really start to appreciate also the strange episodes.

Americans are quite often extremely good story tellers and they are able to implement some quite silly things enjoyable on a television screen.

It was slow but very good acting from some actors. Not only from Stewart. God visual presentation. Many opportunities were missed. Sad when so much effort was put into it.

If they managed to do something well it was to show how people starts to reclaim life after having lost it. Or settling with a new after a disaster.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

A nine parted "teaser" until the first episode. Must be a record. But I enjoyed the way more or less. And I very much appreciated most parts of the final. The discussion between Data Picard was good. In spite of the inverse Dumbledore Potter ending of the scene.

But now, allowing me to make one of these stupid questions that other do. Why did Agnes Jurati not use the fantastic "Swiss army high tech brass knuckle" to fix Picards brain?

Look forward to next new Trek.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Still like to watch it but they got the numbering wrong. It is not part 1 it is part 9.
I very much look forward to the end game. Perhaps Archer will be transported by Daniels to tell it.

Sorry for being sarcastic. So far it has been vary visual good, also some very good acting. Especially from Stewart. But what is else to expect. I very much would like to rewatch it alter being able to enjoy more of this. But unfortunately these ten episodes has just been a transport to (hopefully) the next and last. But you can not be sure if a "To be continued ..." turns up in the end. It is really a shame that they did not decide to make more independent stories or episodes. A real waste of money.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I seldom react over illogical technicalities always appearing the Star Trek , Like why did not the doctor from voyager find a way to treat Troi's and Riker's son. Or was there no Denobulan slug around?

I am very puzzled why the ninja still has a metallic sword? Would it not be possible to create some sort of beaming sword around one meter when activated. It would then be able to hang from the hip. If you then also had a chip in your hand you could get it to jump into your hand when you needed it. No magic is necessary, just future technique, it would be real cool and never seen.

At least Seven of Nine turned up.

And we got some clarity to the plot.
And some good Picard scenes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 2:32am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

It is to slow, I is to much waiting and slow evolving until something happens. I hope I will enjoy the story telling more when I rewatch it in a couple of years time.

It is sometimes said that this is not real star trek. Some / many TOS episodes had a quite ridiculous plot but they almost always had a twist. I miss that.

It must not always be action episodes but I do not like the mystery plot where everything develops slow. At least we get rid of the slow Soji / Narek relational problems for a while (I hope).

Nevertheless I am curious and likes to watch it.

I admit not being native English speaker I normally also have the English subtitles switched on. Here I do not have any. It is sometimes difficult to catch everything said.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

An episode with better tempo, but to which prices. Some scenes was absolutely disgusting and unnecessary. In itself I am also not fond of this revenge / vigilante approach.

On the other side, good tempo, good story telling, the jumping forwards an backwards when telling the "knock on the door" part was ok. Jeri Ryan as Seven really good even though I did not like the development of Seven.

It would definitely had been possible the have this tempo with keeping "star trek ethics".
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

It is worth seeing but it is sometimes quite slow.
Discovery had a 2 episode start where a lot of nothing happened. Here we have three and it seams that they can start. I hope so.

I am not found of these long themes. I just rewatched Enterprise and really enjoyed the Xindi season three where many episodes where standing alone.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, May 30, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Mr Stewart did obviously not want to retire. Glad for that.
It looks promising, I hope he also will have some influence on other things than his own character. In such can be very good.

In this episode some parts was a little slow some very fast but Stewart's acting great,

Look forward to the rest,
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, May 29, 2020, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

If I saw it in advance the first time I watch is a secret but the second time it was obvious. Now at 3rd or 4th rewatch, it sometimes felt a little long but that is easily forgiven.

In my opinion the the 2 Reasons why Phlox mind picks T'Pol as a companion is that, firstly she is the only person on board with sufficient experience as well philosophical intellectual and ethical capacity to join him. Secondly in many ways she is his counterpart. They complete each other in a way no other persons do.

I am seldom nitty gritty regarding the context but in the Fallen Hero episode V'Lar says that she and T'Pol was the oldest on board. I always considered Phlox as quite old having collected several degrees a in various sciences in combination with the maximum age of 350. Definitely he is the most mature person on board.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 28, 2020, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

When I started to rewatch this I could not remember that I had ever seen it. After some minutes it looked familiar. Somehow a similarity to Sim in Similitude where his memories re-appeared. When I finished I could remember it all.

I guess that it is an indication for the episode not being great.

Still I could enjoy it. Conor O'Farrell argued in the same way as some esoteric / Feng shui / anti 5G / religious fanatic people do. Luckily most of them does run around with implanted bombs. His interpretation / acting was good / convincing.

The moral at the end was also very clear.

There is a risk that I will write a similar comment in a couple of years having forgotten this.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, May 28, 2020, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Rewatching again, every time I get a little bit frustrated I do look on TOS. The plots there can be really stupid.

This is to me a quite funny and good episode. Blalock's subtile acting. Guest actor Leland Orser comes magnificently through like a real arse.

I very much disliked the "temporal cold war" theme, I mostly dislikes the logics around time travelling. But to me this episode had a lot of things I appreciate. Run down area, T'Pol trying to make logic of a primitive world. The word plays referring to common situation like going starboard in a card, the burger drive through.

To some extent I like the Xindi plot more than many other plots, also the expanse component . But the more important the main plot gets, you concentrate to much on that. This episode does not bring much to the Xindi plot, I agree. But when I remove the Xindi storyline from my mind I get a funny and enjoying episode.

To Jammers defence, I am not sure I liked this the first time I watched it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, May 27, 2020, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

A really good time twist story. Also one of my favourites. Archer / T'Pol / Phlox chemistry works fine.

There are many complaints regarding Anthony Montgomery and Linda Parks acting or Characters. They are too weak / bad.

To be honest I am not sure. Perhaps two background characters where needed. It was the same with Garrett Wang in Voyager. I believe such character are needed or perhaps wanted. In real life there are a lot of people who not expose themselves to much. Hoshi get more space then Travis but I am not sure that it was just bad acting that brought Montgomery in the background. His acting / character has not been a big annoyance to me. But it is a pity that he could not be used more or better.

Sometimes it seems as we need to bash.

I would have liked to see more of the character Cutler from first season.
Next ►Page 1 of 28
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.