Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 843 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 34
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Yes, fantasic in many senses. Normally the Character or the Ship travell in time, here the time is suddenly rewritten when the Enterprise-C puts its nose outside the rift. Genious. Very explicit and good acting from all actors. Goldberg is marvolous. Crosby is also great, a pity that this interpretation of the character was not present in S1.

I never though really liked the Tasha Yar went over to C. The sceens, both in Picard's office and on the bridge later are good and it is also understanable that she wanted to die a meaningfull death, but I did not like it. It felt wrong.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

I think I've watched through the Voyager series a dozen times but somehow I had never seen these two episodes before. I don't think I was missing much though, I really didn't like this story. I find it very hard to believe that an entire Starfleet crew would turn into a bunch of murderous savages no matter how tough a time they were having, and it's even harder for me to believe that Janeway would turn into such a complete lunatic that the Voyager crew were on the verge of mutiny; why would Chakotay and Tuvok not have relieved her of command? I mean she almost murdered that crewman and was endangering Voyager, then she takes an innocent alien vessel by force, really?

Also what in the world was the deal with her following the Equinox into that planet's atmosphere, is she a complete moron? They obviously wanted her to follow them, it was clearly going to damage Voyager, and for what? It's not like the Equinox was going anywhere. They couldn't stay in the planet's atmosphere forever. This was just a bad episode, I found the one where she and Paris turned into lizards more believable.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 7:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Very good episode. Intresting how they managed to deal with this very complex theme. It came out very well.

I saw that a the Stockholm syndrome was mentioned.

It is a very good tool when you do not agree with the background or reason for the conflict.

Finn had a good and loving side, he had an objective which , even if it was not cleary explained, probably was a valid political opinion and he used avful terror methods.

For those who not know, Stockholm Syndrome comes from a hosatge situation during sever days in a Bank in, yes, Stockholm. The hostages where more afraid for the police than the hostage taker and they did in fact develop a understanding for him. So actually it is not really applicabale here.

So anyone intelligent without prior knowledge, like Dr Crusher, who gets in this situation and accepts the the two first positions and decline the third can with help of this syndrome easily be denunced on the two first by anyone who does not agree.

Even if I appreciate that there is a psycholgical process betwen the hostage and the taker I try to take a step back and think twice when I see it used.
Set Bookmark
Q
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

"Mister Logan, you are going to take command..." - WOO-HOO!
"...of the saucer section." - D'oh!
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 4:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I really enjoyed this episode, but Braxton was an idiot. His only goal was to prevent Janeway from stranding him in the 20th century, so why blow up Voyager and kill the entire crew when he had all of time to work with and so many better ways to do it? If he wasn't such an idiot he could have simply gone to the array an hour before it pulled Voyager and the Maquis into the Deltra quadrant and blown IT up. Not only would that prevent him from ever being stranded, it would also save the Ocampa just as before while saving Voyager from being lost.

Sure it would erase all the good things they had done in the Delta quadrant as well but he didn't care about any of that. I guess his hatred of Janeway was supposed to make him want to kill her though, but he still could have done that without wiping out the entire ship. Just jump to some earlier point in her timeline, before she even joined Star Fleet. As a member of the time police I'm not sure why he thought he could get away with it anyway.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 4:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

This episode was poor.

Previous post Jason R. "You put salt and pepper on an egg in ST and you’ve created an intelligent new life form that must be protected." Spot on.

I do rearly complain about impossible science in sci-fy, it is ok to explore and have fantasy. But this was silly, just silly, most episodes wher salt pepper and egg merges into intelligens are silly.

It is ok to speculate about artificial intelligens, just take Data as a wonderful example of that. But the eskaped nanites where silly,

Although also liking Pulaski, I don't mind the Beverly Cruser charakter. Unfortubately in this epeside she was silly.
Set Bookmark
Q
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 10:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I think the admiralty realized that strict Federation principles did not work in the Bajoran sector. They approved the plan to trick the Romulans into entering the Dominion war, they didn't like but ultimately didn't object to Sisko playing the role of the Emissary, they ignored the actions of Section 31 when they attempted genocide, and they ultimately didn't punish Sisko for his actions in this episode. Frankly, there was a former/traitorous senior officer running amok and creating an imbalance in the DMZ and they needed results.

Remember what then Vice-Admiral Nechayev said to Picard when she condoned genocide of an enemy: "Your priority is to safeguard the lives of Federation citizens, not to wrestle with your conscience." If she as Fleet Admiral was still in Sisko's chain of command in this episode, I would guess Sisko would have received a commendation for his actions.

Even if one did not want to accept the argument about Federation having lax principles in the Bajoran sector - there are a LOT of examples of Starfleet Admirals in the TNG-era ignoring Federation principles in favor of achieving results:

* VADM Haftel - treating Lal as property notwithstanding a court decision that set precedent showing Data was not property

* VADM Leyton - attempted a military coup after committing treason

* The Bolian Academy Commandant (RADM) in Paradise Lost - a co-conspirator with Leyton

* RADM Pressman - treaty violations/engaged in prohibited research

* ADM Raner - a co-conspirator with Pressman

* VADM Dougherty - tried to steal a planet from the indigenous population

Considering this - is there any doubt that Sisko was able to solve the problem by any means necessary without repercussion?
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

The opinion regaring this episode and the moral in it seem to be as diverse as the two colonies.

It had flaws, prejudices and sexism in it. It was very funny and entertaining. Key sceen to me is when Picard states that it is the diffrences that drives the progress.

The discussion rergarding sceene where Riker destroys the clones is intresting. With my word destroying you can read that I do not see this as neither murder or nor killing. But what was it?

Wether it is possible do develop the close so quick is not relevant in sci-fy. The bodies was there on purpose to create a statment. If they just had destroyed two test tubes the reaction would have been smaller. It was indeed life lying there, but in which stage ?

Which right do you have to your own dna?
Which right do a woman have to decide over her own body and terminate a pregnancy?

So although I find that Riker would have had all the rights to destroy a culitivation sample a couple of hours (or days) old, the destruction of two bodies is the stage displayed made me feel slightly puzzeled and uneasy.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Very intresting to watch this "first" Borg contact. I would be very intresting to know how much of the Borg conset that was settled at this stage and what developed. It was really frigtning, Guinans warning that had almost no effect on Picard.

Well as an audiance we can only be happy that he did not listen otherwis we wouldn't have hat so many Borg encounters.

Q then? I find him as irritating as Picard does. I must admit that his accting is excellent and mostly funny but to me his character really doesn't have a place in star trek.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

I don't know how much a gigaquad is but I presume it's a lot. We can put an entire encyclopedia on a single DVD in this century complete with videos and sounds. What in the world was in all that data that 7 recorded?
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

So very silly and enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Why on earth did they need to put in the telekenesi in it? I do accept that star trek science is just invented. Still I prefer to have it concistent. Genetically enhance humans wit telekenesi is not neccessaray. The main issue was that when the scientist whare playing god it did not really turn out the way they thoungt. I get the moral and understanding of that. Plot OK but not special in any way.

Pulaski for or against. I am for , mostly. Jet Reno in DIS is very similar but Pulaski is more controlled. She is a contrast to both Picard and Data. Personally I am not to fond of abrasive people. I feel more comfortable with Crusher. Still the contrast increases the pulse or tension. She is not evil she wants to do good things.

O'Brians technobabble is wonderful. He is such a genuin character. Here on earth you may find him in a good DIY store as a sales assistant.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

I wish I could learn another language that fast.
Set Bookmark
Q
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 7:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

“HumOns. All you care about is yourselves.” - good delivery by Shimerman; it was very dark and another good insight by his character into human nature.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 6:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

I did not relaise the connection untile the very end. One of "Enterpise" best episodes is "Dear Doctor". So many hndread years ago Phlox already faced a simililar situation and Archer took basically the same desicion even without the primary directive. I just wonder, why did not Data manage to retreive this information from the Archives? That would have helped Picard and Crusher.

This was not as well plyed as "Dear Doctor". The story was not so clear until the surprising resolution. Until then I was as upset as Dr. Crusher. First then I realised the connection. I would say the plot was one of the better and the acting standard TNG.
Set Bookmark
Q anon
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

The mystery shouldn't be very challenging for experienced Starfleet explorers or genre-savvy viewers.
Set Bookmark
Q anon
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Worf's reaction to Sito's death seemed at odds with his reaction to Geordi's and Ro's deaths in The Next Phase. It's interesting to speculate on why his reaction might have been different. It's also possible he didn't want to appear too celebratory in public.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

Intresting ... I do enjoy most of the time travel episodes nut not really the holodeck when they go back ntime. Probably beacues the tiem travels are real and the holodeck just a fantas computer animation. So although the created charakter starts to refelect over his own existense I do take it less seriosly. How very akward.

Although never seen, I gues sthat the ladies on enterprece has some sort of automatic devive that appies the make up as Beverky obvioulsy lacks the practice. Otherwise I would not have found this scen funny. (Tasha Yar also have a distinct make even more contradicting her character.) Crushers reaction / reflection of the working girl sitting next to her was amusing.

Not mixing the acting conducted by Wil Wheaton with his character Wesley, TNG lost very much making Wesley a wiz kid / Smart Aleck .

There are several loopholes and the story is quite poor but I laughed severy times to Picard / Data and Crusher.

Not wasted time,
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Silly? Stupid? Perhaps but also a quite typical Star Trek. There is a lot philosophy and etic here. It is sometimes embarrasing to watch, still I liked the plot of having to pay a high price for a paradise.

I viewed it with a smile and was quite impressed how they manage to get these dresses to stay in place even when running.

I think I will bring a lot of hats and be very careful where I step when I go there :-)
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 10:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

An alien creature attacks Belana, Janeway draws a phaser on it, the doc yells "No, you'll hurt Belana!". Um...phasers have stun settings right?
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Chakotay's line about Voyager crashing into the ice at full impulse, that was a dumb line and completely unnecessary. He could have simply said the lower decks were crushed by the weight of the ice, which is a real thing that happens. Planes have been found crashed in arctic regions where after decades of snow and ice piling up on them become buried and crushed flat. Several people mentioned all this already but yeah, if they had crashed at the speed Chakotay said the ship would have been completely obliterated. Also I'm not sure but were those supposed to be spider webs hanging in the corridors, maybe not because that would be silly.

Borg implants sure do get great reception though. He talked about how he could only send a short message and had to do it at the exact right time so 7 could figure out what it meant, but then in the end we also find out he sent a full log entry to himself in glorious high definition...um? So if he could do that why did he not just send a nice big message to them a few days, weeks or even months before the accident going into detail about what happened and how to avoid it, not to mention maybe sending them some new ideas on getting home thanks to having 15 years of advanced knowledge at his disposal. Nitpicks aside I really enjoyed this episode though.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

I very much liked the design and visual apperance of the Ferengi starship.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 12:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Which eyes shall I use here.

A racist episode, as a white male 60 year european I am not the best person to judge but I would not argue against someone of colour claiming it.

Sexistic, yes.

Having eliminated the two above hinderneses. I liked it :-)

@Kevin Nostrand, not five stars but good.

Standalone, funny side stories, and although sexistic, women are taking their placess.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Also reviewing it after some years. I liked it but what would the comments have been if the Discover had such appearance ;-) ?

The Nostalgy bias is significant.

Notable is also the dress code. Men in mini skirts where visible. Glad they removed that. The female uniform ... although understandable that it dissapeared ... bit I miss it.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 11:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: One

I thought it was weird how simply being asleep would prevent radiation burns. The end was kind of silly too; with a ship that size it is impossible that a single person would run out of oxygen in just ten minutes. Also space is an excellent insulator, things just don't instantly turn ice cold.
Next ►Page 1 of 34
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.