Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Jan 30, 2012, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

*interstellar community
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Jan 30, 2012, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I think I like this episode as much as anyone else.

Unfortunately, there is something I feel detracts from enjoying it too much. Namely that I don't believe for a second that an entire civilization is doomed (more like a tiny colony), and there is nothing distinctive about its culture that would signify a loss for the intergalactic community.

Of course this goes for most civilizations encountered in Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
procyon
Wed, Jan 25, 2012, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

I loved the ending where the ambassador asks Picard how he could resist her when they spent so much time together.

I totally expected him to say it was because he respected her or something, but he doesn't answer the question, so we're left to wonder.
Set Bookmark
procyon
Tue, Jan 17, 2012, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

This episode was pretty likeable in my opinion, at least deserving of 3 stars.

I was immediately reminded of Huxley's "A brave new world" when I saw it.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Nov 8, 2010, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

A mediocre finale at best that represented the overall impression of Voyager too well.

Still, someone above me mentioned Stargate Universe as some sci-fi ideal. I completely disagree with that sentiment. SGU went much too far in the other direction and ended up in a ditch on the other side of the road. It was/is much too much character-centric at the expense of an interesting plot. Who needs entire episodes devoted almost exclusively to pure drama?

I guess I didn't care too much for the stargate "universe" either. Almost every "alien" culture is a cultural extension of earth, and SG1 at least plays out like USA: Galactic Diplomacy. That is more likely to induce nightmares than a steamy night between Neelix and Janeway.

Conclusion: Star Trek is superior.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Thu, Nov 4, 2010, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

I somewhat agree with all the criticism this episode gets, yet I still found it pleasant, and I was never bored. I would much rather watch this one again than "Friendship one". I'll take indigenous mutes any day over crass and irrational morons.

If this show was rated purely by watchability, logic dictates that this is a three star show, since "Friendship one" got two and a half stars.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Nov 1, 2010, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

I'm usually all for character development, but not in this particular case. I like seven the way she is, as a unique borg-human hybrid. Making her too human destroys her character.
No more "slice these vegetables transversely in five millimeter increments" dialog would be a great loss for voyager.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Tue, Oct 26, 2010, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I wholeheartedly agree with jack and Elliot. The death sentence is not something that should still occur in a modern society. The risk of justice murder alone, by killing purported but innocent "perpetrators", is good enough reason for any rational person to reject it.

Overall a fairly good episode, even if it's a bit obvious at times. It didn't take long to pin the calm and friendly prisoner as a probable manipulator, and the half-crazed unconscionable bastard as a likely candidate for "redemption."
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Sun, Oct 24, 2010, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Not atrociously bad, but still below average.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Sat, Oct 9, 2010, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

"Mildly Miffed, But Everyone's Gonna Die Anyway."

Well, at least the review was good. Otherwise I share the others "fury" on behalf of Kes (excluding Michael).
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Fri, Oct 8, 2010, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I had no problem with this being a slow and quiet show. I liked the way the show made a reflection on the process of writing an episode. I was even slightly (to an infinitesimal degree) moved in some scenes.

Regardless of this I disliked this episode because of it's often absurdly cliche, and blatantly contrived nature. If the good elements had blended more seamlessly into a reasonable, believable whole I would probably really like it. Also; at this point there has been several consecutive "special", "outside in look" episodes. At least spread them out a bit and pay some attention to the main story. Unfortunately Voyager barely has a main story to pay attention to.

I guess I just don't like episodes that are obviously and completely constructed around a point that's trying to be made with very little subtlety or integration into the overall show. The plot is irrelevant and exists merely for the point, at least try to make the two coexist.
Then again, this might be demanding too much of the writers. I certainly couldn't have done it better myself.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Wed, Sep 29, 2010, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I really disliked this episode. Firstly, you can see what's coming a mile away, and it really isn't that interesting. Secondly, I hate the way this episode (like the previous one) seems artificial and contrived for the sole purpose of driving home it's emotional content and/or moral point (I have never watched TOS, and if this is what it's like I never will).
Lastly the moral point is not that great. The Voyager crew have been mentally violated, so the killers can now add that to their dubious record.

Also, why isn't the captain relieved by the second in command (Tuvok I suppose, as Chakotay is similarly indisposed), when her judgment is obviously compromised by PTSD?
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Sun, Sep 19, 2010, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Personally I thought this episode was simply fantastic. The above criticism flies right over my head.

I usually dislike the klingon tripe as well, but in this episode it's just a veneer covering surprising depths, and the execution is flawless.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Wed, Sep 8, 2010, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I can't understand what anyone could possibly see in this episode. Isn't it possible to convey difference in a slightly less stochastic manner?

Contact with the wormhole aliens in DS9 was done so much better than this.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Sep 6, 2010, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Did I just contradict myself? Consider it a homage to Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Sep 6, 2010, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I have to side with the naysayers on this one, despite the (slight) emotional impact it has. The nebula sized plot-holes disrupts any enjoyment that can be derived from it.

As it didn't bore me, I'd give it 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Procyon
Mon, Aug 23, 2010, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

What really irked me was near the end, when Chakotay says to Janeway that the Malons have trouble getting their shuttle-craft out of the gas giants atmosphere, then they smile/chuckle and depart immediately.
Isn't there a real chance they will die there if they can't get out.... and then they even chuckle at it? That's not very starfleet of them.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.