Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 137 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Much better. Now we have to wait until the next episode is released.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Yet another mess of an episode and as another commenter and I myself noted while watching the episode: more fun with time à la Enterprise tm! Yay! Though I am curious how Talos IV figures into this...
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I thought this was a pretty good Star Trek episode. Jammer: I don’t think the writers made the ending a rushes spectacle by mistake. They probably thought most of the audience younger than 30+ or so would prefer that. For good or bad faster and more spectacular appears to be tendency since the first movies and tv shows were made. While I sometimes feel recent movies push it too far for me I think really old stuff is underwhelming and slow. I guess what I grew up with plays a large part in that.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Forget what I said in the previous episode’s comments section, this confusing mess is Star Trek in name only. Those bad guys aren’t Klingons to me and I hope Spock doesn’t turn out to be a murdering psycho. I don’t expect perfect continuity but what little there was has already been so royally screwed I don’t need that to top it off.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

I haven't read the review yet, but I wanted to say that this episode was a familiar Trekkian type of episode redone well by Discovery. I actually felt like I was watching actual Star Trek. Which is nice considering Discovery is supposed to be an updated Star Trek and not some generic action sci-fi series which it sometimes felt like during earlier episodes.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

EDIT: “I don’t KNOW whether this is true”
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

As much as I liked the new take on Star Trek and the rather daring and sometimes even shocking plot twists I am uncertain whether I will continue watching Star Trek. Reflecting on some of the comments I have read here I get the impression some people are upset because they feel the franchise’s creators went too far in updating the show. I don’t whether this is true or not, but for me changes to the show did feel weird and took a while to get used to. I suppose it all comes down to whether I wish to invest the time and energy in getting to know Star Trek Discovery a bit more or to let go of Star Trek which of which I have been a huge fan since I was a teenager or to let it go in favor of other franchises or activities. Not out of frustration but because otherwise I may forget there are other things to life than Trek.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Aug 9, 2018, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Couldn’t Saru use earplugs that dampen specific frequencies? This is technology that exists right now. I don’t know enough about Latin to be sure but it seems that people who use Latin phrases love to omit words such as whatever word is used for “prepare” in Latin. Yes, I know that Latin makes heavy use of inflection which makes all the extra words English requires unnecessary and the “prepare” bit is heavily implied. But still. I own a book with Latin phrases and their Dutch translations. Even taking inflection and implicit meaning into account I get the feeling that a lot of those phrases are actually shorthands for longer phrases. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 7:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Agreed, either the writing is sloppy or I am an idiot. Staying invested in this series will be hard if the writing doesn’t improve.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Pretentious title? Check. Absurd “science”? Check. Rotating saucer section?! Why? How exactly was the third and last Klingon ship destroyed at Corvac? The Shenzhou was left to fall in enemy hands? It’s so stripped that there is not even gravity something which magically is just about the last thing to fail on Trek even when the ship is in shambles. I suppose this is an improvement, but how is it that a Klingon can walk around in its hulk with no space suit? They may be physically tougher than humans, but still...
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

The effects are great and really help when it comes to depicting aliens, technology, space and planets. The opening sequence came across as cartoony and chaotic though. What were they trying to accomplish here? The rest was fine but I will have see more before I can anything else about it.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Aug 2, 2018, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

As I understand it, it was never said the air pressure was earth like due to terraforming. I have heard that while people can’t deal with Mars’ air pressure, about a 10th of earth’s pressure is enough to eliminate the need for a pressure suit. Breathing and dealing with the cold are another story.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jul 19, 2018, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Nitpick:
Traveling a quarter light year in ten weeks? At SUBLIGHT?!
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jul 13, 2018, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Good episode. Nitpick that isn’t important to the story but that moon seemed awfully close to the planet with the facility. Could it maintain a stable orbit? What about tides? While minor Star Trek could make itself that much more close to being mostly sci rather than fi by paying more attention to such details.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Jul 1, 2018, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Don’t have much to say about the plot. Nitpicks: how the hell can an icy moon where it snows ACID have a breathable atmosphere?! That acid was obviously so dangerous people could casually walk around while it fell onto their bare heads. Couldn’t the acid have worked to the story’s advantage if taken more seriously? Also, what do you dobwhen you have a station on a barren moon with acidic snow? Why you completely ignore fire safety of course! What else would a smart manager do?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Hmmm, I am getting the impression that Star Trek Enterprise is mainly aiming for a younger audience than the reviewer or me (38). As far I can tell there is a lot of rather violent stuff out there in movies in games. Things also appear to have gotten faster paced and more intense. Part if this may be just be me getting old :-) ahem. Personally I don't mind something quiet and not so violent. While I have no problem with young audiences being exposed to sometimes rather intense and violent stuff per se, I certainly don't think it hurts to balance it with tamer stuff. Or perhaps I am just rambling. Whatever.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jun 28, 2018, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Just one question: Why would T'Pol's age be classified?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jun 28, 2018, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

The episode was fine. A few nitpicks: time travel is confusing and those phase cannons look sort of silly.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Mon, Jun 25, 2018, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Notes:
1. T'Pol was more likeable here.
2. While at first I jokingly referred to the alien as our current plastic "soup" having reached the Enterprise or Alien lite I have to say that it did come across as a genuinely alien being in the end. That shot of its homeworld was impressive.
3. Let's see, we've gotten our first glimpses of where the holodeck may've come from and now we're seeing the origins of the force field. Nice. Didn't we also get to see where true replicators instead of specialized synthesizers may have come from?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sun, Jun 24, 2018, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Oasis

So I was right, it was Rene Auberjoinos, and that girl did look like Kes. Perhaps I imagined it because I recognized “Odo” but some of the music sounded as though it could have been from DS9. I am beginning to actually like Trip, yes he may be a bit unrestrained and a bit for a lack of a better word, “rural”. Also I am beginning to dislike T’Pol and perhaps feel sorry for her. When she stated she never felt fear and started pestering Trip about that incident where he got (ahem) pregnant I was certain she was acting out on him because he dared to ask her whether she felt fear and said it was nothing to be ashamed of. If she didn’t feel fear during her excursion in San Fransisco, her dream about it and when that vulcan guy tried to force her to relive it then what was it? Yes, it manifested itself as anger and becoming ill. I say she was so afraid she got sick. But then again I am no doctor.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

They actually thought that the dog might have had their level of intelligence because it too had big ears. :-) Actually given their behaviour they may haven’t been that far off. Ahem. As far as continiuty is concerned: I have accepted that Star Trek is rather selective in what aspects of continiuty are respected and which are not. And let’s be honest here, now there are several people complaining about a lack of it and stale/predictable stories. If the writers tried to maintain better continiuty it would almost certainly impose more restrictions on the writing. I’ll leave it to the imagination as to the kind of complaints that would yield...
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

T’Pol’s line was amusing and the planet had a nice fairy tale like atmosphere.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

A few more thoughts:
Perhaps Archer wasn’t so foolish, to him provoking that Vulcan probably seemed like a risky albeit good way to determine whether he was dealing with a manipulating mind rapist or some one who made a serious mistake but willing to admit it when put under pressure. You can either flip out and stick to your guns or give in. Perhaps he was a rapist or perhaps T’Pol wasn’t brave enough and became ill with terror. I don’t know. Also I while don’t like the character I somewhat agreed with Trip’s remark about regret being one of the saddest and most powerful emotions. A bit overblown (to me) but I have noticed that putting situations that ended up being disappointing or unpleasant in part to your decisions out of your mind and to really get over it is easier said than done. On a lighter note: that Vulcan he spoke with wasn’t entirely misinformed, some people do spend half the day in bed and eat more frequently than usual but I would think those would be exceptions. Also given how fanatical some can get over a game you might really start believing they intend to kill each other. :-p
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 8:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Hmmm, some of the episode was indeed bizarre and uncomfortable and it doesn’t always provide clear-cut answers. I suppose that if you watch Enterprise with preset expectations based on earlier Trek you would indeed be disappointed. However unexpected, uncomfortable, and not so clear cut situations can either frustrate you or perhaps challenge you. With regard to “Archer is stupid” remarks: Indeed Archer aint no Picard that is for sure! But, has anyone here considered the fact that Star Fleet training and any procedures regarding who is and is not fit to become captain still have a long way to go? This after all set well over a century before TOS. Methinks the captain would’ve been even more likely to be made out an incompetent moron had the writers decided that the Vulcans did not hold humanity back for 90 years and Enterprise was set immediately after Cochrane. Yes, Trek is merely fiction but try imagining it were real aaand you’re the captain! Would you do better?
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

(human)
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.