Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Take a peak of season 2 of Orville, looks promising!

https://trekmovie.com/2018/12/04/10-things-to-know-about-the-the-orville-season-2/
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 12:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

People love to debate. On religion maybe you should watch Dr Who episodes and debate on which faired worse.

This is my last post until 2018 so Happy Holidays! Merry Xmas, Happy Hanukkah, and Happy Kwanzaa! And Happy New Year to the Orville Faithfuls! 😁
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Dig my last post, I wish there was a way to correct my previous post. 24th century brings in new religions and that's hardly new. Calling it anti-Trek is at least a silly thing to say. Everyone is entitled to their opinions. :(
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

[ If anything, the episode is no more an attack on religion than the idea of "cultural contamination". In this sense, it is "anti-Trek". ]

SADLY, I DISAGREE! My family is raised Catholic so if you don't like The Orville, then your best alternative is to watch Star Trek Discovery. I watch them both but I like The Orville better. If you think Seth as a writer is Antichrist then you must be on herion. Most of his crew are affiliated with Catholic or Christain beliefs.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

If there is change we want to see next season, then maybe it has anything to do with Adrianne Palicki. She deserves a shot in the Captain's chair for some time. I would like a story that is two or three episodes long tackling the next frontier.

Very good review by Jammer, I have to discount the part on "determining just how professional this crew is supposed to be" I imagine "Law and Order" is having an impact on the whole crew staff. Are we superseded by scientific laws in the 24th century? For example; in America we separate Church and State so religion does not interfere with our laws, the constitutional rights, etc...
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

correction to my last post, I mean next season!!!
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Matt I recall that it was a trial to see how The Orville do in Nielsen Ratings. They have exceeded expectations so they are primed to produce more shows. I dunno know if they can do 26 episodes all in the same season, maybe challenge 20+ because these are very difficult to make if pushing the boundaries of imagination to the fullest extent. And also the fact they want to make quality episodes that gardner the beefy audience.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Yanks

It must have to do with anti Catholic views but I don't see any shred of proof. I checked Facebook and a few mentions of that possibility but they LOVED the EPISODE. :)
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 7:24am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I'm going with SlackerInc review. Solid 🌠4 stars and worth watching it again! I guess it will be a while for the next Orville in the Spring. Anyone know when the next airing would be for just one episode?

< One of the most memorable moments is the captain not to mess with Bortus. >
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 7:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

@Samuel I couldn't agree more on fast track promotion but we have to remember that this takes place in 24th century where we run into perception verses reality. I think Jammer misses the point here and decimated a point from the review on that conclusion alone.

What I see is that people don't want to take risks if they have a great resume. LaMarr probably knows this too well and tried to act subpar in his role. Now he is going to get risky "over-the-top" assignments from the captain and captain assistant which can mean life or death situations. I don't know if he is too happy about the promotion to Chief Engineering.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 7:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

@SlackerInc Thursday night football tend to skew the Nielsen ratings. There was one football night that people refused to watch on a kneeling incident story that week and I think the Cowboys played that game, not so sure. It was a huge boast to The Orville rating.

I think jammer is going to upped the score on this one episode as crude humor was well-balanced. :)
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 2:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Nelson ratings on The Orville: https://tvseriesfinale.com/tv-show/the-orville-season-one-ratings/ That's pretty good for a first season. I can't seem to find STD ratings.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Pretty good episode. They keep on refining their characters as the show progresses. The baggage between Mercer and Grayson is now put to rest. There may be more for all the wrong reasons but it won't be pronounced like an A pilot which can drive people nuts. The visuals get an A+ on entering the 3rd dimension realm. I would like to see a video game like Donkey Kong or PacMan but that's pretty far off. I'm going with @Trek fan's review but my rating of 3.25 🌠 out of 4. Who takes John's old place at the helm? Are there dual roles in this universe? There a lot of unanswered questions on character development and that's something to be desired. At least the Trill is not following the hot trail.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 4:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Trek fan

I'm a big Trek fan and watched many of the episodes going back to the first ones in 1967. I can't watch them all when I value family first. This is Thanksgiving week and many people are busy with loved ones so Jammer must have similar family genes, just a speculative guess.

Orville is a comedy kind of spoof with a Star Trek theme. If that isn't your thing to watch, go watch STD. I can't watch both shows at the same week, no time for me. I was able to watch the last show on STD and came away quite impressed before they resume next year. Both shows have been making a lot of adjustments lately I have to honesty it really comes down to user's opinion of the show.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 9:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

This Orville is more like Sherlock Homes. It's hard to explain the sequence or maybe it was me. How did Lt. Alara end up in the hologram? I will have to watch this again to see if I miss any parts between commercials. This particular episode has a feel of genuine Star Trek. Alara's parents are Father Robert Picardo and mother is Molly Hagan. 3.5/4 stars from me, highest in all the episodes so far. There were a couple very funny moments. Let's see how Jammer rates this one.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@SlackerInc,

I questioned of the ending if it was rushed or had little time to spare to complete the story. There are many outcomes that could have happened at the end of this episode. I was hoping that the Captain had full control in the end but that was not the case. Otherwise the story line was well written.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

It's a shame that they couldn't finish the ending the way they wanted, maybe they had time constraints in finishing this episode. I would think this one would have been an hour and half episode. Darulio, the blue man would announce the findings and then the captain would have had this under control and then work with the ambassadors to stop a war rather than having Darulio use up his usual tricks which was kind of silly. It had potential of a very strong ending, that's all I'm asking for. :(
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

I wouldn't want to duel on comparing Star Trek Discovery and The Orville. If you go into Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum episode in ST:D, take a look at the comments area. Some people there are drawing comparisons between these two franchises. I have never seen so many opinions drawn between the two in a generation. I am pleased of how The Orville is running the pony show. It's catering to an untapped people's market, by no means of idiots who wants to see a show that isn't too Treky.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

The sexual innuendo was on a high gear in this episode. I think this one deserves to be R rated with all the sexual scenes. One of my favorites is Bortus signing Celine Dion. The story line flows from one episode to the next one. Seth is killing it. Not everyone would like to see that kind of behavior in a Star Trek series. The blue guy created a conflict and ended a conflict in a very weird way by using pheromones intentionally or not, it sounded a lot more like dishonesty. It remains to be seen on how Grayson/Mercer reacts after this whole manifesto in future episodes, at least it solves one puzzle at a time. These characters really shined under very difficult circumstances which made it almost impossible to resist. I'm giving this a rare 3 out of 4.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

Nice review Jammer! I wanted to add that the story line was very strong and thought that it was one of best episodes just based off that story line. I could bump this to up to 3 out of 4 based on a story line but those pesty annoying kids was a big turnoff for me.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

There will be some episodes that are flat. I give this a 2.75 out of four. There are some visuals that makes it like one in a million for odds of survival.

Odds of survival:
1) a son throwing an electronic game onto the front consoles. (I would imagine that they have shields or safety nets in the cargo ship by that century for the sake of kids safety).
2) A cargo ship splitting in half.
3) Children mom finding an escape route to outside of building. What if the door was locked next door. :(

There are some interesting takes with the characters and I think it works out in the end. The aliens seems to be in disarray throughout the episode so I'm betting big on the upcoming episode next week.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, the link is bad. if you have an updated link that would be great. *using my firefox*
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Everyone has their opinion about the show. I'm not a political bluff but I see things that are odd with the way people think about this recent Orville episode in facebook. It's not anything that has to do with the Orville though. I know that Dave in MN has made a point. I don't think there will be any more polarizing Political correctness episodes going forward. This one made seems to be too realistic.
Set Bookmark
PerryP
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 3:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I'm a diehard Treky fan and I have to admit that this "Majority Rule" is one for the books, giving it a 3 1/2 of four stars. I find that it is attracting a larger audience that are not from the Treky space. In Facebook, I'm finding so many people applaud this episode. They are saying that this episode teaches people to turn off the TV channel like CNN that talk about politics, political correctness, or BS politics. "Majority Rule" was in the right place at the right time as many people are glued to fear of what's happening in America. Two of the craziest scenes are: to hump a statue which I think was kind of silly, maybe they should have something like wrong entrance scene or something like that and thumbs down button at the end of the show that is too close for comfort. I thought that the early scenes where they didn't know what Thumbs up and Thumbs down buttons mean was a silly preposition but Treky has to explore new worlds and be curious of their findings so this isn't as cranky as it turns out to be or something that they "should" know in advance. These Treky characters are getting to know each other as they build on future plots. It's only the first year of Orville tv and they will pick up a second season. FOX is already so impressed with the show performance that they started showing ads of The Orville in ads during tv show breaks or in a footnote scene within a show.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.