Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Perry
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

If Orville's season boring already, then look no further. Here's one: https://www.reddit.com/r/TheOrville/comments/b2gjjn/it_is_sad_day_yaphits_body_was_found_inside_a/
Set Bookmark
Perry
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@navamske Cool idea, maybe The Orville will build one from scratch, a Alara 2.0 clone, only mutually exclusive to the officers' deck.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I rewatched the episode because I missed a couple parts when commercials were short and sweet. I'll have to bump it up to 2.5 stars. There's a lot of content and it may have been a difficult episode to make. If there were a suggestion box, I would double down on the commercial time at the half hour.

How did the alien with nitro-glycerin blood end up attacking the Krill ships? I think we may see more of that. Was that the daughter or a killer waiting to happen? It's ain't patriotic by any means. Was this by means of teaching Gordon of what's life is like to be a Patriot?

So many unanswered questions and that's what writers thrive to tell a tale.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

This episode had a couple tricks above the sleeves.

The Patriots comment is a slight letdown but it shows that person is not who he was. Gordon is certainly not a bright officer for advancement on the ship. I thought Gordon acted that way in a cleverly fashion.

This episode made it look like the Orville is doomed if security measures weren't enacted. We could see why we have a young security officer that is on a steep learning curve as we take onto the next episode.

The Orville writers have done a good job of bringing on stories that flow from one episode to another.

new discoveries and uncertainties abound. The major drawback to this one is how can you be stuck in the middle of peace negotiation when this conflict is taken place. It's hard to take on script like that but I think they handled it rather awkward. some silly krill introduction on Orville ship to use it as a delay tactic but pretty funny overall. Borderline episode in my opinion.



Set Bookmark
Perry
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@Geronius You make great valid points. I share that view as well. We have quality reviewers on here whether they like Orville or not (or they wouldn't be watching anyway or playing Pacman).
Set Bookmark
Perry
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

That's a nice review by Jammer but I still think that he could have posted 3 1/2 stars based on the final battle. That was no easy feat by the graphic artists and may be the most ambitious project other that doing the cartoons.

I think the biggest blunder on Isaac part was that there was no added scene that shows him on a machine that would decodes his mind when he spoke to his master about the dying human race.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

https://www.fxguide.com/featured/the-orvilles-battle-of-identity-at-fusefx/

To get the battle scenes done under budget is amazing.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@@Troy G

Isaac doesn't have a change of heart because he's just a machine. When Ty was in trouble, Isaac was programmed to safeguard Ty so it had all the cards lined up to self destruct itself to save Ty but not the ship.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@philadlj Orville had an upgraded Armor that was superior to all the armor in the fleet. Thanks to Bortus old boyfriend.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Excellent writeup: https://tv.avclub.com/the-orville-goes-big-and-goes-home-1832979654/amp
The author puts it 9/10.

Shielding the bridge from the EMP is a new defensive strategy.

The Yaphit of all people was the one to save the day here. We'll get to know more about them in the future episodes and it may not be all that pretty as to face deadly encounters of the new frontier.

Isaac's role is magnified but he manages to do a lot with very little effort (like a magical machine of course).
Set Bookmark
Perry
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Solid 4 stars!!!

The writers nailed this one along with excellent visuals.

I wonder if Isaac will revive the Master who has been soft on the human race. Now Isaac is like Hugh!

We know now that Kaylon has pretty much stole our technology when they seized the ship. I thought planet Earth had more formidable technology to protect our planet from destruction. I guess not!

We'll need Isaac for his technical abilities and Orville's new capabilities to counter the advanced Kaylons. It was no walk in the park for the Krill. Great job putting all the pieces together to fight 'em off.

Set Bookmark
Perry
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Get the popcorn ready! 🎬
Set Bookmark
Perry
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

@Hugh

"Coexistence is impossible" — which, let's face it, is not nearly as good as "Resistance is futile,"

Orville couldn't come up with better wording by the writers guild.

I could think of "Coexistence is fruitless"
Set Bookmark
Perry
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I remember that the Borg was impossible to eradate. The Borg would escape in a round pod.

I'm sure that Kaylon will be around longer than most expect. They probably have secret escape plans if they are attacked and that they see a no win situation. But what would hurt The Orville is their intellectual property and that would be their defenses and arsenal. It may seem easy for the Keylons to get all the data inputs from the ship in seconds if that's a leap in WIFI. Would WIFI be called 1,234 G?
Set Bookmark
Perry
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

This is a prediction of many for Isaac. When Isaac ended up on The Orville ship again, I think the odds are in his favor. We know that Isaac tends to run diagnostics to improve or improvise its machine on a regular basis. So imagine that he's back on the ship and the diagnostic analysis corrected the altered processors/memories and then Isaac finds himself (machine identity) back to The Orville's life.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi Thanks!

Set Bookmark
Perry
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 7:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

"resistance is futile" meme is the Borg

I'm trying to hint a meme for the Kaylons. something like "emotionless machines rule inferior minds"

Has a feel of Cybermen from Dr. Who but it was pretty dark.

solid 4 stars
Set Bookmark
Perry
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

not finished yet but already giving me goosebumps
Set Bookmark
Perry
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Can't wait for Jammer's take.

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi' There seems to be a rush to scenes. Can this be a two-part Orville episode to give them the flexibility and more to the adventure?
Set Bookmark
Perry
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

@Omicron It seems like the writers had to get "over with" Bortus's homeage as the storyline progress on.

Here's a great write-up: https://tv.avclub.com/a-new-romance-fights-an-old-prejudice-on-the-orville-1832642706/amp

I'll rate this 3.14 stars
Set Bookmark
Perry
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I'm going with Dave in MN review. The holodeck was a bit creepy as it rhymes with Sherlock Holmes. I was surprised that Kelly dumped her "sort of" boyfriend.


Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

There's a lot of questions unanswered in Isaac and Claire relationship. How did Isaac end up as holographic human in the first place? Did Claire pick out that human form? How did that character get into the programming code?

Early in the date, Isaac sounded 007 from another planet. Is there something that Issac hiding that he doesn't want the whole ship to know about?

Issac is probably more dangerous than Data but he does not have a transport like of Star Trek series. He entrapped inside Orville firewalls to the things that he can't do from the outside universe. All speculation of course.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

https://www.reddit.com/r/TheOrville/comments/an5udx/im_mark_jackson_and_i_play_ai_badass_isaac_on_the/
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

My take on the future of Orville franchise.

We'll probably have an episode when Claire Finn becomes sex deprived.

Isaac gets infected and takes over the ship only to be stopped by the Krill.

Jammer's review is as good as it gets. Anyone who calls Jammer someone that lacks credibility deserved to be banished and locked up ithe gates of hell cage.

I gave this episode an unusually high score because its attracted more tv viewers as opposed to bird watchers.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

One part where Isaac tried to erase the memory of Claire's past led him to make a mistake on the bridge. Isaac went to run routine diagnostics to find out what went wrong with its programming that runs the machine. A classic! It brings back memories of Data. That alone brings .5 bonus points. 4.5/4
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.