Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

It's hard to know Jammer's final score even if he says that the episode was well excuted. I bet he put 3.8 score and yet it's 3 1/2 stars.

He pointed out the dyfuctional marriage with Bortus and Klyden. I thought that was brilliantly executed and that helps writers to carry on that drama. I expect more of that and shakeups in the fleet.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Excellent writeup: https://tv.avclub.com/the-orville-goes-big-and-goes-home-1832979654/amp
The author puts it 9/10.

Shielding the bridge from the EMP is a new defensive strategy.

The Yaphit of all people was the one to save the day here. We'll get to know more about them in the future episodes and it may not be all that pretty as to face deadly encounters of the new frontier.

Isaac's role is magnified but he manages to do a lot with very little effort (like a magical machine of course).
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

There's a lot of questions unanswered in Isaac and Claire relationship. How did Isaac end up as holographic human in the first place? Did Claire pick out that human form? How did that character get into the programming code?

Early in the date, Isaac sounded 007 from another planet. Is there something that Issac hiding that he doesn't want the whole ship to know about?

Issac is probably more dangerous than Data but he does not have a transport like of Star Trek series. He entrapped inside Orville firewalls to the things that he can't do from the outside universe. All speculation of course.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

https://www.reddit.com/r/TheOrville/comments/an5udx/im_mark_jackson_and_i_play_ai_badass_isaac_on_the/
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

My take on the future of Orville franchise.

We'll probably have an episode when Claire Finn becomes sex deprived.

Isaac gets infected and takes over the ship only to be stopped by the Krill.

Jammer's review is as good as it gets. Anyone who calls Jammer someone that lacks credibility deserved to be banished and locked up ithe gates of hell cage.

I gave this episode an unusually high score because its attracted more tv viewers as opposed to bird watchers.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

One part where Isaac tried to erase the memory of Claire's past led him to make a mistake on the bridge. Isaac went to run routine diagnostics to find out what went wrong with its programming that runs the machine. A classic! It brings back memories of Data. That alone brings .5 bonus points. 4.5/4
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

4/4 stars, for some relationships like this one can make some people uncomfortable watching this one. This episode is a standout from the series and worth watching if you are dating to a prom.

The storyline was real strong in this one and Bortus jokes were hilarious. Seth really amped up this one to a new level. Sorry, this is not a kid's episode to watch.

Is this the future of robotics that would cherish relationships with humans? The hologram idea was clever.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

where the next episode go? already half way through but not added a page yet. great 4/4 without that silly floor Jell-O character but half way mark.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

nice review http://amp.denofgeek.com/us/tv/the-orville/278869/the-orville-season-2-episode-5-review-all-the-world-is-birthday-cake
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I like the Rigorian originality, they look so real.

Since the Orville deceived the Rigorians by faking a star, I wonder if it will come back to bite them in the future. Maybe they will find out from an unlikely source, an alien ship from another Galaxy.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I like the addition of the new crew member and maybe the chemistry will work among its crews. Research may be limited before running into aliens. could they have foretell of what they believe in? could they have contingency plans if things go amoak? It's part of crew development.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

This one is interesting. man, I'm going to have hard time writing up what I think about this episode. It really have amazing visuals of the city, the prison camps, and the fake star. This episode has a strong storyline of first contact, less advanced than ours. (joking aside I'm not the admiral to ask to abort the mission.) To try to relate the title to someone's birthday is probably just a B plot of the adventure.
The ending has more to be desired when two crews were certainly doomed until the last second planetary surprise. 3.25 stars
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Jammer's review is well received. My thoughts that this episode has a lot going for it and would have rated it lower than my first 3.75 score but... a storyline carry-over from previous ones makes it awkward. I tend to think the past is "the past" or "get over it" methodology. My logic may not sit well over these
👽 s.
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Orville would be considered an PG or R rated show based on the explicit sexual language. OmicronThetaDeltaPhi pointed out that failure to provide quality jokes can hurt the show rating so they decided to minimize that and build on the footprint.

I think they need more characters. Losing Alara Kitan really has caused bit of alarm. She has been stellar throughout the episodes. Maybe a new character in the engineering Dept? a new character in the Galastic Relations Dept?
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

https://www.bleedingcool.com/2019/01/19/the-orville-review-nothing-left-on-earth-except-fishes-the-two-sides-of-mercer-spoilers/
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

above comments, I mean Krill not Troll 😥
Set Bookmark
Perry Plotkin
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

3.75 🌟 from me. It had everything minus the humor.

The Star Trek franchise that owns a basket of shows may start worrying now. This Orville show had all the elements in place for segmenting their future. The price has gone up for "Orville Rights".

It seems that the Troll lady had held up the gun for too long and lacked the humor along the way.

Interesting new species and they look dreadful (another Romulan type species?).

Things look impossible to escape when the ship was about to explode. I think this storyline needs to lengthen to two episodes to tie it with more humor and action. There always something missing in action.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.