Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Bang on Jammer. You expressed it all just as I wish I could have had I not been blubbering to myself incoherently at the end of that mess. At least this season had a string of three good episodes in a row. (3-4-5? I can't remember exactly which ones.) My wish for Season 4 or any other future iteration of Star Trek: please can we stop with so much action, fisticuffs, gunfights? We've seen it all before. Boooooring. Yawn. I would like some intelligent, thoughtful writing instead please pretty please
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 2:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Give me this over that Mirror Universe pointlessness any day. I agree with the comments above that say this episode fits more with a TOS ethos, with a Star Trek ethos, than much of what we've seen in the past few episodes. I don't come to Trek for mindless fighting and endless action sequences. I was entertained enough by the mystery and imagination in this episode to not want to expend energy dissecting its flaws. With the Mirror Universe episodes, all I could see were the flaws. Judging by the polarization of opinions here - and indeed on most Discovery episodes - I'd say the show does a good job of pushing different Trek buttons for different Trek people, rarely pushing all the right buttons for everyone. I had hoped that might happen this season, and the first few episodes seemed promising. Although my hopes have faded, I'm still entertained enough and it still feels like Trek every one out of three episodes or so. Which, you know, is a nice thing.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 2:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

I am fascinated to see there are people who liked this episode. I disliked it. A lot. I thought it was terrible. Abominably awful. 0/4. Granted, I am sick of the MU, and Georgiou, but I am also sick of terrible writing, overdone schmalz, and belabouring a storyline that should have long ago been wrapped up. Yawn. But I am sincerely fascinated that people liked it. It goes to show. Different strokes for different folks!
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 12:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

I am only here today to say that the music was simply outstanding in this episode. It was 24th century Sibelius. It served its purpose perfectly. It didn't overpower. I loved it. (And I liked a lot else about the episode too.)
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I'll just leave this here:

Tuvok: "It is illogical to dwell on matters beyond your control. It will only serve to heighten your anxiety."

@MidshipmanNorris: three cheers.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 2:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The music mix in the credits - original Courage theme mixed with DSC theme - that put the cherry on top for me.

Season Two is a win. For all its flaws (of late, the most disappointing involving laying it on too thick with the personal goodbyes), it was much better than Season One. I'm less fussed about canon than most, but am glad to see that distraction hopefully come to an end, because with some more carefully considered writing - they're almost there. Maybe in Season Three, Discovery will find itself.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

My favourite episodes of DSC so far have been the ones with slower pacing: An Obol for Charon, New Eden, Into the Forest I Go. What I liked about this episode was that it nailed the faster pacing for a moment, when the Ba'ul ships showed up: the action-Trek feeling I remember loving most about TNG and DS9. It was just right: tense, without being frenetic. And there was lots else to like about this episode.

But it fell apart for me on two points:

1) Can we please lose the amateurishly written, preachy voiceovers and have some realistic-sounding Personal Logs instead? Burnham gets a lot of flak on this board for her voiceovers, but this episode showed that it's the voiceovers and the writers that are the problem. Saru's voiceover made me cringe, it was so bad.

2) The near-escapes where everything falls into place just perfectly are asking me to suspend disbelief a little too much. I mean, yeah, it's sci-fi, so I'm suspending disbelief, I'm all in for that. But the way Saru was able to quickly piece together a tool to suddenly transmit the frequency that had been somehow sent to him on his improvised device by Tilly...it was all a bit much. There was a lot of that in this episode, as has been pointed out by numerous folks above.

Tighter writing please.

And for the love of Spock, no more jerky swoopy camera pans and no more camera flares pleeeeeaaaasee
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@jrpl: The streaming service you're looking for in Canada is Crave TV - that's how I've watched Discovery. The good news for you: you can sign up for a free 1-month trial and watch the whole thing so you can see what all the kvetching here on the Jam Jam has been about. In case you're interested in my opinion, it's worth the ride, despite a final episode that I found disappointing. (I've been a supporter of the show on here, although I acknowledge it has flaaaaws aplenty.)
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 1:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I also thought this was a great episode. It scored very high on the Trek-o-meter for reasons others have outlined above. I found the slow pacing very appealing. I found the Ash/Burnham scene not only necessary - but great. (Not perfect, but definitely great.)

Characters were true to themselves. The music was fantastic. The ship almost lovingly shot. The spore terraforming scene was high on the Trek values many have been pining for: exploration, wonder, possibility.

I find I am less and less interested in questions of canon as time goes by, despite having been a pedantic nitpicker about them when TNG and DS9 first aired. I think this has made me a happier Star Trek fan.

I felt that any flaws to be found in this episode directly relate to flaws from other episodes. From where I'm sitting now, it might just be my favourite of the series so far. It left me with that Trekky feeling, y'know? But Jammer's persuasive, so I look forward to hearing what he has to say....
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 1:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Bang-on review, Jammer. You nailed it. Thank you. I needed that.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Rapp and Cruz light up the screen. Their chemistry is fantastic. Too bad that's probably it for Rapp-Cruz scenes.

I could watch Rapp for hours. He's so good.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 1:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Knowing the reputation of this episode probably harmed my experience of watching it for the first time, as I have just done (yes I grew up a TNG kid). I realize it is regarded as a classic but I didn't find it as compelling as a whole as many have enthusiastically outlined here. There were many masterful moments. But as a whole it didn't impress me as much as I was expecting it to. (Pesky expectations) Spock saving Stiles for instance - too tidy for my liking. One of the young couple being the only casualties - eminently predictable. But it's easy to criticize with hindsight and I wish I could have seen this as people viewed it in the 60s. Loved Kirk and McCoy performances though. outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 7:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

*refreshes page yet again eagerly awaiting Jammer's review*

Some fascinating discussions on here, thanks lads & lasses

+1 to Shannon & WTBA's posts
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Troy G:
"For anyone who cares, I don't readily compare Discovery to previous Trek series. I compare it to the recent JJ Abrams Trek films. I find DSC to be more satisfying."

Yes, agreed, +1000000

Got a real charge out of this episode. Very satisfying.

Also, the music was outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

I'm just chiming in here to go on record as saying I really enjoyed this episode. It entertained me. It had good internal momentum.

Discovery has won me over to the point where I've decided I'm not interested in parsing every last plot point to find all the flaws, or to pick apart the show for violations of canon. Of course, I'm not saying people shouldn't do that - go nuts! Knock yourselves out! I just wanted to add a little positive note here in support of an entertaining episode of Star Trek. And to add that I started enjoying Discovery a lot more, for its own merits, when I stopped worrying so much about all that stuff.

I'm just happy Star Trek is on the teevee again, just like it was in the old days, a new episode every week. Yes, there have been some stinker episodes and sloppy storytelling this season. But what a thrill when good-to-great episodes like these last two hit the airwaves.

Thanks, Jammer, for the consistently excellent reviews.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 1:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Hilarious - both the episode, and the reviews, some of which are so entertainingly biting.

My two cents: I'm always fascinated by how expectations alter one's viewing experience.

I didn't see this episode the first time round (or perhaps I blocked the memory, lol, although I don't think it's a 0-star episode i'f I'm honest). Now that I'm re-watching the first couple of seasons on my way to finally watching Voyager, I ended up watching this episode loaded with the expectation that it would be terrible, the worst, beyond awful.

Had I watched it without those expectations, I might have actually hated it.

But I found myself bracing for something much worse. As others have pointed out, the first couple of acts have a fair amount of merit. By the time it started to get weird, I was entertained enough to appreciate it as camp - especially the (yes, wonderfully ridiculous) ending, which gave me hope that perhaps Star Trek doesn't always have to take itself seriously, and that that's OK.

As I watched, all I could think of was its reputation. I was watching it through that filter, and that probably made me feel a little...sympathetic to its flaws. I was thinking, yeah, it's not a great episode, sure, yes, lots of inconsistencies, yes, lots to criticize here, but it's not *the worst ever*

Funny how expectations change things.

Unfortunately it works the other way too, sometimes. When you hear something is "the best ever", and then it disappoints. Not because it wasn't great, but because it couldn't possibly live up to the expectations.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I have to agree with the previous two commenters. Re-watching this weak season now, so many years later, this episode felt full of holes and glaring inconsistencies, as laid out by many commenters. If this were today placed under the kind of scrutiny every episode of Discovery has faced thus far, I don't think it would hold up very well. (I did enjoy most of Season Two the first time, if I think about it. Perhaps I'm the one that's changed...)

Also, the music was terrible, and that didn't help.

To me, the robot episode was a bit stronger than this one.

1 star. OK, 1.5 for effort, however misguided, to make a relevant episode that has consequences.

Oh boy, on to Threshold, yippee!!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.