Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 9:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I love what you do Jammer and I have immmmmmense respect for your work. So I mean this in the best possible spirit. It’s hard to come across a rating and review like this one and not feel you have a bias against TNG. Considering the quality of this episode - and how much my kids loved it the other day - but especially considering the quality of this episode as compared to the vast majority of Discovery episodes, it’s hard to square the consistently generous ratings you’ve given to Discovery. Sure the special effects are nice, but the writing is consistently terrible (my opinion, I’ll grant) and nowhere near the standard of TNG. Leaving the other series aside, comparing these two on your site feels weird. If this is 1.5 then there should be a whole lot more disco episodes with a similar or lower rating. IMHO of course!
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 3:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Bang on Jammer. You expressed it all just as I wish I could have had I not been blubbering to myself incoherently at the end of that mess. At least this season had a string of three good episodes in a row. (3-4-5? I can't remember exactly which ones.) My wish for Season 4 or any other future iteration of Star Trek: please can we stop with so much action, fisticuffs, gunfights? We've seen it all before. Boooooring. Yawn. I would like some intelligent, thoughtful writing instead please pretty please
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 2:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Give me this over that Mirror Universe pointlessness any day. I agree with the comments above that say this episode fits more with a TOS ethos, with a Star Trek ethos, than much of what we've seen in the past few episodes. I don't come to Trek for mindless fighting and endless action sequences. I was entertained enough by the mystery and imagination in this episode to not want to expend energy dissecting its flaws. With the Mirror Universe episodes, all I could see were the flaws. Judging by the polarization of opinions here - and indeed on most Discovery episodes - I'd say the show does a good job of pushing different Trek buttons for different Trek people, rarely pushing all the right buttons for everyone. I had hoped that might happen this season, and the first few episodes seemed promising. Although my hopes have faded, I'm still entertained enough and it still feels like Trek every one out of three episodes or so. Which, you know, is a nice thing.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Dec 19, 2020, 2:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

I am fascinated to see there are people who liked this episode. I disliked it. A lot. I thought it was terrible. Abominably awful. 0/4. Granted, I am sick of the MU, and Georgiou, but I am also sick of terrible writing, overdone schmalz, and belabouring a storyline that should have long ago been wrapped up. Yawn. But I am sincerely fascinated that people liked it. It goes to show. Different strokes for different folks!
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 12:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

I am only here today to say that the music was simply outstanding in this episode. It was 24th century Sibelius. It served its purpose perfectly. It didn't overpower. I loved it. (And I liked a lot else about the episode too.)
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I'll just leave this here:

Tuvok: "It is illogical to dwell on matters beyond your control. It will only serve to heighten your anxiety."

@MidshipmanNorris: three cheers.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 2:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The music mix in the credits - original Courage theme mixed with DSC theme - that put the cherry on top for me.

Season Two is a win. For all its flaws (of late, the most disappointing involving laying it on too thick with the personal goodbyes), it was much better than Season One. I'm less fussed about canon than most, but am glad to see that distraction hopefully come to an end, because with some more carefully considered writing - they're almost there. Maybe in Season Three, Discovery will find itself.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

My favourite episodes of DSC so far have been the ones with slower pacing: An Obol for Charon, New Eden, Into the Forest I Go. What I liked about this episode was that it nailed the faster pacing for a moment, when the Ba'ul ships showed up: the action-Trek feeling I remember loving most about TNG and DS9. It was just right: tense, without being frenetic. And there was lots else to like about this episode.

But it fell apart for me on two points:

1) Can we please lose the amateurishly written, preachy voiceovers and have some realistic-sounding Personal Logs instead? Burnham gets a lot of flak on this board for her voiceovers, but this episode showed that it's the voiceovers and the writers that are the problem. Saru's voiceover made me cringe, it was so bad.

2) The near-escapes where everything falls into place just perfectly are asking me to suspend disbelief a little too much. I mean, yeah, it's sci-fi, so I'm suspending disbelief, I'm all in for that. But the way Saru was able to quickly piece together a tool to suddenly transmit the frequency that had been somehow sent to him on his improvised device by Tilly...it was all a bit much. There was a lot of that in this episode, as has been pointed out by numerous folks above.

Tighter writing please.

And for the love of Spock, no more jerky swoopy camera pans and no more camera flares pleeeeeaaaasee
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.