Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,149 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 46
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, May 14, 2018, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Three and a half stars for this trash!? I realize now that your judgement can't be trusted. Leaving this site for good.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Sun, Apr 29, 2018, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

@John

God’s will is for humans to choose. Go read Genesis, particularly the part with the apple.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

DS9 is such a great show. Nana Visitor as Kira is the best part--she holds it all together. It should have been bigger than TNG culturally, but it wan't... Wanna know why??

Because of all the ugly aliens as lead characters. It's a truism that TV audiences only want to watch good looking people. Even though the most compelling characters on DS9 are so rich and vibrant and wonderful, they're mostly ugly aliens (Quark, Odo, Garak, Worf, Nog, Rom).

Ugly people suck...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 2:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

I'm rooting for Armus.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 2:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Solid episode. The only little thing that bothered me was that the actor who played the defector had saggy man-boobs that showed through the sweater. man-boobs kinda bother me.

other than that, it was great!
Set Bookmark
Paul
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Only 3 percent of their population are cogenitors - and that is apparently not enough, as that couple had to wait years to get one. If you give them all education, at least half of them probably would not want to be handed around to help procreate - and I assume that there is no technological way to replace them - which in turn means the species is at a serious risk of dying out. In the end, the cogenitors could be forced to lend their services again - only under harder conditions, being real slaves this time. In the end, it would only worsen their situation. This is another case of "We don't know enough to cast judgement or propose solutions."

This episode is also a good example of something I like to call "empathy desease": You see someone apparently in distress, and without a single consideration for the consequences, you rush in to help them. All too human.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim: "I didn't care for the Defiant's concept or design, it felt like a bit of "me too!" in response to the White Star on Babylon 5"

The Defiant appeared a full year *before* the White Star. It can hardly be a case of "me too!"
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

If I remember correctly, wasn't this meant to be the continuation of the alien threat from "Conspiracy"? Someone then supposedly decided that the horror angle wasn't what Trek was about, so they introduced the Borg.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

@BZ: "I have to disagree about the score. The fact I'm even noticing that it's there is the first indicator that there is a problem."

Really? For there not to be a problem, one must not notice the score? That sounds like something Rick Berman with his sonic wallpaper approach would say.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Mar 11, 2018, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Well, she got her Harry Mudd wish!
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Mar 9, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Dom: "How many people can really remember what happened in and individual episode of Game of Thrones, or even the more serialized parts of BSG or DS9? By contrast, I bet everyone here can remember pretty clearly what happened in TNG's "Darmok" or "I, Borg.""

Eh, I can't speak about other people, but I can remember perfectly well what happened in individual memorable episodes of those series. To mention the most obvious examples, "Rains of Castamere", "Hardhome", and "Winds of Winter" are among the best GoT episodes and their "bestness" comes from being the culmination of so many episodes of earlier plot development and character growth. BSG's New Caprica arc -- "Lay Down Your Burderns through Collaborators -- is arguably the pinnacle of BSG that includes some of the series' very best individual episodes.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Feb 26, 2018, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I don't know KT, I personally enjoyed the first season of Battlestar 5. My favorite episode was the one where Baltar and G'Kar try to find out how Shadows managed to disable Colonial defenses. I also liked it when, at the start of Season 2, Captain Sheridama arrived to take command of Babylactica. Great stuff!
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Trent: "Jammer massively underrates TOS' first season. If he rewatches the remastered versions today, he'd probably throw a couple more four stars here and there. IMO, Balance of Terror, Miri, Conscience of the King, The Galileo Seven, Court Martial, The Devil in the Dark, Errand of Mercy and the City on the Edge of Forever are all 4 star episodes. Arena, A Taste of Armageddon, The Return of the Archons and five or six others come close as well. There's a reason Trek became a giant franchise, and it's because TOS' first season was exceptional."

TOS Season 1 really is something special. If you can get past that silly 60s overacting (actually, TOS acting was more in line with 30s-50s cinema) and the dated approach to storytelling, it was very thought-provoking, bold, and just plain fun to watch. Honestly, as much as I love 21st century plot- and character-oriented TV paradigm, which has also been increasingly present in Trek (DS9, ENT, especially Discovery), with each passing day I miss the old-school idea- and symbolism-driven Trek that is epitomized by TOS and TNG. Don't get me wrong, I love DS9 for its departure from Trek norms, but I can't help but feel that pendulum has swung too far in the other direction.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Fun Fact Time!

Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1.

What grand and esoteric piece of wisdom can be gleaned from this? What truth lies hidden beneath the murky waters of subjective opinion, waiting to be ushered into the light? Time will only tell... or will it?
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@jrpl: The streaming service you're looking for in Canada is Crave TV - that's how I've watched Discovery. The good news for you: you can sign up for a free 1-month trial and watch the whole thing so you can see what all the kvetching here on the Jam Jam has been about. In case you're interested in my opinion, it's worth the ride, despite a final episode that I found disappointing. (I've been a supporter of the show on here, although I acknowledge it has flaaaaws aplenty.)
Set Bookmark
JPaul
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I don't blame Jammer for waiting until TLJ is released on disc/streaming/vod. It's a lot easier to review a movie when you can pause, replay, or just watch the movie multiple times.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Leah Brahms is HOT HOT HOT! I mean, MEEEOOOW! By far the most adorable chick in the star trek universe. I don't blame Geordi for getting so excited about her arrival. It's just such a shame she had to be married...
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Tim: "This bit I agree with 100%. It makes me wonder why they had to set the series in this time period? Why not set it a hundred years after the adventures of Picard and his contemporaries? Then you can have your spore drive, the war, and all of this, without current fans scratching their heads trying to reconcile this all with what came before."

It probably has to do with Abramsverse. As we well know, for some time Trek hasn't been under one roof: CBS owns TV rights, while Paramount owns movie rights. My guess is that CBS doesn't want to deal with divergent TV/movie canons and in the process they intend to silently merge the two without ever saying so, probably banking on the fact that new audiences are going to be more familiar with 2009+ movies. And the only way to do that is to place the show in an era before the split occurred. That's also the reason behind much of the visual feel and design of Discovery which definitely owes much more to Abramsverse than to classic Trek.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

The first half of this episode is basically unwatchable and (unintentionally) hilarious. It rescues itself when they start to decide how to solve the problem. Then it's actually quite good and ties the story up well.

The episode contains the lines, 'colour, size, race isn't important'. But this episode is famous for, ironically, it being very important. Sad, really.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I also thought this was a great episode. It scored very high on the Trek-o-meter for reasons others have outlined above. I found the slow pacing very appealing. I found the Ash/Burnham scene not only necessary - but great. (Not perfect, but definitely great.)

Characters were true to themselves. The music was fantastic. The ship almost lovingly shot. The spore terraforming scene was high on the Trek values many have been pining for: exploration, wonder, possibility.

I find I am less and less interested in questions of canon as time goes by, despite having been a pedantic nitpicker about them when TNG and DS9 first aired. I think this has made me a happier Star Trek fan.

I felt that any flaws to be found in this episode directly relate to flaws from other episodes. From where I'm sitting now, it might just be my favourite of the series so far. It left me with that Trekky feeling, y'know? But Jammer's persuasive, so I look forward to hearing what he has to say....
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I have to agree with you Elle.

This is one of those whimsical fluff episodes that makes TNG so charming. Sometimes, especially after serious episodes dealing with big morality issues or interstellar conflicts, its enjoyable to just to chill out and vicariously lounge around with the characters on the ship. I really can't stand shows that treat everything as if its set to a spinal tap 11 in seriousness--overtime it becomes a joyless and emotionally exhausting exercise. Episodes like this interspersed among the rest actually help TNG.

2 stars.

Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

What makes this episode so great (or, bearable, if you don't like the episode) is the actor who plays Roga Danar, Jeff McCarthy. He's just fantastic! Star Trek has always been blessed to have great guest stars, and he's one of the best.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 1:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Bang-on review, Jammer. You nailed it. Thank you. I needed that.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Rapp and Cruz light up the screen. Their chemistry is fantastic. Too bad that's probably it for Rapp-Cruz scenes.

I could watch Rapp for hours. He's so good.


Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Knowing the reputation of this episode probably harmed my experience of watching it for the first time, as I have just done (yes I grew up a TNG kid). I realize it is regarded as a classic but I didn't find it as compelling as a whole as many have enthusiastically outlined here. There were many masterful moments. But as a whole it didn't impress me as much as I was expecting it to. (Pesky expectations) Spock saving Stiles for instance - too tidy for my liking. One of the young couple being the only casualties - eminently predictable. But it's easy to criticize with hindsight and I wish I could have seen this as people viewed it in the 60s. Loved Kirk and McCoy performances though. outstanding.
Next ►Page 1 of 46
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.