Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,324 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 53
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

One aspect of this that seems to have been not mentioned dd so far is that T’Pol was almost raped again. The doctors tricked her into touching a pad thing to get her dna, and then did tests without her permission. Then they have the hypocritical gall to take the moral high ground about who gets treatment and why. That for me was actually the worst part of the situation for T’Pol but she never complained or made reference to it. How can doctors just decide to test someone and share the results with everyone? What?
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

So Cyrus Ramsey stepped into the transporter... and vanished. Sure I’ve heard something similar before...

Interesting build up to this episode but awful ending. Such a disappointment.
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

No-one seems to mention it but the Japanese internment idea is a reference to Sulu/Takei who was interred as a child.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Speaking of Ashley Judd in Star Trek:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghVSZNYPXtw
Set Bookmark
Paul C
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

A couple of points not mentioned.

1 What the hell was that insubordination by Trip? He seemed to think he was in control. That kind of thing should have been nailed down by Archer from the start. Is TPol 2nd in command or what? They can’t be deciding this stuff when he’s not there. Poor leadership.

2 Quite the kickass move by TPol, use their own reactor as a weapon. Not seen or suspected anything like that from her, but she’s given zero credit by anyone - no mention by Trip he was wrong or the Captain saying ‘well done’. I mean come on, that was a decent move. I know we’re used to it, but they’re not...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I like this episode, but hear me out and I'm going to be serious here:

My big gripe with this episode is that Sarjenka is so UGLY. I mean, the character is just poorly designed. It makes you cringe just looking at it. They could have made her look much cuter, and even if they wanted to make some social commentary re: non-judgement and difference of appearances etc., they could have given the alien look more integrity. For example, the klingons are "ugly" in a traditional sense, but they have a lot of integrity in their look, such that their appearance is respected and eventually admired. But the Sarjenka alien design is just so poorly thought out and sloppy in my opinion. Further, her design evokes stereotypes of old witches and dying, balding female monsters. The hair, and the high brow for example. It's just a bad design that is so bad I would go so far to say it negatively affects the character and thereby the story.
Set Bookmark
Paul Mehlin
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

This is the kind of Sci-Fi my childhood was built upon. I embraced it. Sure, many people poke fun at this episode, and so many "Monday morning quarterbacks" like to nit-pick the production quality and script, but Star Trek was something new back when this came out and I found this episode to be a wonderful adventure. I still do!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Aug 16, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

This episode absolutely rocks. Stupid hippies--who accomplished absolutely NOTHING and didn't (and fundamentally couldn't) help humanity or the earth in any way but were just self-indulgent masturbators all get blown the hell away in this wonderful rejection of hippie culture by Gene Roddenberry and crew.

I just wish they all died.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

This is a guilty pleasure of mine. I just like the imagery and music. It's a cool combo to have the Indiana jones feel mixed with TNG. It's just nice to have the episode playing in the background without having to get into it too much, nice ambiance.


There are a few episodes like this in trek that by themselves are pretty boring, but their tone and music and overall feel is soothing.

It soothes me.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

I agree with Jammer's rating. This is a rare 1st season gem of an episode. It's just basic, essential idealism and star trek at its core: protect the innocent---protect life. It also manages to instill a sense of wonder and awe in the subtle magic of the universe and life in all its forms, which again is star trek at its most basic and most compelling. Sometimes the simple stuff is some of the best.

But what makes this work so well for me are the performances, especially from the guest stars and especially from the female scientist Kim. She is played by the actress Elizabeth Lindsey, and she just does a fantastic job injecting this episode with the required charm and emotion.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Oh right..... right right, I forgot about the PEDOPHILE EPISODE. Those poor kids...only they will know what truly happened to them down there...

This one probably has Maurice Hurley all over it.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

What the $#@! is wrong with this &*^%$'s voice? She sounds like she was kicked in the throat and every so often the pitch vacillates up randomly, like she's a robot stuck in opera theater mode! Somebody muzzle it!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Paul Sobol
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

'Would a 22nd century person trapped in the 24th century alter the future': well, the future could well have been altered by his lack of presence. The future is changed in some way. It might be subject to debate exactly how, even if the TNG characters remained the same. Still, it is opening a can of worms.
Set Bookmark
Harveypaul
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I do like the idea of the doc out there travelling across the delta quadrant, picking up a crew along the way, getting into mini adventures.......spin off anyone lol
Set Bookmark
JPaul
Thu, May 28, 2020, 2:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"And again, the blatant plagiarism of Mass Effect 3’s story endgame that they thought no one would notice. "

Read a ton of comments here, and this was the only one I saw to reference this. I haven't played Mass Effect myself, but people who have are saying the plot of this show is heavily derivative of it, there seem to be a lot of smoking gun similarities that are hard to ignore.

Then we can look at Star Trek: Discovery and realize that many aspects of season 1 are ripped off from the computer game Tardigrades, including a number of characters that look visually similar (the characters of Michael Burnham, Paul Stamets, Hugh Culber, Sylvia Tilly), to say nothing of the use of a giant Tardigrade that can travel through space instantaneously.

It's really surprising to me that shows with the kind of budgets Star Trek: Discovery and Star Trek: Picard have would need to resort to this kind of copying, it certainly isn't something I'd find indicative of high quality writing.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Hit and miss. Mostly miss. Still no one asks ‘Hey, anyone seen Dahj?’. They seem to magically know she’s not alive.

Loose ends... wow loads aren’t there. Not explained why Picard has dreams, why Dahj went to see him - ok she saw an image, but er, who put it there, Data? What?

‘Found the synths?’
‘Yes’
‘Fucked any yet?’
This isn’t ST. Who writes that?

The magical tool that fixes with your imagination - come on please.

No world building, Seven’s regrets/world view still isn’t clear.

So many lost opportunities. Raffi can do one as well.

Jurati - yes I murdered a guy but I picked the right side so that’s fine. No way would TNG Picard let her away with that.

Where’s Crusher now?

Choice of name for ship was weird. Come on why not the Enterprise E or F?

Too many ships can’t tell what’s going on. Boring space battle. Where did the orchids come from? Who built them?

The writers of this show seem to write any old crap and then stand around saying ‘look at his magnificence!’ And can’t understand the backlash.

Things have to change immediately. It lacks heart, intelligence, character development, subtlety...

I’ll never watch an episode twice that’s for sure. Whereas I’m sure like many of you I’ve rewatched TNG many times.

All very disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Worst episode yet. Amateurish and not worthy of the name Star Trek.

No one reacts to a Borg cube appearing out of nowhere, no explanation of why Picard faints, no mention of where Narek may be. They’re allowed to just wander in fine settlement.

Space Orchids? Wtf?

Oh dear.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Totally off-topic, but in response to Tommy D., reaction to the ending of Mass Effect was massively overblown. The trilogy to this day remains a shining example of how to do an action RPG.

Fond memories...
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Because one is sentient and the other is not?
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I am starting to wonder if the Powers That Be are planning some kind of plot and thematic connection between Discovery and Picard: dangers of AI evolution on a cosmic level being one of them.

Either that or someone on the team really likes Mass Effect... some mysterious ultrapowerful entity lurks out there ready to intervene and lay waste to civilizations if synthetic life appears? And, of course, the hypothetical desolate future we saw glimpses of in Discovery is populated by squidlike AI terrors... Reapers anyone?

For some additional tinfoil theorizing, The Expanse, a phenomenal scifi show you all should go and watch immediately, also has a more than passing resemblance to certain Mass Effect plot elements.

And to go full circle, both Discovery and Expanse did some location shooting at the same sites, namely the abandoned facility where they captured the Red Angel was the same place the crew of Rocinante went to in order to save the little kid and shut down Mao's supersoldier breeding grounds. Also, Saru's village (shots by the lakeside beneath the cliffs) appeared in Expanse Season 3 finale in Holden's vision of the ringgates.

I don't know what I wanted to say with all this but anyway... carry on!
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Not the same Reliant. Picard was out of the Academy in late 2320s. Khan's Reliant blew up in, what, 2284 or thereabouts? Star Trek has always loved rehashing names. How many Saratogas and Lexingtons and Intrepids are there?
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

I am only here today to say that the music was simply outstanding in this episode. It was 24th century Sibelius. It served its purpose perfectly. It didn't overpower. I loved it. (And I liked a lot else about the episode too.)
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Mar 3, 2020, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Has Omicron continued his tradition of not watching nuTrek or has he relented and given STP a spin?
Set Bookmark
Paul C grenier
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 6:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

Im not sure if anyone answered this but; Picards clue that Kevin was The only survivor was in a scene when picard has afternoon tea with the Uxbridges. There's a moment when Kevin gets up from his chair after saying something to the effect of. "I expected to die like all the others / rest". Immediately afterwards picard raises an eyebrow. Subtle but effective. Picard has heard a clue but doesn't know what you make of it yet. After all the other pieces start to manifest themselves: Trois suffering and when it started, Kevin being surprised for a second time at the arrival of the enterprise, the warship and its power yet restraint ect...It took me YEARS but I only noticed this subtle bit of acting and dialogue.

A word or two on Marina Sirtis:
I believe Marina Sirtis performance was perfection. She was in great mental anguish and was barely able to hold it together. Her full commitment to the given circumstances was nothing short of breath taking. Her scenes with Sir Patrick Stewart rank in my book as some of the best scenes in the episode. They play well off of each other and they're excellent listeners. She makes excellent physical choices and is so emotionally connected and seasoned that She can go from 0 - 100 in Ann instant. When She heard the door bell, Ratcheted it down to about 60. The underlying suffering was still there but She was putting on a brave face for the captain. She never gets the credit she deserves.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I'll just leave this here:

Tuvok: "It is illogical to dwell on matters beyond your control. It will only serve to heighten your anxiety."

@MidshipmanNorris: three cheers.
Next ►Page 1 of 53
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.