Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 1,190 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 48
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

"As you know, I provide the most memorable deserts...hhhmmmmmhhhmmmyyeahhhmmmmmmmmmmmarggggggggaahhhahhhh"


Now THIS is sexual harassment. But you see how we men handle it? We handle it with class. Instead of filing a complaint with HR, Riker makes the chick feel like her advances are wanted, and he playfully reciprocates. I mean, what's the harm? He'll just avoid her later on.

Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

lol
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Nov 27, 2018, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Yanks: "The SJW crap was flung by the writers. Not in the carrying out of Discovery. well, not until the last episode.
Good article here if you care to read it.
www.quora.com/Do-the-SJW-rumours-about-Star-Trek-Discovery-hold-any-weight"

I had an intense urge to stop reading after coming upon this little gem: "You think it is a coincidence that there is not a single beautiful woman on board? " I don't know about the writer but Burnham, Georgiou, Tilly, Landry and Owosekun are rather pretty women. I mean, they are not supermodel levels of pretty, but faaaaar from what one would call ugly. So, if there aren't supermodels on the ship, it's SJWs ruining stuff left, right, and center? Believe me, these women -- and women (or men) on American TV in general -- are much prettier / handsome / hot&sexy than anything traditionally found on European series or movies.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 10:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

One of the great strengths of TNG, is that even in the silly or trivial episodes, there are moments that are so very sincere and sentimental and powerful. A perfect example of this is the final scene of this episode, when the adult Guinan is leaning over a (child) Ro as she is playing with crayons. Embracing the play of childhood for the first time in a while, she becomes very creative, which leads her to drawing a picture of her mother. She tells Guinan that she never thought to draw a picture of her mother before becoming a child, and Guinan says: "That's the thing about crayons, they can take you to more places than a starship."

God, this is Whoopie Goldberg's best role. She's just so wonderful, so tranquil, so serene as Guinan. Wish we had a bit more of that character.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 11:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

OK, two things I love about Stewart's performance here:

1) Just watch the way he deliver's this line:
Worf: A Promelian Battlecruiser?!
Picard: With its lang-cycle fusion engines still intact!

I mean, come on! Just look at his delivery! Stewart is running on all 8 cylinders and just milking the most out of this. It's awe-inspiring.

2) When Picard steps in on Georgi in the Holodeck when the sh*t it really hitting the fan, and Geordi introduces the captain to the holographic Dr. Leah Brahms. Picard just looks briefly over at Brahms and then stares at Geordi for a good while. It's so awesomely awkward, and awesomely full of tension and Geordi knows in an instant that he has slipped up allowing his feelings to get before his duty to the captain and the ship. It's so subtle--- just great acting.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Nov 12, 2018, 1:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I'll reiterate: I am having a bit of trouble understanding the teeth-gnashing Discovery elicits when compared to late-era Berman Trek. It's one thing to dislike Abrams/CBS Trek -- truth be told, I am not sold on it; just go read some of my comments on those threads -- it's quite another to pretend Trek before that was the epitome of Trekness.

"Discovery betrayed Trek", "Trek in name only", "STD killed Star Trek"... Has anyone actually watched Voyager, Enteprise, Insurrection and Nemesis? One can hardly do worse than those sorry excuses for Trek.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

My favorite scene in this episode is when Picard and Data are in engineering and Data is explaining to him that they are actually on the Holodeck and everything is a simulation including everyone else on board....... right in front of Geordi...while they completely ignore Geordi.

I mean, Geordi just stars blankly at them as they discuss how everything isn't real, its a pretty surreal scene.

It would have been really funny if the (holographic) Geordi started to get visibly anxious when Data tells Picard that its all a simulation, and starts to freak out...all in the background of the scene. Picard and Data could be having their little talk about how Geordi isn't real and it's all fake and in the background you could just have the holographic Geordi pacing back and forth and saying "Oh my God, Oh my God, Oh my God..."
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Oct 28, 2018, 1:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi: "No, because nothing that was produced after 2005 should be called "Star Trek" in the first place. It doesn't look like Trek. It doesn't feel like Trek. It doesn't obey the "laws of nature" that were established for Trek. It doesn't have the aliens and technology that's normally associated with Trek. It isn't consistent with the established in-universe history of Trek. So why would anyone call this stuff "Star Trek"?"

These kinds of "gatekeeper" arguments never resonated with me. "Looks like Trek, feels like Trek..." What does it mean, really? TNG (especially Season 3+) looks and feels nothing like TOS. Hell, TOS movies -- except for ST5, I guess -- feel very little like the TOS series. DS9, then, feels very differently from both earlier incarnations of Trek. I'll admit that all Second Era Trek shows (TNG, DS9, VOY, ENT) look rather similar, but I'm not sure that's much of a compliment, given how stagnant Trek became in its visual style, soundtrack and storytelling tropes.

Speaking of Discovery, I'm pretty much with Jammer: the show hasn't blown me away, but it's also fun and far from being the worst Trek has had to offer. I mean, for the love of all the gods, I shudder to think of so many episodes of TOS Season 3, various "brilliant" Voyager installments and dreadful dreariness of ENT in general. Berman-era Trek in its later years evolved into something so unexciting and frankly boring that I'm having trouble understanding all this hate for DIS. News at eleven, Trek hasn't been very good in a long long time, but DIS at least looks and feels like it isn't a paraplegic in a wheelchair trying to be hip.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

It's interesting how everyone approaches these things from their own perspective and cultural baggage in mind. For whatever reasons I won't speculate on, Americans seem obsessed with identity politics, principally focusing on its various non-national expressions - race, gender, etc. So people talk about the percentages of non-whites or females or what have you and in what way they are presented on screen. Just an observation, not a condemnation... because I find myself critically examining Trek (and not just DIS) from a somewhat similar perspective, but one influenced primarily by me not being American.

In my view, it's kinda sad for a franchise that depicts a utopian future of united humankind to be so exclusively peopled by English-speaking-and-sounding might-as-well-be Americans. In Discovery, for instance, except for (presumably) Captain Georgiou, we have Michael Burnham, Gabriel Lorca (as per producers intentionally "modeled" after US Southerners), commander Landry, Ash Tyler, Tilly, Paul Stamets, dr. Hugh Culber, Admirals Cornwell and Brett Anderson... notice the pattern here?

I know DIS is an American TV show and is therefore primarily concerned with speaking to American audiences, but this "national sameness" is still.. well, I won't say it's actively bothering me, but I do feel it's a missed opportunity for some real worldbuilding.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Sat, Sep 29, 2018, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Nothing to add to all these comments but this.

On arriving at the Enterprise he reads his orders. Given by Rear Admiral Nora Satie, the lady he destroys in The Drumhead. Now that's continuity.
Set Bookmark
Paul
Sat, Sep 22, 2018, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Hard to understand why Crusher doesn't want a relationship with Picard. Never got that.

In the final scene we get a continuity error, they hold hands, first Bev's left, then right.

Interesting comment above about friends with benefits, that would explain their breakfasts and kiss at the end (they've done that before).

Still Picard is warned off by Bev 'What do you mean?' But decides to risk it. Big gamble. However Bev looks regretful on leaving. (Can she walk anywhere without making it look like a dance?)
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 22, 2018, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@ Chrome

Well said, and astute.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 1:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Don't get me wrong she's still good looking and I would have sex with her. I'd probably even breed with her, so long as she was always supervised around the children.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 1:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

no.... not Democrat. I'd say her insane ramblings about periods at the "Women's march" qualifies as radical.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 1:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Oh yeah! Levar! Levar's career actually improves without the success of TNG. He get's lucky in a number of castings, but really trikes it big when he strikes up a friendship with director Ridley Scott while acting in 1492: Conquest of Paradise. Ridley casts him as a supporting character in a string of his films. He moves on to a successful directing career and has just now (2018) released a documentary film that got awarded at Cannes. His career took a bit of a dent through his close relationship with Weinstein, but he's recovering.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Sep 6, 2018, 3:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

This whole episode feels like it's from the first season. Strange episode.

And couldn't they think of something else for the kid to do when upset other than that stupid "Banar" Good God was that annoying!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 10:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

The sequence where Data dreams he is a bird and he flies through the ship and eventually out into space is one of the most mesmerizing, beautiful, and creative sequences in all of dramatic art. It's just so awe inspiring! It's sequences like this in TNG--sequences that are "out-there" and unique in a highly creative off the wall sort of way-- that make TNG not just a great dramatic show, but a wonderful work of cinematic art. It's stuff like this that transcend the medium and make TNG a mythology that becomes part of the collective consciousness. Totally heavenly.

For this sequence alone, and similar sequences, this episode is worth 3 stars. Plus a pretty good story...equals 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

@Adrian Martin

Timescape is wonderful. It's a gem! It's just so creative and beautifully directed. It has such great ambiance and tone and it's the perfect blend of adventure, wacky sci-fi ideas, humor and character.

it's certainly one of my top ten favorite episodes.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 3:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Anyone else pick up on the interracial sexual stereotype subtext?

The prim, proper white engineer who's lived her delicate life in the sheltered cocoon of her "institute" and the big, muscular, virile black man who's out "in the field" doing the grunt work.

I'm not offended by this, I just found it highly erotic. Clearly Dr. Brahms lusts after Geordi's BBC--she's just begging to be "thrust" out of her boring academic life into the wild jungles of open space adventure. The sexual tension here is palpable. There is a mutual respect of course, but it's likely impossible for this relationship not to have sexual undertones. It's an archetypal dynamic.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Just imagine if you will an alternate timeline:

Imagine that the writers strike continued for another year. Imagine that shades of grey was just the beginning of a continuous run of clip shows that went on to compose the entire third season...all regurgitating the same tired crappy episodes in some stupid way only slightly different from each other.

Then the show is cancelled after its third (mostly clip show season)

TNG never becomes the global phenomenon that it is today. No more star trek spin-offs are produced. Star trek dies a quiet death in early 1990.

The actors all drift around in quiet desperation, living unfulfilled lives. Broken dreams.

Mirinia Sirtis gets into hardcore porn to pay the bills...but contracts AIDS and dies in 2001.
Michael Dorn quits acting and becomes a successful commercial airline pilot, flying for Delta.
Patrick Stewart returns to England and stage acting. He can never get the roles he once did, even in small English productions. Occasionally he does commercials for local companies. Most of the commercials are spoofs at the fact that he was "that other star trek captain."
Brent Spiner quits acting and goes into insurance sales
Jonathan Frake's career starts to dry up. He gets smaller and smaller roles. Refusing to give up the dream, and saddled with emotional distress, he drifts and flounders. He becomes addicted to meth. In and out of rehab, he later dies of suicide.
Wil Weaton still goes to conventions, and makes his living doing star trek appearances. His life is more or less the same.
Gates McFadden retires from acting and becomes a drama teacher at a rural high school somewhere in middle america. She is beloved by her students and her community. She marries a wealthy real estate developer. She remodels houses in her spare time and was even featured in one of those remodel shows.


Yep...it all almost happened. And it could have happened, if things didn't pull themselves together after the early seasons of TNG. Let this be a reminder to everyone never to give up. Persistence. Good Humor. Faith. Hard work.

Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

"devoted her life to humanitarian interests like treating AIDs and preventing poverty"

this isn;t the tragic part. you can still do the above without a political affiliation...and without going full radical.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I like this episode! It's certainly a guilty pleasure! I just appreciate all the ironic humor ("room service?" "It was a dark and stormy night----not a very good start" etc.) Plus it's got an upbeat tone to it. But most of all I do genuinely feel a good deal of suspense here. This place is purgatory, and the desire to get out, and the sense of danger, is just so wonderfully palpable.

Having said all that I know that there are flaws and that the story is pretty simple without any big morality issues etc. Nevertheless, it's a load of good fun.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Excellent episode. But that opening scene where Riker is making eggs is just gross. I mean, watch him cracking that egg...he gets slime everywhere and on his hands. And then the end product looks so...bland...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Yeah, I get that's what the writers thought was the point--and that's why it's so bad. We've moved quite a long way from the philosophy and writing perspective of Gene Roddenberry at this point in the franchise when things end in such a fizzling manner. The idealism of star trek embodied by Roddenberry's hopeful vision would always infuse these situations with a deeper meaning, enriching the mythology and uplifting or at least transmitting a hopeful message to the audience. The turn away from that writing style is one of the big reasons why the franchise began to decline in popularity so precipitously.

Also, it's simply not executed properly to convey the message that your thinking. In the case of "reaffirming the value of basic human emotion." OK, that's a good idea, but the writers are going to have to manifest that much better than simply having Naomi's mom come in at the very last minute asking for Neelix to tuck her child in bed. The emotional depth and level of crisis of Neelix's faith is too deep to be believably resolved so abruptly.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I love this movie. It was the first trek thing I ever saw at 5 years old. I was hooked. I wanted to live in that time and place. This is the thing that did it, this film.

As I grew up I realized that the other movies, and many other episodes, were better written or had better effects, but my affection for this film has never diminished even one bit.

There is a humanity to this film that none of the others have...a self-depricating earnestness...a not taking itself too seriously in peripheral areas, but speaking thoughtfully on serious subjects, that make this film uniquely special.

Then there's the tone of the film. This film, out of all the star trek original crew movies, best captures the tone, tenor, and spirit of the original series. It's a lovely film if you watch it with the right perspective--which is to say you don't take the star trek universe as fact, but for what it is: a human mythology.

Also, the score of the film is BY FAR the best. Goldsmith's music here is the best score in all of star trek, from the majesty of the Yosemite opening scene to the hauntingly mysterious use of synthesizers in the scenes when they arrive at the "great barrier" the music is just fantastic.
Next ►Page 1 of 48
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.